What three things could you NOT do without?

51 81
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

6th Match 2022 4/?

Life without sports is like life without underpants

— Billy Bowden


Hello Hello your gorgeous happy bunch!

How was your weekend? Mine was pretty cool, Rangers celebrated their 150th Anniversary by winning 1-0.

I completed a challenge yesterday on the other blogger platform that I use. You can see my post here

Basically, you have to think of three things that you currently have, that you could not live without. Name them and say what would happen if you had to live without them!

These were my three items:

Item number 1 - A gas boiler

You might or might not recognise this. It is a gas boiler, and it used to provide hot water AND heating in my house.

A couple of weeks ago, it stopped working on a Friday night. I checked the pressure etc and it was reading 0 bar, not good at all. I tried repressuring the system but to no avail. The boiler was royally knackered.

Winter was here, and it was getting cold. Some of you reading this will think no big deal, what do you need heating for🤣

You need heating when the outside temperature is at minus 1 degrees Celcius and you are wrapped up in three hoodies, hooded dressing gown, jeans joggers and extra socks!

We use water-filled radiators to give us our house heating, so when the gas boiler stops working, the water does not get heated that runs through the radiators. The consequence is that you shiver and start to freeze.

It was not until Monday afternoon that the boiler was repaired and heating was restored. It then took me another four days to thaw out. I do not do well in the cold at all.

In the old days, this would not be that big a problem, because you had a fireplace and could burn either wood or coal. These fireplaces have been mostly removed from houses. Nor do I have electric heaters. So the impact would be for me to freeze and be very non-productive.

Item number 2 - Ibuprofen tablets

Some of you might know that I suffer from Ankylosing Spondylitis which is a pain in the arse type of arthritis that basically affects your spine and bones connected to it.

I have had it since I was 12 and I need medication to make life liveable. The purpose of the medication is twofold, firstly to reduce inflammation of the bones. Imagine that your bones swell and rub together, that is what mine do, which means you don't want to move them as that hurts.

So the medication reduces the swelling meaning you can move those bones.

The second purpose of the medication is to perform as a painkiller.

If I did not have medication then I would be in permanent flare-up mode.

Even with my pills, and trust me over the years I have tried many types, I even was on steroids years ago, I would be immobile.

The flareups are when your body goes on strike and refuses to let the medication work. So, you are in wicked pain, but you cannot move any bones as the pain gets even more wicked. You are motionless until your body gets out of hibernation and decides to let the medication work again.

Ibuprofen is the most gentle medication I have found, remember that putting chemicals into your body gives you more side effects etc.

Yeah, I don't want to think of being without effective medication.

Item number 3 - Sport

This the view from my front window of Raith Rovers Football Club and their football pitch.

Sports has been a massive part of my life. Growing up I was extremely active and sporty, until my movement impeded my speed.

I still played squash, golf and swam, but my days of playing rugby football and cricket are long gone.

I am a gambler, I can watch two flies on the wall, and I will bet with myself which one will cross the imaginary finish line first.

I watch sports, I listen to sports and I read about sports. Any kind of competitive sport appeals to me. I admire the dedication that sportsmen and women have put into their calling.

During the pandemic, sport helped with my mental health. I cannot imagine life with no sport.

Granted it is not as severe as being without my medication for my physical wellbeing, but I think it would have a massive adverse effect on my mental wellbeing!

There we have it, the three items that I currently I have that I would not like to do without.

What would you choose?

Have a great new week!

27
$ 5.80
$ 5.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 12
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

Woah...you endured that long already .. What a tough guy you are 😊 Well that's life, we see what's infront of us then move forward.. I appreciate also all sort of sports because it takes a lot of courage to do what they are doing..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You literally cannot live without those 3 things. I hope they do not fail you at any time.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

No I can't and I hope that they don't fail!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had read several times about your heater not wanting to work and it seems crazy to me that the weather outside your house can get to 1 degree Celsius, so it is important that you stay warm inside your house, but if the heater doesn't work you are going to be as cold as an ice cream cone.

I didn't know you had such a serious problem since you were 12 years old, it must be very annoying, I don't understand how you are so active, I hope you always have your medication so you don't suffer so much.

I don't like sports, soccer or anything like that, I can watch it, I don't have any problem, but it's something that has never caught my attention, sorry.

Friend, I hope you are well and that you take good care of yourself.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you for your sweet words. We have to do what we have to do. Sports are fun and I am sure that you do things that I don't like, that is what makes us all so different and so unique.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right, I used to like playing sports, but from one moment to another I stopped liking it, I admit that I used to like soccer and tennis, but as I got older I stopped liking it and started liking other things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm already shivering at 20 degrees celsius... I can't imagine myself staying in a one-degree environment without a heater. Maybe I need five layers of thick clothes with hot water bags inserted all over. Brrr...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe yes I had hot water bags as you say, I had two of them haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhh Kuya Eddie 🥺 my uncle suffered with arthritis too, and everytime it strikes he couldn't move an inch because his knees hurts so bad. So I can imagine and feel the pain you felt everytime it strikes. I hope it won't strikes too often in you kuya Ed so that you can enjoy your sports always and can go around in the park and visit dafty 😁 Take care always kuya Eddie!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Salamat inday Jini, there are worse things in life, but yes I am still active and enjoy being out and about and of course visiting Dafty and friends, salamat and you take care over there😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh! I'm sorry to hear about your pain bro. Imagine, since 12? Well, I still hope that it will gone for good, so that you will not suffer in it, anymore bro..😌 Take good care of yourself, always..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you sis, I just ignore it mostly, and unfortunately there are always people worse off than us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome bro.❣️ Well, just keep in mind that they will just give you a hard time, so just ignore them..Real time..Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sorry about your pain since 12 I didn’t know something like that existed I hope you feel even better with time ..❤️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

shit happens, but there is always someone worse off, thank you for your wishes bro, I appreciate that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Since 12 uncle? You're too young by then. You really should carry that meds all the time wherever you go to make sure everytime you feel the pain, it will not pain you a lot.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

oo since a child, not fun pero life is life and always there is someone who is worse than us wee singer!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your illness is so hard to pronounced. Anyway, are you not sad, I mean being how sporty you are and then that illness hits you. How do you feel about it?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Well as my mother said, there is always someone worse off than you. Life is what it is, there is no point being angry or bitter, just enjoy life it is short Pachu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We need electric fans like gas boilers. It is not that cold here but the scorching heat of the sun would make life unbearable. So the electric fan.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe oo I know you need a fan over there wee teacher!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of these three, the thing I can't afford to miss the most is exercising because exercising can make activities more exciting and keep me motivated. I also support you friend because apparently you suffer from arthritis, does it not affect when you exercise?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes it affects me, but the more I exercise the more I can do

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That three things kuya is very essential to you. The heater you need it when winter season comes.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe oo it is vital inday

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those are practical stuff because you have winter season there haha.. I can't live without heater too.. But in my country, it's fine lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes you will need a heater at times in HK too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry about your pain & medication. I didn’t know about it untill you told me that. I love sports too. Hey brother, take care.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks bro, there is always someone who is worse off than us

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah your place is way too cold which is too opposite here. Anyway, I guess the medicine in case of emergency of any pain I felt

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe yes we have opposite temperatures!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow Ed, I can't imagine being three days freezing cold without a heater, although right now I could use the opposite, an air conditioner because man it's got out here.

The medication, I admire you for enduring such pain, as a chronic pain patient myself, I fully understand what it's like to live like that. Ibuprofen doesn't work on me, but I'm glad it does for you.

As for the sports, I wonder, if you were Venezuelan and a baseball fan, would you be Magallanero or Caraquista?

Hugs for you 💞

$ 0.03
2 years ago

We just have live with it Rebeca and only other chronic pain sufferers know what we go through. The ibuprofen is a strong does, stronger than normal people can buy. It helps most of the time.

Hmm now I need to google your baseball teams....

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Jajaja if you find them please, don't become a Magallanero please!! When I have a bug flare up I take Tramadol, but that rises my heart rate. The other thing I take is Meloxicam, 30mg on a flare up, it diminish the pain, but it doesn't take it away.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, I'm glad you had a good weekend. I totally agree with the gas boiler, otherwise I will die in the winter cold. I'm upset about your illness, I hope you always have ibuprofen and the necessary medications available, that you never have to endure the pain. Exercise, which I think should become a routine in the daily lives of all of us.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you for your kind words, I appreciate that. There is always someone worse off than us, so it is okay, life is life and we need to enjoy it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gas boiler is very important, if there is gas and money for gas... 😀 I don't like it when it's cold. I am sorry about your disease, I understand you for the medicines. And sport is life, I also love sports very much.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sport is life, let's see who wins the ⚽⚽⚽

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't imagine staying in your place without that boiler in winter season, I might die. Got low tolerance of cold. I remember my sister in you because of the conditions you have. She got g6pd so her bones is always aching especially during cold weather or she ate something that triggered.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I wonder what g6pd is, I am going to look, I feel sorry for her, it is not fun. Yes the boiler it really is a must have!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah it's really hard, there are so many foods she is not allowed to eat or else her bones would hurt. It's not even curable. Sometimes she told us that she felt like she was trapped in an old womans body though she is only in her early twenties😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought g6pd manifest on males alone. Females can be carriers but the deficiency do not manifest on them

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am not sure with that, in our family only my nephew and niece was diagnosed. While us got only several allergies

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank God you were able to get the boiler back t work, I can't imagine the level of coldness you must have felt. For me one of the three things I will not do without is my phone. I virtually see the world and run all my business with it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe now phones are so important. Yeah the boiler if not working for longer, I don;t want to think about it haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes, life with a broken boiler is horrible. They also always break in the winter, when you need them

$ 0.03
2 years ago

haha yes I guess because that is when we use them most!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi there! It's been a while. My goal is really to be back into sport which I did. I am more on playing my favorite sport which is Volleyball and it really helps me mentally and physically :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It has been ages, I hope you are doing okay now😁 Volleyball is cool, especially if you can play on the beach!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Goodness Jesus! My mum also suffers from the same sickness as you do. I will let her know about this even though I'm still very conversant with the drug ibruprofen

$ 0.03
2 years ago

aww I am sorry for her, I hope it is not serious I have had mine since I was a little boy, not fun!

$ 0.00
2 years ago