The Tranquillity of Train Travel

54 63
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

5th February 2022 5/5

“Even if you're on the right track, you'll get run over if you just sit there.”

-Will Rogers.

Hello Hello you beautiful and awesome bunch, how is your weekend going?

I didn't get to the beach today, however I was in the next town this morning getting some messages and walked past the train station. Normally I take the train whenever I can as I just love that mode of transport. However, as it was bucketing down with rain and there is a bus stop a couple of hundred yards away from my house, I took the bus today. The walk to my local train station is about fifteen minutes, so the bus won this time.

Seeing this wee train I decided to make a post about trains.

All aboard!

Burntisland train station is a typical village British train station with two platforms. Trains stop here every half-hour so and Edinburgh is about half an hour away.

Talking about capital cities, when I was working in Madrid, I use to take the high speed train back home to Málaga on a Friday night. It is called the AVE and operated by Renfe. It made the UK trains seem like snails as it went up to 300km/h (which is 186mph). The actual journey took about two and a half hours. It was almost as quick as flying by the time you drove through Madrid traffic to get to the airport and then the check in and security and all that palava! I don't like flying and some of you know why 🤣

Source Image by Antonio Garcia Prats from Pixabay

That is a train at Jerez de le Frontera train station. I used to catch a train from Cádiz to Jerez before catching the flight to Madrid Unfortunately they was no direct high speed line from Cádiz). If you are ever in the Seville region, you should go to Jerez, it is the home of Sherry and had the world famous white horses of the Royal Andalusian School of Equestrian Art, not to mention awesome flamenco and ferias(festivals).

The trains take you through the countryside that you would not be able to pay attention to if you were driving, nor see if you were flying over it through the clouds. And you can partake in a wee libation or three! No breathalysers on the train, well apart from the driver!

Talking of a libation. When I was living in Aberdeen and working in London, I would fly one way on a Friday afternoon and then go back on a Sunday night on the sleeper train. A couple of drinks in the bar and then sleep, before I knew it I was at London Euston station ready to take the tube to Hammersmith to goto work all refreshed, and no rushing through Heathrow airport early on a Monday morning!

Image by Monica Volpin from Pixabay

The beauty of catching the sleeper was that in the morning there would be a chap at the door like the ones in the picture and the guard would come in with a cup of tea and a shortbread biscuit. Awesome service it was!

Nowadays you have fast wifi so you can surf or work if need be, or just chat to people. I find that people are friendly on trains, well apart from the London underground that is.

Back to top and Burntisland to Edinburgh train route.

This is one of the platforms at Edinburgh Waverley station. The beauty of Waverley is that you can see some of the buildings from Princes St from it.

Even with the hustle and bustle of busy city railway stations, travelling by train to me is very tranquil. However, one of the main reasons that I do it, is because it is greener than using a car all the time!

I got rid of my car at the start of the pandemic and have no intention of getting another one! We all need to do our part to save our planet, and so I will be taking trains as often as possible.

Some train engines (like this engine that was used to haul coal) are lucky enough to be restored when they have reached their shelf life, and are put out to graze so to speak. I just hope that we will be useful too once our working lives are over!

Thank you for reading and have a wonderful rest of your weekend.

Copyright @TengoLoTodo   2022 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images, words, and ramblings are from the author unless otherwise stated.

100% original content from this mad Scotsman

And don't forget ;)

Haste ye back.

26
$ 4.72
$ 4.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 16
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

Nice post. I love trains. I don't know why, but they evoke an emotion in me, nostalgia mixed with sadness and happiness at the same time. Trains in Serbia are mostly older than me. 😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's good to spend time for ourselves when we're not working, it looks delicious :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am hoping the soon the train service in my country (Philippines) will become as efficient as those in Europe so people will use their vehicles less when going around.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

As many trains as there in Europe, still people will drive their car and refuse to take the train! I hope it does become efficient in the Philippines and you all start to use them soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So long as people are given an option that is efficient, convenient, and will save them more money, then Filipinos will embrace taking trains as mode of getting around.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a travel journey sir. All the trains at the pictures are awesome. I didn't see a train in real life. I wish I can ride a train too. In my 25 years I didn't experience to ride in a train sir even I work here in the city, no time to ride a train and I don't know where it is too. I think it's far away from the place where I'm staying now sir.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

aww that is a shame, trains are so much fun, I know that you don't really have trains in the Philippines which is not so good. Maybe you will get to go on one, if you live near a place in the future that is near a train station!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sir that's true. I wish I can ride on a train someday even once sir. I want to experience riding on a train.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't like going through train, the train in your country seems slow but here in my country I hate the sounds the train makes when it I am in it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh i quite like the sound of the wheels going round and round!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me, any trip is exhausting. I didn't fly on planes, but I just can't stand trains and train stations anymore. One memory of trains makes me sad 😂 In search of new jobs I traveled almost all over our country. Trains, homeless people, thieves, unsanitary wagon toilets-thank you, but I've had enough. I love this steam locomotive (green) is a real rarity!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The green steam locomotive was a rarity and I loved being inside it! I am sorry about your experiences, I can understand why you don't want to do it anymore:(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha in our country train travel is so exhausting hahaha we are like a sardines in a can, how I wish I could travel through trains like what you have in your place. By the way I love the photographs😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sometimes in London, on the underground, it is like sardines in a can, but generally it is plenty of room on a train.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe someday I could go visit london and try that train.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Traveling like this in a train it's different, it has a special charming, you can enjoy more the views with more paused time to reflect..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes I agree the train has a special kind of charm!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i love train travel :) nice post

$ 0.02
2 years ago

me too it is the best, thank you and welcome to read

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hate flying as well and also love trains instead! Think most people who hate planes prefer the train instead. We now have a direct connection between Amsterdam and London, getting you there in less than 5 hours

$ 0.02
2 years ago

oh that is cool, about the same time as London to Edinburgh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These trains pass through beautiful scenery... I always prefer traveling by train to traveling by plane. 😉

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes exactly, on a plane all you see is the clouds

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Chu chuu! Train is everywhere! As for me it's better to ride in a train than in a car. Imagine 50 people with 50 each cars compare to the to 50 or less people in one balcony. That way will serves less pollution. That's why as you said train is greener

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it is much greener, exactly 1 train or 50 cars, so yes get in a train people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How I wish I can travel with train😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it is fun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh that is my wish too, that we will be useful still even when we get older. You know what, I noted all the names of places you mentioned and now googling it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it is a great wish to be still useful when we get older! Aww did you google them? I do that too when I read an article!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love the view there.want to ride on that train too 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh you would see great views Jane, that would be so cool.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It has been a pleasant trip through your trains. It even made me want to be on one of them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are fun and now I want to take another one soon!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, beautiful trains. I haven't been on a train like those po sir Ed :) We have trains here that stop from time to time where people forcefully open the doors to either get out or get in...That was on the past though. Now, we are trying to catch up with the rest of the world. I can't wait to be on our first-class trains in the future :) And you did well in ditching your car :P

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope you get some newer trains Glessa. I love taking them when I can. Well the car, yes it is easier just getting in a car and going, but that does not help the planet. People moan but they don't do anything, so that is my little thing that I could do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beautiful places but the proverb mentioned at the intro gave me chills.. dang, you know how to scare me lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha not like to get the chills that easily 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very beautiful places. Wishing to see them some in real

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you can, then take the chance, it is great to see other places

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Watching those train's makes me miss Hong Kong, as I used to ride trains whenever I need to go somewhere. Train is more easier for me and I can avoid being lost if I used train than taxi or bus😊. Anyway have a nice weekend too and enjoy your day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ah yes they have lots in Hong Kong, it is like London, it is better to take the train than the bus or taxi as you know exactly where you are with the train. Thank you and enjoy the new week:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're weekends are more in train Teng hehehe. We don't have a train here in my place thats why I need to zoom the real train in your place. I am amazed you know😅😅😅.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

uy you would love trains Jean, it is awesome watching the scenery go past! I will take a picture for you the next time I go on one!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks Teng. I've tried that when I was at Manila to visit my elder bro. Okay I'll wait for that amazing photos of you Teng. I'm sure it's very fantastic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly, I've never taken a train because the means of transportation in my area are mostly cars and motorbikes and also a simple manual vehicle, a cart pulled by a horse. this is also because we live on a hillside and close to a mountain so the road is not recommended for railroads.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh yes it can be expensive put train tracks in the mountains! Well I hope that you are able to take a train one day though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I could still remember the first time I rode a train, that was when I was still young. I was astounded on the wonderful sceneries that we were able to pass by. I can't but help but feel amazed by it. I want to turn back time and experience what I felt back then.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

oh yes I was the same the very first time. I just sat and stared out of the window, amazed at the scenery. Even now I never fail to be amazed by the scenery when I ride on a train.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sameeee, I realized that the more we get older, the more we appreciate the beauty that this world has to offer

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Train journey while remembering past that's one of my desire which is still needed to be fulfilled. Last train journey happened when I was in class 4.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

oh then it sounds like you need to go on another one soon!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing a lot of train journeys. Honestly, I have never been in a train and I am curious how it feels like. Train is not popular here in Philippines.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

oh really so you don't have many trains. They are fun and I hope that you can ride on one one day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago