I love you

89 119
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

16th August 2021 1331

Well hello you wonderful and awesome readers. I can't believe we are half way through August already! I hope you are staying safe and having fun no matter where you are and what you are doing!

Oh by the way, I love you all. I really do from the bottom of my heart, or was it from the heart of my bottom! But no, jokes aside, I love you, I love you for taking the time to read my articles, for interacting and being you. You are awesome so I love you.

I love you. That is such a common term. We say it daily, to different people and with different meanings.

It is weird how we can say the exact same words to different people yet the meanings are slightly different.

You can say I love you to your parents, I love you to your partner and I love you to your best friend. Although they are exactly the same three words, the meaning is slightly changed each time we use the phrase in the three examples I mentioned.

That is the beauty of language!

Did you know for example that the Scottish language has over 400 words (source 1) relating to snow?

That is insane right?

Ranging from snaw (meaning snow) to smirr (meaning A fine rain, drizzle, sleet or snow) to snow-smoor (meaning suffocation by snow) and over 400 words in between!

Snaw as we say in Scots!

Language it is at the heart of communication. Language is at the heart of who we are and it is how we survive and thrive.

Are you a Polyglot?

Have you ever heard of a polyglot?

A polyglot basically means you are multilingual and so you speak many languages!

Do comment what languages you speak, I am curious to know!

I love to learn and we should never stop learning new things.

I especially love to learn (well try to learn) new languages. My native language is the Queen's English. However living in Scotland there are numerous words we use instead of the standard dictionary English words.

I have written a couple of articles on common Scottish words, you can read them Let me entertain you with a wee bit of Scots and the second article Haste ye back!

At school I learnt Latin from the age of 8 (why? I don't know!) then French and German. In life I learnt Spanish. I have learnt a few phrase and words in Tagalog and Bisaya (two languages from The Philippines), if you read my articles you see I pop one or two words in.

They do say that the best and fastest way to learn a language is to take a lover who is a native speaker.

So I learnt some Swahili, Arabic, Norwegian, Portuguese, Italian and many regional words in Africa and Europe, the joys of working overseas in many countries.

When you are interested in something, you will put your heart into and then you will learn fast, because you want to.

My favourite language?

I think I have not even mentioned my favourite language!

I will say that I have two favourite languages.

Can you guess what they are?

You probably said quite rightly that one is talking to the animals!

So yes I do love speaking and of course listening to the animals. They tell us so much about ourselves and the world we live in. I mean who can forget Dafty his loud quacks and his drama queen antics! Animals use body language too, remember Dafty when he mad an ass out of me!

Dafty making an ass out of me!

So yes, learning to communicate with animals, we all do it. We have done it since we were born and sometimes we don't even realise that we are doing it. Our body language, how relaxed we are, that tells the animals things, even if we don't know we are doing it.

Secondly my other favourite language is the language of love.

The secret to cooking? Cooking with a magic ingredient, which is love. When you put love into something, you are speaking from your heart and it is a braw thing to do. It is the right thing to do!

So my awesome readers, what are your two favourite languages and what languages do you speak?

Source 1 - snow related words https://scotsthesaurus.org/thescat/873/

This post is part of the writing prompt series and is #13 Language. The rules are simple to join this.

The rules are simple.

  1. Write anything about language

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words so Rusty will reward you

  4. Submit to the PromptlyJonica community (please join us if you haven't already)

  5. Tag  @JonicaBradley  and me @TengoLoTodo

  6. Have fun!

A few quick notes:

  1. Please read the rules of the community. Although no subject is forbidden, Join the PromptlyJonica community here.

  2. There are no deadlines or time limits. You can write on any of the prompts any time for ever and ever. To see a list of linked prompts in order go here.

  3. It's up to the writer to ensure no plagiarism

  4. Please keep Regis testimony and religion to a minimum. Those types of stories are better suited to dietitian communities.

  5. All types of writing are permitted: personal essay, poetry, satire, fiction, etc. Keep in mind is you're writing satire, make fun of the idea, not the person.

  6. The community has more than one moderator. If you disagree with anything the mods have to say, please let us know in the comments of the article.

Thank you for reading you awesome beautiful people.

I love to sponsor writers, if you are looking to be sponsored, just pop a wee comment down below. If you are new, just click the $ button in any of your published posts to bring up the Sponsorship box.

I don't bite, do feel free to Sponsor me should you so wish!

Copyright @TengoLoTodo 2021 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images and words are from the author unless source mentioned.

Haste ye back.

35
$ 11.20
$ 10.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
$ 0.10 from @CoquiCoin
+ 20
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

I read somewhere that if a certain thing is of high importance to certain place/culture, the language would have a variation of names for that thing. If you have many names for snow there in Scotland, here in the Philippines, there are a number of words for rice depending on its physical form. Language really is fascinating.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well I speak English, basic German, Yoruba,love 💕 language .😈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a polyglot of course Kuya Ed! In Tagalog, rice and coconuts have multiple words associated with them. For example we have sinangag, kanin, bigas, palay, and kakanin for rice. Meanwhile we have niyog, buko, and bunot, which are all associated with coconuts. There's a lot more that I have misssed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha yeah seems you are indeed a polyglot. I just watch various shows in different languages and learn a few words here and there and that's it. XD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also found cooking a braw thing to do. I love cooking and I realized I must put my heart to what I'm doing as I cook. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi Uncle. 🤗 I can speak English, Tagalog, and Bisaya. 🤣

By the way, I agree about the language of love. "When you put love into something, you are speaking from your heart and it is a braw thing to do. It is the right thing to do!" I just super agree on this one, uncle.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe yes wee sick one, it is the right thing to do.I hope you are better now, and don't overdo it na, I know the three languages you speak, it is maayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am feeling better na, uncle. Thank you. 💗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe I am a polygot bro..In the sense that, I can speak English, Tagalog, and Bisaya..😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo you are sis !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's surprising with snow in Scottish language. Anyway, I am into sign language.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is brilliant you can do sign language

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can only speak Tagalog and English fluently though I knew some Korean and Japanese terms from watching stuff 😆

PS: the language of love is the greatest of all, I think so too

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Watching things is a great way to learn 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I speak English, yoruba and Japanese. My favourite language is Japanese and Japan is my dream country. I think I'm gonna go there some day.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

e dupe, I remember there are many words in Yoruba for saying things, thank you in English is English, yet many ways to say it in Yoruba. I am impressed you speak Japanese!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Should I comment in my language and then I would translate it 😁 My native language is Yoruba and here it goes:

"Ede je oun to se koko si awon eniyan nitori oun la nfi ba ara wa soro. Bi a ba gbo oun to eniyan nso, o se oun to le nitoripe ao ni le ba ara wa sore, ija yo waye laarin wa" 😅😅😅

English Translation Language is something that is important to people because it is what we communicate with each other. If we don't understand someone's Language, it will be difficult to flow together because we won't unite and there would be misunderstanding amongst us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

e dupe so much for commenting :) Is that the correct thank you to use in Yoruba. You are so correct, if we are not on the same page when it comes to language and being understood then misunderstandings can be very dangerous!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It should be. "Modupe gan pe o fesi" Meaning "Thank you for commenting"😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe modupe gan pe o fesi 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, I think the language of love is also my favorite.

I speak Spanish obviously, English and French. Although lately, my French is quite rusty from lack of use, LOL. I can also defend myself a bit with Portuguese and even some Italian. And I know some basic things about Turkish. I've always had a knack for learning another language, and I like it. Even at some point, when I was young, I thought to study that, but I ended up being an engineer. ;)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha yes we are both quite good at languages and then we end up studying engineering, hehe that is funny Eliana:) I didn't know you knew Turkish, but I remember your kebab articles, so that makes sense now. Yes the language of love, we agree is our favourites!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, I can't say I speak Turkish, but I can defend myself with the basics. When I visit a place, I like to learn a bit of the language. And don't trust that you will always find someone who speaks English. So before traveling to Turkey, I applied myself a little and studied a bit. And also watched a lot of Turkish dramas. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes learning some of the basics really help. You don't need to know much, but it helps. I laughed at watched a lot of Turkish dramas haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also laughed a lot at myself for that. Because believe me, I watched a lot. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha I imagine you did, you do do your research ;)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I can speak English and Filipino, I also know some Korean Words, Italian Words, French Words, Thai Words and Japanese Words but I can't talk to domeone using only the words I know. I just know some familiar words but I can't construct my own sentences, maybe constructing a Korean sentences I know it somehow. I wish I was Polyglot too hehehhe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes there is a jump from knowing some words to knowing some phrases and then having a little conversation with someone. It is fun to try though. You are getting there to be a polyglot if know words, try to remember some phrases next!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes noted. I will remember this advice. And when I become a polyglot someday I will thank you. Hihihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I seldom knew men who talks to animals. You are such a pro in talking to them and that's one of the languages I try to have. And also I want to learn your language as well. 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe that would be braw if you learnt my language :) hehe you should try to talk to the animals, women like it too ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bisaya is a regional language, Filipino language is based on Tagalog which represents the whole of Philippines that makes it our national language. I speak Filipino (tagalog), English, Mandarin, Spanish, a few phrases here and there of Urdu and Hindi which I learned from friends, I need to learn Japanese and Korean which a few words I do speak with some friends and clients,. I learned a few phrases of Italian and French. Traveling made me learn the basic words of the countries I visit just to get by to go from places to places riding a train or going grocery shopping in other countries. Adding to that now my Scottish words and phrases which I find fascinating. So much more I forgot the others now. Soon if I pushed through with my Europe tour, I'll be adding some to my list.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are doing great with your Scottish words and phrases! Yes travelling is a great way to learn phrases, and really a must for me, as it is always better to at least try to make the effort of trying to communicate in another person's language when you are in their country. I wonder as you know Mandarin if Korean and Japanese will be easier to learn than for me!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Korean is easier to learn than mandarin. I bought a basic course online of learning Korean language I'm doing good on that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi Ed!

the 3 letter words that used to be so hard to utter but now you can hear it everywhere and anytime.. and with lots of different meanings to :) the true beauty of language... to be able to express your feelings in words :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

HI Eylz :) Yes it gets said everywhere, it is almost like the original meaning needs a different set of three words ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true the only consolation is people know what you mean when you said... Ahhh there are so many to learn when it comes to language

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know Tagalog, English and Bisaya hehe..I studied Spanish for a bit so I forgot most of it. I only know few Spanish words and phrases.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There are quite a few Tagalog words that are Spanish, so you probably know more that you think.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Si, senior :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello there!!!!! How are you doing?

I'm multi-lingual considering I live in India with 22 official languages and 1600+ dialects lol 😄🙂, I speak South Indian languages called Telugu (my native), Tamil, A little bit Hindi, and of course English... I also understand some Sanskrit and Urdu.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

well well, hello B you made it here:) I am good , how are you?

Yes I know you speak Telugu, and I forget some of the words I know from you 🤣🤣🤣. I used to know some Urdu words but it has been ages since I spoke any.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha well, we used to call each other Thiru, which means sir 😂 😂 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah yes Thiru, I am sure I called you queen to , I need to remember the word 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's fine, I'm always here or in Insta or in fb.. I'm like Omnipresent in social media hahaha. You can always catch me anywhere Thiru Scottish man :p :p

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uncle Ted same as me the language of love And I like those people like you who are polyglot for you understand animals themost

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes animals are fun to talk to Kim, and the language of love is awesome :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I solely agree to you on that Uncle Ed

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can speak english, tagalog and Filipino hahaha. I can also speak to animals like you but not as pro as you 😅.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe you will be as much as a pro as me too, if you keep practicing :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish I am a polyglot, it would be really awesome to converse in so many languages. You will not get lost sire, will be really easy for you to go anywhere. Amazing!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You just need to use your brain, you have a good one after all 😉 Yes very few places have I been to where I could not be understood!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ouch! Lol! I did take a lesson on Mandarin Chinese, still cannot converse though. You're awesome indeed! Or did you have a local partner in each of the places you've been to?😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha you know me too well 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now that made some sense! You are good! lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're really a polyglot kuya Ed. It's nice to read again your work. I love how you start your article. You're right that if you really love what you're doing its easy to learn it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Salamat wee one, it is fun to learn new things and new languages. I love you , yes a great way to start my article. Hope you got your video finished!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome po! We love you also together with dafty, sammy, moira and archie :) Yes I finished it but need to edit later hehez. You're still updated kuya ed salamat! Anyw. Happy birthday :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat wee one, yes I might not always comment but I always try to read you 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks to that po. I know you're busy but still managed to read. Waiting for the update of your friends dafty also the continuation of moira and archie :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Annyeongggg, master! You and Dafty are back😁 You are truly amazing, you know a lot of languages to speak. Daebak, master 🤗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ann Yeongg my wee BC! Yes Dafty and I were having a break. Daebak, oo I have more to learn!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love to feel the language of love.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is a great language to feel and to feel in it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm in favor of showing love rather than saying I love you. I want love with behavior, not love with language.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Actions speak louder that words!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dafty 🦆 is making a scene again hahhahha... How i love to see real swans, they look so snowy white swan

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe Dafty has the be the star of the show, always 🤣 Swans are majestic and yes they really are snowy white, beautiful creatures!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the language of love even better than other languages, I mean sure I love to learn many languages but I just like the love language more since everybody communicates love in an unexpected way.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly the language of love is common across all countries :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tito, that's a lot of languages, I'm envious hahaha.

I only know a handful. I am fluent in English, Tagalog, Bisaya. A little Spanish (because Tagalog has a mix of Spanish words), a little Bicolano (one of the dialects in the Philippines in Bicol region, also my husband's hometown), a little Japanese (from watching too much anime hahaha, and also me and hubby are taking Japanese for Beginners in Udemy). Last but not the least, I know baby language hahaha. Although it is not recommended to use, I just love using it 😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes it is amazing how many words are in Tagalog! I don't know any Bicol and I know absolutely no Japanese. Good luck with studying it, I forgot about Udemy, I bet you can't learn baby language there though 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello sir i am amazed you had lot of languange spoken or learned, As for me i know how to speak Mandarin, and ofcourse English. My local langunage is Filipino and i can speak a little bit of Ilocano. My favorite languange so far is Filipino and Mandarin.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ah I tried Mandarin and didn't get very far 🤣 but I do try to learn bits and pieces. When I travel I like to learn so I have been lucky to visit many countries and learn things:) Well done you knowing Mandarin though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love what you say because I use the same ingredient as you in my meals "LOVE" with that ingredient I gladden the hearts of all my family and friends.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh yes, you have to cook with LOVE then it becomes magical :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd like to learn a lot of languages but without practice I'm left with my mother tongue and English. Thanks to you a few Scottish words.. :D

I'd like to learn more ..since I also would like to travel to a lot of places, speaking locally will help a big lot.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

When you travel wee pp that is when you pick up languages, and even knowing a few words helps people be more friendly towards you, You do well when you speak your Scottish words!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I hope so. Typing it is different from using it in face to face communication ... all good i hope, uncle?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can speak other languages too, but not fluently. Like, japanese, Spanish and I'm more fluent in English hehe. I'm planning to study Scottish language too because I like the accent hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There are many different accents in Scotland and they vary quite alot! It is good you want to learn though. Japanese I have no idea of any words haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Language of love is the best! I only speak English and Polish. I learned German at school, but I didn’t like it, so I can’t really speak it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

German sounds such a guttural noise, it is not pleasing on the ear Monika, and I am with you, the language of love is the best!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Language of love, oh oh oh, so romantic. I want to learn many languages, but I am lazy to focus on it. Huhuhu. I only know Filipino, and English. I want to learn Korean language next.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes the language of love is the best. Korean to watch all those K dramas ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I actually just finished thus Kdrama angld looking for a new one hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago