Help! I ran out of coffee...

43 70
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

20th January 2022 15/20

Hello Hello you beautiful and awesome Reader, how are you?

I think that coffee lovers might relate to this wee story of mine that happened a couple of hours ago.

I was planning on making a big pot of chilli beans tonight. I get all the ingredients and put them in the slow cooker and cook them overnight. All very good, but at 7pm I realised that I had run out of coriander (you might call it cilantro). Not a problem as I have a large Morrisons supermarket a ten-minute walk away and it would still be open.

So off I went, and walked down to the grocery store and started doing my shop. I checked out the oopies in the meat department. They often mark down products that need to be sold before the end of the day and called them oopsies. All they had left were vegan Scotch pies and vegan sausage rolls.

A vegan I am not! Apologies to all you vegetarians and vegans, but for me, a meat product needs to be, well made with meat. Scotch pies are made from lamb, and I could not imagine a vegan one.

Enough of that wee rant, off I went to the fruit and veg sections.

I looked for finger chillies, none were available!
I looked for coriander, none was available!
I looked for coriander plants, none were available!

Well poop, the whole point of me going there, was to get coriander and they didn't have any. Luckily enough, they built another supermarket called Lidl right across the road last year. No problem, I shall shop there instead, I thought to myself.

I crossed the road and entered Lidl. At this particular grocery store, as you walk inside you are met by a fresh bakery section. I stopped and chose a pan au chocolat, which would be my wee treat for walking to and from the shop, carrying some bags of groceries!

Excellent, now off I went to find the coriander.

Noooo they didn't have any. What is going on, I guess 7.30 pm was too late to shop.

Not to worry, I did spy coriander plants at low price of 47 pence. Wow so I bought two and they smelt awesome, a beautiful coriander (cilantro) aroma.

They did have finger chillies, I do like them as they are quite hot and spicy! I got plain flour tortillas, lettuce, tomatoes, garlic and mince or ground beef, plus a whole wadge of other things that I kept grabbing before I reached the checkout.

It was a pleasant chilly evening, 2 degrees already yep cold but at least it was dry. My house is uphill from the shop, so a ten-minute brisk speed walk was needed.

On the way home, I was thinking of what I would watch whilst I was eating my pan au chocolat and drinking my coffee.

Once home, I unpacked all the groceries, and went to the cupboard to get the coffee. The jar was empty. No problem I thought, I would go and use my stash.

Do you have stashes?

I tend to have a coffee stash and a money stash, just in case I run out.

Putting on the television, I went to look at my stash.

It was empty! Yes, It was empty! I actually cursed and let out a loud NOOOO.

However, I did remember my last resort stash!

I like my coffee strong and with no sugar, hey I am sweet enough already, right ladies 🤣🤣🤣

In one of my cupboards I keep this packet of thirty sachets of 3 in 1 coffee. You know the sort, it has coffee, whitener and a sweetener all blended into a powder. You boil up water and pour over the sachet, mix it all up and bob's your uncle you have a cup of drinkable coffee.

Personally, I find this a very weak and too sweet a cup of coffee. Beggars can't be choosers though, and this was sure as heck much better than a cup of coffeeless hot water.

I made my coffee and got out the pan au chocolat.

The pan au chocolat also had hazlenuts in the chocolate mix. Quite delicious it was, I then chuckled at the mug I choose.

If you know me, then you know that I like to be upbeat and see the positive in everything. Well, I might not have had a good strong cup of coffee, but at least I had a ready made post I can write and post here in this awesome platform of ours.

Many thanks for reading to here, savour your coffee (or tea) and enjoy your weekend!

Now time to get chopping and make those beans for the weekend.

Copyright @TengoLoTodo   2021 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images, words, and ramblings are from the author unless otherwise stated.

100% original content from this mad Scotsman!

And don't forget ;)

Haste ye back.

Free crypto family

BTC ETH XRP XEM ADA USDT USDC BNB TRON DASH NEO LINK LTC DOGE  Steam

Free Crypto faucets and simple money games

BCH BTC

24
$ 11.52
$ 10.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Eylz2021
+ 13
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

Enough said about that 3 in 1 ☕️, lol Now, I'm waiting for a pic of those super yummy beans ;)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha the 3 in 1 hey it did the job and yes you will see soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww, 3n1 is famous here in the Philippines and I am glad that you have it too. And yup, you are sweet enough sir Ed the coffee doesn't need sugar anymore lol. I remember the last time i had kapeng barako or strong coffee in Mcdo, I had palpitations that I had to go to the clinic for an ECG lol.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe you are too kind Glessa :) Palpatations oh no, I hope that you were OK!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am prone to hypokalemia po sir Ed that's why I easily have palpitations.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

aww poor you Glessa, big hugs

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A coffee lover indeed, seems like ifbI were in your place I would've gone so mad when there's no enough coffee and I'm too lazy to go outside hahaha. So intead of having coffee just a cup of tea will do hehez.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha yes well tea would have been the last resort, but sometimes just have to have coffee !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a former coffee lover DF hahaha. I decided to let it go. Hahhaa

$ 0.02
2 years ago

oh wow, well you are young, better not to get addicted to it DF haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahah I don't like cofee ahah.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha really

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I was in your situation kuya ed, I'd literally curse A LOT! HAHAHA. But, but, the muuugg! I love your mug kuya eddie hahah I like it. I like the words haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yeah the words are cool haha So inday Jini is a curser, interesting!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have made me enjoy your reading. Until I got to where there is no coffee. I can't live without my coffee. I think it happened to me once before that I ran out of my nectar. Good thing you found a substitute.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I know, I am like you Gertu, we have to have our coffee!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I am always an optimist and I look at everything from a positive side. 😊 I have no stashes because I usually think from today to tomorrow. Here at Lidl, you can't find anything in the evening because everything is already sold.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

ah you have Lidl there too, yes they seem to only restock at night, hehe we are both optimists :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So much tasty coffee, I like it too 🤗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes we both like coffee

$ 0.00
2 years ago

the coffee is bitter but many people like it, actually coffee is synonymous with aroma and taste. when all the flavors come together only coffee has its own aroma. not made by human hands but actually already comes from the ingredients. Bitter coffee is like life but will taste sweet if you are grateful for it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Coffee is a unique aroma, ah I like that, coffee and life and bitter so it is up to us to sweeten them up!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

waah ... you are smart too reply my friend. we're going to talk a lot about coffee. cool

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was just passing by reading your title above makes me to read it. I am a coffee lover Sir Ted, I can't imagine my life without coffee.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It would be very sad!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love coffee too and I can't let the day pass without having a cup. Good thing you have a extra pack of coffee haha ,

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes it was a life saver lol I am with you I need coffee daily too Lhes :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I were you and I can't have a coffee for sure I will be grumpy😂, Got that headache

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha your evening sounded as chaotic as your posts... I loved it.. and none of Indian savory meals are finished without garnishing Corainder in it, it is a serious crime here lol.. good that you were adamant to buy it, I would do the same

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha organised chaos is me, yep I love Indian cuisine and I love my coriander, I eat it daily like you guys.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here with me Teng! I love string coffee with no sugar, but I rarely drink coffee because I think I'm acidic.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

ah yes I remember you saying that snail

$ 0.00
2 years ago

pan au chocolat - damn! also had hazlenuts - double damn!!!! would you share it with me? hahaha i'm back but still in bed :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe a double damn haha and of course I would share it with you! Hope you are okay na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i love it especially when it's warm :) and yes I'm ok na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good point, unlike us at home we only have 1 pack of coffee, you can not buy more than that we are very limited, well but if you run out, we cut some lemon balm leaves or santa maria, are aromatic plants and prepare a good tea.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well a good tea is a good substitute and that is what I would have had.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just yesterday things! Hahaha.... So relatable!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yes happens to us all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Coffee lover you are.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

guilty as charged!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think everyone has something "for a rainy day" I, for example, always have crisps, I like to crunch. And the situation that you told us, we call "the law of meanness" in jest. It happens a lot in our lives.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

ah yes I know many people who have a stash of crisps or cookies :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago