Are you a giver > a taker < or a matcher =

86 171
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

5th August 2021 1456

Hello all you wonderful and awesome people. I have had this article in the back of my mind for quite some time. It seemed appropriate to publish it this week. So I revisited it, finished writing it and published it, and I hope you enjoy it or it makes you think.

This article is now for the writing prompt series number 11 labels. For more information on the writing prompts see the end of this article.

In 2013 Adam Grant published the quite brilliant book entitled Give and Take: Why Helping Others Drives Our Success

 Adam Grant is a professor of organizational psychology at the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania and was the youngest tenured professor at age 28. He was voted by students as the best professor at the university from 2011 to 2017.

He received a B.A. from Harvard College, and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Michigan in organizational psychology. He worked as a professional magician during college and is know a well known published author.

The above is taken from Wikipedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adam_Grant

Give and Take is a quite fascinating read and I will very briefly summarise what he says.

People belong to three groups based on their reciprocity styles.

  • Takers

  • Givers

  • Matchers

So what do these three types mean?

Takers: Takers are basically only interested in getting more than they give out. As a general rule for takers, the world is a dog eat dog world, and they will take take and take some more.

Givers: Givers however are generally the opposite. It is in their nature to give without thinking what they will receive, if anything in return.

Matchers: Matchers generally follow the philosophy of I will scratch your back, if you scratch mine.

The differences between people manifest themselves in actions and attitudes not in their beliefs. It is the actions that defines what group you belong to!

So and so talks a good story, well it is their Action that actually counts, just as in so many areas of life. Actions speak louder than words!

Giving really does pay off in the long-term

When you are a giver it pays off in the long-term. As a giver your reputation will grow and you will build better and broader relationships. This in turn will lead to more opportunities for you which you wouldn't have been introduced to, if you had the mindset and actions of a matcher or a taker.

Giving increases your happiness

Seeing the joy that you bring to someone when you give them something reduces your stress level and it makes you happier too. What is more joyful than seeing the look on someone's face when they receive something from you?

If you are still reading this then pat yourself on your back and write Dafty in the comments ;)

The 15 minute test

Do you think you know if you are a giver, a taker or a matcher?

In my head I believe I am a giver, I do love to pay it forward in all areas of my like, and I am a great believer of random acts of kindness (RAOK), which I think comes from being brought up with good manners. I mean we should all be saying please, thank you, holding doors open, helping people cross the road etc.

So, the proof is in the pudding as they.

There is a 15 question test that you can take. I have taken it while writing this article, and I can tell you that I am chuffed with result.

Click this link to take the test, it is free and I would be interested to know your results, if you care to share. I think I know the results of most people who would take it from their actions on read.cash.

I am a 100% giver.

I have seen all three types of people in noise and read, and tend to steer away from one type. I do however upvote and reward a good article regardless of who wrote it. We don't have to like someone to respect them.

So have a look at yourself, and if you can pay it forward, then why not do it.

Even leaving a one cent tip, upvoting and leaving a comment, liking and replying to a comment puts a smile on people's faces!

This post is part of the writing prompt series and is #11 Labels.

Click here see the prompt article for #11 Labels

The rules are simple to join this.

The rules are simple.

  1. Join PromptlyJonica here

  2. Write anything on Labels

  3. Write 100% original content

  4. Tag me @JonicaBradley and me too @TengoLoTodo

  5. Have fun!

Thank you for reading you awesome beautiful people.

I love to sponsor new writers, if you are looking to be sponsored, just pop a wee comment down below. If you are new, just click the $ button in any of your published posts to bring up the Sponsorship box.

I don't bite, do feel free to Sponsor me should you so wish!

Copyright @TengoLoTodo 2021 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images and words are from the author unless source mentioned.

Haste ye back.

33
$ 10.31
$ 8.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.53 from @Telesfor
$ 0.10 from @emily2u
+ 21
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

Oh what a neat tool to "find out" what kind of the three we are. Haha. Let's see... I believe I am more of a matcher but I'll use the quiz.

And voila indeed I seem to be one based on the quiz. Haha. And no I am not writing dafty, which I just did. XD

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You scored 47% Matcher, 40% Giver, 13% Taker. Not too bad, eh?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh hey we got the same result! Lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

woah! that's so cool! :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is pretty cool yes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am so going to take the test! hahah love tests like this! Yes you are 100% giver uncle! and I admire that !! You are cool!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Cool huh, well salamuch wee pp, you should take the test 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Upon reading this article, I was left to wonder what am I as a person. I should really check it out. In one way or another, I'm too afraid to label myself with the tree... feels like it was too bad to be a taker nor a matcher.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

I am sure you are more of a giver than you think.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey, Dafty! Here's my result.

You scored 47% Giver, 40% Matcher, 13% Taker.

It's a so-so. Haha 😂

$ 0.08
2 years ago

Aha! I guess there are a lot of us. Lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is still pretty good I think

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yay! Dafty made my result 100% giver! think I should take again the test LOL

$ 0.08
2 years ago

That is awesome Eylz and what I expected though 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i think Dafty played some tricks on me hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe Dafty is crafty 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You scored 80% Giver, 13% Matcher, 7% Taker.

Dafty messed up my test. I didn't fully understand about the lease part :D

$ 0.08
2 years ago

Hehe Dafty does cause havoc , you are so a giver though kuya

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The taker part doesn't sit well haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe I know exactly, what you mean

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You scored 80% Giver, 20% Matcher. I don't think you need me to say Dafty, LOL. But I say it anyway ;) I will look for the book to read it! I'm not surprised you're a Giver! Big hugs to you for that, Ed!

$ 0.08
2 years ago

Big hugs Eliana, I knew you would do the test, wasn't sure anybody else would read all the article and do it. Yes book is interesting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! You are a great writer. :) I remembered before when I started writing here, you haven't written anything here yet and look at you now! OMG! I am left behind. HAHA :D

And oh, I am a giver, too. It always makes me happy to be able to put happiness to other people. Not expecting anything in return at all. :) The happiness I feel seeing them smile is enough for me. :)

$ 0.04
2 years ago

hehe Yes I didn't write as I tend to be my biggest critic, English is my native language, and I have been writing all sorts of things daily all my life, so I should be able to write here. Eventually I took the plunge and yes have a written quite a few articles now!

Am glad you are a giver, yes exactly seeing their smiles is all the payment you need for your happiness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it'll be easier on you since English is your native language. All you just have to worry about is find a topic and organize your thoughts. You don't need to worry about grammar and English terms anymore. Haha 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The hardest part is actually publishing haha I have lots of drafts saved I am not 100 percent happy with 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHA! :D That's okay. You will be able to publish them one by one soon enough. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I call them saved for a rainy day 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Girls are daft with Dafty. Here's my comment now. I read the comments made me chuckle. OK test is 100% giver. Of all people you should pretty much know me that well I don't lie and I say what's on my mind. Some can pretend and say they are a giver, that's a given. Like, would these people give a tip to someone if they knew that a person is just not even writing here and they might just be wasting their time even if that person is reading and commenting on their posts, little did they know maybe that person has a purpose and giving out tips to the community where they all belong.. Again another chuckle. When you give you give without questioning yourself, you just give because that's what the right thing to do. You give something and also, with that giving why not spend your time to teach the people you are helping too. You give a man a fish and also teach that man how to fish. Giving has a much more deeper meaning than just purely giving out some material things or food that they need but also taking time to teach people how to be self sufficient something that they can be proud off. Give according to people's needs also teach people some skills. Does that make sense. I love this article. It just proves to show how honest people can be to themselves. Have a good night or day. Peace out

$ 0.16
2 years ago

Girls are daft with Dafty and Dafty is daft with girls ;) Thank you for reading and doing the test. No shock that you got the same as me. Giving and mentoring go hand in hand, wherever possible as you say, we should be prepared to take the time and show people what to do with gifts and how to improve themselves. I liked your chuckling. Yes one of main points in writing this article was to see if people really can be honest with themselves and how they behave;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Chuckles some more Hahaha. Giving willingly and receiving graciously

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You got it , now keep chuckling 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha I am more of a matcher: just altruistic giving is not my forte. I enjoy giving from time to time, but I also like to receive. In work I would say I am more of a taker with colleagues. I find it important to get what I deserve and don't feel like I should do a lot of things just so colleagues like me. Man I sound like a horrible person like this haha, but as a teacher if you give too much you burn out in like 2 years so you really have to guard your boundaries!

$ 0.06
2 years ago

Well you know you can give too much and be a pushover and get nowhere, there is happy medium. Sometimes you do have to learn to say no. Teaching is an environment where you do need to stand your ground, so I understand where you are coming from. You do not want to burn out in two years or some ridiculously low amount.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dafty I agree with you and I have really related to all these three types you mentioned The takers and matchers can't progress if they don't change. Even the Bible mentions that those who gives would never lack. I love to give and I can't deny the fact. I so much understand that there is benefits from God and I don't have to expect back because I give. No! Give wholeheartedly and you will receive bountifully.

$ 0.08
2 years ago

I spend many years working in West Africa and the people were so so generous, sharing whatever they could, even if they went without. I have always tried to do the same, and I know you really love to give, I have seen you here :) thank you for reading and mentioning Dafty, I appreciate people who actually read articles and make meaningful comments.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also like giving someone without expecting anything in return. Because if you'll expect something and you didn't receive anything then you're just the one who's hurting yourself. Because not all the time people will give back something for you. That is why it's better not to expect something in return. Less expectations = less hurt

Dafty cutie 🤣🤣

$ 0.08
2 years ago

Hehe that is true, less expectations = less hurt. Thank you for reading and mentioning Dafty, I am checking who actually reads ;) Yes if something comes back, then it is a bonus!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good evening/day sir! Thanks for the test but before taking it, I can say that I am taker most of the time and sometimes giver 😁 but just here in platform. My earnings are not that high so I'm saving it most of the time. When time comes that I have enough, that's also the time I give back.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

You are more a matcher, you will give when you can. Keep going and that time will come :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uh huh why is my comprehension so slow. A matcher. Noted sir. Thanks a lot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Giving is indeed a random act of kindness kuya ed. When we give to others we feel joy seeing how happy they are even if it is a small cents. Even if theres is no test, Youre really a giver kuya ed. Ill try the test po :) I did pat myself in the back. Looking for more Dafty update

$ 0.08
2 years ago

hehe wee one , you did read it all, thank you for saying about Dafty, I was curious who actually reads and makes comments that are appropriate. Yes giving is a random act of kindness and there is nothing better seeing someone smile or get lots of salamats or thank you's haha. And that made me smile, you did pat your self on your back :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I read all from top to bottom kuya ed hehe and even watched the video cilp if there is one :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are just awesome wee one, I really do appreciate you 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a 67% Giver, 27% Matcher, 7% Taker. hehe it's just fair right Uncle Ted.

$ 0.09
2 years ago

Oh wow. Amazing! Haha. Now I know why. XD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe yes it's fair Kim !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dafty!! I am a giver too. It makes me feel good to help. It makes me happy.

$ 0.08
2 years ago

Excellent it is good to give and as you say it makes us happy, thank you for reading and mentioning Dafty :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a giver - all the way. lol

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Excellent that is the way to be :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dafty, my master is truly a giver. 💗 And ofc his wee BC is a giver too.

$ 0.08
2 years ago

I am glad you read this and mentioned Dafty, I was checking who actually reads what I write, so salamat my wee BC and I know you are giver definitely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome, master 💗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought I am a matcher. But after taking the test, I was a taker hehehe

$ 0.04
2 years ago

hehe I appreciate your honesty, that did make me laugh though 🤣🤣🤣 Thanks for reading and taking the test, it is a bit of fun, but we can learn from it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahahaha I was a bit shocked and disappointed after getting the taker result. I really thought I was a matcher. Oh well, I need to give more. Those scenarios in the test were really awesome

$ 0.05
2 years ago

They actually make you stop and think, that is why I liked it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow 100% Giver. That is amazing! I did try the test out and I got 53% Giver, 20% Matcher and 27% Taker. 😅

This is a lovely prompt that I would like to try writing about (maybe for my article tomorrow). I am not so new here but I’ve only been active recently. Thank you so much in advance should you let me be a part of your Read Cash family 😌

$ 0.08
2 years ago

Thank you for ding the test, it can be fun to see what we are. You should write about the prompt, they are great to get us thinking. There are 11 in total and you can do them anytime. Well I am glad you active and will visit you soon, and let you be part of my Read family :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just did and thank you! It sure helped because it’s hard to choose a topic sometimes. But then these prompts help a lot in unleashing those old memories that we had that we can also share in writing :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I see you starting to use the prompts now, I like your style now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are so very welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dafty, ased on the results I am 80% giver, 13% matcher and 7% taker. Giving does make me feel happy compared to receiving, sometimes there is hiya when it comes to the things I receive haha.

$ 0.08
2 years ago

Excellent Bryan and thanks for reading , mentioning Dafty and doing the test. It is interesting to see if we are as we think we are. Giving is cool but of course receiving can be cool too every so often :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You definitely are a giver, uncle Ed!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Salamat Mrs P :) I do my best in my own wee way :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yas, Uncle Ed, you are definitely a giver. And I remember just now, that the name Tengo is the name of the main character of Haruki Murakami's book 1Q84.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

aww salamat, well I do my best to be one. Now I need to look at this book you mention, I know 1984 but not 1Q84 !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you should. It's worth the read

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are three books I see , it is a trilogy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yass! I'm excited to the idea of you reading a book with a character having the same name as you☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe did you read all three ?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just the 1Q84

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Im a giver i think😂 bec i believe in the power of giving.. Law of attraction

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Yes I am a big LOA advocate too, but keep giving and making people and animals smile 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ed, this has been a hot topic here lately and you made it as a response to the writing prompt! You are indeed a giver! Thank you for your support, I appreciate it.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Yes Em, I had this waiting for a suitable time to publish, and then the writing prompt appeared and I thought why not! My pleasure for the support and likewise I appreciate yours too :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's my pleasure. I wish I can spend more time reading!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know that feeling, the more people I sponsor the harder is becoming reading everything!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly, and I am subbed to many, even without sponsoring them. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes me too Em, I must admit, I am going through lists now 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is a say that givers never lack

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Yes that is true, they do

$ 0.00
2 years ago