Ah'm no feart!

63 77
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

July 27th 2021 1625

Hello all my awesome Readers, how are you today? Had a busy day yesterday so no time to publish anything or do much reading and commenting, I shall rectify that. I have things in the pipeline I am working on as well, so will be doing a few different things this week for you to read!

A big thank you to every who read and commented on my last article about some Scottishisms It was fun to write, and even more fun to read your comments, and see you use words in your articles as wee !

It is fun to try new things I think, don't you?

So today is a wee article following on from the article by @Eylz2021 and the article about being afraid of things .

Ah'm No Feart!

There is a wee bit more Scots for you. Meaning I am not afraid.

Feart means frightened, scared, afraid.

So, what makes me Feart?

Truthfully not that much. I like adventure and am a firm believer of trying anything once!

However I am feart of some things, and these three are in no particular order.

Snakes

Snakes give me the heebie jeebies ! Now how many of you know that one, seems we are having an educational week. Heebie jeebies basically means anxious or apprehensive.

As you might or might not know, here in the UK we don't really have snakes. There are only three species of snake which are native to the UK. These are the grass snake, adder and smooth snake. They are not big and only the adder is poisonous, and generally only found in woodland, so I watch my step when I go visit the wizard 🤣

Seriously I don't as they are not in the East of Scotland where I live.

I rarely dream, but if I do have a nightmare it will be about snakes, they hiss and slither and wake me up with a sweat.

I remember when I was working in Gabon in West Africa, I saw a black mamba on the path in front of me, then the bloody thing moved as if to strike me, I nearly had a jobbie in ma breeks (ma breeks is Scottish for my trousers). There you go some more Scottish words, I hope you are learning these!

Back to the mamba, I looked and noticed it had been decapitated so it was harmless but doing the twitching stuff. But I really was quite feart I can tell you. I had been told if a black mamba bites you and it goes untreated then bam you are dead, no ifs and buts!

as close to a snake as I want to be, on a laptop!

I have seen more snakes in the wild, as I said I am adventurous, but they still scare me, I always make noises when I enter a room when I am in a hot country, because you just never know!

Snake picture from pixabay username herbert2512

Being buried Alive

Being from Scotland in the UK, we have a history of coal mining, and there are many stories of being down the pits, and shaft collapsing and miners being buried alive. With so many earthquakes and building collapses that happen all to frequently now, my heart goes out to everyone involved and it makes me anxious all over again.

The thought of your breath being sucked out of you slowly, no sir I don't like that, it makes me feart.

This why I want to be cremated and not buried.

The picture below is of Dunfermline Abbey in the Kingdom of Fife, and it is where I was christened. I do not want to be buried in that graveyard. No Nope No chance is that happening! I might do an article on Dunfermline Abbey, it is fascinating and exudes history. It was a priory in 1070 (can you imagine that over 1000 years ago!) and many Kings of Scotland were buried there, it is why Fife is called a Kingdom.

photo by me, the ruins on the left of Dunfermline Abbey

Here I am getting sidetracked, it is funny I don't like talking what makes me feart.

Guns

This is the last thing on my list. I don't like guns. I moved as a small child from Northern Ireland to Scotland because of the Troubles and knew later my father was held at gun point by the IRA. That is reason enough to be scared of guns, however personally, I have had too many altercations with rebel soldiers and guns. Working in the Oil and Gas Industry I worked in many countries that were oil rich but full of political instability.

I remember one time I was driving to work in Africa, it was six o'clock in the morning and pitch black. I was driving down a track in the jungle when out stepped a soldier with his machine gun aiming at me and the car. So I stopped and rolled down the window (yes people, in those days we had windows you had to wind down, not use a button 🤣). He came up to me and started talking in some local dialect I did not answer. So I answered in French and he starts cursing back in French and waving his machine gun in my face. I point to the seat and he comes around and gets in beside me. Next thing he gets out a bottle of something and starts drinking, he was reeking of alcohol. He starts cursing away and the gun is my face now, and he was on about how he hates the President Bongo and they killed his family. I was getting feart for my life I can tell you. However, I seemed to calm him down and took a swig of his alcohol when he gave it to me, then he realised I was Scottish and not an enemy. He eventually decided to do something else and got out of the car as I was still driving and toddled off back into the jungle from where he had come.

I had similar encounters in Libya, Algeria and Nigeria to name a few countries.

I should say it is not guns I am afraid of it, I appreciate the death and destruction that guns can cause. However it is the person holding the gun that I am afraid of. They are the ones who pull the trigger and cause mayhem.

So enough of this, it is time for happy thoughts, I need food and to finish a long awaited feel good chapter that needs publishing tomorrow!

Thank you for reading you awesome beautiful people.

Copyright @TengoLoTodo 2021 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images, words and ramblings are from the author unless otherwise stated.

100% original content from this mad Scotsman!

Haste ye back.

15
$ 7.54
$ 6.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.13 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.11 from @CoquiCoin
+ 9
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

Snakes and crocodiles are the animals that I fear the most. And also, I really hate things that crawl. I've seen lots of snakes especially here in my place. There was this time were our neighbour's chicken was being swallowed whole by a huge python, luckily they caught the snake.

And we're the same with the gun. I'm not afraid of guns, I am afraid of the person who's holding, because as what you've said, they're the one who pulls the trigger. Reading all your experiences encountering someone with a gun, that's a bit traumatizing 😨

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Crocodiles don't scare me, I respect them, and I have swum in water with them, but snakes eww they just scare me. I am sure you have lots of snakes. The poor chicken, I guess was dead.

Yes it is the person holding that gun, that scares me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, snakes give me the heebie jeebies, too! I can't even see the snakes in a photo. And I've seen quite a few in my life. A few days ago, there was terrible news here about a lady who went out to walk the dog and lived in a slightly wooded area. She was bitten by a snake (mapanare) and the lady died. Snakes scare the heck out of me!

The other thing that terrifies me is an earthquake. Maybe it could be related to the fear of being buried alive. It's just shaking a little, and then a second later I think I'm going to pass out.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes an earthquake does fall into the realm of being buried alive, one minute all hunky dory, then bam buried under a ton of rubble. Aww am sorry to hear about that lady, I see that a mapanare are deadly vipers, and that is such a shame.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, the poor lady was unlucky. Apparently, she was wearing sandals, the snake bit her and the amount of poison was deadly. Here the most poisonous snake is called Coral, but it's not as aggressive as other species such as Mapanare. I don't know why I'm talking so much about snakes if I can't even see them. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sandals oh no, why on earth wear sandals , I loved in Florida and they had coral snakes, I always wore shoes when walking the dogs. I know, enough of the snake talk 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eiikkks.. I really don't like snakes.. 😱 I also have an experience in guns. It gives me a trauma. Even until now, I can't forget that incident.. Yayyy...😩

Hmmm.. Do take care bro, every time you visit the wizard.😅😊

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oh I take care sis whenever I visit the wizard 🤣 Yes snakes , no thank you haha and sorry about your gun experience sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its okay bro..☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

okay sis, glad to hear it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

same here sir, I don't want to be buried alive nor be dead too. it just scares me to death. oh wait so i will be dead too because i am scared 🤣

$ 0.05
2 years ago

haha you scared yourself to death, so no need to be scared now 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha what is this confusion i had myself into. lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha you twist yourself in knots, confusion knots 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sorry sorry hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wiw your life adventure with the drunk man with the gun made me feart.

That would make me faint .. it is amazing you were able to drive still. Feart is gonna take a little adustment it keeps registering a different word in my head. Hahaha..

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Does that word in your head not have an e in it, if so then it comes from your arse wee pp 😂 Yes it was surprising I was able to drive haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We do have snakes here but not deadly and they are small snakes. I don't know what kind of snakes though. Being buried alive is like drowning. That's scary indeed.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

well small non deadly snakes you can live with. Ah yes drowning is like being buries alive, so yes both scary.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Snakes. Snakes. I am really afraid of it. Super. I can't imagine seeing snakes in person. 😣😬

by the way, thank you for the new word, "Feart". Gonna use this again on some sentences. 🤗

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes snakes scare me!

hehe I am looking forward to seeing you use feart!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am scared of snakes too. I cant watch movies or videos with snakes. About guns, I am not afraid of it before but not when I saw someone being shot in front of me.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes I would rather not watch any movie or film with snakes, I see it and I switch to something else !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't wanna be buried alive as well. Gasssh who would want that anyways? Well, I am afraid of snakes too but I wanted to see the black mamba in person 😅

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Haha yes you would want to be buried alive, not me!

That black mamba you want to see, the one I saw or a live one;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why do you want me to get buried alive Daffy's friend 😭. Lol. Atleast a live one, but I doubt if I am still alive after that 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha I don't want you to be buried alive nor do I want you to see a live black mamba 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww thanks for that Daffy's Friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe my pleasure !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Snakes gives you heebie jeebies. I would be scared if they aren't tamed. You saw one of my snake pic right, the python that's a tamed one and I touched it. Now about guns you won't be scared if I'm holding it, you know that I do target shooting and one day you'll be seeing me doing that, I'll make sure I won't aim it at you. I just love doing target shooting. I haven't done that since last year because the shooting range is closed for public only the military are allowed to practice. I would be curious how your reaction will be if you see me holding a gun 😂

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes I saw it, didn't like it but saw it, pythons are better than venemous ones!

Yes target shooting or clay pigeon shooting is okay, I was a good marksman in my youth too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aweee I want to speak French too! i know quite a few words. Hehe! What I am afraid most is the gun as well. But unlike you, I'm afraid of death so seeing a gun means death for me. Lol.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

oh you speak French, did you learn at school? Death can be scary too ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just few words sir. No, I have an online bf before who is French and he taught me. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

aha I wonder what few words he taught you 🤣🤣🤣 but it is great to learn new languages, even if it is only a few words

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just sweet words and common greetings lol. Like bonjour, kon amour, ma belle and i forgot the rest haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

je t'aime ma cherie I am sure he said to you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. Hehehe! But now we lose contact 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All of the above gave me chills🥶 I mean, the way you narrated your stories of why you're feart of them made me afraid of them too. But like Mrs. P, I don't wanna get cremated too.

And you speak French, wow!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes I speak French, why I like Paris, it is great when they know you speak their language. You know it gave me more chills, when I reread to proof check it 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amazing! I always think the French language is sexy😁

Haha, you're good at speed reading anyway so I know the chills probably went away quickly😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha mais oui, the chills went quickly 😜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I also prefer to be cremated! Haha.

Your experience with guns reminded me of mine. I remember the time I had a gun to my face during a jeepney holdup in the province. Man I still talked back to the guy who was holding a gun because I saw in his eyes he wasn't one to use such. Unfortunately the other guy, I think it was their leader, slapped me from talking back. Perhaps I am more feart of knives huh? 😅

$ 0.05
2 years ago

yes knives can be more dangerous and make you feart, a gun has never harmed me but a knife has 🤣 you better be careful if you get help up again. Sometimes talking back is not so good!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I dunno why but that was my reaction when it happened. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe that is when adrenaline takes over, and we don't know what we do!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Heebie jeebies haha sound cute but reciprocal of the meaning tho. Am feart of snake too. And you're right about the gun, you should afraid to the person who holds the gun not the gun itself. It seems that you have travel in different country. Sana all hehez :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

haha yes so we are both scared of snakes, that is maayo well not maayo haha , but heebie jeebies is a cute word just not a cute meaning! Yes I worked in many countries and love meeting new people cultures and customs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also want visit other countries maybe someday hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sure you will one day wee one :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Am no feart cuteee, hibbie jibbies aaackkkk your language is cute and interesting. Am no feart but it's 11:37 Pm here right now in the Philippines and I should sleep co'z I'll get punished when they catch me still awake so I should sleep babyeee. Am no feart but there's a rat run on my room earlier it's too big I ran out immediately.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

haha so you are feart of rats ! Hope you had a good sleep and didn't get in trouble

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nope I didn't sleep well. I slept at 12 and wake up at 4 am writing a new story just right now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha I read it the first time and thought you were claiming not to be a fart....

$ 0.05
2 years ago

haha now you got me laughing, I am not a fart 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, no graveyard! Me is the opposite, uncle ed. I don't want to be cremated. Feels like hell is burning my soul I dunno 😬

$ 0.05
2 years ago

As long as I am not alive then I don't mind the cremation , but neither if alive is good 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay dont wanna be buried alive either.. Thats why i dont go inside a cave or tunnel😱😱

$ 0.05
2 years ago

yes it is a scary thought, I am not fond of caves either !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for doing the challenge.... You've been to a lot of places already.... And yes, the person holding the gun is more scary than the that metal thing called gun.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

hehe my pleasure, and yes quite alot of countries. Yes I should really have put the gun holding person, oh well what is done is done.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have a wealth of real-life experiences that you can write a book! Oh, you are already doing that, though of a different theme, I believe.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

haha yes I need to get some more chapters published ! Time, oh where do you go !

$ 0.00
2 years ago