My Mother's Aswang Encounter

19 57
Avatar for Sydney2
1 year ago

Let me tell you a story about one of my mother's terrifying experience when she was pregnant. It happened 14 years ago but it's not the only time my mother experience this kind of terrifying moment in her life as a pregnant woman. Before I will start, let me tell you what is an Aswang first.

Aswang is one of the most terrifying supernatural creatures in the Philippines. They have the capability to shape shift and it is because they possess supernatural abilities. They can sometimes turn into an animal. According to the Philippine folklores, they are humans during the day and they interact like an ordinary person to the whole neighborhood. At night, the Aswang will hunt for their prey and they love pregnant women so much.

Now let's go back to my mother's Aswang encounter. It was in the middle of the night. My mother is conceiving my sister and during that time, my father is not around. He has to go fishing and the only people left is my mother and my teenage brother. I was so young during that time, I think I am only 5 years old. The lights suddenly shut down while our neighboring houses still had electricity. It is strange that it is only our house who have no electric light. A few seconds, a loud rasping sound can be heard on our roof. My mother is so terrified and she really know that it is an Aswang. She gets a piece of garlic and salt. In Philippines, we have a belief that these garlic and salt can ward away the supernatural creature due to its unpleasant smell to their nose. My mother is shaking while getting garlic and salt at the same time. What I can remember during that time is that it was so really dark that I can only see the figures of my mom and brother. My brother got a knife and he suddenly open the door, pointing the knife. It is unbelievable that my coward brother suddenly become a man during that time. Thankfully, the lights suddenly came back and the scratches from our roof disappear. I do not know what will happen to my mother during that time if it's just her and me. I am very thankful that my brother didn't let his fear conquer him. I believe that the fierceness of my brother that time made the Aswang go away.

Some people doubt the existence of Aswang, it is because they have never seen or encountered any. Based on the experience of my mother, I believe in their existence. I also believe in supernatural creatures (the entity we cannot see). We cannot prove their existence because they are not ordinary beings just like us humans. It is really true that we are not the only creatures living in this world.

If other countries have their vampires, we also have our version here in Philippines except they are more attracted to the fetus of pregnant women. They say you will know if an Aswang is near if you will hear a birdlike sound in the middle of the night. A pregnant woman shouldn't sleep alone especially when the window is open.

Some additional facts about Aswang creatures:

•They eat the heart and livers of unborn fetuses using their very lengthy tongue that can extend from the roof to the ground.

•They can take their victims and replace them with a doppleganger at home and return them sick and die naturally so that the relatives won't suspect about it.

•The name Aswang comes from the Spanish word "Azura" meaning demon.

In these modern times, some people disregard the existence of Aswang. I also don't believe in this creature but after hearing my mother's experience with it including the experience of other mothers I have met, they all have the same stories. Even my classmate who told her boyfriend about this case cannot believe at the existence of Aswang. She also retells the story of what her father experienced when they were on the farm. It's really scary that the unbelievable things are actually true. If only humans can see beyond the lens, we would probably see a lot of different strange creatures.

November 2, 2022

Like. Comment. Subscribe!

11
$ 1.04
$ 0.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 3
Avatar for Sydney2
1 year ago

Comments

Wow!! Your mother is such a brave woman ✊🏽💪🏾being able to gather the salt and garlic at the same to destroy the aswang creatures.Because if it were to be me, I would have been in a state of great shock😢💔

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Akala q aswang is bampirA na sumisipsip sa dugo ng khit sinong biktima nila, ksi ung npapanood natin is tiktik ba un ung kumakain ng fetus?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nalilito din ako pero yung mga Aswang kumakain din ng fetus ng buntis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thankfully nothing happened to her or to any of you. Kudos to your kuya too for mustering the courage to face the aswang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you. I am very happy that my brother stand as a brave man during that time, I was only a 5 years old who have no idea about what's happening.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've heard this folklore a couple of times. All of the same account like you mentioned When I was younger I mean in my 20's I swear I came across a big foot. I big hairy Ape human like creature. I don't know seems fair fetched but their is so many unexplained things so you can't rule out right?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh i know about the big foot we also have our big foot version here in Philippines we call them "Kapre", they are gigantic tree dwelling monsters.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All I can say about aswang, they are endemic only in Philippines hahah They dont want to migrate , they dont underatand english. Hahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahah that's true. Actually they are ordinary people living in our neighborhood and at night they transform. That's the easiest definition of Aswang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

•They eat the heart and livers of unborn fetuses using their very lengthy tongue that can extend from the roof to the ground. this that means she was very lucky

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, it's really terrifying. I do not know what will happen to my mother if my brother is not around..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've never experienced or see any case like that in my whole life most especially in my mother, knowing I'm the eldest in the four siblings but I believe in Aswang talaga, kasi iba kasi talaga pag yung Lola mo na magk-kwento since they are more experienced. And it also being stated in the bible, they are fallen angels they are more scared to people who are fearless yet fears God.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako din naniniwala ako sa mga Aswang. Yes, yan yung Sabi nila mga fallen angels. Totoo na takot sila sa mga matatapang lalo na sa may mataas na pananampalataya sa Diyos.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

DZAI! Nangyari sakin yan nung buntis pa ko. Nakapatay ilaw sa labas ng bahay and sa sala tapos mga midnight na, buti gising oa kami ng bunso kong kapatid. Tapos nakarinig kami ng parang beetle na sound na parang hindi pero raspy sya. Papalakas ng papalakas tapos sabi ko sa kapatid ko silipin nga yung mga aso namin, himala kasi di sila tumatahol. Tapos pinabuksan ko ilaw sa labas, biglang tumigil yung tunog. Sabay kuha sya ng bawang at nilagay sa bintana.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Totoo talaga mga Aswang. Para lang silang ordinaryong tao pero sa gabi naghahanap sila ng mga buntis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Baka pusa lang yon haha. Personally, hindi ako naniniwala sa mga aswang at mas takot pa ako sa buhay. Dati takot na takot ako sa aswang lalo na raw kapag madaling araw na pero lagi akong napupuyat don ko napatunayan na di yon totoo. But if totoo yung kuwento na yon, mataas ang chance na masira faith most of them sa Kaniya hahahha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Para sakin totoo yung mga elemento. Kahit pa lumabas ka ng bahay mo ng 3 AM di mo sila makikita kasi sa buntis lang sila nagpapakita. Walang dahilan para magpakita yung Aswang sayo hahahah gusto nila buntis Charles.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omg it's so scary it I was on a place of your mother I will die on a spot hut she shows courage and bring salt & garlic

After dad brother are care taker of family your teenage brother is a real man who don't care about his age when your mother is in trouble

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's really terrifying. I also don't know what to do if I were in her situation. I am very happy that my brother didn't show any cowardness during that time. I really can't imagine if it's only me and my mother. 😭

$ 0.00
1 year ago