Types of Drivers after 10pm

56 83
Avatar for Stea
Written by
2 years ago

This article was inspired by a conversation I had with @OldBastard, regarding traffic orders in Mumbai.

Generally, people in Mumbai drive orderly in their lanes, pedestrians walk on the footpath and everyone follows the traffic rules.

But after 10 pm, the orderly drivers are replaced with rowdy drivers, and people walking on the footpath are replaced by youngsters looking for a thrill.

A picture of me sitting on an empty road without a care in the world. Why am I sitting on the road you ask? I was wearing a new pair of jeans by Vero Moda and refused to sit anywhere. I was scared to ruin them. My friends coaxed me into sitting on the street. Since then, I found and sat on every empty street I saw.

Anyway, I digress.

I'm a cautious driver, I have been told. 'You are too cautious, learn to relax, enjoy the drive'. Yet, I am the one without a ticket and they have plenty of them.

Ah, let's say that this article is a consequence of my eyes that observe well, a mind that likes to make quick judgments, fingers that type faster when angry, and being a frustrated driver.

Types of Drivers after 10 pm

The Family Picnic

A motorbike is meant for seating for two people, a Driver, and a pillion. But sometimes, a car is too expensive, more expensive than your children's freaking lives. Therefore, a family of four adjusts themselves on a bike. Husband, Wife, and Two children. I myself couldn't believe it, how can I expect my readers to believe it?

Hence, I took a picture-

The Couple on a Bike

The woman will grab her partner (the driver) so tightly as if her life was dependent on it. She lives by the motto, 'If I fall, he should fall too'.

I feel bad for the poor Driver. I have no idea how can he concentrate on driving when his partner is leaving nail marks on his chest.

The 'The-Road-Belongs-To-My-Dad'

If there's a sign of 'No-Entry', they'll enter the lane. If there's a 'No Parking' sign, they will park there. If it's a 'No Honking Area', you know where I'm getting with this, right?

Oh, and they like to jump traffic signals too. They don't care either about their lives or for other's on the road.

If you're waiting for the traffic signal to turn Red, and they are behind you, they won't stop honking!

This 35-second ad should summarise it.

The Road Rash

When I was learning to drive, I was told that I am supposed to be alert and have to take care of pedestrians, even if they like to cross the road at Green Signal.

No one even slightly tipped me that I was supposed to be alert of motorists that like to overtake left-right-and center.

It's actually funny to watch them fall sometimes. They get up, wipe off the dust, and get on with their drive as if nothing happened.

They believe that they are playing Road Rash and have 3 lives.

The Broom-Broom

Oh my gosh, they're worse than 'The Road Rash'. The word 'Silencer' means nothing to them.

Thanks to them, you can't sleep in on a Sunday, if you have a flat facing the road.

Thank you for waking me up on time.

The one who has been beaten by life and is trying to find some peace on the road

Hey! That's me! I drive everywhere, but, there's a difference between driving in the morning during rush hours when you have errands to run, and driving aimlessly at night to get some fresh air.

The city lights never fail me, so, from time to time, I go out for a drive simply to admire her radiance. It makes me forget all my woes and helps me find peace. It's almost like taking a pause from your everyday life. But, occasionally, today being one of them, you can't stop but think that the streets are full of idiots.

I hope you had as much fun as I did writing this. In fact, my chest feels lighter.

Let's thank my sponsors for believing in me, you guys are the best :)!

Sponsors of Stea
empty
empty
empty

25
$ 6.57
$ 5.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
$ 0.10 from @lowededwookie
+ 10
Sponsors of Stea
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Stea
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I feel safer on a motorcycle than in a car. It’s because my brain is constantly looking out for idiots on the road… including pedestrians.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

heheheh can't argue with that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've been using a dash cam on my car for a few years now and yes, it's caught a variety of driving skills and unskills (if there is such a term!). Thankfully, I have never been in a crash. Never been to Mumbai recently (was there as a child for a year), but it's not that different here in TN either.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aye, Hi! Are you from Tamil Nadu? Nice to meet you :)! Hope to see you around :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup. I'll be hanging around and throw in a few articles and comments occasionally. I'm sure our paths will cross here and at noise

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awesome you already have a car

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes, it's a Dad's :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh you have a car. Haha. I'd rather use my bicycle than drive any vehicle. Hehe.

We also have the Family Picnic here but of course you won't see that anymore since the pandemic happened.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I wish I had a place to ride bicycles. Riding bicycles here would be very dangerous.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I see, here in the metro it used to be dangerous too. Thanks to the pandemic biking has now become mainstream and acceptable. Hehe. Bike lanes have been created too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bike lanes would be my dream! They had dedicated bike lanes in one of the posh areas here, but no one used it. I wish they make it here where I live.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol if it's a posh area no one would really use it I think. πŸ˜† This is how we all started biking more. Last year did India not have any total lockdown?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We were under lockdown :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah so it's the same. Hehe. I thought other countries would have adopted biking as well. Apparently it didn't happen much there. πŸ˜… It's alright you can bike in other places maybe and not on roads. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everywhere there's a driver who feels like they own the road or the street and drive as fast as they can and never think what would happen after

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Looks like it's a universal thing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I have seen all of this and more in Chennai roads, even before 10 pm 🀣🀣🀣 whom am I kidding... rules are a joke to people here.. and that conversation between you and another user seemed a bit offensive to the old person in me 🀣🀣🀣 "India looks more organized than........." Sir, Sir,... I want you to stop it right there .... the only "Organized" that happens in any country is "Organized crime"... everything else is trash everywhere..... regardless of the country... haha

Thank you so much for the kind sponsorship, greatly appreciate it :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Are you from Chennai?! You must've definitely gone to Pondicherry :)! I wish I could go there once :)!

I think this video is from Tamil Nadu- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A_tIlx_CXEA

(Even I haven't seen this in real life, this was Tamil Nadu, I believe, and I do not support this!)

I am from Mumbai, nice to meet you :)!

Aye, Mumbai is organised, only some parts are weird hehehe

You should come here sometime :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not from Chennai but I do live there.... married and settled case you know and the video you sent is the best video I have seen today haha.. love that. I have been wanting to visit Mumbai for a while but at the same time, I hate going out of my bedroom lol... you know those extroverts but hate people or going out or something like that? yeah, I'm that... I once visited Shirdi though, found it so beautiful... maybe I will come one day because you said it is organized, I like that...

And I have never been to Pondi.. got no reason to, so...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehehe, I love travelling. This year I travelled to Rajasthan and Goa :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The only kind of traveling I love is from my bedroom to Refrigerator 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't understand such kind of people who behaved well during the day but the same people act differently at other time.We should not forget to follow the rules because human life matters no matter it be a day or night.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think people are probably tired by the end of the day to deal with 'rules'

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh it's everywhere, all over the world. People who doesn't follow road rules, some thinks that they own the whole road lmao

$ 0.02
2 years ago

lol hahahaha, there's an ad which I'd like to show you, but it's in Hindi without subtitles :( It's mostly about people thinking that the road belongs to their daddy lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If only I own a car and know how to drive, I would also like to drive in the wee hour, admiring city lights. Of course I'd drive carefully hehe!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ah, it's really amazing to drive on the highways late in the night :)! Why do you not have a license? Are you underaged?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahha! I'm not underaged. I'm in my 30s already. It's just that I really do not own a car and I haven't really learned how to drive. I am always the passenger.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my place, there is another type of reckless driver that we call: "Ones who urgently needs to poo". They'll drive without caring about other users and pedestrians as if they have to go to the toilet and take a big one. Sometimes, they'll even curse others even though its their own fault.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

lol, in urgent cases, that should be allowed me thinks hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you when you say the broom-broom type is the worst as it always disturb my sleep. Maybe the words silence and peace are not on their vocabulary. πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Truly! Do you know that it's mandatory to have a silencer installed?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think when partner captured him then he don't think about nails he just thinks she is so romantic and everyone can say also.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehehehe I bet when he takes his shirt off in the night, he'll see the marks lololol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly when he feel pain then he show her πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One bike is more than 4 as long as it will fit without minding the children life.. Drag race are also disturbing in hereπŸ€¦β€β™€

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have no idea how do they manage lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha I was remember this past few months I've been driving motorbike, of course the road is mine hahaha kidding. I was driving in the private lot so that I can utilize all the space there that no one will disturb meπŸ˜… lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If it's an empty area, it's ok na? As long as you're wearing a helmet :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I drive motorcycle but not 4 wheels. And I am a cautious driver too. I am afraid to die in a road accident, lol! For us here in the Philippines, you can see these kind of drivers every time like no particular time..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Motor Cycles are scary da. I'm not allowed to sit on motor cycles. Oh my, even I'm very scared of road accidents.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So it is important to be cautious always and be a responsible driver too so that you will not cause an accident for other drivers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, these types of drivers you have mentioned can be found here in our place too. I'm so annoyed with the broom broom one. Tsk.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Philippines ah? I'm reading a lot of like comments from residents of your country hehehe, looks like it's the same everywhere.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, Philippines. Haha, these rude drivers are everywhere, I guess.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I had my convertible Jaguar I would do the driving for fresh air thing. However, now no, that is not exactly environmentally friendly!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Why is driving a convertible not an environmentally friendly thing? Ok, I think I understood while typing itself, wasting fuel, ah?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe yes wasting fuel just driving for the sake of it, not good for your carbon footprint

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow! 4 people on one bike! I’ve never seen this before πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have seen it quite a couple of times, it is dangerous; I know. I have no idea how to they manage.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mexico was like this a bit. I was amazed at what I saw on scooters. Even people riding with dogs. It was pure chaos without a rhyme or reason, and it seemed that there too most people could afford scooters over cars. Driving IN a car you had to be very aware of scooters zigzagging all over the place.

I got a kick out of your descriptions of the many "drivers."

We have some pretty crazy drivers of all kinds of vehicles here in the States, but even in the most crazy and chaotic roadways, there is a strong sense of order.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Now that you've mentioned it, -https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A_tIlx_CXEA

(Even I haven't seen this in real life, this was Tamil Nadu, I believe, and I do not support this!)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes. Agreed. This is a bit much. lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd love the part, If I fall,he should fall too lol 🀣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehehe, some people are like that lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha lol and its the continue of it πŸ˜‚ But when he fall ,he should fall alone 🀣 kidding

$ 0.00
2 years ago