$166 was wiped off from my Bitcoin.com wallet, how did I get it back?

69 131
Avatar for Stea
Written by
2 years ago

Disclaimer:- This article is not meant to discourage anyone from QR Tipping.

On 17th August, my balance on Bitcoin.com wallet stood at $166, which was all my earning from read.cash and noise.cash of 40 days. I had never withdrawn any amount.

I saw a friend who was not receiving heart tips, so I decided to QR Tip 10 cents to them. To my surprise, on checking my balance, it was showing 20 cents! (which also disappeared in few minutes).

I wallet tip frequently, but had never faced such a situation. I use Bitcoin.com wallet, both, the application, and the web page too. So I opened my laptop and checked on the website, it was showing 20 cents there too!

The tricky part was that upon searching my wallet address on blockchair.com, all my balance was correctly reflecting, but it was not reflecting on my wallet, which means that I had no access to my own money.

In fact, in the application, and on the website, my transaction history was also showing all the transactions, a cumulation of which would've been around $144.

So, I transferred some tips of 41 cents from noise.cash to the wallet. It reflected correctly, but the balance of $166 was still not showing.

After panicking for 20 minutes, I made a post on noise.cash, stating the above facts, and asking for leads as to what can be done about it. A lot of people came forward with different ideas, some even wallet-tipped me, I am grateful to all of them.

Accordingly, I did the following,

  • Switched off my phone, and switched it back on.

  • Cleared caches from my phone.

  • Uninstalled and reinstalled the application.

  • Scanned for missing transactions.

  • Someone recommended clearing cache from the application, but, that option was not available in my version.

Unfortunately, none of that worked.

I then reached out to the 'Help' section on the application. They only gave me some articles to read, which mentioned the things I had already done, it was not useful.

Next, I wrote to noise.cash via a post and tagged them. I also requested all my friends to renoise it so it reaches the admins. 17 people renoised it. You can find it here.

There were people who commented the following,

  • 'You must've overtipped, contact the receiver'

  • 'You wallet must've been hacked'

  • 'You never had any money in the first place'

  • 'You will never receive your money back, it's gone now'

  • 'It's sad, please don't lose hope'

  • Believe me not or, someone actually commented, 'V nice to see this amazing and awesome post'.

It was really discouraging to read these kinds of comments.

(Side note- I believe it was a spam account, you can read my article about my responses to spam accounts here.)

Finally, someone told me that since the 10 cents I had tipped were correctly displaying on the receiver's post, the error is not with my noise account. The malfunction seems to be that of the wallet. They asked me to drop a mail to the admins of Bitcoin.com wallet- wallet@bitcoin.com.

I spent no minute and mailed them immediately.

"Dear admin at Bitcoin.com wallet,

I made a recent transaction of 10 cents to a user and could see my balance to be around $166 then. Post the transaction, the wallet balance shows zero, but my transaction history shows I need to have the expected balance of $166.

I'm attaching the screenshots of the same, can you please look into it on priority and let me know if there's anything you need from my side?

Thank you."

I attached my current balance, my receiving address, and a screenshot of blockchair.com which was displaying the correct balance.

I'm going to compile and compact the next part of the communication to save the reader's time. You can avoid reading the next three paragraphs and continue

They asked me for a screenshot showing my current balance and gave me step-by-step instructions on how to scan for missing transactions, I sent them the required screenshot, and told them I've performed the 'missing transaction' scan.

They asked me for the sender's and receiver's addresses, I gave them to them.

They asked for the transaction ID of the 10 cents I tried to tip, though the tip was successful, it didn't display on the records of the transaction history. I let them know about it.

reading from here-

They provided instructions for finding my 'Extended Key Address', and requested a screenshot.

They asked me to note down my 12 words seed phrase.

Next, they asked me to install Bitcoin.com wallet on another device and provided instructions on how to import and restore it on the new device.

My balance was still not displaying.

Finally, they asked me to reboot the device and perform a rescan of missing transactions.

I was almost tearful to see my correct balance. I'm grateful to the admins for the prompt and helpful replies. I was corresponding with them all night, and they didn't lose hope either. They were really responsive and guided me well. I have changed my wallet address now.

Here's my victory post lol

I pray nothing like that ever happens to anyone. God forbid, if it happens, please do not hesitate to write a mail here- wallet@bitcoin.com.

You can also save this article for reference.

Let's thank my sponsors for believing in me, you guys are the best :)!

Sponsors of Stea
empty
empty
empty

22
$ 6.21
$ 5.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
$ 0.10 from @Angel_183
+ 8
Sponsors of Stea
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Stea
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Am happy you didn't give up on getting it back that's girl power, no one cab afford to loose that kind of money and be silent about it, and for the spam comment you posted about I know how that feels its very berg annoying I must say.... Thanks for sharing your expirence

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it was a lot therefore I had to do something, thanks for dropping by:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing your experience pretty Stea ,it can help others who can experience this ,and im glad that your be able to get your money back

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had to do all I could :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations buddy yo! Finally you done it I can feel your pain about losing all of your money and I can also imagine your emotional feeling about getting it back,that is just emotional story and Thank to God he give it back to you , God bless you for your future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. It's good to know that bitcoin.com reps wouldn't leave you hanging if you have issues like this. I can't imagine how ill react if this happened to me. You didn't lose hope.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope it never happens to you, you can save this article in case

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I will! Love that you documented all the details.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you were able to get your money back. You must be so stressed because of that, cause I would be. Haha. Thanks for sharing your experience. I now know what I should do if ever this happened to me or to someone I know (I really hope not). I believe I have read somewhere that we must not keep big amounts on bitcoin wallet.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, you can save this article and keep!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for writing an article like this, it’s a great help and reference if in case I encounter the same thing too. I am also glad you were able to get your funds back.😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm glad it was helpful :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am so glad to hear that you managed to get your money back as well as how the admins helped you out. Hopefully this kind of scenraio will never happen again. But if it does happen, I hope that people come across your article and know that there is still hope to getting the money back.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe, I hope nothing of this sort happens with anyone :)! But its true, their admins are really helpful, sadly, this has happened with some others in the comment section too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What anguish for what you had to go through, But in the end, it's good to know that everything is solved. After reading this, I will create a wallet only for the QR tips with a low balance to avoid problems.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That sounds like a brilliant idea! Thank you, I'll do that too! Thanks for the Sponsorship also :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I experience it to, I think its happened last May but just a little amount about $25 and I emailed the bitcoin support team and fhey are very responsive. They guided me until i recover my balance and since then everything is bact to normal

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm so glad to hear that you go your money back :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah im happybtoo even its not much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a very informational article. I hope it won't happen to me as I also use the same wallet. But if in case it happens, atleast I can go back to this one you posted for the guide on how I can retrieve it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm glad it was helpful. Yes, you can save this article for future reference, but I hope you nevr need it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank goodness you got your money back! Well, bitcoin wallet really is awesome!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, they are really awesome! But I wished it never happened in the first place.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy that your money back. It's very huge and when i experience it too, i will cried and panic too. Congrats!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you! Oh I hope it never happens to you, but you can save this article if you wish

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, i will save it hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank god you do the right thing to get back your own money..good to hear that.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel you while reading your article, and I feel overwhelm that finally you revive your money. God is really great and the admins of bitcoin.com did well to help you with it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am really grateful to them. I started crying on seeing my money back. It was an accumulation of hardwork!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes and its big amount too, so happy you feel relieved

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad to know you recover it. I am happy for you that co'z $166 is not a joke money.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, a lot, specially considering the exchange rate, my gosh, it's 12,000 in Rupees

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My heary cries if that will loss

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh my. dang. That's a huge amount! I am glad you recover your balance😭lucky that bitcoin.com has a grgregrgreagrgregrgreat customer service

$ 0.02
2 years ago

An excellent customer service! But looks like this has happened with a few other users too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's great but I hope it won't happen to me. A hundred dollar is too huge for me. I'm happy that your balance is fine now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats thats money is not a joke..glad to know that you recover your balance..very informative article..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you! It was really shocking, and I was scared too! But thanks to the support :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've read your post regarding this in noise.cash. it is normal to panicked because $166 is not a joke, that's a lot of money. But when you panicked, you can't think right. You did the right thing in asking help from other users in noise and that gave you an idea how to deal with it. But demn, those spammers were so annoying, like seriously. Congrats that you get it all back..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Heyy! Thanks :)! Yes, specially for me, the amount is high because the exchange rate is high for where I live. A dollar is 73 Rs in my country. Spammers can't seem to find a life, ugh!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, i hope noise.cash would do something about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But I think, the error is not from noise.case, but on the side of Bitcoin.com wallet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most likely, yes..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yaaay! I'm happy that you get your money back! If I'm in your situation, I will also panic, $166 is a huge amount. Thanks to the customer service of the bitcoin.com wallet! I also hope that it won't happen again to you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, it is a huge amount, specially for me, because the exchange rate is high. So $166 means Rs. 12,000!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yeah! It is a big loss for me too, if ever.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope nothing like that happens to you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very glad that in the end it all worked out and your balance was restored, despite the horror and panic throughout the ordeal.

As for the wonderful spammers on here and there..."V Nice. Thank you for your amazingly stupid comment!"

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahaha, thank you for your comment lol, might base my next article on your comments lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hi stea! I experienced the same just recently. Normally the missing transactions search works. But thankfully bitcoin.com does have a superb support team, when that did not work and they checked on their side my correct balance was reflecting, they forwarded my issue to their dev team. Next day, the balance was already reflecting correctly.

It was a disconcerting experience at first but now we can have confidence that Bitcoin.com can help us! ;) Still i hope no one experiences the same .. it will still make one panic.

Glad everything is back to normal. ☺️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aw, I'm sorry to hear that you had to go through the same too.

Yes, I was really shocked. It kept me awake all night! But they were really helpful.

I pray nothing like that ever happens again, or to anyone :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see that bitcoin.com wallet has some amazing user's support, because they were able to help you so quick. I'm glad you got the money back, because you deserve all of it. 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Agreed, hats off to them! hehe thank you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now that is what I call great customer service. I can only imagine what you must have been feeling, but am so happy for you that is back to normal.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree! Everything was explained to me in easy language, and the replies were prompt too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is a glowing recommendation, I am happy for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That must have been very scary, I can only imagine. I have saved this page, it might just prove useful in the future

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I pray you or anyone may not need it, but it's best to keep it saved, just in case.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Man I cannot even imagine how much you must have been freaking out. Good to hear it had a happy ending!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe, ya, I was really scared.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's great that you didn't lose any money in the end. I don't know if I missed it, but is this all just a visual bug?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have no idea. I just did what they asked me to do and it came back hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope it doesn't happen again to anyone of us. I can't imagine myself in that situation. Might be panicking and won't be able to think straight lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree. It really was very scary. Nevertheless, I'm happy it's all back now. hehehe, same. I was numb for 20 minutes lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago