Nice to meet me.

47 64
Avatar for Sequoia
2 years ago
Date: February 24,2022
Author: Sequoia

“Who are you?”

Most of the time, we often hear those words from the strangers or people that we just meet. Asking our name is commonly the start-up of every type of relationship. Of course, before you can establish a good rapport with other people, you have to find out their basic informations to begin with.

Nevertheless, did you know that those words stated above aren’t just solely applicable for other people? Most of the time, we usually neglect the importance of getting to know ourselves by asking “Who am I?”

Have you ever asked yourself that? Do you have good relationship with yourself? Do you really know that girl who’s staring back at you in the mirror? If an interviewer will require you tell her more about yourself, what will you say?

Do you agree that each of us have different versions of ourselves, depend on the people that surround us? We wear different masks every single day, and it’s totally normal.

“Be yourself”

Just because I am showing other personalities to this specific group of people means I am already faking it. That’s just the other side of me that will only come out when I am with that specific group. However, despite of having different versions of you, in other people’s perception, you have to learn also the essence of having a strong foundation of how you view yourself.

And tonight, I wanna know me more by answering these questions initiated by ate @Jeaneth . Without further delay, let’s proceed.

________________________

  • What are my strengths?

Do I even have one? This question just made me realized that I’ve been belittling myself too much. I don’t even know if I ever have strengths. However, after a deep contemplation, I have realized that my greatest strength is managing finances. I can’t think of any skills yet but only this one. I can budget money no matter how small it is and even multiply it. That’s what I do when the face-to-face class was still there. My mom would just give me 500 pesos or $10 for my allowance the whole week and that includes my fare, food and projects in school. I decided to sell munchkins and other snacks just to sustain my needs in boarding house and even multiply my money.

  • What are my values? What do I believe in? (consider politics, religion, social issues)

To be honest, I am not the kind of person who engages myself in discussing about politics. Call me useless and not worthy to be a Filipino but would you blame me if I choose to shut my mouth and just let things unfold just the way they are supposed to? I have just realized that in this country, commoners like me don’t have a voice and will never be heard.

As for my religion, I strongly believe that religion will never save us. It is only through our faith in God that will save us from the scorching fire of hell. I believe that we are all just travelers in this world, and someday, we will return to our real homes.-the place where Jesus is.

  • What or who gives me comfort?

Christian music, my pets, and foods are the things that give me comfort. When I feel so burdened and stress out, I would just grab a food while listening to my favorite songs and cuddle my babies. Oh, aside from that, rainy days also give me relaxation.

  • What is my biggest failure?

My biggest failure was when I decided to just settle with the course that our school has decided to give on us. I was consumed by my fear of losing that opportunity, which I overlooked the other opportunities that were waving infront of me. Now, I don’t know if I would pursue teaching my major after I graduate. We’ll see.

  • What do I do to show myself self-compassion and self-care?

Listening to what my body is telling me. I treat and pamper myself once in a while. Sometimes, I would travel with my boyfriend to breathe some fresh air. It is a must for us to care for ourselves because at the end of the day, we only have us.

________________________

Knowing ourselves is one of the fundamental things to obtain the life that we desire. When you know yourself, you will have a better perspective on how to approach and deal with every obstacles that comes in your way. Establishing a firm relationship with who we really are is the best way to get rid of the unnecessary things that won’t help us achieve the goals that we set for ourselves. If you wanna live a better life, start in knowing your inner self-your strengths, weaknesses, desires, stands and beliefs. Cause whether you admit or not, at the end of the day, we only have ourselves that we can depend on.

26
$ 5.98
$ 5.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 17
Sponsors of Sequoia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Sequoia
2 years ago

Comments

You will love teaching when you get there sis. Kaya rana

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya gani sis ayyy. Thank youuu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I often find myself questioning my worth, or my capacity to perform most of time. It became a weakness to me over time. I've had to soldier on regardless of what I think of myself. To be strong for myself cos' really nobody else would do that for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly. We should do ourselves a favor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also experienced selling snacks in my junior and senior years on high school just to sustain my needs at school. Fifty pesos to sixty are my budget in a day that's why I decided to sell some snacks for additional income and I can say that is a memorable experience. I learned to be independent and manage my earnings wisely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the good thing of being independent. We got to find ways ahhaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was still in HS, 500 is already more than enough as my monthly allowance since I eat at home during lunch. Now that I am in college, my weekly allowance ranges from 250-400. It depends if we have a class on Fridays.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do you rent a room?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nope. But our university is just a few barangays away as bahay and sumasabay rin kasi ako kay papa when going to school kaya medyo matipid ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhhh. Kaya po pala 🤗.

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whatever our beliefs and opinions, we should respect that. I wish I knew how to budget my finances more wisely :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have to learn how to budget Kuya Lee hahaha. My money is limited hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oww budgeting 500 pesos on a weekly basis allowance is really a great power boi haha. I remember when I was in college and going to the dormitory, 1500 in a week is so little lol, of course also includes my fare and my food for a week. huhu how about more a hundred one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have to find ways para pagkasyahan besh ahhaha. Di.pwedeng hindi eh hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a good word of warning for those who don't know themselves. It means that you often force something that is not in its place or does not fit. when we want something that maybe it is a high enough thing as if the desire always wants to be fulfilled but often does not see the state of ourselves, whether we can achieve it or is it just a dream that is impossible to grasp. Always look in the mirror and learn about life because if we exceed our limits, we will always experience the bitterness of life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed. We should know our capacities and limits.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, what matters is you know yourself more than anyone else. We are greater than what we or others think.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed. we just need to believe in ourselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yess, even when this was a bit hard to internalize it really pays off when you get to know yourself better

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Be confident dear. Be yourself. It is necessary for all of us. Research more about yourself and present that to anyone. Know your own strength.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will Luci. Thanks for your time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I stay away from political arguments but I am open with healthy communications. Basically, I do not mingle with toxic minds, it just ruined my day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same sissy. Pero ngayon kasi, ang hirap makakita ng taong open minded hahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right dear mate. We should always give first priority to ourselves. Great writeup. Stay strong always mate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you mate. You too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I too don't like to talk about politics, this topic is really annoying or worst topic to discuss for me The most important thing we can do are to be real to ourselves and accept ourselves in every circumstances. I don't I have any strength or not as I'm just surviving all the years instead of living.

Glad to know about you more

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for your time Irene. I prefer discuss about how to multiply my finances hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love listening to Christian worship song a lot. It's very comforting and I felt secured. Also, I always taught myself to know my value in all aspects of my life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sameeee. Christian songs hit different.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice! A little reminder to do some self reflection

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeseysss sissy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Knowing ourselves should be our first priority. Nice to hear your strengths and values.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your time as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice to get to know you a bit better! Though I am sure you are being modest and have a lot more qualities than you can think of now!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hihi. Thanks for believing in mr 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm also not a fan of politics or religious talks. I'd prefer to discuss something business related.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here kristof haahahh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Self knowledge is gold and should be something we strive for. I realised that knowing yourself equates knowing others because we're all connected. If we find difficulty in knowing others then we've got to check ourselves again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true. We cannot give whay we don't have.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really important langga that we should know ourselves so that we have a self awareness those things which can ruin to us or not good for us. It's advantage too because we know the things that we should improve for the betterment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is so true ate. When we know ourselves better, we can decide better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Langga that's true that's why it's really important na kilala natin self natin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gosh! How could you read my mind?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hihi 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes friend, asking name is very important how to meet other people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly maam🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago