College Experiences that my mom doesn't know about.

52 71
Avatar for Sequoia
2 years ago
Date: September 21,2021
Author: Sequoia

They have said that highschool is the best part of our lives. And I am not opposing with that. In fact, I would even agree with it. Nevertheless, base on my own perspective, it's my college life that brought so much learnings, fun, and experiences that I will surely bring with me until I leave this physical world.

I haven't still finish my college years and I am hoping that I will graduate and achieve my bachelors degree next year. Anyways, my topic will not be about my hopes and desires for my future but my experiences back when I was still a first year college student.

As what I have mentioned above, I was able to attained more experiences and realizations in life the moment I entered the world of sleepless and coffee-dependent people.

Have I ever mentioned during my past articles that I am a self support student? My mom couldn't send me to college and that's when I decided to apply for scholarship in one of the most prominent state university here in our place.

Gladly, I was able to passed the entrance exam that opens the door for me to study freely in college. I really consider myself very blessed despite of not having my desired course.

However, along with those favored opportunities were ineffable and unwanted experiences that I never imagine that will ever happened to me.

And the worst part of those things was it left me voiceless.

Muted.

Alone.

Survivor.

Fighter.

As you have observed. It gradually molded me from being a weakling to unbreakable one. Well, I still do experience breaking at some point in my life. But I've learned throughout the time to stand up and stand firm despite of the trials in front of me.

Anyways, let's cut the crap and go directly to the things that I wanted to share with you but not with my mom. Lol.

________________________

One week straight no sleep

  • I am the type of student that will always find way to go home every week. I am a province girl and making me stay in the city more than 7 days will realky drive me nuts and made me sick. I need to breathe in the air of my hometown every week in order for me to be alive again. Lol. So yeah, we have a project that needs to be done within one week. And lucky me pancit canton, I got the most complacent and chill groupmates ever. I have no choice but to lead because if I wouldn't do it, we will all fail. I only ask for their financial contribution and took all the responsibilities since I knew that I couldn't count on them. I made our project every after our class without sleeping. That's my routine for one week straight and swear, my body was starting to give up already. Despite of being alone, I was able to finished it and passed on time. I can clearly see the eyebags in my eyebags and I really lose some weight. I decided not to go home that week because if my mom would see my face. She will definitely freak out. Having enough sleep is my mom's greatest request on me.

Part time job till dawn

  • My mom always reminded me not to take any jobs while I am studying. She wants me to focus in my study. However, I couldn't just sit there and wait for the money that she will send to me. I know in myself that I should get a part time job to make money and help my mother. I entered different part time jobs and most of it are night shifts. Therefore, I won't be able to sleep but still needs to go to school in the morning. That leads me to be prone in sickness.

Molested

  • I just arrived in my boarding house from a church service that time. It happened around 4 pm in the afternoon if I am not mistaken. By the way, it was weekday and my friend just invited me to their church service which I gladly accepted. I saw our landlord's trusted tenant who's room was just located beside ours. Our landlord appointed him to collect our payment every month. We're the only people in our bhouse that time. I entered my room and changed my clothes. Suddenly, he just knocked in my door and ask me if I wanted to watch a movie since he has a television in his room. I was hesitant at first but then I accepted his invite. However, I just sat outside his room because I can still see the tv from my position. We were just talking while watching and then he offered a coffee. Of course, as a person who easily gets fooled, stup*d and ignorant, I accepted the coffee and even thank him. To cut the long story short, I lost my consciousness after I drank the coffee and then got awaken by his touches. I froze the moment I realized what he was doing and silently prayed to God to save me from this situation. I don't know where I got my courage from but my body just automatically stood up from lying in the floor with half of my body inside his room and the other half was outside. I went directly to my room and locked the door. The moment I shut the door was also the time that I lost all my strength. I cried and cried until I passed out. I was molested. You may say that I was a bit lucky because I wasn't r*pe. Maybe if I wasn't able to wake up that moment, he might have r*pe me. I blame myself for my stupid*ty. I almost killed myself that time. It took me almost two years of praying and deliverance before I was able to overcome it. I am just so thankful to have people who never left my side during those darkest times in my life. Above all, I strongly believe that it was God who saved me from that situation.

________________________

Closing thought

This just all happened during my first year in college and I am now a graduating college student. I decided to keep it from mu mom because I don't wanna make her worried. From all of my experiences, there's only one thing that I would always advice to younger people. And that is to always strengthen your heart and trust in God. He will never leave your side no matter what happens. Life will be full of ups and downs but if you have God beside you, nothing can ever beat you. You'll gonna get through this. Keep fighting and never lose hope. Our God is able!

20
$ 8.59
$ 8.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.10 from @ZehraSky
+ 11
Sponsors of Sequoia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Sequoia
2 years ago

Comments

Nag basa kog mga article sakong notif dai nga wala nako nabasa until naabot ko dria sa imoha. Hoy grabe tawhana. Nganu kaya naay ing ana no. Mao sd reason dili ko sugtan mag boarding house kung naay f2f. Nagabaan nato ron dae. Ikaw mui na blessed ug taman , Kebs niya!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May nakang jud dai wala ko pasagde sa Ginoo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so sorry the last situation happened to you. 😔 It's truly horrible. Some people have no respect at all. I see we have a similar approach to group projects. I hate them, even though I'm doing a group project with my friends, it's me who gets all the work done. It's really annoying. When possible I'm working alone. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just hope that those kind of people change.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg beb! Can't believe the last part. Sana naman natauhan na yung taong yun. Ang sama niya. Pero I hope makalimtan na nimo ang trauma that caused you, but I know dili sayon. And praying and leaving everything to God will really help.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Gi surrender nalang jud nako sa Ginoo te kay mas malugmok kog akong permi kargahun ang nahitabo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

College days ko di ako gaanong makapag puyat, pinapagalitan baga ako ni Mommy kahit la nga para sa project ung gagawing pag pupuyat, para silanh ewan ee si nola ma gets, ni mag overnight bawal tsk.

Anyways, so anong ginawa? Nireport mo ba? That will be forever mark in your head kaya dapat kahit manlang pina barangay mo. Ang may kasalanan ka din kasi nag tiwala ka agad. Pero, if mabait nga naman anh pinapakita sa iyo nong lalaki na un baka kahit sino nga mabiktima. Buti pa rin na gising ka. Pero nireport mo naman ung nangyari diba?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No one knows about it ate except sa bestfriends ko. I was tol coward that time and natatakot ako para sa mama ko. Kaya ng grabe yung self blame ko nung mga apnahong yun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe kinabahan ako dun sis, buti nalang at nagising ka agad. Thank God, He heard your prayers and was able to escape.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sorbang thankful ko taalga kay Lord nung mga panahong yun sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I must admit I preferred University to school. Sorry to hear about some of your not-so-good times.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you Dafty's friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh this article really turned out differently then I thought from the title, I thought you were going to tell about all the crazy parties! Sorry to hear that you have had some bad experiences!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hihi. I haven't gone t any parties tho.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Take some rest pud sis. Dili maayu abusaran ang lawas. Mao ra raba nay atung puhunan. I salute you for being a hardworking students. And about atung sa guy, Ginoo nay bahala atu niya sis. Pasalamat na lang ta nga mao ra tu iyang nabuhat nimo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mao gani sis. Dili nako ma imagine if mas worst pa atu ang nahitabo sako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kung ako ang nanay mo at sinabi mo sakin yan, nako! Sinundo na kita. Hays. May mga g*go talaga sa mundo, di na yan maiiwasan. Pero lagi mo tandaan na maraming nagmamahal sayo. At lagi Siya nakabantay sayo, satin. Sending hugssss

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Salamat po. Sobrang thankful ako na hindi ako pinabayaan ni Lord.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hoy, ka shocking ba nimu kung makabalo si ante humanda jud ka hahaha. One of the reason dili ko sugtan mag board advance is mader hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha quite nkang ying kay highblood baya ako mader.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, Sequoia, you are very hardworking ... and I am glad to know that your experiences have molded you into a strong, survivor and a fighter. Keep fighting for your goals and dreams sis.

And I am really sorry about your experience with that darn guy who took advantage of you. Let Heaven judge him sis.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes po. I already surrender him to God. I know that our God is just. Thank you po sa time nyo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's great sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Prayer is the most powerful weapon we should always bring. Thank God you managed to wake up and run. You might have a trauma because of that but always pray to God lang :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sobra sis. Almost 2 years kong binattle yun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis God is with you all the time talaga. Di ka niya pinabayaan through all your hardships and struggles in life. Always pray to God sis. He is always there for you. 🙏

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes sis. Prayer will always be my greatest weapon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis.. Thank you God..🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's really sad, you mentioned about molested. Parang may kunting init sa batok ko ah parang gusto kong malaman sino yan ah. Isa lang wish ko sayu, na sana ay mag tapos ka. Ang hirap po ng dinanas mo. Diko ma wari, yung gumawa sayu sa bagay nayun pasensiya na sa reaction ko ayaw ko kaseng may ginaganyang inosenting tao at nag papakahirap para makapag tapos kahit, pa hawak lang yan basta may bad intention! mahirap yan.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's all in the past now. What matters the most is the present.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Super relate ko anang ikaw nalang tanan mo buhat sa projects. Halos dili nalang ka matulog para lang mahuman ang projects. Pero mars thankfully wala gyud ka gipasagdan sa Ginoo, diko ka imagine sa akong kaugalingon if ever ako Ang naas imo posisyon 😔

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Gani mars. Tas yahay kaayung mga kauban ahahha sanaol. Pasalamat jud kog dako sa Ginoo mars kay wa ko niya pasagde.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel sorry that you have to experience such a nightmare. College is supposed to be fun while learning yet, you encountered such a thing. You're such a brave girl. You were not swayed by that bad experience you had. All you said are correct. College means living away from home. We choose not to put in details everything that happened to us because of the people that care for us.

Sending virtual hugs. I know it's difficult to forget about it, but I hope your happy memories will be able to cover it somehow.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'll never forget it. However, I am confident that whenever I remember that scenario, it will no longer bother me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are such a brave girl dear don't be disappointed. Glad to hear that you didn't gave up in your hard times. Stat strong always.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nothing will happen to meif I will give up tho. Hihi. Thanks for your time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am so sorry to hear about the hardships you have experienced huhu. Thankfully you managed to bravely move forward despite it all. You are so strong in sharing your story with us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It took me a lot of courage before I decided to disclose these things tho hihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He must have been molesting other girls before he came to you. At least he didn't have his way into you. Thank God for that. I am always careful in collecting something from people especially when it has to do with food or drinks. I don't trust anyone.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah. I really blame myself about it. I was so stup*d back the.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sorryy for hear the last part. People like them should be kill slowly to make them suffer. I know you can't be fully 100% recover from it but I hope you're doing great now. However I also experience that 7 days no sleep because of this school activities kinda memorable but exhausting at the same time

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lakas pa nga ng loob after niya gawin sakin nun. May pa ngiti2 pa kinabukasan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kahadlok bah! Pero naa pud koy past experience na hapit ko ma molested and I was in grade 2 that time... wala pud kabalo akong mama hangtod karon..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mahadok ko muingun kay kabaw jud kos akong mama doc.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't imagine the fear and trauma you must've got from that experience. You really are a strong woman Seq, keep fighting through it all and I hope you'll achieve all your dreams and goals. Cheers for the last year students 💪

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much 🤗. It's never easy tho. But I always thank God for he never leaves my side.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am so sorry t hear about that, Seq. Like is literally shocking. Sending you lots of love and hugs from afar!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much pooo 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish I could hug you tightly. Feeling so upset for you and yes, of course, feeling proud for you too. Such a gem you are! Massive respect for you dear. You just upgraded your name on my good book. Hats off dear.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hey, just wanna say that I really appreciate your time and kind words to me awesome. Wish you all the best things in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago