A Happy Heart is a Grateful Heart

55 68
Avatar for Sequoia
2 years ago
Date: August 2, 2021
Author: Sequoia

Growing up, I have seen how people constantly strive over the things they desire the most. Things that they thought that would give them the satisfaction and fill in the missing piece of their hearts. Most of the time, we are so occupied with chasing our wants and wishes that we nearly forgot how to cherish the things in front of us. Admit it or not, but as the time passes by, our definition of happiness changes as well. The small reasons that put a smile in our face before, can’t even receive an attention from our pair of lugubrious orbs now.

These past few weeks, I have realized a lot of things during my quiet time with Lord. One of it is me being unappreciative of the small things I have. Speaking of small things, did you know that we sometimes mistakenly label the things we have as small, just because we are so used of having it? Don’t believe me? Let me give you an example.

Waking up

When was the last time that you thank the Lord with all your heart because you’re able to witness another beautiful day that the Lord have created? The reality is, we often forgot to give thanks about it because this became so common for us. We always thought that we can always witness the rising of the sun after we sleep every night. Little did we know that a lot of people around the world have almost beg God to give them one more day to live and see His majestic creation.

________________________

In this article, I just want to appreciate the “common and small” things that I received every single day. I wanted to take this opportunity to show how grateful I am for those things. I think, I need to scratch out the waking up because I already mentioned it above.

Being grateful is the best attitude we can have. The more we appreciate and give thanks to the small ones, we become a miracle magnet. I believe in that. You know, being grateful is not just about acquiring the big things. A true grateful heart knows how to give value to the things they have, no matter regardless of its size.

THE THINGS I AM GRATEFUL FOR

Eating three times a day

It’s been a while since I thank God for this blessing. A lot of people are starving and even fight each other just to have something to consume in order to fill their empty stomachs. Being able to eat three times a day especially in the midst of pandemic is already considered as a great blessing from God. He is really indeed a provider and He definitely know our basic needs. I am a bit guilty with this because I am really a peaky eater. However, after my realizations, I am trying my best to change this not so good attitude of mine.

The Clothes I wear

I have this classmate who just lost their home because of fire and all of her things got burned along with their house as well. Thankfully, none of her family member got hurt and they were all safe. The only thing that was left to her was the clothes she was wearing. Even her uniform got burned up too. To extend some help, our whole class decided to donate food and clothes for them. Aside from that, I have also witnessed many kids age ranges from 3 to 5 roaming around in our barangay wearing only shorts or undies. Their parents can’t buy them clothes because of some financial crisis. I have realized that I am fortunate enough to have clothes to wear.

Having a Shelter

I just want to spend this moment to show how grateful I am for having a shelter. Not everyone is privileged enough to live in a house. I have seen many people living in the streets and it really pierce my heart. Whenever the rain pours out, I can’t stop myself but to think about them. Having no shelter is not a joke and we should never forget to thank God for having it.

The air I breath

This is the least noticed. We are so used to breathing in and out the air that gives us life and keeps our body function well. One way of showing gratitude to the air we breath is by caring and preserving the environment. Especially the trees, it is where our oxygen came from.

Healing from sickness

I always thank the Lord for the healing everytime I feel sick or even one of my family. Our health is the most important thing we should give an attention to during these days. A lot of people are fighting for their lives because of the threat of Covid-19 to our body and health. Never forget to thank the Lord for having a healthy body and for the healing that you received every time you got sick.

________________________

Closing Thought

We have so many things to be grateful for. Don’t just focus your eyes on the big ones. Don’t wait for the negative days to come before you become grateful for what you have right now. Small or big, we have to learn on how to cherish and celebrate every achievement and progress we make. Remember that happiness cannot be found, it is created.

P.S

I am writing this while enduring my toothache caused by my emerging wisdom tooth.

23
$ 10.19
$ 9.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @King_Gozie
+ 16
Sponsors of Sequoia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Sequoia
2 years ago

Comments

Those are always in my prayers for years now. 😊 and those are not just what I usually prayed for every day and every night as I have a lot of things that I am truly grateful for to our Lord God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A timely reminder. Thank you for this Bebe Se. This just reminds me to be grateful on what we have. May it be the smallest thing, it is still a blessing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Welcomee ateeee. Kumusta na ikaww.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy heart na tahay ron bebe Se. Baw ug magpa dayon ba ni. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha happy heart happy life hhaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maytag happy na gyud ay hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy na lagiii na ate haahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unta unta. Lami gyud ning bawal ey! Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hei, frustrated writer! Though you are frustrated but you explained it well like you said in the closing thought, we shouldn’t just focus on the big things. As small particles makes an atom, this way, small things will be bigger someday.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Heelllooo awesomw 🤗 Thanks for your time and dropping a comment 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome dear!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's a lot of things that we should be thankful for, small details but essential and you mentioned it all. I pray in the morning and say thank you and in evening before I sleep, just simple thank you hihi

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is true. Sometimes, small things matters the most.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A timely reminder in a difficult period of time experienced globally. I am grateful to be able to write and share here and at noise.cash. I'm grateful for the new friends I've made through these platforms. I'm grateful that God has protected me and my family from the virus.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yees. Indeed, God is faithful and will never leave us nor forsake us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, God, for everything in my life. Both good and bad. Some were blessings and some were lessons. 💗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yees. Thank you Lord.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's true that we have to be thankful for even the tiniest things that God gives us

And that is because those we take for granted are cherished by others, and they would give anything to be in our place

No matter how small it is, we should be grateful.... For the food we eat, the clothes we wear, the homes we live in, etc

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I couldn't agree for more. A lot of people wish to have the life we are living right now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Give thanks even for pain or struggle :) Although it's quite challenging to do it when facing such. But when you do, you can realize that the struggle or pain did you some good :)

Sorry about that late bloomer wisdom tooth, it always comes out late. Nurse it with an ice pack or salonpas :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes pooo. Sabi nga nila, walang challenge ang life kung walang pain and struggles.

Try ko po yung ice and mamayang gabi yung salonpas poo. Thank you po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe ok, hope the pain will subside

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dafty is grateful you are his number one fan. Great article and we all should be grateful for many many things in our every day life

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awww 🤗 I love you Dafty 🤗. Grey is sending his regards to you. Anyways, you are right, we should always have a grateful heart 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are all the things we sometimes forget to thank God for. I hope this reaches wide audience for them to be reminded that we should be grateful to live everyday

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hopefully mars. Ang dami nating dapat ipagpasalamat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Korek mamshy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should always be grateful of what we have no matter how small or big it is. It's a blessing from God above.

At sa wisdom tooth. Been there, done that. 🤣 Akoa kay nag dungan ang duha ka ngipon og tubo, but luckily wala siya ni hubag

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Huhuhu sakit kaau akong ngipon mars. Dili nako mabuka.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

By being grateful we open our doors to more blessings ..and it's just a proof that we are thankful enough that we received those kind of blessings in our life..especially the unexpected ones.. Goodmorning😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly 🤗 Good morning too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are Valid reasons to thank God. For the air we breath, the food we eat, everything... being alive is a blessing

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Truuurr. Being alive is a blessing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Minsan hindi natin napapansin ang mga maliliit na bagay. Kaya hindi natin ito binigyang halaga. Every thing we have is a blessing na kailangan nating ipagpasalamat. Mapalaki man o maliit. Kaya dapat everyday tayo magpapasalamat sa Diyos dahil sa kanyang walang sawang mga biyaya na ibinigay sa atin.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ameeen! We should learn how to appreciate the things we have.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happiness is not found, it is created.. ❣️❤️👌 well said.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yong kala natin small thing sya pero un oa ung pinakang malaking bagay na dapat nating mas eappreciate 💙. Kunting pasasakalamat na din na tayo'y malusog kahit na di na crush back. Basta may cash back pwd na 😉.

Naysuu bataa, galing naman nito gagawa ng artiko ee.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha ay bet ko iyong kahit hindi i crush back basta may cash back ateee 😂😂 Bravookk .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bwahahaha, nevermind sa crush nya basta tayo may kwarta. Mwehwhwhwhw

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahha kwarta is layp HAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything we have is blessings from God. So even if it's small or big, we should always be grateful for everything..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True pooo. Thanks for dropping by ateee.b

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being grateful in everything is what please God in every way. A simple thank you is enough .

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yees beb. A simple thank you is enough.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agreed on everything i read and i also realize those things and i really thank God for it Those blessing is a huge need to live but we dont always see it as a blessing because sometimes we forgot God who guide us to achieve those things

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We should never forget that everything we have is from God 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agreed with everything! Indeed no doubt happy heart is everything!!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank youuu for the appreciation 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All of you've mentioned I have this little notebook that I hid under my pillow. I read it before I sleep. I do it especially when the day didn't turned out well. I still need to feel humble and thankful despite of my win struggle.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yees. That's the key. Stay humble no matter what happen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sponsor try mo mag mumog ng tanduay. haha! effective daw yan pero tama, each day is a blessing that we sometimes forget to thank for.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Gusto mo lang ata akong malasing HAHAHAHA. baka makalimutan ko malunok ko pa HAHAH.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

we have to be grateful to God everyday, through His grace that we are awake😇

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ameeen! It's all by His grace.

$ 0.00
2 years ago