Spiritual Malnutrition

42 52
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago
Topics: Hunger, Jesus, Spiritual

Aside from world hunger, there is an abundance of spiritual malnutrition in our world today, and it is not limited to the world of unbelievers but also includes Christ's body of believers, His church. This is unfortunate but true. We are called to be the salt and light of the world but many of us are failing this very mission.

The task

My task is not to belittle or shame anyone by saying what I did above or below. Instead, it is a call to repent and get busy feeding one's spirit with God's word. The Bible is our source of truth. We do not worship the book but rather the One God who authored it.

Our task is to be daily readers of the word. Many will claim they don't have 20-30 minutes each day to do so, and yet an extra episode on Netflix, an hour playing video games, and gossiping on Facebook and other social media platforms throughout the day doesn't seem to many people how much time has been wasted.

I spend perhaps 10 minutes a day on FB, mainly posting encouraging or humorous memes, and pasting one of my posts here on read.cash to my Christian teaching page. I don't use other social media platforms because they are time consuming and addictive.

My early influence

I was raised in a dysfunctional home. My father was abusive. At the age of 13 I had to chase him from our home with a shotgun after he knocked my mother unconscious in a drunken rage.

Once he was gone, our means of support was also gone. I went to work as a janitor at an elementary school at age 13. I also took on a paper route - two jobs in all. We needed the money to pay the mortgage on the house.

One day my boss, the head custodian, invited me to his church. I declined, stating, "Well, boss, I went to church almost every Sunday for three years so I'm good."

He looked me straight in the eye and asked the following question: "Do you think your last meal will last you three years or will you have to eat again?"

Of course, I replied that I needed to eat to stay healthy and alive.

He turned and walked away and then spun around: "Don't think three years of Sundays was enough to feed and maintain your spiritual health, either."

Spiritual health

Our spiritual health needs to be maintained. Jesus wants us to be more like Him and we cannot do this if we do not feed our spirit and develop Godly habits. Bad habits and sin are our natural, fallen nature, a disease that eventually kills us all.

Feeding and maintaining our spirit includes praying, reading the Bible, practicing righteousness by being obedient to His words, and loving others.

We have to get into the word to get the word into us. "I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you" (Psalm 119:11, NIV).

Did you catch that? When we internalize God's word we can recite it as the Holy Spirit brings it to our remembrance and use it to refrain from sinning. Note that Jesus never argued with Satan during the 40 days in the wilderness when Satan tempted Him. What did He do? He quoted Scripture!

Application

You know, all these years later I recall what my first boss said. He had planted a seed within my heart. People who came into my life afterward watered that seed and one day God gave the increase when I acknowledged Him as the "way, the truth and the life."

Dear readers, let us not make the mistake of believing that an hour or two in church every Sunday is enough to feed our spirit.

We certainly wouldn't believe a burger and fries or some rice and viands would last you an entire day. Even if that was all we did eat, we would certainly be malnourished.

What better reminder to feed our spirit than what Jesus Himself said: "It is written, ‘Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God’” (Matthew 4:4, ESV). Let's take heed of this and feed our spirit and become more like our Savior Jesus Christ.

Free images in this post come from https://pixabay.com/

Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty

17
$ 10.33
$ 9.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.74 from @MarielB22
$ 0.21 from @AceyDeucey
+ 8
Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago
Topics: Hunger, Jesus, Spiritual

Comments

Lord jesus forgive me for failing to carry out the assignment you gave me 🙏, we christian are the light of the world , we need to practice spiritual feeding in other to grow spiritual , thanks so much sir , I need to pray for forgiveness ❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Repentance should be a good habit we perform daily because we sin daily.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If we can eat to keep our health stable, the what about our spirit, to the Christian, cause I'm one, the only way we can feed our spirit is through the word of God, and where can we get this word, its in the Bible. Proverb alone is big food

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Proverbs is good. All Scripture is good. We all have our favorite stories and verses. Thanks for stopping by to read.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah you're right, and you're welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The same way we feed ourselves physically we should also feed our spiritual in other to avoid spiritual malnutrition.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is exactly right. We have a tendency to look out for ourselves rather than the business of God and we lack the righteousness of God He demands when we veer from His path.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Psalm 119:11 is our pastor's favorite verse. Indeed we have to read and study God's word everyday, apply what we learned tland strive to be more like him everyday. Posting and sharing bible verses on fb wouldn't make us like Him. It is just taking a bite of His word, eating the dessert. We should eat the whole meal, we should read and study for us to be equipped with His scriptures so we wouldn't be discouraged when problems come to challenge us and for us to encourage others too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I appreciate the reminder -- Spiritual health is a subject that the healthcare industry has ignored since time immemorial.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I felt so guilty while reading this. Thank you for the realization. If not because of your words of wisdom, I don't know probably I still do the things that I thought is right.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Guilt stems from conviction. God spoke to your heart from His words. Repent, turn from malnourishment habits to those good habits that feed your spirit and bring more life to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ever best article in my life I really like it and this is really necessary people don't read holy Quran but they play all the time game Facebook Instagram and different Other thing's but don't they have only 1 hours in whole day to going Mosque and praying Namaz I don't know why people don't think this world is totally temporary

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do you think that good works will lead to eternal life?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Scotty you are more genius as campared to me if you have positive mind and internal motivation then you solve everything in you're life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am ashamed of myself. For all these years I thought Sunday is enough to spend time with God. I am so wrong. I am very much guilty of this. Aside from that, I too also spend a lot of time on social media. I'll try to make a change for myself. This is so much an eye-opener. This will be kept in mind forever. Thank you for this.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I did not write this to shame anyone but to remind us all where our priorities should be focused. Yes, make some changes and you will benefit as a result.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't worry it's a realization on myself:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't worry it's a realization on myself:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for sharing that with us Scotty, that must have been so hard growing up like that. Your mom is lucky that you were such a hard worker and responsible from a young age. I neevr went through anything so crazy as what happened to you, but it was still hard since i never knew my dad. I love my mom so much and she has done a good job raising me, but I still wish every day that i had a father in my home to guide me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I felt guilty sometimes coz I honestly I don't have much time to our God but now I realize that I should have to spend a time for him everyday.I was trying to pray everyday ,thank him for our daily life and read the daily gospels to feed my soul.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

At least you realized it, now stick to it. Make it one of your good habits. Get a daily bible reading plan and pray before and after reading. It will change your life, I assure you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sunday church is not enough to build our spiritual life, we need fellowship with him on a daily basis that's is one of the purposes of the holy spirit dwelling in us, thanks for this new friend

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're most welcome and you are right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Spiritual values and mental health are important, and the protection of both spiritual values and mental health is based on a strong belief.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, our faith keeps us moving in the right direction even when life is a struggle. And without faith, it is impossible to please God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a reminder for me. Thanks Scotty.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Welcome! Let's put it into practice, shall we?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sure.. little by little i'll get used to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I look at it this way, why would we give 1% or less of our time to Jesus when He devotes 100% of His time to us?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is an astute observation from a cowboy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey, speak English. I'm a dumb cowpoke.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are to hunger and thirst after righteousness, Scotty. Good call to repentance.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hey, you stole the title of the article I'm writing for tomorrow!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oops! haha How could I have known?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes our spiritual help is important . we respect jesus chirst because of his precious teachings .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I follow Him because He died for my sins and set me free. It's more about faith than respect for me, though respect is good!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Two hours in the church is not enough to feed our spirit, even nowadays, there are many distractions in the churches here in west Africa. May the Lord help us out. We need more time to meditate on his words and also pray

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly. We are told to pray without ceasing. I don't know how many times day I pray but it is more than a dozen. Short prayers, longer prayers, etc. But I also read my Bible daily with rare exceptions. These habits are great for keeping the spirit nourished to do good works.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is true sir, though I pray few times in a day, but I don't read my Bible daily. That was what prompted me to write my article titled 'Awake; the strict charge.' you might want to check it out sir

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All right, when I get some spare time in a bit. Perhaps you should get a daily Bible reading plan and make it a habit to read. It's much better than just reading anywhere you open your Bible. And we need more than a verse or two a day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is true we must feed our spirit well so we don't get spiritual malnourished

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely. This is absolutely necessary if we are to persevere until the end.

$ 0.00
2 years ago