Breaking News!!! I lost an Icon 😢😭

42 78
Avatar for QueenRay
2 years ago
Topics: Feelings, Emotions, Death, Loss, Painful, ...

Bereavement is the name which is being given to the process which one goes through after the death of a loved one.

When I gained admission into the University, I can remember vividly my first day in class, there's this cool, gentle and smart girl sitting all alone in a corner. I was like this girl is still young, and we are in the same level, wow!!! I smiled at her and she smiled back.

On getting to my hostel that day, I stay on the 3rd floor, as I was going into my room, I noticed the girl entered a room on the 2nd floor. I went after her, she said that's her room. I was like, woe!!! So I have a course mate that shares the same hostel with me.

She told me her mum was in her room, I immediately went in to greet her out of respect. She was so happy seeing me. And she immediately handed her daughter over to me. She said and I quote " please my daughter is a young girl, take care of her, if there's anything you guys need, don't hesitate to call me, even down to money, I will send it"

I was like, who is this woman?

The time after someone's death is often called the mourning period, and people are said to be ‘in mourning’ or to be ‘grieving’ or ‘bereaved’. No matter what people call this time or process, the death of a loved one can be an extremely challenging time. Nobody will request or ask to become a bereaved person, yet it is something that happens to most people every blessed day.

Back to my story

From that day henceforth, I and the girl do things in common, we eat, dress, and go to class together. We were so inseparable. Our course mates were awed at the friendship. And some even tried to come in between us, but couldn't.

Then came a day, the Non teaching staff of our institution embarked on a 2-weeks warning strike. They stopped bringing light, there was no water and some started going to class without bathing.

The 3rd day of the strike I went outside to get snack when I saw my friend coming outside the hostel, she said her mum is outside. I turned back, and we both went to greet her.

Immediately she saw us together, she said thank God you are both together, go pack few things, we are going home together. I'll bring you both to school very early every morning. That way you'll have access to water and good food at home. I told her I had to confirm from my parents, of which I did and they agreed. This was the beginning of my timely visit to their place. I typically became a family member.


We all know that we one day will come in our lives that we will face bereavement, but we live in hope that we can avoid it for as long as possible. What no one dares to think about is what it is like to face the death of someone so close to them, let's even say their own child.

Last week I heard that my friend's mum died, she was more or less a mother to me too. Its such a sad 😥 😢news. I just wish I could turn back the hands of time.

I was so devastated and had been down ever since I heard about her demise.

It feels so wrong and so unlikely to happen that we even try not to think about or even dwell on, for fear of tempting fate.

Nevertheless, it is sadly something that many people have to experience. No two people will experience the loss of a close person in the same way or in the same time frame. One could be bereaved through the loss of a young friend, or the loss of an adult. It could be something expected (when there is a terminal illness, for example) or something unexpected (due to anything from an accident to suicide or a sudden outburst of health issue). It can be a peaceful one or a traumatic one.


If you have experienced the death of a loved one, remember that all reactions are natural and normal. Here are some guidelines that might be helpful:

  • Go so easy on yourself. Dont be too bitter on yourself. Basically you will not be able to do what you normally do as you will keep remembering your times together.

  • Be calm, and very patient with yourself and even with your emotions.

  • Avoid making major decisions if possible (changing residence, changing jobs, etc.) for at least a year after the death of your loved one.

  • Cry as freely and as much as you feel the need. Crying is a very healthy expression of grief, and it releases tension, its better to cry than to bottle up your resentment or bitterness .

  • Find a very good listener, someone who will just let you talk and tell them things running through your mind.

This article is a tribute to my friends mum, who took care of me as her own while I was in school. She was a good woman. And a mother indeed. Till we meet to part no more.

She would be laid to rest this Friday and I pray for grace to bear the loss. Peace for the family members she left behind.

So sad!!!

22
$ 1.00
$ 0.20 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @JLoberiza
+ 13
Sponsors of QueenRay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for QueenRay
2 years ago
Topics: Feelings, Emotions, Death, Loss, Painful, ...

Comments

Sorry to hear this. From what I've read, I can tell that she's really a great woman. I'm sorry for your loss but just like you said, in God's perfect time, you'll meet again. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so sorry for your friend's loss, Queen. Sending lots of love and hugs!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel the love as I experienced this before so I can relate. Sorry for you and your friend's loss. Big hug Queen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For sure the mother of your friend is in the right Hand now. Btw, how was your friend?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry for your loss, Queen. Hugs to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much. I'm grateful sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sorry dear for the loss. No wonder you've not been in this space for a while. Pls, come out from this mournful state on time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much dear friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sorry for your loss, may she rest in peace... it is indeed sad and hard to lose someone who becomes part of our lives but such is life, we don't hold it neither have any control when we get to leave for good. We can only cherish the memories we have with them. And you are so awesome and thoughtful to remember her through your article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen. Thanks so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When we lose someone dearly, it reflects most especially on our emotions. Life is so short, I pray not to lose anyone so soon neither we they lose me.

Our demised most especially the ones so so close to us, who in many ways have contributed to us positively only if wishes were horses beggers will ride.

Sorry for the lost, she has gone to glory. So do I remember losing my father and afflicted of ailment for a long time before his death... Oh God we believe you know best and love them than we do.

May their soul rest in peace and in the bossom of the Lord...

PeaceBeUntoYou.

OkanlaDavid

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry for the loss of your dad as well. May his soul rest in perfect peace. Thank you dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My deepest condolences to the family. I know that pain. Ive been through that two times already.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eyaah. Sorry as well. Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pele, sorry about your loss. May God keep and comfort for yourself, your friend and her family . And all that she needs within this period, financially and emotionally is provided for.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen. Thanks so much Pst. Tops.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sorry about the death if your friends mom. Death is unexpected and no one is prepared for it, so when it happens it's usually accompanied with so much pain and grieve.

May her soul rest in perfect peace.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This was heartbreaking, reminded me of my dad who passed away few years ago.. Hugs to you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry about the loss of your dad as well. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's really sad and may she rest in peace.

Losing someone is sad, especially with Covid19. I feel like, the mourning and grieving was denied from anyone who lost a loved one, Heartbreaking.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right. So heartbreaking

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so sorry for your loss. Please accept my deepest, most sincerest condolences. May she rest in peace.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks dear. Amen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nothing is more painful than losing someone we dearly love. I'm sending my deepest condolences to you and to your friend's family. Be strong for your friend. She badly need a friend in this time. Be there for here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much. I'm grateful

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's heartbreaking to lose someone you dearly love. My deepest condolences to the bereaved family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks so much. It is so painful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Losing the person who is part of our life can cause sorrow. It is not easy to accept that kind of happenings. But God has a plan. Condolence to you my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It isn't easy ooo. Particularly when the deceased is still very young.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really hurts when one of the people you dearly loved passed away suddenly. Condolence to you and your friend. Stay strong!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. So painful. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so sorry about your loss. It's terrible losing someone.

Indeed it's okay to cry. Take time to grieve for those we have lost.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. Yes it's so terrible.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sorry about what happened to your mum's friend. Sending my deepest condolences to the bereaved family. Stay strong for your friend. Praying for comfort and strength.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

After a time, surprisingly, people we share good memories with will leave this world either early or late. Losing someone close destabilizes the person but we just have to be strong and we shouldn't forget to always pray.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right. We will also leave this world some day, what would people say about us?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a big question. We should just always try to bring out the best behavior we can. So that other people can emulate it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life is too short and full of surprises, I pray God gives her family fortitude to bear the lost. You never to get closer to your friend more than before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen. Yes exactly. It's been so tough on her. And tge painful thing is, we are not together now since we've graduated. But we keep in touch on phone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago