We are noticed when we do this.

39 57
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

“People should be taught to look up while walking, to smile and talk to people, and not look down all the time.”

I will surely take the above statement to mean a quote which I extracted from a movie I watched last night. I was touched by it because of the morals it taught me.

The movie was about a young girl whose ambition was to go to Canada to work as a Nurse to clear off the debt her father owed. Her mother was late, and so, the father took up the responsibility to care for her.

She was working as a staff at a chicken hub in a mall. This is a large shopping mall where different kinds of people go and come to buy things and leave. Every day when Helen arrives at the mall, she was always seen smiling and waving at people. She has never frowned her face before and for this reason, everyone loved her and would want to make friends with her.

One day, she was locked inside the cold room where frozen foods were kept. She packed some cartons of chicken inside the cold room and unknown to the owner, he locked the shop and went home. Helen was in the cold room with the AC temperature at 18 degrees.

The father searched everywhere and after five hours, they decided to check around the mall. An old security man told them he has a feeling that she was still inside as he hasn't seen her come out.

After every attempt, they found her almost dead in the cold room and was rushed to the hospital. According to the doctor, a human cannot stand or survive in a temperature of 17 degrees in AC beyond a point, but Helen was locked in there for five hours with 18 degrees temperature.

When the old security man came to check on her, the father was curious and wanted to know why the man insisted that she was inside the mall.

The old man started his story that for 30 years, he has been working as a security at the mall, he has come across hundreds of people going and coming, and no one ever bothered to talk to him or even smile at him, but when Helen started working there, a day never passes by, she would wave and smile at the man and that gave the man hope and courage that there is still someone who notices him.

He said since then, he had never forgotten such a face. According to him, Helen waved and smiled at him in the morning while entering the mall and since he hasn't seen her wave back, he felt she was still there.

This is a movie based on a true event.

We all are busy with our lives and trying to hustle and survive, but it doesn't mean we should just keep staring at the ground while passing different people every day. Smiling at each person a day means a lot, especially to those who feel they are nothing because of their condition.

It still baffles me today to know that people notice me anywhere. I am someone who will always greet every person I come across or pass by, whether it's a known person or a stranger. I believe that humanity starts when we show love to others. Keeping your head down and not smiling at people isn't okay at all. We are always noticed.

For some weeks that I travelled, I didn't step my foot at the mini market around the school area and I didn't know people notice that until one day when I went to get something, different people were greeting me and asked if I travelled because they noticed I didn't pass by. I was touched and I felt the love of humanity.

There was a story I heard about a man who would always order pizza at an eatery every day. For many years, he always orders pizza until one day, he stopped.

The workers and employer taught it was normal, not until it was going to months and they didn't see him order. The boss started searching and when they found out where he was living, they discovered he has been dead inside and nobody knew. They took him out and gave him a proper burial.

If you must know, people notice you, either for your good or bad deed. Be kind to people. Always smile because you never know who needs it at that moment.

The old security man only felt loved the day Helen started noticing and waving at him with smiles on her face and that was what saved her from dying. Don't be too hooked up to your life or work, and not take out seconds to look up and smile at people. It means a lot because it saves them and saves you too.

Thanks for your time.

Image by Andrea from Pexels

[August 20, 2022] (No 232 articles for the year)

25
$ 0.53
$ 0.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @Dharmie
+ 10
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

[spam]

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The remake of this picture was made in our local regional language. Lovely movie to watch with a good lesson It is true that we have to be known to others by our good needs, as we are not aware how and where we need assistance.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly! We do not know where our help would come from. So, let's be kind.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A simple smile and acknowledgement can have a great impact to people around us that somehow they would also feel that they belong to the community. It produce good outcome to both parties just like what happened to the movie you shared. Little act of kindness saved her from probable death coz she already leave a good mark to the guards heart by her simple gestures and smiles. Love it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is it! A simple gestures that doesn't take anything from us. It's great to always leave good impact everywhere we meet ourselves.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is so true, people do notice what others do.. I understand after I left school... Last night a lady message me telling me I didn't act the way I use too.. Just because I ignore a message on the class group. She said I usually smile when talking but I didn't add smiling emoji when I sent my messages so she couldn't understand properly.. This was the first time of me hearing this and I was shocked.. Now I add smiling emoji when I want to reply her message 😥

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂😂😂 They notice, we might not know but the day we will know, it will be a shock to us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your are right sister we should pass smile and good deeds with action to the people so that we shall noticed if we were found missing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for your contribution.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This might be easy for you to do but for shy and deeply introverted people, it's a no-no 😆 They rather not draw attention to themselves and just walk down the road avoiding eye contact with people. They can learn to be more confident and social, but it's not exactly easy to be an outgoing person

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right! I was like this before but I think I am too confident with those I have known and familiar with but that doesn't stop me from waving and greeting someone for the first time and that is it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am glad to know your habit of greeting others while passing by them. The movie is worth to watch.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's worth it and you will enjoy it too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just this week I chose to have Helen's attitude, I needed to feel good and look good despite the bad days I had, or rather the moments where I felt bad, thank you for being so nice message.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's great when we act like Helen and smile at people, it helps us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've listened to this story on radio too. Our attitude towards others matters a lot. And whatever we do today, we would always be remembered for it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Definitely! We will always be remembered. So, it depends on us how we would be remembered.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo moral of the story....be nice for no reason...who knows???? Unfortunately our world this time are just lived by selfish people who doesn't care for anyone but themselves...regardless a good person is a good person

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Our world has been filled with selfishness and those who truly cares about others are rare.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's really an interesting movie, I will check it out. We are remembered for what we do, that's why it is necessary, we do our best always.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Showing kindness and doing our best will favor us someday when we do not expect it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The little gestures we show matters.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It does matters. Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What is the name of the movie?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's called “Helen” an Indian movie.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Cool, I will look it up, it sounds interesting!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're great, Helen. I congratulate you. for being a good person. me too, i smile at almost everyone. I wish the workers working on the street good luck and have a nice day. I say good day to the security guards in the malls. This is a good thing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's very good because we might somehow need their help and by then, they would have mastered our faces and we could be helped.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Definitely my dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We will never know whose lives we touch every day so we must be as kind as possible and always strive to leave a mark.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is the truth. We should keep doing the right thing and a time will come, we won't expect the good turn out.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You fuck up like that. You wrote an amazing write without adding the name of the movie. Na story we wan chop 😂.

Abeg wetin be the name of the movie make o watch am to confirm if your story relate or not

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You no well oo 😅😅😅 So, you want to confirm if na true or lie I talk 🤣🤣🤣

The title is “Helen”. It's an Indian movie though.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So na Indian movie you Dey narrate like say na Hollywood

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I watched the pizza one but the first story is unbelievable! And glad were I'm working mostly everyone greets each other with a smile especially the security guards. You will be remembered and just like in the story it can save you as well.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is it. We shouldn't keep frowning our faces to people especially strangers because we might not know that something good might come out of it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree princess. We should smile, we shouldn't only passing from them but smile also because we don't know that smile is a big impact to them. It will give them hope, strength, courage and power.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly! You have said it all. Our smiles could be someone else's happiness and encouragement.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you. Yes princess that's why we should smile too to the other people.

$ 0.00
1 year ago