This is me by Keala Settle

35 58
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

“Don’t quit; keep trying.
Don’t stop; keep moving.
Don’t despair; keep believing.
There is a way. There is always a way.”
Richelle E. Goodrich

Have you heard of the song before? I mean the one as the title of the post. This is the song I am singing for the Hive Open Mic challenge and should be posted today or tomorrow but I am willing to do it today so I can have time for more challenges on Hive as I wouldn't want to miss Friday´s challenge in "TheWeekend" community.

Though the song was originally sung by Keala Settle, but I only listened to how the greatest showman sang it on YouTube. I have been learning this song since on Sunday and I decided to sing it yesterday so it won´t be a rush when I needed to post it.

I had to take some pictures first and make something creative on VivaVideo to edit and beautify the video too. Seriously, I love how my pictures turned out to be.

I even customized one of the pictures as my cover page.

Here is the black and white I made for Blurttribe's daily reality show on Blurt this morning.

I have joined Hive Open Mic for a while now and it has been interesting even though I still get confused understanding how the theme for the week works. After asking and asking too much of questions from those who knew about it, I was made to know I have not been getting the whole gist before because I am always talking about why I like the song I chose instead of why I picked the song to relate with the theme´s week.

Olasquare also explained too when I did last week´s own and I felt sad I didn't get the gist because I did something different to every other people but I didn't let the pain sink into me as I told myself "I will try my best for the next one".

And yes, I think I am getting the whole gist now. Thank God I gave myself in to learn and make corrections and I am loving it now.

When I made this video, I sent it to Olasquare for him to preview and help with where I needed to make changes before finally submitting it and I am glad he gave a positive review and compliment which made me think I am good to go with it.

Seriously, it is not easy learning a new song for the first time but you have to be patient, to keep making errors and correcting yourself.

Keep trying when you fail. You are getting better at every mistake, once you learn from them.

When I first started on Hive Open Mic, I was so shy to face the camera to sing and I was afraid I would commit blunders. I placed my laptop in my front for the recording while I was using my phone to play the instrumental beat to the song. I kept making mistakes and I was feeling sad along the line, I wanted to give up and close it, but I said no until I get the perfect video.

It took me more than twenty times to keep deleting the video I made just because I keep making mistakes. There was a point I sang well, but getting to the end, I fumbled, it really pained me but I started all over.

There is stress in making a video and another stress in editing and trying to post through 3speak. It was really frustrating that time but I didn't stop until I posted.

The following week, I rehearsed and learnt the song to use, I still committed a lot of mistakes but it wasn't much as the first time.

I missed a week or two of singing and posting my video because I didn't have time, and I was also at my Aunt's place then, I knew I won´t have the time because if I start to record myself, my aunt could just call me anytime and that could distract.

When I got back to school, I thought I wouldn't be able to sing again on Hive Open Mic because of these students who would always make noise all around, but I decided to try my best. Perhaps singing at night when they had gone to sleep or finding a time during the day and, it worked last week. There weren't many students at home and it made the noise lessened and I was able to do something cool even though it was somehow blurring and not bright.

So, for this week, I did better and I know I would keep getting better at it once I don´t give up. I am not shy anymore since I have been used to singing through the camera and it´s really amazing.

The song by Keala is trying to empower every individual who has been shunned, bullied and ignored because of some factors especially their low self-esteem and physical disabilities, they need to know who they are and understand that they are unique. Accept who you are and don´t feel sad about whatever society says to you. Once you learn to live a beautiful life and ignore every criticism, you will be fine.

Thanks for reading

[June 08, 2022] (No 159 articles for the year)

20
$ 3.91
$ 3.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 9
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

Ah...you brought our Open Mic here hahahaha. I must say that I love that shirt of yours. Very catchy and you look absolutely stunning.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Should I say the spirit directed me to put that shirt on? 🤣🤣🤣 Thank you, KP

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha the Spirit can never be wrong. E be like say na that shirt I go wear for my next Open Mic...as upvote no gree come.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣 Come and have it then

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bring it...so that I can COLLECT.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

From mistakes we will find the truth and we must be aware for everything is a learning process. People who are good at singing need time to become reliable singers because they stand on the stage it's not easy because of the effort they put in, keep trying and be creative, friends, I hope you succeed.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Wow, I love your lovely comment. God bless you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love that song ...the greatest showman did so much justice so the song and I just kept loving it day by day. I never knew you could sing princess..

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, I love how the lady sang it with much energy and vibe. It sure is an inspiration to me. Hmm, I sing in my own best way 😍 Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Practice makes perfect as long as you will never quit

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You are very right, friend. We should never quit.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're so gorgeous princess, as always! I just love your confidence, good luck with your Hive open mic entry. :)

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you very much for the compliment, I do appreciate it 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good luck dear, this challenge is somehow interesting. I wanna check this on Hive and try to learn about more challenges so I can start engaging with other users. Anyway your beautiful, this is the first time I saw you through your photos 😉.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, find time to check on challenges and contests. You can check "TheWeekend" community tomorrow which is Friday. The admin "Galenkp" will post a weekend challenge. You can do that too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow how beautiful you look, I want a tutorial on how to do those mermaid waves that look spectacular!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The words said about the music are inspiring and I'm glad I had this read, you look breathtaking, and hopefully, I'll join these challenges too on hive.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You really deserve to be called princess. I never new you were this so beautiful.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😇😇 Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So guys with thick voices are singing there too, lmao🤓🤓🤓. I'll Join you guys one day.

You look 'takeway' on your photos

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Bring your voice, we would accept it. They aren't looking for perfectionism though but creativity.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope you succeed in the challenge, perseverance always pays off.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Amen. Thank you ma

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Confidence really makes a difference! You look gorg Princess!!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you, Michelle 😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If there's anything i love more on this article is the 4th picture........., girl you are so pretty. Sending love...

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Sincerely, I love it too. Thank you 😊💕

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omg you are so pretty Princess. And love the curly hair 😍😍😽

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you, Ruffa 😎😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So gorgeous with the photos, sissy. I would love to join Hive soon. When I get back home, I will have my time to join on it

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's alright. You are welcome on Hive anytime.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sister you are looking cute and humble. This is surely you 😂. I hope your efforts will bring fruits for you. I am also learning about Hive. Please can you add me in Discord where people will help in understanding of Hive platform. Thanks for always bringing help when I knock your door.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thanks for the compliment. I will drop some discord links to you on your post on Hive. Let me see if I can get some.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks sister for always your support and love to me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago