Presbycusis - Hearing Loss in Old People

38 53
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

"Give every day the chance to become the most beautiful day of your life."

Mark Twain

Since I operate on more than one platform, I think it would be fine if I bring what I shared a few days ago on Hive here so we can all learn and benefit from it too. I spoke about hearing loss in old people and I used my paternal grandmother as a case study. 

I didn't notice it when I used to call Granny from school and when she picked up the call, I would have said ten “hello mama” before she spoke and I saw I used to shout on top of my voice for her to hear me. I still didn't realize what the problem was but I was made to understand that as people grow old, they start developing hearing loss and would not hear clearly unless you speak out loud or move close to them to make gestures and facial expressions. 

I got home and discovered she can´t hear clearly anymore especially when you speak silently, unlike before in the past years, mama can easily hear from a distance but now she is old and over 90 plus. 

I was pushed to do research on why old people have hearing loss as they keep growing into old age and this is what I found out. 


Hearing loss is a very common problem and its causes are heredity, aging and noise around. Disease can also cause hearing loss. Old people who have hearing loss have difficulty with having conversations with people- family and friends.

Some health conditions in older people can also contribute to hearing loss. Health conditions such as diabetes or high blood pressure.

One thing I didn't make known in my post on hive is that I observe that this hearing loss is hereditary because it is affecting my Dad and Uncle too. Also when old people have health conditions like diabetes. I remembered when my sister who had lived with her since she was three years old said mama had had diabetes for many years and I was surprised to see how healthy she is and taking her medication till now.

This made me believe that poverty is a disease and can kill. My mom had diabetes too but she died when she had no one to care for her. Dad knew she had diabetes but kept mute to his family. Perhaps they would treat her, and also my mom didn't speak out. When my sister was explaining things to me, my eyes were opened but I wouldn't want to blame anybody because the deed has been done. The dead have gone. 

I knew the diabetes mama has contributed to her not being able to hear clearly as before. Older people who tend to have hearing loss may become depressed or may withdraw from others because they feel sad and frustrated about not understanding what they are saying. I don't think she is depressed because many times, she is seen sleeping and would most times, come to the sitting room to receive fresh air and I could notice she wants to keep talking but we just have to stay with her and communicate in a way she would get what we are saying.


The signs of hearing loss which I have observed in her are;

One of the signs is that she finds it difficult hearing over the telephone. Just like I said above, I will shout on top of my voice for mama to hear me clearly, and not only me, with others who call her or she calls. I have always been frustrated on phone when talking to her and would have someone speak on her behalf while they relate with her later.  So, whenever she is talking on the phone, one of us will be by her side so that we can communicate to her whatever is being said on the other end so that the other person won't be frustrated since they can't understand what is going on. Most times mama will not pick her calls when it rings because she knows she won't hear anything even if they hear her talk. 

They find it hard to follow conversations when two or more people are talking. This is another hardest part of Grandma as she is always lonely when two or more people are gathered and not hearing them is a problem to her. She prefers those people speaking louder.

Often ask people to repeat what they are saying. I have to repeat words over and over and over again just for grandma to get what I am saying. In fact, when I want to speak to her, I face her, and with expressions, communicate with her.


There are two types of hearing loss in older people. The first is Sensorineural hearing loss which is the hearing loss that occurs when the inner ear or auditory nerve is damaged and it is usually a permanent hearing loss. While the second is called Conductive hearing loss which occurs when the sound waves cannot get to the inner ear and this can be due to a punctured eardrum, earwax buildup and fluid. Though medical treatment can solve the conductive hearing loss.

PRESBYCUSIS

This is also called Age Related hearing loss which occurs in older people as they grow old and this is usually caused because of the changes in the inner ear and auditory nerve. This is what she is experiencing as she finds it hard to tolerate loud sounds or hear what others are saying. Presbycusis affects both ears equally.

There are ways to cope with an old person experiencing hearing loss which has been working effectively for grandma 

Let people know you have a hearing problem. When a person is talking to her, she would quickly make them aware of her problem so they would know how to relate with her.

Ask people to face you and speak slowly, clearly and louder but not shouting. We don't talk to her at her back so we can save ourselves from hurting our voices. She would even tell us to face her while we speak slowly so she would get whatever we are communicating across to her.

Pay attention to what you are hearing especially with facial expressions or gestures. People like this should be communicated with expressions. They quickly understand when you make gestures too.

Then make such a person know you do not understand what you are saying so they can repeat every word again.

Thanks for reading.

Image by Mark on unsplash

[April 14, 2022] (No 104 article for the year)

22
$ 6.76
$ 6.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 10
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

I think presbycusis is to the ear while presbyopia is to the eye. They all take place at old age. Your Granny is really blessed to have aged so much while suffering from Heredity induced diabetes.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you for the addition. I have never heard of the word "Presbyopia" but now, I have learnt something

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know of a friend mom that has the hearing problem, anytime we visit and we greet her, it would look like she snub us at first, we didn't know her condition so we became judgemental behind my friend back, later on, after she told us what's wrong with her Mom, anytime we go there, we don't greet with our voice alone, we would wake up to her, greet and bend so she can understand and things got better.. She was embarrassed most time

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Of course, she would be embarrassed 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are the things that come with old age. I just wish it wasn't so really. I'm simply taking solace in the fact that it's not same for all old people as some hear perfectly well or maybe not perfectly well but not as bad as this when they're old.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. It might not happen to all old people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As I get older, my hearing seems to decrease too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This kind of thing happen as one gets older and also, one needs to avoid noisy area too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As I get older, my hearing seems to decrease too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good morning from here! Decrease in hearing really comes with age, and I also notice it in my mom these days.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It affects mostly all old people then. Thanks for the clarification dear friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hearing loss is not easy to deal with, your grandma is strong

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Very strong and agile. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've never seen anyone who has this. It's completely new to me, I learnt something today... Presbycusis. Your granny really aged well. My mum also makes me shout on the phone before she hears me, and it has suddenly turned me to a shouter, I can't talk to someone on phone without shouting. I hope my mum doesn't have this ailment

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol, Such people can make one shout over the phone and if care isn´t taken, one would keep shouting when making calls with anyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This type of diseases is what my grandfather is facing and it would be when ever we what to communicate to him he will be looking to our faces directly in other to hear exactly what we saying, and they're sometimes he will not really hear or be able to understand what we say to him and we will be somehow tired of the particular issue, our efforts now is to see how we can help him to at least hear a little since medication seems not to work on him anymore.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can try following the tips I gave and most importantly using facial expression and gestures should work so when they see you demonstrating, they will understand quick.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks so much friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A few years to the demise of my Grana she developed a ear problem. We need to shout at the Top of our voice for her to understand. She sometimes nod her head pretending to hear us but we know she isn't. Best thing is to move close to her when talking and also gesticulate

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, gesticulation is a better option to use when others aren´t working well. Thanks for your comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My Mother in law has this issue along with attention deficit disorder..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow! Attention deficit disorder, I need to read more on this. Thanks for sharing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

this may often be a problem when my grandmother becomes like this when my words are not really heard so that it makes her angry because maybe she knows what she means so there are often misunderstandings between us as well as funny incidents.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, misunderstandings may tend to occur when dealing with those kind of people because they will feel you heard them but trying to play them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My grandma is like that too. We would shout at her so she can understand and hear us. It seems like we are always in argument.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is what happens most times, it turns to argument and misunderstanding.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the information. I wanna ask if there's a way someone can avoid the old age hearing loss.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don´t know of the old age but hearing loss can also affect young people but can be prevented if they aren´t exposed to much noise around and not plugging earpiece all the time which then becomes an addiction to them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your Grandma has really grown old, 90 years of existence isn't beans at all, and to this, some body organs tends to be partially or totally functionless at old age. Thank God your grandma's hearing loss is still partial, unlike an old woman at my former place of residence, she has lost her hearing completely.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I am glad because it´s still a partial hearing loss for her which I don´t pray it goes off completely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lot of things connected with age. When we start going older our lot of organs also going weaker. Listening power is one of them and presbycusis desiese is one of common one in elders.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ohh your grandma is really old ohh 90 plus. It’s GOD blessings for her and you. This article is really educating and I’m glad to understand people their hearing abilities one they get older and older. And it’s good she’s now very healthy because of the diabetes.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow this is very educating I never knew a word like this existed prebycusis .. wow new word learnt thanks again

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It´s my pleasure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also aware of this fact, but due to the fact that my older grandparents stay miles away from city here, I didn't bother doing a research to find out like you did. So sorry about your mom, may her gentle soul continue to rest in perfect peace. Learnt another word now; Presbycusis, am gonna go look it up in my dico🏃🏃

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol, it´s alright. Thank you for the comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank God it's only a partial something. Thank God her sight are good too which is not very common among aged people. Thank God she's still very strong and healthy at that age. 🤗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I am always happy for her because she lived a good life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago