Parasocial Relationship

36 79
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

“Maybe we're all just broken inside. Unable to really grasp the difference between fictional people and people we just don't know. They're all just abstract ideas we're happy to have suffer for our enjoyment.”
― Jonathan Sims

I feel a sense of love from you guys yesterday who took out time to wish me when I complained of having a slight illness. When I try to observe the cause yesterday, apart from the issue of cold water and continuous eating of mango, I found out that lack of electricity, heat and other factors caused such a strange occurrence because when I decide to sit under the cashew tree, I became active and energized that I had to spend more than an hour on Hive and promising myself to return back to Readcash later in the day which I did. Light didn't come, but I gave my brother some money to fuel the generator in the evening and I was in charge for three hours while grandma didn't say anything. If she was the one who bought the fuel, it won´t exceed thirty minutes before she starts shouting at us to put it off because she is wasting money according to her 😂


One of the topics I had in mind which I also made researched on is called “Parasocial Relationships”. Perhaps you would have heard of it before, but if you haven't, sit back while you read through it because we are about to learn something again. I saw this topic being discussed on the Quora Platform and it interest me which made me research more on it because I wasn't understanding much through the short discussion they had. 

WHAT IS A PARASOCIAL RELATIONSHIP? I remember when I was growing up, I love watching movies so much especially Yoruba movies and I detest English movies because I thought I should be proud of my language and honour them too. There are many actors and actresses I admire so much. Then, if you ask me to mention 100 Yoruba actors and actresses, even if I am sleeping, I will slowly mention them to you. That is how much I love their movies then, but now, hardly would I mention 10 because I lose interest in such movies especially since they are acting nonsense today. 

I would crush on many actors and many times would imitate their roles in movies and many times slept thinking about them, yes, I have met many actors in my dream before and if I don´t see their movies, I won´t watch any. I developed an interest in some handsome actors and would always imagine we come across each other and they proposed to me. These people I crushed on do not know someone like me is having an interest in them. This is what we call parasocial relationships. 

It is a one-sided relationship where you as a person, extends your time and energy to them and the person you are having an interest in is unaware of your action toward them. They do not know you are crushing on them, but you alone know you are. 

Many of us have different actors and actresses we think we are in a relationship within our imagination and you start crushing on them, but they aren´t aware of such a move from you. They are busy focusing on their career while you as a person are taking time watching their movies, having different imaginations about them. 

Though there are many who are fans of them and would always love the roles they play either in movies, shows or sports, you just develop feelings for them because you admire their talents or actions. 

Are Parasocial Relationships healthy? There are many people who have become obsessed with these people you see on TV or social media because they are good at what they do, or their physiques made you like or love them, but once you are obsessed with these kinds of people, it might be detrimental and become toxic to your mental health. Though this one-sided relationship can help reduce loneliness and fill the gap in social interaction, they are by no means as effective and healthy as real-life interaction with people. 

Sometimes, you might be dealing with someone who may not even exist but because you come across them on TV or on shows and since you love what you are seeing about them, you start to create a feeling for such a person who has long been dead. Even when you know a vlogger or celebrity is dead, you still want to be a friend to him or her. 

Sign that you are in a parasocial relationship is when you have feelings or connection with either a vlogger, tiktoker, YouTuber, music artist, actor or actress etc and you just want to keep seeing them in every movie or show you watch and once you see them, you develop this interest and feelings of excitement. I know we all are in this kind of relationship but do you know there are benefits to it?

Let´s take Elon musk as an example. We have heard a lot about him and how rich he is. How dedicated and determined he is to be successful, those who are in a parasocial relationship with him when he might not be aware may want to live such life he is living. They start to read more about him and how he became successful and then, you become determined to be successful like him too. 

You developed an interest in being a singer and you found yourself listening to a particular artist and his or her styles of singing, you decide to emulate him or her because of the connection you have built in your mind for him or her. This relationship would make you learn how to sing and start to imitate him or her. 

Parasocial relationships can provide a sense of belonging. Serves as motivation and inspiration to work on yourself to become who the person has become. So as an influencer, once you are inspired by someone you are connected with not physically, you tend to go in that line too. 

Parasocial relationships are actually normal and they are proven to be healthy psychologically because when we see someone through audio or video, we choose to create a bond with them but it becomes harmful when we see them as idols which whom we are obsessed. There should be a limit to liking someone you only see online or hear their voices and want to create a mutual connection with them whereas, they do not know you. 

Thanks for reading. 

Image by  Flow Clark on Unsplash

[May 14, 2022] (No 134 article for the year)



28
$ 6.44
$ 5.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 23
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

This is also what I've felt when a singer of mine became the idol of my heart and it's true that everything about him has taken my time to find out more while my work is almost impossible for me to finish this is an influence that is often unavoidable.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm! I could remember the time i was in a parasocial relationship with one the greatest entrepreneurs in my country, i never saw him physically, but i was one of his most active followers online, i would always go online to read stuffs about him, watch his videos countless times, i used to post is pictures on my WhatsApp status as if he was my parent. 😁 Three were times i was also in the relationship with some actors and actress in the Yoruba film industry, the likes of Odunlade Adekola, funke akindele but now i have changed.

In Nigeria, our lady's own is even the greatest: many of them are in the parasocial relationship with Lee Min-ho.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Honestly am in awe of your writing expertise princess. I was a victim of this way back when I was much younger, I never knew there was a term used in defining it. I also don't like watching Yoruba movies again, for me it isn't teaching core values like it used to anymore.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To be real, there's this guy in my neighborhood i have been crushing on for some time now. I never knew until today that what i was doing was a kind of relationship on its own. I need to deliver myself before it gets out of hand. Haha

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You should my friend 🤣🤣 because that guy might not be aware. It may be like a crush but it is termed Parasocial Relationship.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Knowing about it for the first time is already setting me on the path of deliverance.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To be in that kind of relationship and there are some girl that you in interested in her but she refused to give you her tention, In that case it's better for me to be alone than to have a sleepless night.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This just got me to remember all those Nollywood actors that I was in love with. That was in my childhood days sha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow it is good to know about parasocial relationship. I can remember some years ago I was into such relationship and I didn't know. I even when ahead to love those authors and musicians, Is now that I have the full knowledge of it, thanks for sharing friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is interesting. I never knew that there's this kind of relationship and it's surprises me now. However I don't have this kind of relationship. I do like an actress/actors but not to the point that I'm gonna keep on following him/her on every show or movies he/she has, I'm just an ordinary fan.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Great! There are some people like that who just likes them on a normal ground but do not get obsessed with them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol, princess said they are acting nonsense 😁.... They are not acting nonsense, you have simply overgrown those movies and you can now only tolerate movies that suit your taste. Just like how we all were crazy about wrestling when we were kids but now, most of us find it silly

$ 0.02
1 year ago

What do get me angry with them is that you already predict what will happen at the end😅😅 I don't like them again except if the yoruba movies are just new and the likes of King of Boys stuff

$ 0.00
1 year ago

exactly, that's what made KoB unique, it has a special appeal. Unlike others where they just simply regurgitate stuffs we have already seen in old movies 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Abi! This time around, when I see a Yoruba movie on Netflix, I would know it's not our local movies we watch but rated high. I now look for movies on Netflix than anywhere.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha she said handsome actors. Who no like better thing na.

I just heard of that word and I guess while growing up too, I've been in Parasocial relationship with Genevieve Nnaji, Omotola Jolade Ekeinde and Nancy Isime 🤣🤣😂😂. We are all guilty at some point...don't give me that look.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I can't give you a different look na since we all are guilty 🤣🤣🤣

Then, mine was Bolanle Ninalowo... you know that guy with six packs? 😁😁😁 Same with Odunlade Adekola, and some Nollywood actors jare,.....can't remember their names again

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha I know Ninalowo. You sha like something that is bigger than you 😂🤣😂🤣. Where would you be when you want to do the do? 🤣😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣🤣🤣 At least my vision is bigger and I want a huge dream attainable 🥱

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha I like that. You will attain it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's like delusional thinking, no? We have to learn to manage that kind of one-sided relationship though for it may drive us mad.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You are right. We shouldn't let it get too much into our heads for it might be dangerous.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I appreciate your enlightenment on the issue of parasocial relationship, and when i take a view about it ,i see that everything you said is true.

It has it's own advantages and disadvantages, it is better to make use of the advantage to build ourselves to be better and not the other way round.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly. The good benefits of it should be imbibe and make use of to get us inspired. Thank you for reading.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! Thanks for sharing i've never heard of this before and I haven't experienced such before but if feels great to learn about it now. Thanks for sharing your knowledge on it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Well, you could have experienced it but do not know. We all are guilty of it. Lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me who crushes on anime characters :😵😵

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So, I have been in many parasocial relationships and I didn't even know it 😂😂😂

$ 0.02
1 year ago

If I hadn't heard of this word before, I may be ignorant too. But as you know, we all keep learning each day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember having crashes like this when I was a teenager. Mainly singers from boy bands 😅 These days I’ll have a little daydream about one person or another. As long as it’s something light and makes us smile, I’m sure it’s ok, but obsessing about some stranger we only see on the tv screen is sure not healthy. We might miss some real connections in real life that way x

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Definitely right. When we are too much obsessed with them, it might ruin our interactions with people in real life.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Usage of Any thing in excessive amount especially food can harm our digestive system or can damage metabolic system. Glad to know that you are feeling well. Thanks to Almighty! Parasocial relationships falls some thing influencing impact with craze to see them even they never know it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you my friend. We just need to be careful with such relationship for it might harm us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Now I know..fangirling and admiration are parasocial 😅...

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Lol, you are right.

$ 0.00
1 year ago