I was jealous of her.

33 53
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

“He who envies others does not obtain peace of mind.”

Buddha

I missed showing up at the hangout on Discord yesterday and I was pained because I didn't go anywhere even the church program that took place. Since I joined the workforce in church, I have been missing the Hive Learners hangout every Saturday but yesterday I didn't go anywhere, I forgot to attend. Though the rain fell all through yesterday. Perhaps that made me forget until, after the end of the program, I saw I was tagged in my notification and I remembered the fun moment.

The Hive Learners would always come around every Saturday to vote for different questions for the week. Five questions are sent to the group and everyone would vote their choice. Whichever three questions get the highest votes would be the weekly edition for this week starting from Monday to Saturday.

When I saw the questions, one of the questions I suggested wasn't picked. Then, I saw another favourite question I would like to write something on but wasn't picked, I decided I would write about it here to satisfy my urge in making a post about it because it's something I need to talk about.

Here is the question;

“We all have been in situations where we felt people were jealous of us for no reason. Or where we were jealous of others. Tell us about your experience with jealousy and how you were able to overcome it. You might be teaching someone”.


I don't think anyone of us hasn't been jealous of another person in different ways. You might see a particular dress on a person and you wished you could get it. You saw a shoe you admire so much and you wish the person putting it on should be you. You might see someone achieving something better than you and you feel you are the one.

Okay, let's leave that one and come down to what we do here. I have been jealous of many users here before. Seeing the huge upvote they get daily made me wish I was the one and most times, I would be discouraged not earning such an amount of money.

But do you know what? I was jealous, yes, I admit that but it made me work hard to get there too and one thing that kept me going and focusing on what I should do better was when I realized someone else behind me is jealous of my achievement here. I kept to that word and was busy doing my own and with time, I got over it because I was earning something too. If they could get it, why would mine be different?

It's normal to be jealous but it becomes abnormal when you are so obsessed to the extent of harming yourself or someone because they are doing better than you.

I have seen people being jealous of another on a platform to the extent that they spammed accounts because they weren't earning much more than them. Just as in the case of Uptrennd platform where I was. I was so surprised people could act in such a way. Instead of letting that encourage you to work hard and do your best, you start spamming and plagiarizing. That isn't the way, nigga.

Alright, this isn't where I am going because I have something I should narrate here. I was jealous of that person and today, it turned another way around because I saw myself doing better than her.

It happened in the year 2019 when I got admission for my degree studies. I and this friend were living together but something happened along the way which made us separated. I had wanted to be on my own though because I don't like pairing rooms with someone. Fights and misunderstandings will occur somehow and I don't want that.

She met a guy who was in the same department and level as us, he was living with us in the same compound but he is a little bit rich. That was how my friend clung to him and he made her school daughter.

To cut the long story short, this lady gave me her phone one day to hold for her while she went somewhere. Perhaps she wanted me to see for myself, I don't know, because it never happened before. Her phone beeped and I saw a notification of an alert where she was having #250,000. That was like $440+ or so.

Then I scanned through the amount in my account then and was having only $10 in my account. I felt jealous of her and wished the money was mine. I began to calculate the money and do some imaginary spendings in my mind. Then, I didn't have any other thing I was doing apart from Uptrennd and I haven't started earning much then.

I started reminding myself of my age and what I have presently when my mates are having thousands and billions and here I am having such little amount and it was what I had as pocket money.

Then suddenly, I came back to my senses and said something I will never forget. “I will have more than this one day”

I never knew when it would be but I had the belief I would, and ever since then, I stopped being jealous and minded my business.

Today, I can tell you that I have spent more than that through the blogging platforms I am in and doing better today than her. Whenever she hears that I am going out with some friends, she would come out to see what I was wearing.

I could say I make my money but she doesn't do anything apart from depending on this guy she calls her school father.

This all came to pass because I minded my business and did all I could. Sleepless nights, working hard daily to make sure I get something and so proud to be who I am today. Jealousy isn't my thing anymore because I believe that I can get what I wish for through prayers and hard work.

You can also do this. Praying for what you desire and keep working hard. Someone said, instead of wishing for something from someone that you could have, why not pray for it and at the same time work for it. Don't wish, instead take action and it is yours.

Stop being jealous but celebrate others, their achievement and wins. Then, you can be rest assured that you will be celebrated too.

Thanks for reading

Image by Polina on Pexels

[July 17, 2022] (No 198 articles for the year)

21
$ 2.97
$ 2.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 13
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

That's really good. I can say that jealousy isn't really good but if we become jealous of something we should work hard to know that we achieve what we ought to achieve in other not to become jealous again.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, when we are jealous, it can be a motivation to work hard because we can do it too if we believe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Feeling jealous is sometimes hard to deny, especially when we live in a judgmental society, where success is based on achievements, money, and status. I admit I felt jealous multiple times, but I don't let it go overboard to a point I'll get mad at that person. Instead I use it to motivate myself to improve so I won't be jealous anymore.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, it is normal to be jealous but we shouldn't let that put us down not to know we have the ability to do things to bring out the best.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree, very well said! 👌

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Jealousy is unhealthy because it leads to insecurity. Instead of focusing on our strengths, we focus on our weaknesses. And if we’re insecure, we’re not going to perform well.

Don't have to let jealousy control you. Instead, try to step outside of the situation and see things from a positive perspective.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes oo, we won't perform well or succeed if we are insecure. We have the ability in us too. So, let's do our bests. Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice one princess. "A blessed water is better than cursed fried rice and chicken". She didn't work for the money and her source of income crashed. You were building yourself and now you're standard. Life is a teacher and a lesson dear

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Wow! I love the quote you used. Thank you for this Gianna ♥️♥️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To me, I think the jealously language should entirely be removed from our entire thought given how negatively most known jealous moments had been known to slope lastly into an uncontrolled anger and a serious quest to commit an occasional harm on the one we are jealous of. It's generally bad to jealous or even become envious of others as regards their achievements given the biblical injunctions regarding jealousy and envy.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I don't think it's possible to alleviate jealousy from our thoughts because it is normal to be because God Himself was jealous. But we can only try not to let it disturb us from doing the right thing and making progress. Even if we are jealous, we can use that as a motivation and inspiration to work hard to also get there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

jealousy exists, I've also been jealous of other people and other people have been jealous of me, when someone tells a bad story about us it means they feel jealous of our life and that's what I feel too but always remember that jealousy will not brings us to calm and peace even we will not grow and only think of others without us realizing our own life we ​​have neglected. minimize envy even though it is difficult to get rid of because our lives do not depend on other people.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

This is great. I love your comment. Jealousy will only stop us from seeing the best of life but we can just stop it because we all our different individuals trying to be the best.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i like to say when you fell like being in someone else's position, you are envious. that means you "envy them", but when you start taking steps to push them out and replace them in whatever way you can ( legally or illegally), that's jealousy. And when you're "Jealous" , it's dangerous.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

This is interesting. Being jealous and envious is different and thanks for explaining that. 👍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Definitely hardwork and prayers will bring good results rather than being jealousy.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You are right. Let's keep working hard.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've been jealous but yahh you are right we have to work on our dreams and someday somehow we can have what we really want in life

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That is the truth.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, have been jealous a couple of times, seeing people earn higher, seeing friends do better than myself, am human to feel that way. But I do snap out knowing better days are ahead. No one woke up to achieve what they had, it was hard work and displine, and that is what am going to do..

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly. Snap out of it immediately so you don't harbour negative thoughts in you. That is what happens when we give in to jealousy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One day, it will get better for us one day. Jealousy will make it looks as if those days will never come

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You are right. Jealousy will only close one's eyes to seeing the truth and ability in us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I admit that sometimes jealousy really hit me but another way around because this feeling gives me more motivation and encourages me to do better and bring out the best in me. Though jealousy is not healthy if it becomes to habit and worse makes you harm other people.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That is it. Jealousy should motivate us to do better and not to try finding ways to infringe pain on another.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uptrennd is another blogging platform like read.cash princess? Haven't tried that yet. That's a pro, whenever you feel jealous get back into the mirror and ask yourself, what are the things I'm grateful for myself and what surrounds me?

This is a "killer" statement

Stop being jealous but celebrate others, their achievement and wins. Then, you can be rest assured that you will be celebrated too.

Yes you are celebrated too!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It was a blogging platform for two years before it crashed. No longer active and functioning again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I see. Will it return? Hope read will not be like that. If ever we will stay for enjoyment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uptrennd cannot return again. Well, as for read. We would keep hoping for the best and grab the opportunity while we can access it now. Thanks for your beautiful comment too 😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! I was motivated by reading your article...

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I'm glad you were. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Try to convert all your crypto..you have that too 😁

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes oo, I have more than that even when crypto shoot up 💃💃💃

$ 0.00
1 year ago