I was demanded a $200 ransom.

66 78
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

“Out of difficulties grow miracles.”

Jean de La Bruyère

How would you feel if you got on your phone, and at the other end, you heard something like this;

“Hey! We just got our hands on your relative called... and we demand a $500 ransom for her release. We need you to make it available within the next couple of days and if you don't comply, she's gone. And again, if you think you're smart, try bringing the police into the picture. That's the last of it. I'll send you the address now.” Hang up the call.

You will start fidgeting right? At that point, you're confused. All that is in your head and mind is how and where to get such a huge amount of money and also, don't forget, you must be careful not to involve anybody, especially the police.

You're trapped between the Red Sea. You start reminiscing memories about her (the victim). You think of the love between you both. You start imagining her death, and what it would be like if you didn't do something quickly. However, the question should be.

“How and where can I get that money together in two days?” That's funny, isn't it? Or does that sound a little weird? $500?

With the way things went weird and bad, it's sad to always listen to the news of people who were kidnapped and demanded a ransom. And not just a little money, but a huge one, and you are left to wonder if these kidnappers do care about the victims and their families, and to say that they are just too heartless to pull the trigger on them when they do not get the money. Some are even so cruel that they will receive the ransom and still fulfill their wishes by killing their victims.

On many occasions, this kidnapping of a thing could be due to targeting someone who is influential or wealthy, just to go out of their way and raise money from them. It is alarming and apparent to hear about different cases of abduction, while most are for ritualistic reasons.

When I was still with my aunt, I was in my bedroom that afternoon, occupied on my phone when it rang. I saw the caller, and it was my friend. I was wondering why she was calling again at that time because we had already chatted. I breathed as a calm person and I answered the call.

There was a male's voice.

“Hello! Is that Busayo?”

I responded with my heart beating fast as though I was being chased by a lion because of the tone of the voice. “That's right, I am. Who am I on to please?”

Maintaining his thick voice, he went further

“Okay, good! We have your friend in custody, and we need your cooperation. We heard you traveled. It's no problem. If you don't want us to hurt your friend, I'll give you an account number now and you need to transfer $200 right away.”

By that time, my heart had traveled away from my body. I was unable to control myself, but I hung up the call immediately. Various thoughts crossed my mind and I tried to understand the entire scenario of what had just happened.

Why would they contact me? That was my first question, and then there were more questions coming up over and over again.

Why didn't they phone her parents or family? Why me?

Do I want to be scammed here? Was that some kind of joke?

A few minutes later, my phone rang and I was afraid to pick it up because, at that moment, I was more than getting scared and thinking something was about to happen to my friend. I wanted to call one of her parents, but I didn't have their contact. When I decided to take the call, I pressed the green button and I heard laughter.

So this was just a prank? Who dares to play with me? If it was to be a hypertensive patient, trust me, he or she would have collapsed or might have been dead hearing such news, which ended up to be a prank.

The male's voice was my friend's fiance and she came up with such thought to prank me, together with her guy.

I frantically told them that the moment they were demanding $200 from me and I hung up the call on them, I already closed up my mind because no one was ever going to take a pin from me, even if it was real. Why didn't they call her parents first instead of me? Who doesn't need money at this moment? 😂

In all seriousness, I was gone! I didn't know how I came back to myself because that was such an expensive joke. Thank God it was a prank because I don't know what would happen if it were true. I'm scared to death of those kidnappers.

At the moment, a relative of ours was kidnapped and held hostage. He hasn't been released yet, and hopefully nothing will happen. His wife died a few months ago, leaving him with two small children and now it's the dad. What would happen to those children if anything happened? God forbid.

What would you do if you were pranked with such?

Thanks for your time.

Image by Freestocks from Unsplash

[August 15, 2022] (No 227 articles for the year)

26
$ 6.67
$ 6.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 14
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

Hmm.. That joke was expensive o.. It shouldn't have happened in the first place. If I had the money, on a norms I would send it immediately if its a friend that worth it without thinking and if its a prank. I will remove the friend from the serious people list.

Also for your relative.. I hope he get released by God grace

$ 0.00
1 year ago

was this a joke? If I was exposed to such a joke, I would end my friendship for a while, my dear.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha. I trust understand her and I have forgiven her for such prank.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

you know best about it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol. I can imagine how you sweated from head to toe, confused on how to go about it. It can be quite frustrating and frightening, considering that it's very rampant these days, but thank God that it was all a prank.

As for your kidnapped relative, I pray and hope that he recovers his freedom in good health as I can't imagine what those children would have to face if they get orphaned. God forbid

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It would be too hard on the kids. I don't like seeing children being orphaned at all. Thanks for your wish, Diikaanye

Are you on our WhatsApp group?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome dear.

No I'm not

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Chat me up to add you: 08146228805

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good thing it's just a prank. Might be if I was in your situation, I can't answer the second call because might be I lost my consciousness.

How about with your relative? is it true or a prank? if it's true hopefully he would be released very soon and still okay because he have children waiting for him.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, the one about my relative is true. I hope nothing happens to him for the sake of his children.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would have felt the same way as you, Princess. Not a good prank 😭

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Seriously, not a good prank at all

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No one should play that type of play with me ooo because I will faint oo..haaa which type of expensive joke is this?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😂😂😂 Why you wan faint? You no get heart oo 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I get small 🙃🙃

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You wey your heart hard. Faint ke? 🤣🤣😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haaaaaaaaaaaaa I will faint ooo...oloun....where I wan see the money nau 😂😂😂😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣😂. Coded sinzu money.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha 😂😂😂😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣😂😂🤣🤣😘😘😘

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Goan sleep 🌚🌚🌚🌚🌚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Not yet o. Best time to make money online is now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whoever calls you for ransom that person has made a mistake because they will not get one naira from you as you have said... You that you don't even give yourself money....na ransom money you go come pay? 😂😂🤣😂🏃🏃🏃🏃

That was a crazy joke though...too expensive to play and maybe because they know you won't even pay so they wanted to test their theory. Everyone knows you have money na 😂😂🤣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣KP has seen me finish. Where the money dey? A kidnapper wanting to collect from an half-Ijebu lady 😂😂😂

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are a full breed and bloodied Ijebu lady. Your own sef na raised to power 2+X.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Too expensive of a joke.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I have never been able to understand this kind of jokes. There is so much information on the networks about refraining from these games because you don't know how a person will take the information from the joke, but still people ignore such information. I will not understand them.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

For a kidnapping to be real, there must be an information first and if it's real, one would know.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You literally just pranked me too with your topic lol... I would look at the number first then fear will grip me, but my head will reason that 200$ is small compared to what kidnappers collect... let me pull same prank on my siblings lol

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😂😂😂 I had to use that topic as a clickbait too. Hahaha! Don't let them get scared oo 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I panic, I thought it was real. Seriously, if I would be in that situation I would be insane. It is too much to handle.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Too much to handle.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is a very expensive joke.. I do hope your relative comes back unharmed because things are hard now.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Amen. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

☺☺

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Such pranks should never be encouraged. If I experience something like this I don't think I would move a step further.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha! One has to verify very well if it's real or not before taking any step.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very much true

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If I was pranked like this, maybe I cried a lot and lose my mind. That's a huge amount.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, that is what most people will do if it were to be true.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank God it was a prank 😂 but trust it would be stressing if it was true. Nowadays kidnapping for money is becoming common

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Very common. Who doesn't want money in this country and they will do anything to get it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am lucky in this regard because I didn't have faced a case like this. Although ransom money will be greater than four thousands dollar I like to pay it for my love and close person.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

The ransom they always request for is always a big amount and they don't care at all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That prank is not just expensive but wealthy as well 😱. If it were to be me, I'd hunt for her parents number and call them asap. The weight of kitikiti is too heavy for me

$ 0.02
1 year ago

🤣🤣🤣 You are funny. The weight of kitikiti 😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Is the kidnapping case real of a prank as well?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yea, the one of a relative is real. I hope he is released though.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

this is an expensive prank though 🤣🤣🤣, but if happen to be the one, I will just have to call her parent that their daughter is being kidnapped, because at this present moment, the country is not smiling, it's not easy to get that kind of money nowadays.. may we never experience such in our lives... cus it's happens to any of our relatives (God forbids) , they'll look for the money at all cost.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You are right. Even if it's real, they will look for money at all cost despite the economy not smiling at all. May we not experience such.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh! I faint, well it also depends on how close I am to the kidnapped per son, I think my weakest and most delicate point is my family, I couldn't stand to be in that situation, I hope your family come home to your children.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Same too. I don't want to hear anything bad about my family too because I don't know what could happen. Amen. Thank you for your prayer.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm not a fan of pranks but if someone did that to me my heart will leave my chest. In fact, the way i will rush in calling our mutual contacts, my friend’s parents and family en, by the time they call back to tell me it's a prank the whole Nigeria will be aware already 🤣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😂😂😂😂😂 This is funny. Seriously, who would want to hear kidnapping case and not do something immediately.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmm that prank is too deep o Because I will be shocked and I might have start raising the money before I find out it was just a prank But come to think of it I might not fall for it because am not her parents But I will be very scared sha

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Same with me. Why me instead of her parents? 😂😂 I won't do anything because I no get such money.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All these kind jokes expensive oh become my heart dey quick cut na ..

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😆😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha, but things like this shouldn't be a prank cause if it happens, the person they call will just think it's another prank.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

At least, it was. Though, I would be like “they have called the wrong number” because I won't give them shishi 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was quite an expensive joke, it was a prank but the outcome could have been bad if you didn't think we'll about it.

Imagine calling her parents to tell them such and thinking about it again, kidnappers won't ask for such money. I hope it didn't take time before you forgave them?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha, I wasn't even angered but I had to warn them. What if I actually have her parent's contact? They might even think I was lying and that would become something else.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmm... This was a costly one you know. Since it was your friend, you just have to warned her not to joke with you to that extent again. It is not the best because it can cause sudden death or hypertension. Some people are prone to fast hype in their BP and so when this happens, all what is needed is for such person to be rushed to the hospital.

This is not the best...

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I warned her not to try that next time. That was just too much for me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago