How is my social life?

39 80
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

"She could be lively only in the midst of life; in isolation she dwindled to a shadow"

Quote Source

I went to Church yesterday evening and when I returned, my phone was almost getting drained and I had to charge it when I had the opportunity of someone putting on the Generator. I used the moment to take a shower and stayed outside with my phone.

I heard my neighbors discussing their social lives and it was interesting, I had to meddle into the discussion.

A guy was explaining how difficult it would be when a man who isn't social dates a social lady. Being social means when you are an extrovert, you like partying, making friends easily, you are always on vibe and know what the latest is in the world.

The man might find it hard coping with such a lady while she, on the other hand, would definitely see it as boring with such personality in him unless both come to strike a balance and perhaps be on a negotiation level and compromise.

Another lady started hers and narrated how introverted she is, that she can stay indoors for months without seeing the outside except she runs an errand at home.

Though, I can stay indoor too because I would say my social life is somehow boring, even though it is active virtually. I am the exact opposite when you see me physically and you would wonder "are you not the one who brings the vibe on during chatting online?"


This made me remember Gary Chapman's book titled "The Five Love Languages" where he explained two terms which are "Dead sea and Babbling Brook".

Dead sea is more like an introvert who wouldn't initiate a chat but would listen with rapt attention. They don't know how to talk much or even be humorous while Babbling Brook would keep talking without stopping and most times, the chat may end up being boring because you aren't interested anymore.

When a Babbling Brook dates a Dead Sea, there would be problem in the house because a Babbling Brook would expect you to talk and contribute to a discussion but you are only a person with few words and you are gone.

Same thing with a Dead Sea marrying a Babbling Brook especially when the Babbling Brook is a woman. Women are known to always talk even when they expect you to only listen to them but in most cases, if you don't talk, trouble is looming.

I am just like a Dead Sea because I don't know how to gist except you ask questions relating to my lifestyle and I answer you.

When a person comes to me and tells me to tell him about myself, it would only be short with my name and where I come from. I would prefer you ask questions and I answer you based on that.

I don't know how to initiate talks at first or even start a friendship. There are some who are really good at it. They can make friends within a minute and I am surprised how it is done.

Being an introvert is always hard in that aspect which I think I need help with too.

This is why I do pray that God should bless me with a man who is social and would bring me in too but we have to make it balance so it doesn't affect either of us.

When I attend an event, I don't spend time waiting or seeing what is being done because I get bored immediately. There are those who would stay till the end and there would be vibes all through. I really admire those people.

I spent more than seven years with my Aunt going to her church and I never had a friend who I moved closer to. Once the grace has been shared, I turn and start going home. My younger sister only came to visit for just two Sundays, she already had friends and even shared contact with. I was shocked and asked how she did that.

My sister's social life is awesome. She could make friends even in the bus while traveling but I can't. I would only use my earphones all through the journey without saying a word.

Like, what do I say to the other person sitting next to me? How do I start it? There, you will see some meddling into talks and boom, the conversation has gone to another level in the bus.

So, don't be surprised if I am the type that really loves chatting and bringing up topics to talk on but in reality, I become like a dead sea. This is my personality but you know one needs to at least be social too so you aren't left behind or mocked by others.

Till now, I still do not know the kinds of wines available or different foreign meals out there. I don't know how the future date is going to be. Even if you want to take me on a date, I would totally be a novice to the extreme. Lol

This is my social life and a bit of who I am. I hope you will understand me when we eventually meet someday. Don't be surprised I wouldn't be able to bring up a topic first and also don't scream when I don't contribute much to what you are saying. I am always listening rather than talking because I am short on words.

Thanks for reading

Image Credit by Priscilla

[March 12, 2022] (No 71 article for the year)

19
$ 6.56
$ 6.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 11
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

I can understand you. You seem to describe me. I can never converse with anyone on a bus and sitting in a consulting room while others converse I just lift my head to see when it's my turn to go in the rest of the time I'm reading. I am not easy to make friends with.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am your kind of person. I don't talk much but i am a good listener. People are complaining about it already, but i won't stress myself just to please another person. That's why most of the time i stay indoors.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yea, I stay indoors too and chat with my phone. No one can force us though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol We have same thing in common That’s why I keep friends that knows how to initiate conversations and friends that are lives of the party so we could compliment each other and not have a boring relationship. But apart from the fact that I don’t know how to initiate conversations, I can hold or a keep a conversation going once it’s been initiated by someone… Gary Chapman is a wonderful writer….I’m reading one of his books titled “now you speak my language”

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I should read that book too. I have liked him ever since I came across the book Five Love Languages and still has more books.

Yea, when we know our weaknesses, we need someone with strength to complement us and not make life boring. Thanks for sharing about you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a chatty person but it depends on a situation where I talk first and talk once I was approached first. And when the conversation started and I feel comfortable to it, I can't stop myself from talking and talking, lol.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehehe, especially when the chat is becoming interesting. Thanks for sharing yours.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You perfectly described me Princess. LOL. I am chatty ONLINE, but really silent in real life. That's why I consider myself a boring home buddy. I wonder how it'd look like if we two got on a date. There would be complete silence and awkwardness hahaha!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha, then we have to switch to watching movies together 😂😂😂 it would be boring without that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww princess that is a kind of life I had during my school days I later notice that my social life not is really right with me as a guy, I mean I didn't mind talking to female most especially and i would just say hey to guys and go my way. But I later decide to change when getting to senior class and thank God the kind of life I am living now, it is just about the mind.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow! It's about the mind! I love this. This means I can actually change if I want to, depending on my mind. Thanks for this Gently.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear princess, for me, I will always want to be the first to start a conversation. Especially in a new area or a new friends. It a bit difficult for some persons even though they probably enjoy it when you talk to them

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Like me, I enjoy it when you initiate a talk first while it keeps rolling on especially if it's something interesting and not boring. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice to know your social standing. I was thinking of inviting you to my installation ceremony as Asiwaju Of My Town. Nonetheless I would invite you to book launch sometimes before December 2022. Great reading your article. You are due for an award.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Really? That would be awesome. Would definitely be expecting it. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, I really don't understand myself too in this aspect, I can be the deadsea or the other, it depend on my mood, but one thing I can say is that I easily make friends, it's one of my good trait.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You have a good trait which I am weak in such aspect. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have they now done the department dinner night and if yes, did you go😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If we are all extroverts, the world will be too noisy, and if we are all introvert the world will be too silent. That is why some people talk very much while some talk little, so as to balance it up. In our home, my mum talks much, but dad talks little. It's like i took mum's side because i can talk oo.😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, you are right. This is why everything is in twos so that there would be a balance and not the world becoming something else. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everybody is unique and each personality have their own strength and weakness. There are some aspects in which introverts excel more than extroverts and vice versa. As for me, I tend to switch between extrovert and introvert (an omnivert). I personally think an introvert and extrovert can have a great romantic relationship, I have seen it happen before

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yea, when both personality traits comes together, it would be easy to balance it up and come to a compromise that will favor both. Thank you for your feedback.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't really want to socialize now. But if it's before. I can do that but now that I already reach this age I'm already okay spending time in my room alone. Not sure if I can ever entertain any guy from outside world but it's no on my head right now. Still not sure with that. I think no one fan ever pull me out on my comfort zone. To the comfort zone thst is my safe haven

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha, of course no one would come force you to do what you are against doing. If we are okay, we are and can't try to please anyone. Thank you ma

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think we kinda the same, I am also an introvert, infact I like spending all my day inside the house watching film, sleeping or writing.... I don't make friends too, it's hard to start a conversation with someone.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's really hard because I would be looking at you and not say a word 😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's okay ma..we are the same 🤣🤣. I may seem like talkative here.. But only here.. In person, I will only talk if others approach me first lol..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I love it when someone initiate the talk instead of me. I love chatting so much online.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just like you said before princess, we are all unique in our own ways. The world would be quite insane if everyone becomes a talkative. Also, the world also be boring of everyone was calm, Lol. I knew of a dead sea whose blabbing Brooke of a wife saved him from his brothers "friends" who tried to cheat him because he was too gentle for his own good

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehehe! This is why it is good to have both traits because when trouble comes, one would save the other with such trait. Lol I want the same too because I am really a dead sea in conversation. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Brave and blunt men are usually attracted to Women will calm disposition like you. Wishing you the best, friend . 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Bilqees

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also likes staying in door for long but not for a month ahh what’s happening well we all have different characters sha but wait if you alway like listening rather than talking because you’re short of words how can you teach? Because I remember your article an interview of getting a teaching job.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Teaching is different because you surely would have something to discuss especially with your lesson plan and while at it, ideas could be flowing right? Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As an antisocial person, dating a very social lady is a bit weird. It's basically the opposite of what I appreciate. I don't think I'd last in that kind of relationship.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I don't think such relationship would last unless you come to an agreement. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is where introvert character got me, I'm just the exact of what you explained. I'm more comfortable with people I'm used to and very minimal when it comes meeting new people.

I always admire the social People, yeah I admire them a lot

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly. I admire them too. I wish to be like them but we all are unique in our way. Let's not forget that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago