Do the good things even when it doesn't matter.

12 44
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

“Anybody can do bad work, but not everybody does good work.”

Paul Simon

One thing I have always loved is doing the good thing and not minding who or why I am doing it. Let me give you a scenario. There is a particular girl that has been acting rudely to a friend of mine and it hurt her so deeply. I would always tell her not to mind her but limit how she relates to her but it doesn't stop me from helping this girl anytime I want to.

My life has gone far beyond not doing good to someone because of the bad comment I have heard about them. I just find myself being pushed to help in my own little way, then take my eyes off it.

Does it matter if you help a stranger at all? You feel like why should I help since I won't be seeing them again? Does it even matter if you do a random task well? You might never encounter the client again. There are many instances that look meaningless that you might not care about.

Okay, there was a day I boarded a tricycle and the driver stopped, wanting to give a young girl her change but he wasn't having any change on him and it would be unfair not to give the girl the change. I was being delayed and immediately, I told him to return her initial money while I pay for her.

The girl was so happy, thanked me and the man drove off. She was a stranger and I might want to restrain myself from doing good for her because I feel I won't see her again, why should I help?

So, why does it matter if you do them well?

A job, a little act of kindness, or any other thing you do for another person might not really matter on the normal ground but it is still worth doing it.

When we do good things for other people, there are many benefits we derive from it. First, it allows us to feel good within us for helping another fellow who needed help. We are prosocial creatures by nature and our bodies and brains react with a burst of joy, enthusiasm and satisfaction when we know we have done something good.

Someone who had just prepared a nice meal and took her time to make the best out of it, knowing the family and everyone around would enjoy the meal, will feel that outburst of Joy in her knowing how delicious the meal is and how it would make those eating it feel good. It's because she took her time to make something good. She feels good too!

What's more? There are actions that are good for our health. Being kind to people and helping them boost our physical health, definitely does wonders for our mental well-being too. Even if others do not recognize our effort in doing good, we can still feel the benefits.

Another benefit is that doing good allows us to be proud of what we have chosen to achieve and accomplish in life. We don't depend on other people to give us validation because we know what we did and that is enough to validate ourselves. This then strengthens or empowers us and allows us to feel proud and good about our work.

Thirdly, knowing we have done things good and well makes it less likely that we leave problems behind. When we do a poor job thinking it doesn't matter, it can eventually come back to bite us and we regret not doing it the best way at the beginning. If we do things well and right, it will make us calm and know that nothing is going to happen.

When we do things well that might be seen as inconsequential and paying attention to the quality of work, worth ethics and details can help distinguish us from others and foster a healthy relationship that has quality and not just for the show of it. Even if others never found out or care about it, it doesn't matter to us.

So, it is better and more important to commit to doing things well because we may feel that things don't matter or the person we are helping seems unimportant, we will always know and remember because we have our conscience working all the time. It is beneficial when we can do them right and feel proud of achieving and accomplishing the best in life.

Thanks for your time.

Images by Karolina Grabowska from Pexels

[November 02, 2022] (No 305 articles for the year)

11
$ 0.51
$ 0.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.03 from @Sashaa
+ 6
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

By Almighty grace, doing good will always be repaid in one form or other, though not immediately but gradually. So do good be good hence no regrets.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly. Thank you, Sashaa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Doing good is one of the things that is lacking in this age actually uwu, kind of devastating to think about it but that was happening today, but doing good all the time becomes a problem too, that's why I choose to do good in my own way, I choose to be silently doing it haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same with me. I love doing good silently where people won´t even notice me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's this relief and comfort that comes from knowing that you've done the right thing. It's a feeling I wouldn't trade at all

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are so right. That feeling that there wouldn´t be any problem because we did it right.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We def feel good within from doing something beautiful to someone out there, rewards may not appear in an instant, good things have a way of coming back. In my most little way I try so much to help

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are very right. The reward might not come instantly but it will surely come especially when we aren´t expecting it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yah it's a great thing if we do things positively I mean a little help might mean too much to someone

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Definitely, it might mean a lot to the one who truly appreciates it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Its such agood feeling helping othersor stranger people but if helping the same people from time to time is not healthy anymore because they became dependent on you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, it becomes something such people will depend on you if you keep helping them from time to time except for our family members.

$ 0.00
1 year ago