Different types of Jollof Rice

83 107
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Lead Image

Hehehehe, are you seeing the title? What comes to your mind? Wait! Don't conclude yet because I know it's nothing to you but don't you think you'd have some fun with it? Actually, it's only for fun and fun only. Don't worry, I will bring that smile from your face πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰

What even prompted this title? It was my neighbors. Actually we were having fun together and gisting when all of a sudden, everyone turned to me (as if it was planned) Buzhay (that's my nickname) when are you getting married? It's been long I have eaten Jollof Rice. I laughed and was like "so you actually want to eat the rice and not the marriage itself being serious with it?"

Go and cook Jollof Rice na if you are craving for it. I replied back

No, I want party Jollof Rice

Okay, you can actually prepare yours to bring out the aroma you had wanted.

Don't you get it? I want those party Jollof Rice that women have spitted on it due to their gossiping moment.

That was what cracked the hell out of me.

I think you should prepare your Jollof Rice, then call your friends to come and keep talking until the spit in their mouth dropped into the food. We all laughed


Then another brought out another joke. Do you know we have different kinds of Jollof Rice? I was curious to know because I didn't know where she was actually driving at. Then she started mentioning them.

Look at how spicy it isπŸ˜‹

Types of Jollof Rice at a party

Graduation Jollof Rice

Let's take a University graduate for instance. A student who is celebrating his or her convocation, he or she would inform the parent and they would prepare rice for get-together and celebrating their child's success. Some would do it on their own with other friends. Let me stop here. I think you already know where I am driving at?

Naming ceremony Jollof Rice

Another one is the rice prepared at a naming ceremony. It's a good thing and joy to bring in a cute baby to the world and to celebrate that, we still end up cooking rice and other food.

Burial ceremony Jollof Rice

This is another event especially when an old person dies in the family. They plan and at the end would settle for rice and Amala (a yoruba solid food made from yam flour)

Wedding Jollof Rice

Yaaayy, this is the best celebration ever. Like two people are going to tie the knot together on the altar. They would be joined together in holy matrimony. They will make vows and toast. They will dance together and their minds would be on how to give themselves the best moment on their first night on the bed 😏 Of course, they and the guest would eat and the common food so popular is rice. Perhaps mixed with salad and fried rice.

Freedom Jollof Rice

Freedom! What comes to your mind? It's an event to celebrate the success of the months or year's training of a skill by someone and for him or her to be independent, freedom is done for such person. Like someone who has learnt hair stylist for some years and it's time to be on his or her own and get a shop to start his or her business. The boss would organize freedom for such apprentice and certificate is awarded to him or her for the completion of the skill. They will still cook Jollof Rice.

House warming party Jollof Rice

Another achievement. It's a success and great milestone to own a house. After being a tenant all these while and if you are lucky staying under your parents and from there, own your own house, it's something of a luck. Well, I would implore you taste the life of a tenant firstπŸ™„ You then decide to celebrate your new house before starting to live in it.

This made me remember a young guy who built a massive house at my Aunt's place, he did house warming and it was this same Jollof Rice they prepared. We ate it with plenty meat 🀭😝

Birthday Jollof Rice

Okay, something big in the building especially for someone who is buoyant unless he or she decides to do it on a low-key by preparing a little portion of rice with chicken (according to what is in your pocket though)

To a "well to do" person celebrating birthday, he or she would want to settle for Jollof Rice with other things to be mixed to make it spicy.

Since I have been born into this world, I don't think there's any event happening without seeing Jollof Rice being the chief of entertainment even if they had to prepare other meals. Rice is so common that we have made it a custom or even culture to prepare on celebration days.

Is there really any difference in the taste of this rice in different occasions? Aren't they the same?

And to crown it all, we still have another Jollof Rice that is tagged "poor man's rice" πŸ˜…πŸ˜… Who knows it? CONCOCTION RICE 🀣🀣🀣

A spicy concoction rice

We all believed that concoction rice is for those who do not have the money to prepare it in a spicy way. We just pour all ingredients plus rice in the pot, put on the gas and start counting the minutes it would be done.

Do you know one fact? Concoction rice is the best. Just try and find crayfish, roasted fish (eja yiyan) or fried fish, onions and oil, you will feel heaven on earth then πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

Well, I have tried bringing out a smile from your face to start the new week. Let's remember to keep being happy no matter what comes our ways.

Thanks for reading from me today

Click images for the link

|October 24, 2021|

29
$ 11.10
$ 10.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.08 from @CoquiCoin
+ 24
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

I have been watching lots of cooking videos and saw one for jollof rice. I can believe that this is a dish used for special occasions.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, for special occasions but one can prepare it at home too if you are craving for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My friend claims burial rice is the sweetest but even if it is,it should not be said if you ask me.. but I prefer wedding jollofπŸ˜‹

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I prefer wedding rice too oo πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜†πŸ˜‚ one of my friends do say Burial ceremony's Jollof rice is the sweetest and also the one you will eat till you get filled. And that is somehow true. But Nigerian Jollof has no competition.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maybe during burial, they cooked more than what they bargained forπŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… Wedding, one needs to be on low budget oo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

[Go and cook Jollof Rice na if you are craving for it.] I laugh a little reading this one, you sound like being conyo because of the word "Na" LOL. TagLish, Tagalog and English

$ 0.01
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… The day I heard the word "Na" from a Pakistani, I was surprised because it's a slang here in my country 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow , l love jollof rice, nice one

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm smiling now ;) I love rice. And here, we use to prepare it in many different ways. I googled Jollof rice, I needed to find more about it. I will try some of the recipes I found one of these days.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Great! You should try it. If you can find those ingredients in your country, you are good to go

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello Princess! I wanna try these kinds of rice. I only know regular rice here. Hahahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You can check through YouTube for guide on how to prepare it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Princess, will do. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmn! My dear friend, you cook like me and that's why my husband likes eating my food

$ 0.01
2 years ago

😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lagosians be like "burial Jollof rice is the most delicious"; have you heard of that?As for me it's Naming Jollof rice that is he most delicious.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

🀣🀣🀣I am okay with any rice provided it is not too salty 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I prefer a combination of fried rice and Jollof plus salad with big chicken.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You like something good πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course I do.. 🀣🀣 don't we all?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all want good things na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whichever one they bring, let me just eat Jollof rice please... I don't like stress πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Abi na 🀣🀣🀣 Just carry Rice put for your front and eat. You don't have a problem πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha life is not hard na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jollof rice is wonderful because it has so many forms, just looking at the pictures you provided made me hungry.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Okay, go and make some for yourself to clear the hunger away πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This rice looks similar to arroz valenciana that we have here. Rice meals like these are full of flavor and colors!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Some actually like adding much flavors and even add color to make it look great

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha...they want you to marry just to eat jolf rice..lol, you gave them a good idea of how they should fulfill their craving...hehe I Don't think there is much big difference between all kind of rice you mentioned above, they all are same...lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right. Rice is rice but do you know there is a little difference between Jollof and Concoction rice? Try them and see πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I need to add this, we have Categories of Jollof too

  1. Firewood jollof
  2. Gas cooker jollof The former taste better than the latter, the smell of the smoke in the jollof makes it sweeter.
$ 0.02
2 years ago

🀣🀣🀣🀣 Nawa for una oo That was how someone told me pepper grinded with hand is sweeter than the one you gratedπŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes o, the taste is different.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just remembered a silly argument my classmates week having ladt week, one side said burial jollof rice is sweeter than wedding jollof πŸ˜‚ some people are funny sha, as if jollof rice is prepared a special way according to the occasion.

As for concoction rice, there are levels to it. There is rich man's concoction rice and then there's another version for those that don't have money, that's the original concoction riceπŸ˜†

$ 0.01
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… Concoction rice is splitted into two again? Lol Like! I get the stuff especially when you don't have money for egg or fish 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The only rice that can be made is the simple one. 2 glasses of rice, 3 of water, salt, oil and give it a candle ahah

$ 0.01
2 years ago

And that is called Concoction rice because you poured everything together at once πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mouth-watering!. It all looks delicious. I want to try eating them all one day

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, you can prepare the Jollof Rice by checking for the guide on YouTube

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… I was just laughing while reading this, the most special of all the types of jollof rice is the wedding jolt of rice, it has it own unique taste πŸ€ͺπŸ€ͺ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hmm, wedding is most special day na and the rice must be special 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are absolutely right about how to prepare rice, there are even preparations with sweet rice and also rice bread. There are so many delicious ways to prepare it. And yes, you brought a smile to my face and it's only Sunday.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yaaay, I am glad I brought smile to your face ma Rice bread? How is it made?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you did. I don't know how to make rice bread but I read the recipe online with rice flour. It is eaten by Asians. And there is the recipe online.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will definitely check it out so I can see how it is done and how it looks like.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol that concoction rice is the real Nigerian jollof because it is very easy for Nigerians to cook

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Abi na! We call it "Adalu" Pour everything inside pot😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love that food eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jollof rice... Lol. You are right. Concoction is the best and sweetest.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naming rice is the best for though

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Another angle 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm going to say this ones ND for all, there's nothing like burial jollof rice though, especially when it's cooked with eghe pot and firewood overnight.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… I don hear your side of Jollof Rice. But is there different taste from the one cooked on gas or stove?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly. The difference is in the test, the test is the difference.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the first time that I heard that Jollof Rice, but I want to try that someday coz it looks do delicious 🀀🀀

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can check YouTube for the step and you would enjoy it. It's so simple with some ingredients

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's very delicious o, especially if it was cooked with firewood πŸ˜‹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh M, I want thatt 🀀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You will have to marry someone from my country or pay a visit to west Africa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Filipino can't live without a rice LOL. We used rice every meal like breakfast to dinner and even prepared snack from the rice hehe. Hmmm you gave flavor to rice huh, well I am in Rice Field. I know the smell and taste of different rice too haha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You guys make Snacks out of rice? Like seriously 🧐 I need to know how. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ItΓ©m just seems that if you don't have party rice in your celebration, party never start. I'm sure you have attended every single event you mentioned on your post

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have attended some but the graduation rice is what I am yet to taste

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. You forgot curry rice... The sweetest of all is concoction rice, with crayfish and eja shawa. πŸ˜†πŸ€£πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹yummy

$ 0.01
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… you gerrit my sister. Eja sawa yiyan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The rice looks yummy..but if it's spicy, sorry I can't take it πŸ˜…

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Really? The spicy makes it look delicious πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was wondering if Jollof has types truly but now, I get the gist.

The importance of Jollof in Nigerian parties is very huge because a lot of people demand it since it is not a regular thing, unlike swallow meals we eat at home every day...

Concoction rice is a whole new level to rice preparation, you will lick your finger as long as it is well prepared.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… especially garnished with fried Chicken and I also love it when there is salad too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are already making me hungry again at this time of the night.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Abeg go and prepare it oo 🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you Buzhay that concoction rice is the best 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yea, thank you πŸ’ƒ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lol... there are so many different types hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dear, seriously it's the concoction rice that gets my appetite and attention. I never heard of Jollof rice and that it has many types for different occasions. That's amazing! I wish we have like that too. 😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Really? You haven't tasted Jollof Rice? Then you are missing from the taste πŸ˜…πŸ˜… You should prepare it. You can actually check its process on YouTube.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Babe, you no go kill us here with these nicely prepared jollof rice oπŸ˜‹. I also like jollof paper rice and the normal jollof casual rice as well. Maybe, i'd move faster and marry you so that all these goodies won't elude me

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh my goodness, I can't stop laughing while going through the different types of jollof rice . Actually in my own perspective, wedding jollof rice always have always yummy , guess it's always prepared in a special way . And that's the type me too will love to eat.

Errrrrrrrrr, me too I'm craving to from Princess busayo's wedding rice, Don't mind taking the stress to comeπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Kikikikiki 🀣🀣, concoction rice too is always sweet too, but I cook that one when I'm trying to manage the Fiat with me, instead I will prefer a rice and stew to concoction jollof rice, obe ata (pepper soup)to be precise... hehehehe πŸ˜†

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oya, let's go there! I love white rice with obe ata too especially roasted with dry fish 😬😬 Wow! Everyone wants to eat my wedding rice πŸ˜… God when? Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago