Bad news during examination

41 82
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

“It's not that we spend five days looking forward to just two. It's that most people do what they enjoy most on those two days. Imagine living a life where everyday are your Saturdays and Sundays. Make everyday your weekend. Make everyday a play-day…”

Quote source

How I wish Saturdays and Sundays never finish for everyone working and going to school. They will surely spend it in a great way with friends and families. 

It's the end of the week which everyone looks forward to and start making plans for a new week. Yesterday, I was happy when I got a call from a school I went to submit my application letter to, and I was told to come for an interview next week. Though, I love working from home but I want something that will take me out and bring me back home daily, so I don't have to keep staying indoors all the time. Besides, exam period will finish next week in my school and students would want to travel home and I will be alone in the hostel, so it will be boring. If I get this Job, it will save me from feeling lonely at home. 


Have you ever experienced bad news when you are on your way for an exam or interview? How did you react? Or you have seen someone in such a situation, how did the person felt about it? 

Yesterday was a bad day for one of our mates in the house, as he was called from home that his father just died. He said his dad was still active in the morning till after 12pm until they said he fell from the chair and that was all. His sister was about to write an exam by 4pm when she was called by her sister and such news was given to her. I was inside when I heard someone crying from outside and when she entered, I even thought some people beat her up or perhaps lost something, but when she entered and went straight to her brother's room, we knew a bad news just reached her. 

The lady fell down, wailing and crying profusely because of her dad, everyone in the house kept consoling her and the brother. I was too emotional, and as tears would come out of my eyes, I went inside and cleaned my tears. I could feel her. I understood her situation and I know how it is to lose someone so close to you. 

It made me remember when my mom died, my junior sister was about to go in for her 200 level first semester examination when I broke the news to her. My elder sister had to blame me for telling her in such a moment, which I explained she begged me to give her the report. I didn't want to spill it out then, but she couldn´t stop begging and I had to tell her. When she heard it, she screamed and cut the call. Till now, I didn't ask her how she did with her exam and never had an extra year. 


It is always a pathetic and bad moment when someone receives bad news when he or she is about to write an exam. Such a person would be in a devastating situation and if the person isn't strong enough to handle it, he or she might break down. 

A lady narrated how she heard the news about her dad's death before writing her exam. During the exam, she said, she only wrote “Is it true my father is gone?” and she submitted with tears on the script, and when the result came out, she passed it and did not repeat the course. She wondered how it happened, but I must believe the lecturer marking her script at that time understood her situation and knew she got the news before her exam. He tried to help her because, if not for the news, she would have something to write. 

This lady was taken to school by her brother and other people in the hostel to the exam hall just to handle her. What will such a person write? Even if she has read, everything will just disappear and it will become blank for her. It will only take the grace of God to console and strengthen such a person. We even suggested they see the lecturer in charge of the course so as to explain the situation so that when marking, they will be considerate.

It takes a strong person to handle such a thing when it happens and this is something I don't want to experience myself because sincerely, I do not know what will happen then. It is always a bad experience for someone having to get bad news across to her and would not be stable. It may even cause psychological problems for the person. 

Yesterday´s incidence brought back memories especially when some were blaming the older sister who called this lady. According to them, she could have just asked if they weren´t writing an exam by that time. Moreover, they supposed to know they are writing and breaking such news isn´t ideal enough but the deed has been done. They have to take heart because life moves on and they need to embrace each other o find the way forward.

It made me remember the night my mom died, I was taken home to meet grandma and while we were sleeping, grandma woke me up to ask of the condition my mom was. I was told not to tell her anything yet because of her condition and it shouldn´t cause more problem to her. As at then, grandma was losing her eyes gradually, but lack of money stopped the children from going for an operation (poverty isn´t good at all). Now, the sight is gone completely which I wouldn´t blame them.

Grandma kept asking me how the situation was and I told her "her daughter is doing fine" even when she is gone. She started praying for her to recover but in my mind, I was shaking my head in pity for her and turned my back and started crying. It was after two months she was told of the death since she kept asking of the situation. For how long will they keep it from her? Even if they didn´t tell her, she would notice because when she sees them at home, not going anywhere or even hearing from my mom, she would know something has happened.

It was the agreement to keep her from it then when they knew her condition. So also, they would have let these people write their exams before breaking the news to them. It is really hard for them right now but I believe God will take care of them.

Thanks for reading

Photo by Zhivko

[March 05, 2022] (No 64 article for the year)


16
$ 5.82
$ 5.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 10
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

This is so relatable on my own experience. I could recall that I am about to graduate in highschool but my mother couldn't make it because she died weeks before my graduation. This broke my heart until now because it's not really easily to lose someone we love especially our Great mother. This can cause us depression that can surely affects our physical ,mental and emotion.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, it's always hard to forget such lose from someone we love so dearly especially our parents.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's just too sad, I feel bad for them. I would have been too demoralised to write anything.

I personally don't agree with keeping the news of death from someone because they will still find out and what will happen will happen. It doesn't help in any way. It's best for them to start their grieving process immediately than to delay it. It'll hurt more to find out they were being deceived on top of the grief they'll also be feeling

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, the news would have to be told to them eventually but not when such person is writing an exam or perhaps going for an interview.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry for the occurrence of that bad news. May his dad rest in perfect peace. You have not lost everything but something. Thanks for giving birth to you. You are now to keep the flag flying. May grant dad eternal rest.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yea, the flag should keep going because we don't have any option than to continue living.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a terrible situation but I have never fancied those who call people in school or those about to go for an interview to share bad news with them. It can wait... She knowing before an exam or anyone knowing before an interview wouldn't still change the situation. They should have been considerate enough to wait a bit longer especially when it's not as if they need her to come and save his life. People act thoughtless especially in moments of pain.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. Sharing such news can really affect one especially when going for an exam or interview. They could have waited for such an individual to finish before giving such news.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly. They allowed themselves to be led by their emotions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mom died while I was writing my 100 level second semester exam... the rest is history.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It must have been painful but here you are already a graduate. May her soul continue to rest in peace.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No matter the holiday we got resume back to work when on week days I also wished that they was only Sunday and Saturday

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I wished too but can it be possible? No 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It all a bad experience I wouldn't even pray fkr my enemies. The psychological effect is traumatic

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, it is. No one would like to experience such.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think there is ever a good time to tell someone a bad news such as the death of their loved one. But one has to say it anyway. Perhaps not when they have a lot on their plate or health issues

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, they would have to say it but not when such person has an important task that could mean losing a big opportunity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a shocking news but I believe that God will see her through in all her endeavors

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Chai! That's so pathetic but may her dad rest in the blossom of the lord amen

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's so sad. May God gives them the strength to bear the loss. I can't imagine losing someone close to me. The thought scares me. It is well with them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Very scary. May God keep protecting those still alive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Losing a loved one close to your heart could be very very painful especially a parent or siblin. For a long time, you'd feel a huge part of you had Also let with that person. So sorry...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. It would leave a huge impact behind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really a painful news at the time of writing an examination and I really felt every pain your friend passed through cuz I have been there and I know that hurts so much to lose a parent… I pray for strength in times like this and please send my regards and prayers to her.. Thank God for a friend like that she’s got and the things you helped her with

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I understand her situation too because I have experienced it. May God stay with the family and help them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Emotional blog you've got here today😢. May it not happen to People that have not experienced such condition once. It's surely a heart disaster

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Amen. Thanks, brother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sorry for her loss, I hope she was able to cope and move on.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope so too. Thank you Didiee

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So what happened to her? Did she take the exam after? If I were her brother, i would keep the news until she's done with the exam..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, she did the exam. Her brother accompanied her to the hall. It wasn't even the brother who told her. A sister from their village did that not knowing she has an exam that day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't have peace in my mind. It seems like everything has vanished and nothing to write. Condolences to the bereaved family.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's no worry. Thank you for the wishes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't imagine how devastating one would be in an exam hall after such incident.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Very devastating state indeed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My condolences to your mate who lost his Dad. Bad news can disorganize someone during examinations.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such experience can never be imagined. Losing a loved one in such a time. I wish she was able to go through the exam. Please extend my heartfelt condolence to her. Its a pity.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thats the saddest news I heard from this that one of your mate in house recieve a message about her father who died.😑 so sad to know. But this is life we live to be happy and to face trials in life. We must to accept the reality

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, we must accept reality and keep moving on with life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago