A crime (Mystery) story I created

27 53
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

"You don't make progress by standing on the sidelines, whimpering and complaining. You make progress by implementing ideas".

Shirley Chisholm

This isn´t your regular one at all because I think I am doing way better now. I wrote a crime story yesterday for the first time and even though it might not be something new to some people like @George_dee but being the first time I came up with something like that means a lot to me and I got good feedback from people. I was just smiling yesterday and found myself reading as many times as I want yesterday. I actually got inspired after reading a few entries of people, when I thought I wouldn´t participate.

There is this community on Hive that I joined weeks back and I have been enjoying it and I can see how interesting it is in the community. It´s called "HiveLearners" community and for you to be eligible to enter the weekly challenge, you have to be verified as a member, that can be done by going to their discord channel where you can find the link on the description page on Hive.

All you have to do when you get to the channel is take a picture of yourself, holding a piece of paper with some words written on it. The name of the community and the date you took the picture I think. I have forgotten the process but you will see an example in the channel. Then don´t forget to include the link of your introductory post on hive with the selfie you took. Then within a few minutes or hours depending on the admin, you will be verified.

The weekly edition comes thrice a week and the winner gets a little token. I have won before and I am working to win again. So, get yourself ready for fun in the community.


Okay, for the crime story I wrote yesterday, The challenge is titled "Mystery" and you are to write a story of a crime that was solved and as a mystery and here is my story which you are going to enjoy reading. The title is "The Hidden Truth."


Mrs Chuks works in a multipurpose company as a director and she leaves home very early in the morning until late at night, most times 10 pm and some other times if she couldn't beat the traffic, the time extends to 11 pm. She has two children, a boy and a girl (15 and 17 years of age respectively). Though the girl isn't going to school due to some challenges but she knows how to do those chores at home and doesn't get tired.

On this said day, Mrs Chuks was called from home for the bad news. "Hello ma, we noticed blood coming out of your door, we are afraid something bad might have happened. You need to hurry up right now." from the other end of the line was a woman in the neighbourhood. This was in the afternoon and it wasn't the time she should leave her office as she just attended a meeting in the board room with other staff.

On hearing this, she quickly took permission from her assistant and drove home in an unusual way because she was beginning to get nervous and apprehensive. "What could have happened? What is blood doing in my house?" All of these thoughts couldn't let her focus and hear the continuous ringing on her phone. She almost clashed with a big vehicle coming towards her but she immediately dodged and veered to the other side of the road, almost hitting the big palm tree beside the road.

She got home, ran as fast inside and opened the door, she found Angela dead and lying in a pool of blood. This should have taken place a few hours back because the blood already flowed outside which alerted the neighbours around."Who could have done this?" She was perplexed and her hands were jerking. Trying to call her name but she was dead. She found a knife in her hand and a small letter was written "You deserved this"

"Who could have done this?" She asked again. By this time, some neighbours already entered and Mr John, one of their neighbours quickly dialled the police number within five minutes, they were surrounded at Mrs Chuk's house trying to interrogate her as other inspectors were searching everywhere in the house.Mrs Chuks still couldn't believe what was happening as they kept interrogating her. "I still don't understand this.. who could have tried this?" Now facing the policeman trying to get some answers. One of the inspectors beckoned to come over to the kitchen as they saw the window open. It seems someone came in through the window to kill your girl. Who could that be? Mrs Chuks was now devastated and still couldn't solve the mystery.

"Officer, pls, I need you to find the culprit. Whoever did this will not go scot-free. He or she must suffer just as my Angela suffered today. Oh! This is bad."

"Don't worry madam, we will try our best", was all that the officer could growl from his mouth.

As they were about to leave the house, Jude entered.

"Madam who is he?"

"He is my son, he is just coming back from school."

The officer facing Jude..."Hi boy, how are you? Angela is dead and we are trying to get something from it. Who do you think could have done this to her?" Jude was shocked to see her lifeless body on the floor and ran to meet her.

He cried so bitterly and faced the officer back. "Sir, I don't know. I don't know who killed my sister. Why did they kill her?

"They left promising to find whoever did it.

After two weeks of mourning, Mrs Chuks was in the house as she couldn't go to the office while Jude stayed at home with his mom trying to monitor her so she doesn't do anything stupid.

Jude went out to meet his friend called Andrew. They both exchanged pleasantries and when Andrew was trying to console his friend about what happened, he saw Angela's band beside the plasma Tv and was shocked but pretended not to see anything not to attract any suspicion from him. After a few hours of gisting, he left his house without saying anything.

He went straight to the police station to explain what he had found. The officer called Mrs Chuks to explain the new information from Jude and instantly, they drove to Andrew's house.

When they got there, Jude immediately went to take the band and asked "How did you get this band? I saw this when I came around but didn't say anything. This band is for Angela."

Andrew couldn't speak a word as he was handcuffed to the police station. Mrs Chuks came around and was shocked to see how Andrew was connected to the case. She tried to not believe what was happening because she knew he can't do it.

"Did you do it, Andrew? Did you kill Angela?" Mrs Chuks was asking with a disdained eyes.

"Ma, I don't know anything about it. It was just a coincidence."

"Coin... what? How is that possible?"

Andrew was proving stubborn at first and he was tortured so hard, that he had to speak up.

"Ma, it is true I went to your house that morning after you left home. When I got inside, I met Angela on the floor, her throat was slitted by the knife and she was struggling with her life. She tried saying something and gave me this band and that was how she gave up."

"I didn't want to go through the door again, I had to pass through the kitchen window so no one would see me and that was it."

"The band? How are you connected to the band?" The officer asked

"I have been dating Angela for a year now and I gave her the band as proof of my love for her, and when she is dead, I immediately took the band from her as a reminder for me."

"Wow! Madam, I think this case is getting to be resolved but there is still something hidden. Who could have killed her then?"

They all went home leaving Andrew at the police station until they get to the root of the matter.

A few days later, a man appeared at the police station saying he knew something about the case. Mrs Chuks and Jude were invited again. Jude got scared and was almost shivering when he saw the man.

He was restless and he tried taking an excuse to use the toilet but he wasn't allowed.

The man brought out a black bracelet and handed it over to the officer. "I saw this dropped down at the gate when I was passing by and that same day, I heard of a murder case and I knew this was evidence which could be used".

Mrs Chuks remembered the bracelet was for Jude and she faced him. "Jude, tell me you aren't connected to this case. Just answer me," she was already boiling with rage within her.

Jude couldn't hide anymore as he confessed to killing Angela.

"What? Mrs Chuks was surprised." She couldn't close her mouth as she still couldn't believe her son was the culprit.

"How? Why? What happened?" Her voice was shaking and couldn't control herself as she was told to sit down.

"Mummy, why didn't you tell me from the beginning that Angela wasn't my sister? You adopted her but you didn't say anything. I believe you don't know anything about her until that day..."

"I forgot to pick up my assignment book and I went back home. On trying to open the door, I heard Angela talking to someone on the phone saying she would find a way to kill us so she can take over your properties. I still have the recording with me because I recorded everything."

"When I got inside, she was shocked and ran into the kitchen to pick up a knife. All I did was self-defence. I defended myself and collected the knife and it mistakenly slit her throat. I was so afraid of killing someone, I ran back outside pretending as if nothing happened."

"No one was around then and I didn't know how my bracelet fell off my pocket."

They got to know who killed Angela and after taking Jude to the court and realizing he tried defending himself, he was sentenced to 5 years imprisonment. After the Jail term was completed, he went back home to meet his Mom and they both continued with their lives, never to adopt any child again.


All Mrs Chuks wanted then was a baby as she put pressure on her husband. Two years later, her husband died after adopting Angela and it was then she knew she was pregnant and gave birth to Jude.

Thanks for reading.

Image by GlennJavardh on Unsplash

[June 04, 2022] (No 155 articles for the year)


23
$ 3.09
$ 2.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 17
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

Oh, I was so shocked it was Jude. Perhaps he only defense his self and so they must not put him into the jail besides he has proof. But anyway I felt sad for Mrs. Chuks, she lost her husband and her adopted child tried to Kill them and her only child got jailed. However I still like the ending as they still have a normal life at the end.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, despite all that happened, they both came to live a happy life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aha! What a twist. Those are wonderful turn of events Busayo.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you, Murakamii 😘

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whaoo. I made sure I read everything, or probably I didn't want to skip any of the action, it was really great. So many idea popping in my heard right now..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehehe! You should drop those ideas then 🤤

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Soon princess soon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You know how to captivate your audience and make us wonder. It's a beautiful story with an amazing twists. Absolutely breathtaking. Hollywood and Nollywood should seek you out.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Perhaps I would take the role of a bad detective sexually 😜😅😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Let's act it together 🤣🤣😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woah!!! this is an interesting story of crime and investigation.... My question was why did his adopted sister planned to kill them...?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

According to her and who she was talking to on the phone, both of them are planning to take over the properties.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, I think I have really leaned a lesson from this story of yours thanks for sharing friend.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am glad you learnt something. Thank you too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't even know where and how to start in my comment as the lengthy story line equals its amount of enjoyment that we all got from reading it especially myself.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

When I first saw Mrs. Chuks, I was kind of surprised cause I am not yet married, lol, The boy was only 15 and I know that no one would have believed him if he had reported himself at first but blaming it on Andrew in the first is wrong and he deserves the 5 years he got.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Well, he decided to clear himself off but what he doesn't know was that there will always be someone or something that would leak a secret out and one would be shocked just as the way Jude was.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is epic.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

So epic 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's just tragic and complicated. I wonder if things were better if everybody knew Angela was adopted.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Perhaps Mrs Chuks decided not to spill it out thinking Angela was a good child.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Princess don't you think that 5 year punishment for murder is very less as legal point of view? Well I like your crime write up! I am hopeful to see more from you

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehehe! Since he was trying to defend himself and has a proof of his recording, he couldn't have spent much years in jail though.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is quite interesting crime story. I was expecting it will be you but it was Mr Chuk and Mrs. Chuk. At least Mr Chuk left a symbol after death in the form of Angelina.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It wasn't Mr. Chuks child actually but an adopted child who grew up to become evil but her plans didn't come to pass.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm a newbie, so I don't know what "Hive" is actually all about but I sense and imagine it. Criminal story is a mystery at times, where some parts of the story will be unexplainable and unknown

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, when you get to know the part of the crime story, it becomes something you can't believe would happen. Hive is a blogging platform where you get paid for content just like here on readcash but very different.

$ 0.00
1 year ago