Tunes from Childhood Days

58 105
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

I kinda promised myself I will be sleeping early this time to make up for my late night (or early morning) work last night (the other night). Also, I plan to wake up and start early tomorrow (now called "later") since I am madly typing this in my mobile phone at 1:24am. I just need to really quickly put this down. Like I also partly mentioned in my previous article, it is mostly during late nights (early morning) that I have thought spills. Will have this posted later because I am too lazy to find any lead image just yet. So type, save, sleep, wake up, find a lead image - some photo that jumps up telling me to pick it and finally click that publish button. Then go about with my intention to start early at work all because I have to catch up with my deliverables.

Anyway. I had this flashback from missing Sunday after service hang outs. Or even just the random meet ups me and friends from church do. Years back, me and my friends had a conversation touching the topic :

What were songs from your childhood that you just sang when you were a kid but had more impact now that you're an adult?

This was one of those days we were having "healthy talk" where we talk about our lives, thoughts, trials, questions, doubts, new learning and realizations and really just spill out everything.

Had this posted also in my noise.cash

Those not sharing just listens.

It is one of those conversations we had set up as our "safe space". Encouragements are shared and some gentle corrections are welcomed also but the idea is it is an unboxing of the thoughts. It may sound serious but, trust me, there were lots of tearful laughter and belly aches during those moments and a lot of pancit canton and Coke or coffee. I was a Coke addict then (again the drink and not the drug). It may also sound organized but it is not always. There is a huge range of flexibility in that safe space. We swing from one topic to another. But we end with a serious take away.

visit them .. .visit them ... .visit them. . . and read them
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Fanatbolous souls .... :D

As a kid who frequented attending Sunday school, the very first song that came to mind was : Jesus Loves Me

The song lyrics was very simple. You can listen to it here :

Haha. I was so close to yesterday-year-old when I realized there is a "Full version" of the song. I only know the first stanza.

I remember singing this to myself in one of my dark, down moments - as an adult. It was one of those moments where you know but your heart protests and then after a while, your heart knows but your mind protests. I had to calm my soul - to speak hope to it.

The second time I sang this as an adult was to my then three-year-old cousin who cried himself to sleep because our other cousins, his play mates, had to go back to their home ending the fun they were having. This kid has a a beautiful smile. You will know he is happy because it is that type of smile that turns his eyes into happy slits. Haha I can't find the words to describe it. And he was wearing it the whole time they were playing. Witnessing that smile turn into a a sad line and hearing his laughter turn into a painful bawl, was heart-wrenching.

He is a solo child. With a mom who was then far away to work and a dad that was also then incognito in their lives. It was our uncle (my mom and his mom's youngest brother) who was looking after him. I watched him sleeping and I felt his loneliness. I silently sang this song over him and praying real hard that when he grows up he would get to know the Jesus I know - the one who loves him so much.

Then there is this other song. The one my dad taught us when we were kids. You know when you are a kid you get scared of anything that moves in the dark. Your imagination plays you real good and all that. But I am having trouble looking for the rendition I like and it seems that there were other versions of the lyrics also.

I had this habit when I was a kid where I wake up in the middle of the night and I just have to run to my parent's bedroom and slip in between them and continue sleeping hugging either one of them. Between their room and our room, you will pass by a window with the view of the tall trees outside swaying gently with the wind if there is or it stands like a still silhouette if there is none. There were spaces in between trees where I know my imagination tells me there is someone standing there. Things like that. I remember ducking and running when I get to that part. It always felt like if I take a look outside, there would be a figure of someone looking inside - at me - just outside the window up close. The thought that the window is on the second floor with no ledge or any space to stand up on adds more fear. Or I will see that someone standing in between the trees.

I caught my older brother running that same way, too, one night. So our dad taught us to sing the song: In the name of Jesus we have the victory.

Hehe. Did it make us braver then? Haha. Now that I recall it, for a time, yes. But we had moments of singing this while running to our parents' room scared and near tears.

Last time I sang it as an adult was when I and other friends were locking the bottom floor of the building we're in. We had to go up to the second floor and get out of the building through the stairs connecting the second floor and the world outside (haha). We need to turn off the lights, too right? The moment we turned off every switch as we pass by it, my friend started humming the song. I started laughing because I know it meant that my friend was taught the same song, too for when we're scared.

All grown up now, both are still useful. The last song mentioned now means more than just for being scared, though.

Both have progressive impact...

How about you? Any song you learned from when you were a kid and still has impact in your now?


© Pichi28 | #ClubBrokeBCH

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

Let's go get that #BetterSeptember!

30
$ 12.34
$ 9.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 2.00 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.13 from @meitanteikudo
+ 15
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

Comments

Well! For a church song, it was “He's Got the Whole World in His Hands”. For a secular song, it was the song in Disney's “Pinocchio” ~ “When You Wish Upon a Star”. https://youtu.be/pguMUFyJ3_U

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Coke addict

Yeah, when you share something like that...good that you had clarified. LOL.

Jesus Loves Me

A wonderful affirmation song for children and adults alike.

In the name of Jesus we have the victory

I think I know this one. Anyway, when those things between the trees and/or underneath beds hear "in the name of Jesus", they run helter-skelter back to where they belong.

Wonderful sharing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Probably the national anthem over here. With all this Scotland independence nonsense singing the Brtish anthem takes on more and more meaning now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Greatest love of all is my fisrt song that I learned to sing because everyday I listened to the radio then I sang it though its not a proper lyrics but the sounds was correct🤗

$ 0.03
2 years ago

"Learning to love yourself.. is the greatest loooooove of all" ... ahhh I gotta find that song! Thank you @ibelieveistorya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Heheh very true and thank you sis.. your welcome too..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang maiyak ako habang pinapakinggan yung song pichi...🥺🥺🥺 Naalala ko tuloy nung may activity kami sa school tas may pinatugtug na worship song sobrang naiyak talaga ako nun..😭 Amen. God bless you Pichi..🙏

$ 0.03
2 years ago

God bless you too Ramona!!! Oo nakakatouch mga songs talaga ng worship lalo kung yung lyrics same na iyak ng heart...

Always keep safe sis!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga pichi.. pinakinggan ko pa ulit2 yung song. Praise God.🙏

Thank you so much Pichi..❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa akin yung song na Amazing Grace. I remember disliking it as a child, only because it reminds me of wakes and funerals where it’s frequently being sang plus the fact that i don’t know the song’s meaning. Fast forward to 2012, when I came to learn more about our Saviour Jesus Christ. This song and its new meaning to me perfectly depicts how lost, how sinful and how blessed I am to be forgiven and to experience God’s grace and love. A welcoming and grateful feeling I will never experience with anyone or to any situation.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Walang kukumpara talaga sa pagkakilala sa Panginoon totoo yan. Nabasa ko na tong comment mo kanina eh.. I think I have the same feels sa Amazing Grace din dati.. lalo sa mga movie. Aywan ko ba kasi bakit yun ginagamit nila sa funerals. Tapos tapos.. parang puro matatanda pa nakanta nun dati. pero ang ganda nga ng message ng song na yan.. you had me singing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo hehe. Basta may patay kasi meron yung kantang yan kaya dun ko agad na associate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakaka motivate yung kanta😊❤

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you Caroline17! Oo nakaka remind!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What were songs from your childhood that you just sang when you were a kid but had more impact now that you're an adult?

-Welcome to my life song. The lyrics of the song just explains my whole life right now hahaha.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Dami ko tawa sa "explains my whole life right now" .. .sana ok ka lang hahaha.. Ayan pinatugtog ko .... "to be left out in the dark..." Welcome to my liiiiiife... sarap kumanta sis.

Salamat sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I grew up hearing air supply and scorpions songs dahil sa papa ko, every morning yun agad pinapa tugtog

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha hi Jinifer!

Unga eh ganyan sa tito ko tapos kay tatay naman yung iba beatles haha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako april boy, "diko kayang tanggapin" haha mag kaiba tayu ng mundo. ito yung kantang minsan kina gigiliwhan ako ng kapatid ko. kahit bulol, haha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

ahhaha kering keri lang yan Cocogrey.. pag banggit mo pa lang ng "di ko kayang tanggapin" na pipicture ko na agad yugn action.. kulit ng kapatid mo hahah.. ilang taon na ba sha?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jesus loves me!!! That's a great walk down the memory lane. Such a powerful song we learnt as kids and it still rings a bell till now.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I know, right? It's THAT etched in our minds and hearts it speaks and ministers to us even now we're adults

$ 0.00
2 years ago

songs that i learned from my dad are oldies but goodies LOL

$ 0.05
2 years ago

ahahah Hi sis! daming oldies but goodies na ang ganda.. nagtatawanan kami nina nanay pag nalalaman nilang alam ko lyrics.. eh lagi naman ganun pag weekend iba? yung mga songs sa radyo... luma tapos minsan pag nalabas ka ... pare parehong station din sa kapit bahay.. iba iba lang ang timing hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My kids grew up with this song too. I love the way you've weaved in real stories, emotions and thoughts into this article.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you sleepyjey!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i sing this to my baby now... it's a powerful song and thus can be sang at any age... blessed!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

aw Matti is very blessed with parents who teaches him about God's love!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks dear..praise God

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very nice song and easy to learn. In my childhood we only sang folkloric children's songs, which we also used in games.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hi Frankmart! That sounds interesting! May I ask one folkloric children song from your childhood days? I would want to learn some as well...

I don't think we have folkloric songs .. or I am just not aware if we do...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very well, I commit myself with you to make an article about those songs, I hope to find them on the web, if not I will have to sing them, hehehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amazing grace at Give Thanks yung sa akin. Elem at High School, kasali pa ako sa choir noon. Ganda talaga pakinggan pag ito na kinakanta namin sa simbahan

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hi sis buraryang! Uy masaya ngang kantahin pareho!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate to that running after looking through the window at night and visualizing someone standing outside. Tataktabo, tatalon, sisigaw ng "naaayyyyy!" HAHAHHAHAA

$ 0.03
2 years ago

nakakatawang nakakaawa pag naaalaa ko nga yung scenario na yun eh.. parang ano be? takot na takot lang... tapos parang ang lakas ng imahinasyon natin gurl nung maliit tayo...! kaloka!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahah nakakatawa grabeee ate, ang inosente pa talaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Give thanks haha yun yung unang una kong namemorize na Godly song hehe tapos super favorite ko yun nung bata pa ako hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Halooo TheProductOfGrace! Nice pick! onga maganda ding reminder yan .. "..because of what the Lord has done... " tama tama .... thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kanta na di ko malilimutan yung Sino Ako. I remember umiyak ako nun nung first time kong narinig ang kantang iyon sa radyo. Hanggang ngayon kinakanta ko pa siya. Minsan hina-hum ko siya pag nagpapatulog ako kay baby.😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hi Yzza!! ka curious din yugn song! Mahahanap ko ba sa you tube sakali?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pwede sis. Sino Ako by Jamie Rivera.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayun ayun Thanks thanks!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One of the best childhood songs ever that I also taught to my young niece sometime ago. I don't remember who taught me before but it must have been my mom or learned it from church. I imagined your younger days running toward your parent's room in the night, I did that too :D

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True ang sarap din nga i pass down. not sure though if kids still get to hear that song hmm... baka iba naman sa generation nila now hehe remembering that running to my parents' room got me laughing ... !! a

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I miss my cell group, before pandemic every sunday after our service, we have a sharing about certain topics. Yung di ko makakalimutan na tinuro samen when I was a kid is yung song na "Napakatamis ang pag ibig ni Hesus" until now kabisado ko pa hehez.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

ay lovely!! hanapin ko nga yan.. parang sweet song...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naalala ko na naman hehez may action pa po kami dyan habang kinakanta e

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah I was taught the same Sunday School songs as well when I'm scared. It really did help a lot when we're children and even after we're grown up.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahha.. cool! Yes that's true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is also my childhood song that my mama taught me.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha nice! Hi JustMaryel... sarap lang balikan playlits ko tuloy buong maghapan kids' songs

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakarelax kasi ang child song walang pain puro lang happiness <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can't explain how much happy I am! Loved the way you narrated. Wow... I re-lived my childhood memories.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yo Lucifer01! Thank you so so much!.. that was massive upvote and encouragement!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Because I love the content so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago