Personality Traits For Being Late

35 45
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
2 years ago

Have you ever noticed that it's usually when you're running late to an appointment, meeting, or event that you start thinking about what you should say when you show up. But it's much too late to start avoiding what you consider your most loved bag of phrases. Late people are often thought of as lazy people tardy for social events. Or maybe they are just unable to plan ahead for their day-to-day task. People, that are always on time for important tasks or events, but they are often late for less vital meetings or appointments. It's not something they have complete control over, so they often find themselves apologizing for being late. Most people have a tendency to be a little late, but a level of lateness may indicate a specific personality trait.

Image source: https://www.pxfuel.com/en/free-photo-oovot

The Planner, The Avoidant And The Impulsive

Those who habitually are on time are considered to have a mean of ideal behavior. They are expected to be punctual, so to speak. Those who are habitually late, on the other hand, do not fit the mold of this behavior. Instead of thinking highly of themselves, they tend to be ashamed of their tardiness. They feel it is a weakness of some sort and this causes them to feel quite inferior. Others are not attracted to people, who feel they need to apologize all the time. They also do not gain respect from others.

While there are many types of people, habits, and other social cues, people tend to fall into one of three main groups:

  • The planner: The planner, or the high importance person, tends to be on time for everything. They plan things out in their head and do not miss a beat. They are rarely late and always have a backup plan on any occasion. This group tends to do very well in life and tend to be leaders or captains of society.

  • The avoidant: The avoidant, on the other hand, tends to be late all the time. They are simply not concerned with making good impressions and will often times show up late to meetings or events. They feel as though it isn't a big deal and don't intend on apologizing. They typically do the bare minimum and don't plan to do anything more in the future.

  • The impulsive: The last group is what I call the impulsive. These are the people who are late to the point of it being dangerous. They tend to not plan at all and instead just show up. They do have a backup plan and will often attempt to apologize. However, this is usually more of a way of them feel better about themselves. They tend to have the shortest time horizon, when it comes to planning and are probably in the most trouble, when they are late.

Other personality traits, that may accompany being late are lack of empathy and a short attention span. Being on time, on the other hand, shows signs of higher intelligence and a stronger work ethic. These are the type of people, that are going places in life. Being on time, in some ways, may make you a better person. People who are always on time tend to be more intelligent and better adjusted. They tend to do better in school, have better careers and live longer.

I'm not sure why this is, but being on time is a sign of respect. If you are on time for an appointment or meeting, it shows that you respect the time of your boss or supervisor. Being late shows disrespect. This is why being late is so dangerous. You don't realize how much it shows disrespect to your boss until it's too late. They'll usually take measures to fire or punish you as soon as possible.

Why Are People Late?

Image source: https://www.pxfuel.com/en/free-photo-jrnnj

Being late has a lot of reasons. The most common ones are:

  • ADHD: Always being late for work or school has been identified as an indicator of something called ADHD (attention deficit hyperactivity disorder). Many times people don't realize, that they have this and are just labeled as busy. But really, it's just a bad habit. Being late is just not something, that you tend to do. Which would also explain why you always have so much energy when running late for an event. I guess it's nature's way of reaping the consequences.

  • Traffic: Another reason people are late is due to traffic. Nearly everyone has some sort of transportation problem and they all stem from the same root: too much traffic. More and more people are moving to the suburbs or leaving the city altogether and building new communities. This just means more cars on the road, which translates to more gridlock. There's just so many people in such a small area, that everyone is bound to get stuck in traffic on occasion. Of course, sometimes this isn't even the driver's fault. Sometimes there are accidents on the road or sometimes the weather or other conditions make it impossible to drive safely.

  • Lack of planning ahead: Lack of planning ahead is another common reason people are late. They will say they are going to be somewhere at a certain time, but fail to plan accordingly. If they have something important to do, they will usually show up late without a warning. You'll also miss out on an opportunity that may never come again. If you always plan ahead, you can take advantage of all the opportunities life offers. You may have to change plans a few times, but in the long run you will be glad you did. Of course, there are some people, who just don't give a flying flip about being on time.

Change Your Late Personality Traits

The suggestions here are things you can do on a daily basis to become a person, who is never late.

  • Get up earlier: If you need to go to school or work at a certain time, try to go to bed earlier the night before so you have enough sleep.

  • Take public transportation: If you need to go to school or work, try taking the bus or train instead of driving your car. This will reduce your chance of getting in traffic. Also, if you use public transportation, you don't have to worry about parking or having broken down car.

  • Give yourself a few minutes: If you absolutely have to leave home within a certain time, allow yourself more than that for unforeseen circumstances to arise. (Like having a flat tire in the middle of town or a bus not arriving on time.)

  • Avoid stopping for snacks or anything: If you take breaks to eat, drink water, etc. you're only prolonging the inevitable. Just keep going and don't stop.

  • Get a cell phone: If you're ever lost or get in trouble, you'll be able to call home or your friends for help.

  • Stick to a schedule: Most importantly, stick to a schedule! Don't be late!

Thank you for reading.

Created with Canva

17
$ 15.48
$ 14.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.08 from @NakamotoBch
+ 10
Sponsors of Peter-Molnar
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
2 years ago

Comments

No me gusta para nada llegar tarde cuando quedó en algo o hay algún tipo de cita eso es feo y de mal educación claro esta que nos podemos complicar y pasar pero siempre trabajemos en base a que no suseda. Adore tu escrito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Muchas gracias. Me encanta tu actitud positiva. Además, si nos dejamos suficiente tiempo, podemos estar casi seguros de llegar a tiempo al lugar donde queremos estar.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hate when someone appointed for a meeting in specific time then I ended waiting because they are late.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The worst thing is when they don't show up at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its the worst scenario that would boil a blood haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It happened to me. I went home and I called the guy. He said he forgot it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha this is weird, I had planned on writing an article about "How to be punctual in life" from few days and then saw this ...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It happened to me before, that I wrote an article then I saw another article with the same topic days later. You can still do that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am rarely late but I'm not a leader lol! I like waiting rather than be the one who is late.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here. I am not a leader type person.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Personally I think, the ones who plan everything before and then strive hard to achieve are able to achieve success.We need to change our habit of being late, because it can leads us to severe loss.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Planning ahead is a good habit to have. It would benefit you in many ways. (That's a good article topic) "Benefits Of Planning Ahead"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was an impulsive back then, I don't even care or mind if I am late.. if my professor scold me I just let them scold me and foolishly said sorry haha. But I changed now, when maturity hits you, you will always try to be responsible as much as you can and plan ahead.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is good for you to change. It also makes your life easier if you are more organized.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Have you ever noticed that it's usually when you're running late to an appointment, meeting, or event that you start thinking about what you should say when you show up?" - so me! haha. Like while running, I am so thinking what will be my reason why I am late haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it is better to tell the truth. You cannot always stuck in traffic or blame the bus for being late.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is my main problem right now with our stay-out helper. THe agreement is she will come by 7:00AM but she always come nearly 8:00AM. And then there are times that she will just text me and told me that she won't be able to come because she did not feel good but I guess the truth is she woke up late because she will notify me at around 8:00AM already. If she's really sick, atleasy 1 hr before the agreed time, she must notify us that she won't be able to come right?

So I guess she belongs to the Implusive group. She don't have plan and always ready with her alibi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is very unreliable. Agree for 6:00 AM. She might be there at 7:00 AM.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's what my point is..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a person who usually shows up on time or before the time, I must say thatcoming late in every meetings is somehow disappointing. Being punctual is a sign of respect as you have said and I agree with that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am the same. I feel bad if I am late. It does not happen very often, but when it happens it must be something that blocks me to go that I cannot avoid.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was in high school being late is always my choice. When I was in college I seldom be late not unless I have important things to attend to before class. When I graduated and gone to interviews I never become late anymore. Thanks God I was able to adjust my self and choose not to be late anymore. I would agree that the reason is to give respect and second is to give good impression.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad you changed. You have positive impact on you when you always show up in time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am much grateful and yes it has, always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being late is indeed disrespectful. I often arrive at a meeting place 30 minutes earlier than the given time. I felt embarrassed to be late even a minute. I assumed that my group mates or client have a bad impression of me already if I got late.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I am always early as well. Planning ahead is key to be there in time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

just want to add something.. i remember i also read that being late is associated with being a liar. so this kind of attitude should be really changed, besides reasons can be avoided if the person really want to :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your addition. I didn't know about that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just read it somewhere.. think i also included it in one of my articles

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree that being late is disrespectful to others. Your suggestions are appropriate. I personally really liked calculating distances and evaluating my time to arrive. Foreseeing transportation failures. Time and common accidents.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always allow myself some extra time if I go to an appointment. You never know where the road is closed and you are diverted or anything can happen, that can hold you back from going forward.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the part that you said they should change their personality They can set alarms so they won’t be late to wherever they’re going to Then when they are going out, they should be there like 10minutes before the time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's what I always do. I try to be there in time most of the time 10 minutes before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you knew that being late for a meeting is the worst thing that falls to me in the world. I can't stand it and I can't stand those who always like to be late. You may be late for some reason, but you have to at least notify first that you are already late, this shows commitment and dedication.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly! I remember once I stuck in a traffic jam. I called my boss, saying I am going to be late because of that. When I arrived it was not a big problem.

$ 0.00
2 years ago