Unrequited Love.

56 132
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago
Topics: Love, Feelings, Motivation, Blogging, Life, ...

Image Source.

We've all been there, right? We have all been at that stage where we loved someone so deeply and the feeling just wasn't the same. It hurts so much that we begin to doubt ourselves. We begin to think we are not good enough or perhaps if we have certain things, maybe their attitude or approach would have been different and they would accept us.

It's one of the most unhealthy feelings to have and a terrible situation to be in when you tell someone you love them and they tell you "thanks". There was this joke that was all around social media many years ago about a guy who said he went on a date with the lady he was really into. After spending around $300 on that date, she hugged him when they were departing and she said "Thanks bro." Hahahaha. This is a typical example of being "Friend-zoned" and guys are always celebrating when a friend leaves that zone, that's for you to know how deep it is.

I've had to date people I know I might never get close to, in my head. You know when you claim a certain celebrity in your head and would fight tooth and nail to fight for the love of someone that doesn't even know you exist? Hahahaha. Just as we have so many broken-hearted people who are feeling sad due to Rihanna's pregnancy. Not like they would ever come close to dating her but there is this fantasy they have built in their head that only they can explain and express better.

I can remember when I was around 18-20 years of age, I would always claim "Genevieve Nnaji" and "Omotola Ekeinde" as my girlfriends. I would watch all of their movies and get jealous of those who kiss them in the movie; delete the image of the man in my head and put myself in that movie πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£. It was crazy but sometimes we just want everything to be perfect and where else can we invent our world if not in our heads?

It's the world we live in where it's not a given for your love to be reciprocated. It's not an act of wickedness at all because not everyone would feel the same way you feel and just because someone loves you doesn't mean you have to love that person in a romantic love way, back. It's a harsh reality but it is the truth. Imagine how weird it would be if you keep loving people - dating them because they love you. What about your feelings? What about your morals and standards? What's the point of dating someone you have no feelings for which would definitely end up in tears anyway? The truth is, you would never be able to give your all because there is something about having mutual love, it comes naturally and you would go the extra mile for that person.

Image Source.

I used to think it was about me or probably because I didn't have enough money then or maybe I wasn't looking good enough but I got to understand much later that it was never about me and in fact, they were doing me a favour for not accepting my love advances because it would never have worked out and I would feel worse off for investing so much into it and the other person won't be able to do certain bits. Not as if they didn't want to but it just won't come since they had no feelings for me whatsoever.

I had a girl then and I told her how I felt about her but I noticed the way she was avoiding it. I decided to visit her at her request anyway because I am an indoor person. I got to her place, we laughed, made out and I felt I'd gotten myself a girlfriend only for her to tell me a week or 2 weeks later about a guy asking her out and she was willing to give it a try with that one. That was the point I knew she didn't dislike me but she just didn't see me in that line as someone she would date. It hurts like hell and shattered my self-worth a little but I got to know it wasn't about me at all.

I know we live in a world where most relationships are based on money but trust me, not everyone is after your money. Yes, money is good, absolutely good, but if they don't like you, they don't like you, so having money or not having enough wouldn't have mattered anyway.

We need to take the focus away from ourselves because a relationship involves two hearts. Someone said love is temporary amnesia that makes you forget there are other 7 billion people in the world. It involves both parties being on the same page so you won't have to get hurt eventually. Even with someone you are on the same page with, it's hard enough, now imagine someone who has no feelings for you whatsoever and you want to push for such love?

It's never about us neither is it about not having the looks or certain things but it has to do with another heart too because what comes from the heart touches the heart so if they don't love you from their heart, just don't sweat it. It's hard to be on the same page when you are not even reading the same book. Unrequited love can be painful but it's not about you most of the time. Others have the right to process the feelings or reject them because we all have an idea of what we want our love life to be like, at least.

Thank you for your time.

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

27
$ 7.50
$ 6.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.10 from @Samantha-Smith
+ 22
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago
Topics: Love, Feelings, Motivation, Blogging, Life, ...

Comments

Another very real and well written article Olasquare, so glad I am not in that situation now, been with my wife for 45 years lol. A lot of people get frustrated and upset when things don't work out with another one they really like, not realizing that in the scheme of things, that wasn't the right one. Came from Dreemport and skidded to a stop here while passing by to read this!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahahaa I am glad you pulled a stop right here. I always appreciate your insightful comments. You have deeper understanding to it and that's why I always enjoy your comments. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi! Unrequited love can be quite painful and many times, especially when younger, it is hard to accept it and move on. But life is like that, we will not always be reciprocated, we will not always be liked by others, not only in love but in all relationships.

By the way, I came here by dreemport's suggestion ;) Cheers!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This is so true, my friend and thank you so much. We need wisdom to accept the things we cannot change.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Been on both sides of the unrequited coin of love. they both suck lol But one thing is clear, when you know you know!!!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's indeed a terrible feeling, absolutely. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Like i was just imagining if I tell someone "I love you" then the person replies with "thanks" that's very sad... That's enough signal to show that the person did not have feelings for them.

Some people took crush for love, maybe then you're having a crush on Genevieve and omotola 🀣🀣, there's a huge difference between the two words...

For a relationship to work out effectively, both must have feelings for each other, just like you said, if not they'll not last for long...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's right...the feeling must be mutual. Most people confuse crush for love and when pursued they see the feeling isn't as deep as they thought.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really one of the most painful type of love, I can relate to this one Ola, falling inlove with my best friend is one of the most painful one, he just sees me as a friend and little sister and no more other than that, I'm also afraid to tell my feeling for him because I don't want to risk our friendship. So I just stay where I know I could always be with him as her bestfriend.

Yet I agree with you it's hard to be in the same page when you never really reading the same book, I love that line of yours.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

I can imagine how you felt then. You didn't want to lose the friendship but you still can't control what you felt. It's a tough situation to be in.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is really a tough one but still I'm thankful I managed it hehez now I already moved on from him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the best...moving on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is why it's very important to know how someone feels about you before popping the "I love you" phrase, one-sided love is a slow poison. What's even worse is the hope that the other person will come around one day and love you, and that rarely happens

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's the painful part where someone hope and hope but they just won't come around.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you totally, they are times when you'd feel strongly for a person and they just don't see you in the same light, telling them how you feel may not always guarantee a reciprocated mutual response of the same type of feelings. Its better you're upfront about what you really feel than trying to please the person or others and avoid hurting them by agreeing to a relationship, in the future they might develop romantic feelings for you but it doesn't always work like that and you might end up getting really hurt the most when the other person isn't totally giving their heart and feelings to the relationship in the way they should.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's right. It doesn't always work like that. Because we love someone doesn't mean they would love us back.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nothing hurts more than knowing that the one you love does not love. its even worse when you let them know of this love but they turn around and act like its nothing. most times we just have to let the feeling die a natural death because of fear of the known.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's better to let it die out naturally, that's indeed better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True Love itself doesn’t hurt, but unrequited love hurts a lot. If i love someone from the depth of my heart and in return this same people don't love me back. That hurts.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It hurts so deep. I can relate to that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The only way to get over it is to move on and never put your energy on things that will never give you what you want

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's so right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's indeed really sad. Unrequited love brings us feelings of worthlessness. For me it did serve as a motivation to do better even if I later came to realize that it had nothing to do with me.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It absolutely has nothing to do with us. It is indeed a painful experience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really painful to experience unrequited love. I agree friend we shouldn't push ourselves to the things it's not the same with us because it will waste you a time and it will give you a hardest pain at the end.

We need to learn to close our door for some things that didn't mean for us. We shouldn't stay on that place because it will hurt us more. We should learn to walk and learn to move on and start with the new things with positivity that someday we will find the book that same to us. A mutual one.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

This is so true. We should learn to close the door for what's not meant for us. I love that. Thank you, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm, as for me, I'd count myself very lucky when someone I'm in love me tells open up to me that they are not interested in me. It's always better than when they continue to l ad you on and then break your heart in the most awful way

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's indeed better to know early than to have it forced but still, it's painful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's okay if we experience disappointment in love co'z sooner pr later you will realise that it's actually for good.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Better to be broken now than later.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should understand someones feeling πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes and not everyone would feel the same as us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was indeed painful, I had so many sleepless night and cry a lot before , well the young me because of that. You are right, it would really come to a point you would think you are less attractive. I can imagine your frustrations after having made out from that girl just to find out it was not you expectedπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. Well, just find that red string , it would led you to the one.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha it was a real bummer. She only made out with no strings attached and I didn't even know it was a thing then. It was hard.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha that was epic at least you got a just to make out with herπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. Still innocent back then?πŸ˜‚ Maybe she was just a little but liberated

$ 0.01
2 years ago

She served me cold with that. Hahaha. Yes, I enjoyed the make out. Very soft lips and body too. πŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ haha, ayπŸ˜‚. Maybe that's thrilling or I was thinking maybe she wants to try of there is a spark. You know cause they feelings was different if you have something too. Though I didn't know if that's true, Haven't tried that with anyone I am not in relationship eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true. She wanted to see if there was a spark and see if she can get to love me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And the answer was no. Haha Thanks for having conversation with me Ola. I need to prepare work for naπŸ˜€, till next time😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahah thanks a lot, my friend. Enjoy your night and stay safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I liked this phrase: Someone said that love is a temporary amnesia that makes you forget that there are 7 billion other people in the world.

How right it is; people fall in and out of love all the time, I don't know if women love more than men.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think it depends on the kind of person to determine who loves more.

Thank you, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love isn't reciprocated at times , because even the person in love with another because of certain good qualities ,does not posses the good qualities they love in the person .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The only chances ,that some you love ,will love you in return ,is if you have the same quality they have .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It happens with movie actors and singers, we fall in love platonically, hehehehe. I did it when I was young. Thank God it's over now.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahahahaha. Do you know that song? "Yes, We Did It When We Were Young" by Gaslight Anthem.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No, hehehe, I don't know the song and I will look it up and listen to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Try and do that. You will enjoy the old tunes and they style too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Has to be the most demoralising feeling. Loving someone and they don't feel the same way about you. You start to question who you are

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That is so true. Self doubt creeps in.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never knew this word existed not until last night, I was watching a video on YouTube... There is this guy that does freestyle rap for people ( Harry Mack ).... He Tell them to give him 3 random words so she mentioned 3 words and unrequited love was a part of it... The definition of it is so touching and it just dosent make any sense, I don't know how I would feel if I love someone and they don't love me back... I pray I never experience this lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is really a terrible feeling. I've been there. It makes you question what you've been doing with your life even.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is why I don't support guys spending extravagantly on girls without first fully understanding the girls heart's intentions. Girls can be selfishly tricky,Lol.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It goes both ways because it depends on the kind of person.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This world is of materialistic people, they love money not humans, they love luxury of life not real feelings. We should not keep ourselves in beaven of fools. Just get an arrange marriage and keep on moving zπŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Arranged marriage and get on with it πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£

$ 0.00
2 years ago