Some Of My Favourite Quotes Explained, II.

27 100
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

I shared some of my favourite quotes yesterday with explanations to some of them. You can read about the post here: Some Of My Favourite Quotes Explained.

I still have a few more quotes to explain and as I have said, I loved reading quotes while growing up. They have shaped my views over time and I try to get the good ones. Whatever we get exposed to shapes our lives and that's why I learn to pick the ones I know I can apply to my life. Sadly, I don't remember the names of the authors but I would quote them.

Image Source.

"The weight of stone and sand is nothing compared to the trouble stupidity can cause." - Anonymous.

This always makes me laugh when I read it or see it because it's the reality but I've used it to reply to some people too over the years. Let's face it, we have people who would do stupid things. Fool me once, shame on me but fool me twice? That's shame on me. It's okay if you get fooled once and that's because you allowed yourself to trust someone that isn't worthy but if they do it again then you are to be blamed because you are supposed to know better not to trust someone who is like the waves of the sea. This is why we need to guard our hearts.

People who do stupid things can cause a lot of trouble. Imagine how burdensome the weight of stone and sand can be, for it to be likened to those who make stupid decisions says a lot. Some people are incapable of growth. Some people cannot be helped and the more you try to help them, the more they would drag you down with them. It's better to recognize these people and cut them loose.

Someone once said that it's okay to kiss a fool and it's normal to have a fool kiss you but we must never let a kiss fool us. People who do stupid things would always go to any extent to fool you and when they think you are not suspecting anything they would go back to their old ways. In as much as we want to help people but the moment they have shown that they are incapable of growth, please, don't force it, let them go or else they would drag you down with them. They are not stupid people but they are just humans who make stupid decisions and in as much as we can take the pig away from the pit, more often than not, we cannot take the pit away from the pig.

Image Source.

"In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer. And that makes me happy. For it says that no matter how hard the world pushes against me, within me, there's something stronger - something better, pushing right back. So, I got this. God's got this. It can only and always end in victory. Attack today with enthusiasm." - Anonymous and Olawalium.

It's a fused quote hahaha and I can remember reading this quote to myself over and over again to build up my mental strength. This quote shaped me a lot because it made me focus on God and also on myself. I tend to understand that I have a part to play in my life just as I want God to play a huge part in me. We can keep calling on God but we have to keep rowing to the shore in the midst of the storm. God will always send the rain but we have to prepare our field for when that rain would come. It's a matter of "when" than "if".

We need to understand that the strength we need to succeed and be a better person in life is within us. You are not helpless or hopeless. Some people keep asking God to do for them what He has already given them the strength to solve. Sometimes it's a waste of prayer to be asking God to help you with what He has given you the common sense to solve.

We have a part to play because, in the midst of that winter (harsh reality), we can look within and find in us an invincible summer (the strength that has been there that we didn't know was there) and when we find that strength, it makes us happy because it means we have pushed further than we thought we could have. It's a show of mental strength that no matter how hard the world pushes against you with obvious discouragement there is always something within you - a purpose, the strength that would push right back. We are in charge of our choices and no one forces anything on us except we wanted it.

Image Source.

"Speak in such a way that others love to listen to you. Listen in such a way that others love to speak to you." - Anonymous.

The truth is, some people don't know how to speak. They speak just as it sounds in their head. Most people don't take time to process words before uttering them and most people might not utter a word but they have invented everything in their heads. Learning to speak is an art we all should understand. Do you know how we teach a toddler to speak? Some people need to be taught how to speak.

There is a "how" to speak and when sometimes people complain that others are not taking to correction, I often ask them how they have communicated it. We need to speak in a way that others would love to listen to us and we also need to learn how to listen so that others can speak to us. Listening is an art just as speaking is an art as well. Most people just want to speak but they rarely listen and you can't always be listening too and not speak. There is a way we can speak to inspire others while there is a way we can listen that would comfort others.

Thank you for your time.

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

27
$ 5.82
$ 5.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 16
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

I love the last quote. Indeed we should be a good speaker so others would love to speak with us and be a good listener so others would love to listen to us.

Sometimes, miscommunication happens because we are not a good speaker, instead of telling the words directly to a person we prefer to say it in our mind. In that way we didn't let others speak for themselves, as they didn't even hear you say something. If we a good speaker, people would become a good listener.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's so true, my friend. A lot of arguments can be sorted out if only we can listen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One of the quote I love personally, is "Rise and Rise until the lamb becomes the Lion" It means to never give up, and the one I got from the one you have written, its the one of the foolish person.. The trouble a foolish person will cause you especially in an argument, it can't be comprehend

$ 0.03
2 years ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚ it's hard arguing with a foolish person.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very very hard😫

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago

😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the part of "attack today with enthusiasm. We all pray for God to help us in our lives, but we have a bigger role to play.

Nice quotes boss 😌. Happy Sunday 😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

We surely have a role to play. Thanks a lot. Happy Sunday to you too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the last qoute is like telling me to know how to balance things, whether I'm the speaker or a listener

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Balance is important in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No wonder you're very intelligent. I remember I also fell in love with quotes of famous people at a young age. Infact I can't count the number of quotes I have in my memory and I am always on the lookout for more. Honestly, if it were not for these quotes, I don't think I would be able to write articles today. They help in giving me writing ideas that I relate to everyday life.... Anonymous and olasquare, I think I know who that anonymous is as I am very familiar with the quote . Lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahahaha thank you so much. Deeply appreciated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the last quote. It really pays to listen and not just talk. It would be nice to hear of others' sentiments.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The last one is also mine favorite a person should be a good speaker with strong grip of words also he should be patient enough to hear other

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am glad you loved that too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love this hehez, we need to be nice and think and be careful on our words and action towards anyone, sometimes even for us it's not a big deal then for them it is so indeed we just need to be aware on what others feel towards our words.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you, my friend. So good to have you here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree friend. Speaking to others we must be careful with the words we said. We should have an awareness. We should always talk to them with a happiness that makes them to enjoy while talking to them. A positive words must really important. We shouldn't throw a words that can hurt them. They way we talk to them in a good way, it's the return also we've got.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's right, my friend. What we give is what we get.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes my friend. Thank you my friend. ❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The way we speak it should be appropriate that everyone wants to listen us not just they are listening cause they want to skip time. People listen you because they are interested not by not by out of choice. We should be mellow the way we talk and we speak words of wisdom.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We should always speak kind words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago