Listen To Your Heart.

45 79
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Story, Family, Nigeria, Blog, ...
My Dad when he visited the grave of Kwame Nkrumah many years back.

I got the inspiration to write this after reading @Princessbusayo 's story. You can catch up with it here and I find it interesting too.

My dad shared a story with us back then many years before he passed away. I already shared a story of how we lost our only sister and dad told us that we still have another sister who is way older in Ghana.

He was a footballer back then in Ghana and he was pretty good at it too which is why I don't understand why he kicked against my dream of being a footballer hahaha. Maybe because they don't get paid in huge figures back then and he felt I shouldn't have to live that life all over again. He shared a story of how he was so tired during a match and because he was so good the coach wouldn't substitute him. He went for a header and he faked injury πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚ so the coach had no choice but to substitute him.

Back to the story... So, he told us of how he found love with a lady and she got pregnant. The mother of the lady kicked against her marrying a Nigerian. She agreed that they should keep the baby but they won't marry. I think it had to do with the issue of Nigerians kicking Ghana out of Nigeria many years ago which birthed the phrase: "Ghana Must Go". I guessed many Ghanaians packed their bags in these bags which we still called Ghana Must Go till today.

Image Source.

My dad eventually left Ghana and came back to Nigeria and few years down the line, he met my mum and explained situations of things with the daughter in Ghana. He went to Ghana and brought the girl (my sister) to Nigeria and she lived with them for 4 years before she said she missed Ghana and she left again. Ever since then, they have lost touch. My dad even placed an advert in Ghana's radio station back then after I helped him look for one of her old pictures but nothing came out of it. We just left it and hoped for the best.

On a beautiful Sunday, I saw my aunty as she visited us with someone looking exactly the female version of my dad. I knew that was her and the interesting part of the story was when my mum started crying and she was crying too while they were hugging each other uncontrollably. I was super happy because that was the first time I would see her but I think my eldest brother from my mum briefly lived with her back then too.

Dad was called because he went somewhere after service and the speed he used in coming back home was alarming hahaha. He couldn't help but cry too as he held his daughter in his arms. They had a lot of catching up to do and she was so sweet and warm. She came to where I was playing games and was asking me wonderful questions.

She scared us a bit when a week after we got back from Church, we were looking for her πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. She took a stroll down the street and was now discussing with the hairdresser she saw down the road. We all took different routes looking for her but he didn't see her until she came back home herself and I was angry πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. She had to pacify me and said she just wanted to familiarize herself with our vicinity and that's understandable.

She used two weeks and she went back. The funny thing is, she went to our home time and that was how she located my aunty who brought her. She knew if she got to Nigeria, she would locate our home town and she used the old picture they took back then to locate my home town. The signature on the picture was what she used to locate the photographer who was now old and no longer in business. He identified my aunty in the picture and took her to her place and immediately my aunty recognized her and brought her to us in our place in another City.

She said she felt the promptings in her heart to find my dad asap and she shouldn't delay, that was why she embarked on the journey blindly and I am glad she did because a year after she visited, that was when we lost my dad. I am glad she listened to her heart and that's how most of us miss opportunities. We give excuses to delay until we end up living in regrets. It's true what they say that:
"When readiness meets opportunity, success is inevitable" - Anonymous.

She had every opportunity to delay and give excuses because this is a place she hadn't been since she was little, so if she didn't want to come, her reasons would have been legit. I am glad she was brave enough to come because dad left but he gave us the gift of her with the striking resemblance. O do video chats with her once in a while and of course, she has 3 wonderful children already and they are all done with school. As young as I am, I am already having nieces πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£. The youngest uncle in town πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£.

Most of the time we ignore the promptings in our hearts but there is a thin line between bravery and fear. Nothing good comes easy and it's better to try and fail at things rather than live in regrets about it. I am glad we exhausted every option in looking for her too and she did everything possible to find us too. I am thinking of having a journey to Ghana, hopefully soon too. We might lose something in life but we still gain something back if we look at it critically.

Thank you for your time.

20
$ 10.70
$ 10.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @annayks
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 12
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Story, Family, Nigeria, Blog, ...

Comments

what a sweet story, it was so lovely reading it. Made me smile... and happy that you met your sistah... made me realize about my long last sisters if i have any πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚ you might have to check with dad hahahaha. Thank you so much, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hhahahaa that's funny lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's just wonderful! I'm really glad she did follow her instinct. Women's instincts are at point and shouldn't be ignored.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I totally agree with this. Thanks a lot, brother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to see your sister, too! Ahahaha! I wanna see the female version of your dad. πŸ˜„ You added a title to yourself now, a young uncle! πŸ˜„

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha I will share her picture, no problem. Yes, a sweet title haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay, will wait for that. Thanks in advance πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yaaaaaay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm well your dad story is quite interesting unlike my dad's own it was so horrible but still he was a good man when he was alive Maybe I will share mine too on my next article though I have the one for today already

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That would be amazing. I look forward to reading yours too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello my friend such a story you have. I am glad you still have communication with your sister and you have now nieces and nephews hope you do not have headache upon meeting them😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It would be a pleasant meeting, I hope. They are amazing. Thanks my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow a very heart warming story dear. Full of love and inspiration. Thank you for sharing this to us. I salute to your sister of embracing the situation so as your mom. What's it like to have sister outside the family? I mean I don't like to sound rude but I am just curious because most of the story I have known they would hardly accept the fact and become rebellious about it. Giving small respect to parents and neglecting the feeling of the other child as well.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think it all depends on the family and I totally understand yours. My sister is actually a sweet soul and maybe it is easier for us since she doesn't even live in Nigeria with us. She stays in Ghana. We have a good relationship though since we are all children and we don't have our parents anymore.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a very good one. A sibling is a gift from God and a treasure that is left by parents. For me if ever I would accept especially if they comes first before me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's fair enough. 😊😊😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, that's like watching a film! And I was trying to picture your sister when you say she looks like a female version of your father. That's so cool!

So you're the youngest uncle in town! You should be proud dear!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yaaaaay! Thanks momma. Absolutely...I will get her permission to post her picture soon so you can see her face as you've seen my dad's already.

Proud Uncle I am hahaha. They are so grown and imagine, done with school.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the way you tell stories, thank you for sharing this one. Great life advice :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello uncle πŸ˜… Glad you saw your sister.. Princess didn't even had a chance to see her brother...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

A very proud Uncle at that πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£. Thanks Janey... Our tour is still intact, yeah?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yeah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜ŠπŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So glad you have a connection with your half-sister. It's a wonderful blessing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's coincidental that I'm listening to a song by a British Nigerian amdbhe did a stylish tribute to Kwame at a point in his song lyrics. I saw the part where your dad visited Kwame's grave and I was impressed.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's super cool, brother. Thanks, brother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehehe πŸ˜†, my Tommy is aching me, I don't know when I burst out laugh inside my hostel, that my roomie where wondering what's happen...mad oooo 🀣🀣, somebody shouted. Well they won't understand.

Yeah! The you youngest uncle in town as arrive, let the biggest uncle be prepared for expenses too, because you'll buy something for the youngest niece too.. hehehehe πŸ˜†

Everything that happens have a reason for happening, though might not be easy to adapt to things that happen, some come serve as a blessing in disguise.

Listening to our hearts is very important, and your sister has demonstrated a good example, had it be she postponed it, she might not not see Dad before he pass out, when we do what our hearts tells us to do, it will definitely yield a good outcome...

Nice story here🀩

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha, I am glad you laughed and yes, your roomies won't understand.

Expenses? That's a small thing na. I will pamper them.

Thank you so much, dear. I always appreciate your comments.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

After a lot of years the mother and daughter recognized each other's and that's because they have the same blood and it made them know each other. Though things like that really happen I'm happy to know that the child know who's her parents are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think you mixed the story up a little...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Another good story, this time with drama. Do we really have siblings from our parents' forbidden or past loves? It made me think about the question of which ones, if any, are we aware of.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's the responsibility of the parent to tell if there was any because no one would know if they never mentioned it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The part where you mum recognize her and started crying if I were a member of your family and was present A tear or two might have dropped because this just goes to show that family is everything. I am glad she found her way back home and congrats on being a young uncle you are one in a million πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

To prevent the tears from falling, I ran away hahaha. Emotional something hahaha.

Thanks a lot, brother. Deeply appreciated. πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Popsy Dara, aka (youngest uncle in town) πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… Thank God she did followed her heart and came looking for her Dad which in turn met you and created that bond together with you. Ghana must go, that bag no dey in town again jare. We don consider am as village People bag πŸ˜„πŸ˜„ Your story birthed another story of my Dad about Opportunity like that. Let me find time write about it πŸ€”

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha. Yaaaaay. Glad my story led to another. I deserve a post credit πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£

I am glad she took the bold step despite the uncertainty regarding her journey.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜„πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. That's quite some memorable moment you shared here. Ghana Must Go jingle back then is still the same reason why we have the imbroglio against Nigerian business owners in Ghana in recent times. Thank God you step-sister followed heart. She came at the right time. That is why a saying goes: Blood is thicker than water.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely, she came at the right time and someone said it was the 'blood' that pushed her and made her uneasy so she could come.

$ 0.00
2 years ago