Life Is About Helping.

28 87
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

I would say this is a build-up to the post I shared earlier yesterday and you can catch up with it here: How Can I Help You Today?.

I spoke about how most people don't really need money because they first need to evolve as humans before resources can be committed into their hands. I have personal experience with that because I've always felt money was the only thing I needed and I would pray for a particular amount to come and it would come only for me to ask myself after a month what I did with the money. Some things need to be fixed first before we can make good use of the money craved for.

Image Source.

Life is indeed about helping one another in whatever capacity you can. Of course, I know of people that I can say money is what they needed and I helped the little way that I can. I can remember one heavily pregnant woman who came to my former office some years back and she said she needed money because she would soon be due. I know she needed money and also maybe getting her a good hospital could have also helped but I tried to do the little I can.

There were these two old men who visits our office back then too and I knew one man drinks a lot despite being old and we have spoken to him several times about not drinking but you can expect someone to change overnight just because you spoke to them in a day or two, expecting them to break a habit they have been used to for years. I didn't allow that to get in the way of my judgement when God dropped it in my heart to help these two elderly men. I shared a few days ago about the importance of showing mercy to people and you can catch up with the post here: "How Merciful Are You?" and I explained that it's not about what people deserved but it's all about mercy.

If I wanted to act on what the other old man deserved, I wouldn't help him because he had received a lot of help from most of us in my former place of employment to get something decent for his household but he must have blown it all on booze. So, because I still wanted to help both, I decided to go to the market myself rather than to give them money. I went with a colleague and we bought quite a lot of food items, ranging from Vegetable Oil, Semovita, Rice, Beans, Cassava grains (Garri), Wheat meal, Onions and so many other things I can't remember. I waited for them to come around and gave it to both of them. The other old man who loves to drink was just crying and the other one was praying fervently.

I didn't trust the man who loves to drink that much 🤣🤣😂 before he would go and convert it into buying drinks, a colleague volunteered to help by delivering the items to the old man's house alongside him and I was relieved there. Helping people when you can, counts and it doesn't matter whether they deserved it or not but first, we need to know the kind of help they need so whatever effort we are putting in won't be wasted.

Image Source.

Imagine someone who wants to learn a trade and you said you want to help the person by sending him into a higher institution without knowing where his head is at? If he failed at it then you have wasted your resources except you are so sure what he needed at that time was a degree.

There are some we have to take seriously while there are some we just have to do one-off. I love doing the one-off too because I tagged them "Random Acts of Kindness". I don't have to know you or your history, I just want to do something nice based on the situation I see on the ground and then move on. I don't care whether people thought I was trying to impress or maybe I wanted to use it to get close to a random lady, I was never bothered because my intentions are always clear and that's what's important to me. The funny thing is, the moment I am done with it, I run... I don't wait for pleasantries nor phone numbers.

As I said, it is totally random and I have picked some people based on how they looked or how they dressed. I sat close to one fine lady at one point and I was really impressed with how she was calm (even if she was not), how she looked so good and smelled so good and we were close to where I would drop, I paid her fare and mine and quickly hopped down. Before the driver would tell her I had paid for her and before she would turn, I had crossed the road and I looked back to catch her state and I smiled. So, it was never about getting laid for me, never... It was more about "Who Can I Give An Impression Today" so they can know that our humanity hasn't been lost yet.

The one that got me the most was when the elderly woman I wanted to pay for was to drop before me, so there was no way I would have dropped or run away as usual and I picked her that day to be helped because while she was trying to sit inside the cab, she slammed the door on her finger and I know how that thing hurts. I paid for her and I could feel her state right from the corner of my eyes and the woman who sat in-between us had to tap me that someone is trying to get my attention.

I looked at her feigning ignorance and she thanked me for paying for her. She asked if I knew her or it was her husband that I knew and I said I knew none and she was more surprised. She had to look at me again so she can be sure that I know she is older 🤣😂🤣🤣 and of course, she should be within the age range of my mum, if she was still alive.

I would rather live for a day and touch as many lives as I can than live for a hundred years and not be remembered by anyone for anything worthy. While going about your daily activities, always ask yourself, "Who Can I Help Today?" It doesn't have to be money but it must mean something to the person and it must come from a willing heart too.

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

Thank you for your time.

20
$ 12.39
$ 11.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @ZehraSky
+ 18
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

Your article is very inspiring. Indeed, helping is one of the essential attitude that a person must posses and here you give a justifiable thoughts about. Thank you for that!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Worth reading. Helping is indeed all the world needs. The world would be a better place if all of us help one another.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just have the feeling that if you gave the food items directly to the man who loves to drink, he will end up trading it cheaply just to buy booze 😂 it was really smart the way you handled it and didn't give the man money, sometimes people don't really know what they need

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha I feared that too. That's right, most people don't know what they want sometimes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm it is really good to help people a lot even if it is just little it can go a long way in some people's life I love helping too but when I see someone that wants to take me for granted because I help I will definitely look away That's me in real life

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's being honest and I like that. Recognizing the help people need would help to cut off those who want to take advantage of us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People no longer believe in some of these virtues, they'd rather want to play smart and most often meet a brick wall. Giving up to those in need, even the destitute, is a character that shapes us for great works.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Beautifully said, my brother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If only people has a heart of helping like you surely the world would be a better place.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I feel honoured and humbled. Thanks for this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kindness is always best than being smart. Giving help to others no matter how big or small it is precious my friend. I am glad that you are one of the few who is always there to give help.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I feel privileged and blessed too, my friend. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So true, and this took me back to the post you made yesterday about helping and I was like judging you for helping the lady to post the poem she wrote . And I again , I had a second though about it last night, I think what you did is not wrong , trying to help in your own little way, but she could not be persistent in what she's doing, you've played your own part and left for her to open her arm.

I helped when I think is necessary too, but not all , just like some people that use to come to our lecture room everyday to beg for money, I don't give out to all of them, some are taking advantage of it.

Yoruba will always say "ore ni iwon" helping has a measure , that's if I translate it very well.. hehehehe 😆

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Of course, you should know who is taking advantage and not get swept into it.

You know I always love your comments...always sweet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's just the whole concept about helping. There's is a lot to learn in what you say .

Always filled with enthusiasm when the little thing I do is being appreciated. Thanks for the kind words

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely. Anytime, my dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

RAOK are awesome and they don't even need to cost. Even opening a door for someone brings joy and is a RAOK.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Every act of kindness counts, no doubt. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Showing random acts of kindness is always much appreciated. I once helped an elderly man who was carrying a heavy load, he kept on praying for me over and over. Society has gotten so bad that most people are now invisible. I was in the cab the other day and I greeted this woman, she was so shocked and also asked if I knew her....good social norms should be encouraged. Thanks for the beautiful write up

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha she asked if you knew her? Wow. Good social norms are being kicked to the curb. It should be revitaliszed. Thanks a lot for this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the fact that you are intentional about helping people. Life should be all about helping each other, if A helps B, and B helps C and so on, we create a perfect system where lifting others is prioritized.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much. Exactly...when we give just as we have been helped too, it makes it easier for everyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing! We need to help to make the world a better place indeed. It may be easier said thank done but it pays off in the end

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It definitely pays off in the end. Thanks for this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well said brother. Life is about helping others in their needs. Such a noble deed.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's a noble cause, indeed. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago