How Merciful Are You?

25 101
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

This is not about blowing your own trumpet but about knowing that life is not without mercy. To those who believe in God then you can say God has shown us His mercy and He is always showing us His mercy so it is natural for us to show mercy to others and for those who don't believe in God, you must have at some point been at the receiving end of someone's mercy and it's only right for you to show it to others when the opportunity arises.

A lot of people say "But I don't deserve it" or "That person doesn't deserve it". The first thing is, how do we determine who deserves it or not? Another thing is, that's why it is called mercy; it's not deserved, it's not earned, it's just given.

This story would always warm my heart and I came across it many years ago. Any chance I get to share the story, I don't shy from it because I believe it speaks a lot to us as humans.

There was this king who had many servants but on this fateful day, one of his servants decided to steal from the king and the king found out. The mother was notified because the king was so angry with the servant and had him locked up. The mother sought ways to see the king but one day, she was lucky enough to see the king taking a stroll just within his yard. The mother screamed at the top of her lungs to gain the attention of the king. The king asked who that was and the guards explained to him she is the mother of the servant locked up. He bid her to come and she raced to the king, clutching his legs.

The mother begged that her son be released and the king got angry because he doesn't tolerate anyone stealing from him. The king said the boy got what he deserved because he stole. The mother said, "I am not begging you for what he deserved but I am begging you for what he doesn't deserve - mercy". The king had to let him go and send him away from the palace also.

Mercy is about showing compassion or forgiveness when it is within your power to harm or punish such a person. It is not deserved neither can it be earned because if it can be earned then it's a product of one's effort. We would have people hurt us at some point and even do things without a thought but whether they mean it or not, for the sake of our sanity, we have to learn how to show mercy. I know how hard it would be to show mercy especially when you know the person deserves something more in punishment but we have to show mercy. We have been shown mercy at some point too and to whom much is given much is also expected.

Image Source.

I can remember patronizing a Church member that approached me that she was into gifts and surprises. I decided to patronize her during the Valentine period last year I think and I paid $40 for the whole surprise stuff that includes a bottle of wine, sandals, chocolates and some other stuff. I gave her the office address she is to deliver it to and till 4 pm, the person I sent her to hadn't received the gifts. You won't believe it that the dispatch rider called me at 11 pm that day when I was at the Cinema with her that they want to deliver the package.

The package was delivered with the wine broken so it was no longer included, the chocolates were not in good condition neither was every other thing. Only the sandal was intact and even that was not her size. I told the lady in question how everything turned out and she said it was the dispatch rider who had issues. I told her I don't understand why she is deflecting because her responsibility to render a good service hasn't ended until the customer receives the goods in good condition. She kept quiet and despite seeing me more weeks after that, she didn't have the decency to make it right. The mercy I showed her, in this case, would have been to damage her brand on social media or even escalate it to the Church authority because that's what is expected when you have issues but I don't like things lingering and being dragged when I know it's within my power to overlook and let it go.

I believe she knew the wrong she did but because she was still an upcoming then, she felt refunding would hit into her capital even though that didn't make any sense but then, I had a choice to make a mess of her brand or simply just let go and I went for the latter.

I can remember giving my tailor some materials to sew for me for a wedding and he messed it up hahaha. At least, he had the decency and the remorse unlike the other lady and he tried so well to at least fix it but still couldn't get the accurate one. I wore the clothing like that and even to date, despite changing location, I still ask him to sew my clothes and send them through dispatch companies.

Things won't always go our way and that's one thing I have come to understand about life. We won't always have the things we expect but when things beyond our power occur then we have other things within our power to give - show leniency, show compassion, show forgiveness, show mercy...

Image Source.

Another case was my dry cleaner back then hahaha. She was another stressful one to deal with because there is no way, she would always delay my clothes. I give her all my clothes because where I was staying then, electricity was a major issue. She was also a Church member and I would either take the clothes to her or she would come and pack them. She delays clothes so much that I would either urgently go and pick them up myself or get angry and not pick her calls because what I needed it for has passed. It was annoying then and I knew she was also a start-up but she frustrated me because I always repeat the same thing over and over again.

I wanted to help her but still, I don't want to change my standards. I decided to give her the clothes I won't be needing urgently and that allowed me to plan the clothes I wanted to wear for the week ahead. Anyone, I think I would be needing in the week, I would wash myself and hope for electricity to come. I managed to strike two birds using just a single stone; maintaining my sanity and then still patronizing her. It cost me nothing to stop giving clothes to her because I know those who would do it closer to the house and faster too.

Nothing is too little to overlook or show mercy on. They don't have to deserve it but every little thing like this counts and showing mercy is more helpful to us than the recipient. Sometimes, we are paying it forward by showing mercy to others and the day of reward would come, maybe not now but later...

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

Thank you for your time.

25
$ 11.26
$ 10.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.12 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
+ 18
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

Mercy prevails over judgement. It's what we get not because we deserve it. I doubt if i will let go of that ruined surprise. It's a responsibility, though according to her it's the dispatch rider's fault but that's not the customer 's responsibility. It was great of you to let go, not all will

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly...she sourced the dispatch so it's her responsibility to have it delivered since I got charged for it. Thanks a lot, brother... Mercy prevailed over judgement

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mercy how good to our hears and fascinate in our heart but sadly today's society few people show mercy co'z some show fuel. If only people have mercy surely our world are more peace.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

With mercy, no doubt, the world would be a better place.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Forgiveness matters a lot and we should be merciful enough to people because our creator is also merciful to us whenever we sin against him.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly the point. Yes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We underestimate mercy, you have deeply spoken about it and I think it has got more to do using humans and God as an example.

We offend God every day and whenever we seek forgiveness, he still forgives us. That's the power of mercy, it works miraculously.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, brother. It works miraculously and solves a whole bunch of problems.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"I am not begging you for what he deserved but I am begging you for what he doesn't deserve - mercy"

I know those words would have melted the king's heart to order for the boy's release immediately. God keeps showing us Mercy, so why won't humans do so too? It doesn't cost us anything to forgive and have mercy on those who have wronged or hurt us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's so true. Remember the story of the servant that was forgiven his debt in the Bible and met someone else who owed him but wouldn't show the same mercy the king showed him by forgiving his debt?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, he couldn't do the same to his own debtor over small money compared to the big amount he owed the king when he was forgiven. Verily, he was thrown in the prison 🤗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Gbam! Mercy should be shown to others as we have also received too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So true! It will require nothing from us to show mercy to our fellow human, after all we do offend God many times but in his Merciful kindness , he still forgive us.

Thought we might think such a person does not deserve mercy, but just for the sake of God, we just have to let it go and move on. To err is human and to forgive is Divine.

There are some cases that I find myself, even with my closet friend, she did something that really hurts me, but just like human being, we are not perfect, I just have to forgive and now we are still friends, the mercy I showed to her that day made the intimacy of our friendship to be more stronger.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's the power of mercy. Impressive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember my teacher in high school on this story. He said if someone does bad things to you and they realize what they did and ask for your forgiveness, forgive him, because even the god that betrayed by his disciples gave his forgiveness. (:

$ 0.02
User's avatar EJ
2 years ago

That is so true... Even Jesus got betrayed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like mercy. Kindness is something which can bring peace to this world. But punishment is also needed. Otherwise the imbalance will effect the society. Besides, some people are unworthy to have mercy.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha I totally understand your point there...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm merciful but it has a limit. If you don't put a limit on how merciful you're, people will roll all over you because they know that they will always be forgiven. The way you ended things with the lady into surprises is good, I will also do the same and then I will give my full experience to anybody that comes to me looking for a review about her

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha mercy goes all in...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm this makes me remember one tailor I gave clothes and she didn't know where she kept it when I cwent back to collect cloth A party cloth for that matter but what do I do than to let it go Even my hairdresser then got away with 15k that I gave her for my December hair Meh somethings we just have to let it go

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's mercy. They deserved to be slapped and even made to pay but we don't have to become like others...mercy should speak. Good one, darling.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We just have to over look some things

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's so true, babe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😁😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago