Heart-Baring Poetries.

26 63
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Image Source.

I love pouring my heart into my poems. I love feeling things deeply because only that way can I come across to the hearts of others the way I wanted. If I don't feel it, I probably won't write about it. It's not surprising when they say that what comes from the heart touches the heart. Enjoy these...

We Hold The Torch.

Your lives were cut short amidst our struggle

Your loved ones, you couldn't even give a cuddle

Daily and yearly, your sacrifice will our memories juggle

Forever in our hearts, you will always be

Even when the powers that be tried to bury evidence

To absolve themselves of judgement and grave sentence

They pitched their tents with the devil surrounded by a huge fence

Trying to make themselves untouchable

But you are our heroes, we light up - torchable

We will continually hold the torch for you

We will keep the torch burning for you

In solidarity with your gallant effort on the battlefield

In respect of the course, you died for

In the power of the message your courage wield

You are now forever part of our shield

We will keep the torch burning

And your death will not be in vain

This is not just words for gainsaying

We are not going to become those who hurt us

But we would seek to see justice for all

It won't be business as usual again for them

That's Just Life.

This life is a funny one, I must say
We all want to stay ahead, we pray
No one wants to see misfortune in a day
We pray for a clear path on the way
While the sun shines we want to make hay
So we can with the comfort of our heads lay
Hoping for more rain, come what may
But life sometimes asks us to pay
And often times another tune life will play
Life tries to break everyone, yes, everyone
The brave, after being brave for so long
Life frustrates intensely with a sad song
The simple, after viewing everything in meekness
Life tries to snuff out the sweetness
The strong, life tries to push to the limit
Depriving even of the hard-earned meat
Life won't give you what you deserve
Life responds to pressure too, so swerve
You need to place your demand
And imprint your name on rocks, not sand
When life comes calling, trying to break you
Remind yourself how you held on for so long
It's funny how far we can push
From the point we thought was the end
It's not the end, it is just a bend
Soldier on! Life can't resist you for too long

Choice It Is.

Choice! It's very powerful like the gun
You can't do without one like the sun
I mean it and this is not a pun
You can't help but make one at some point
It's a powerful force that determines a lot
You make them every day as you wake up
Both the little ones and the major ones
Our lives depend a lot on how we make one
Never joke with the power of choice
Make a thoughtful consideration while making one
Because of how your whole life plays out
Depends on that one second of choice
Do you want fire or some ice?
Do you want to speak the truth or more lies?
Do you prefer the chicken or the fries?
We make little and major ones every day
The power is in your own hands
You determine what you do with it
Whatever you choose, learn to live with it

The Encounter.

I encouraged a young man named Sam on the bus
Heading to Nottingham with my thoughts on my phone notes, typing
Chatty, warm and open-hearted I would say
Busy on my phone and he started a conversation regardless
I appreciated that and I didn't think of him less
With my words of comfort, with encouragement, him, I bless
He has so much to say with an amazing thought process
Struggling to put it into writing, that's his struggle
He's studying English but to pencil his thoughts down, that's the wobble
I love being needed and his words screamed louder
His words screamed of someone who needed help to put his thoughts into words
He starts and then gets stuck on how best to forge ahead
I admit writing isn't for everyone but every step starts with an attempt
Words might fail you but stay at it even if it's just a line
A single line is what you can come up with? That's fine
Most people try too much and then lose it
When you have to force it then you will end up getting frustrated
I explained all these to Sam and I hope he makes the attempt
It won't always be easy but what's life if we won't even try?
Do you have someone just like Sam?
Might not be an English major but someone who struggles to express their thoughts?
Find a quiet place, look within and feel what you are going through
Don't force it and try to let your heart guide you
Don't try to impress and keep your words simple
This is not a trick meant only for those with dimple
Play with simple words as you will dance your finger around your pimple

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks. I am love's chemical content in human form and that's why  I advise people to take a dose of "Olawalium" daily. 🙈

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

17
$ 3.23
$ 2.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Omar
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 9
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Comments

Wow!! I must say you are so talented. The way you express the feelings and emotions......they are matchless

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm glad you enjoyed them. Thank you so much. I deeply appreciate this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Will always be amazed with your writing style. Poems from the heart do hit really different.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you my friend. I am grateful. I always enjoy writing them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Have you ever thought of publishing a book of all your poetry Ola?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I definitely have that in plan my dear friend. I would surely do that by God's Grace.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Love how you write a poetry, ow, that's really how life works.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you, my dear. I'm happy to read from you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I definitely felt so much emotions reading the first one..our torches will always burn for our fallen heroes 💪

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you somuch dear. Forever it would burn for them and we need to make their efforts to count.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish I could understand poetry. I like Pashto Poetry, which is my local (mother) tongue and Urdu National Language Anyways, I will read and 👍 as you know why.... Good luck and have a great time

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you and these poems are easy to understand because I simplified them. I don't make them complicated with big grammar, just simple English.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Actually, English poetry makes me confused 😜 Anyways I will try to read as regular English

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣😂😂🤣😂 even as simple as the ones I posted? Hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It fine and seem simple English

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha alright then.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

"play with simple words as you would dance your fingers around your dimple". Honestly English is about the simplest language to grasp and learn within a short time, especially at a young age.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I absolutely agree with you, my dear. When we make it an habit early on, it becomes easier to develop as we grow. Thanks dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Salute to those Martyrs about the first poem. Sometime I feel life itself is a choice. We go according to its tunes. We do certain thingsŕ to please others and sone out of hatred

$ 0.01
1 year ago

A huge shout out to them for their selfless service and act of sacrifice. We need to hold the torch on for them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love the second and third one, writing poetry and poems is not easy we can improve writing skills by practising but I think poetry only can be written who are born poets and I think you are born poet poetry is in your blood, love your poems

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you so much, Katie. I really appreciate your kind words. Yes, the more we practice, the better we get at them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The first poem got me thinking about the 2020 end SARS protest😩

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, that's what inspired the poem. We need to remember that day and use it to make better decisions or choices.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are a talent! You better save these for your kids.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Absolutely. I have them in notes and also storing them on blockchain as this for future references. Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago