Giving Is A Thing Of Pride.

60 135
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Topic:

What are a few things about yourself, or which you have done, that have left you feeling proud? List one, or a few, and tell us the situation and why you feel it was an accomplishment to be proud of. (Having children is excluded from this question.)

This is the wonderful question asked on Hive by Galenkp and this was the response I gave. I like keeping everyone up to date so they wouldn't miss out on anything I say anywhere. This is me sharing my response with my friends here and hopefully, you would enjoy it. You can also answer the question either in the comment section or in a separate post as well. I will surely visit.

Answer:

My whole life revolves around giving. In as much as I know I picked this up from my dad and I am glad it has become who I am. I watched him give a lot away while growing up and it shaped my view that this is how we should live our lives. I am a very sensitive person, very observant of the things that happen around me and I always want to help. I've had so many moments in my life, some I can't even remember right now but they are moments I would always feel proud about because I was there for people that needed it.

You know when you are there for people at the right time, you might not know the value of it but you can sense it with the way tears roll down their faces. I am usually the type that runs away after doing something good. I don't like taking the accolades because I don't want to lose sight of what's important by feeling a certain way just because I helped someone.

Let me just cut to the chase and this is the one that I still remember fondly even though I block most of them from my head. It was at my last place of work in my former city, there was this old man that comes around the office and everyone would give him money most of the time he would come around. He made it a daily affair and when people have they gave it to him but he made a mistake one day, he came around 11 am reeking of alcohol. It put me off and after that day I said I wasn't going to give him money since that's what he was using it for. I felt he was taking it home to take care of his family since he's too old to work.

He came a few times and I didn't give him anything but others once in a while gave him. I felt bad I didn't but I was consoling myself with the fact that I didn't want him to use it for alcohol. Then that week, there was a challenge on Steemit that time which I did a week before and I won. After winning I thought to myself what I would do with the money because it was much. I think it was around $100 worth, can't remember. I thought about the old man and another old man that would come into our office and sometimes help us with the packaging of products we make.

I cashed the money out and told a colleague at work what I intend to do with the money. I asked him to follow me to the market and we both went that evening after work. I got a lot of food items in twos... Quite much and sizeable too and we both dragged ourselves back to the office. We quickly sorted them out in two sacks, filled to the top and kept them in the office because we were certain they would both show up the next day.

This is the only picture I could find. I snapped the sack after packaging too but couldn't find the pictures. It's over 4 years ago...I am too lazy to go through my Steemit post. You can imagine how stressful it would be knowing I posted everyday for the past 5 years.

The next day came and the first old man came around to ask for money as usual and I gave him the food bag. I just dropped it right in front of him as he was seated and what happened next melted my heart that I had to stop looking at his face. He was shedding tears. Those food items would at least last him for 2 weeks if he eats every day but if he's economical about it, it should last a month. He stood up, came to my seat and started praying. I was deeply touched and I was grateful the idea came to my head rather than rule him off by not just giving him money. I gave him I think around $5 and specifically told him not to drink with it but to get what's needed to cook the items like Kerosene or gas, if that's what they use.

It was too heavy for him to carry so the person we went to the market together said he would take it home for him. I asked for permission for him from the manager and he took the bike home with the man and made sure the man gave the money to the wife to get what was needed.

The moment he got there and dropped the items with the wife, he told me how emotional the wife was and how she didn't stop praying till she left. Giving is not giving until we have given to someone who might never be able to repay us. The kind of giving that doesn't require me to expect anything back is the type that thrills my heart and makes me feel "proud" of myself.

I have always lived by this quote which says "I would rather live for a day and touch many lives than to live for a hundred years and not be remembered by anyone." This is why I feel it's an accomplishment - touching a life that also affects many lives in the process. This is what being human is all about - being there for those who needed help. We can't solve every problem but we can at least make life easier for others.

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks. I am love's chemical content in human form and that's why I advise people to take a dose of "Olawalium" daily. 🙈

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

23
$ 4.83
$ 4.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Fexonice1
+ 18
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Comments

Helping the needy is one of the best form of help one can do. As of what you did is a great job. Their silent blessings for our family is enough for a lifetime.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's right...what comes from the heart touches the heart. Helping those who need it really goes deeper. Thanks for that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nothing anyone can say in the comment section now that will match this good deed you showed, I don't even have any experience to share sef, and anyone doing it now will want the world to see the things they are doing. And for five years you have being doing this publishing and posting article that is crazily mad and thought of being like you everyday so that will take me 5 years of leaving to be like you and 5 years of trying to be me and that alone is 10 years for me to write like yours and build this amazing platform .

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Hahahaha thank you so much. I'm sure everyone helps in their capacity and it varies. It's a privilege to help others.

As for the writing, it's about consistency and drawing inspiration from things around us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I always the remember the saying that "one of the saddest thing in life is when we have the capability to help but we refused to help someone who is in need."

I really admire your benevolence. Life is very short, if we have the ability to change others lives for a better, whether it's a big thing or small,.it's already an impactful thing.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Thank you so much my friend. When we have the ability to help we should. It's not about how expensive the gifts or items are but how timely they are.

Thanks a lot dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What a kind heart of yours. True, it's better to live for a short time as long as we help anyone than having a long life yet we don't use it in a better way

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you my friend. I am happy I helped when I did.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Keep up the giving act, givers never lack Once you enjoy doing it and it comes genuinely from your heart, it is 100% acceptable

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's right. It must be genuine and honest...not for praise but to help.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Not everyone knows that, they only help so that you can come back to say thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, we have people like that. It's quite sad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's what our world has turned into

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's right. We just have to do our best and the things we can do to help.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, I actually got goosebumps just reading this. I wasn't the person that received the gifts but I still felt very happy, now I can imagine how the old man will be feeling. Kudos to you for being a beam of light in the old man's life, you knew exactly the right gifts to give to him

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I was really touched when he cried. It shows it meant so much to him. I feel privileged to do that. I am glad I did. Thank you, brother.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

God bless you for showing up for that man and his family.. I wish the world will have such a good heart like yours, the world will be a better place.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you so much dear. I appreciate your kind words. If we all do our parts indeed, everyone would feel the kindness.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is good habit of you that you feel happy when you give to needy people proud of you dear

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you, my friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think you really did the best thing to that family. That's just a seed that have sow into their lives. That's a kind of gift we should be given. Giving without expecting pay back is gift.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I love it when you said it's a seed. Indeed, the good we do can be likened to seeds that would grow kindness in the heart of others too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sir you did very well. I salute you for having a good heart. Personally I am always ready to give help to people as long as I have that thing that will put a smile on their face. One of those days as I was returning from school. I met an aged man strolling slowly on the pedestrian walkway. Everything about him that moment will tell you that he is tired,. He did not care to ask for help, but I stopped him, stopped a taxi that was going his way, paid the t.p fare and asked him to enter the taxi.

$ 0.04
1 year ago

That is a wonderful gesture that would take a sensitive person to notice and God bless your heart for having the heart and sensitivity to notice. Well done. Thanks for your kind words too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And thank you so much for being one of those you had helped my friend. ☺️ I know a lot of blessings will come intl your way. ☺️

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Amen. Thank you so much my friend. I am glad and happy to.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The world will be a better place if everyone is like this, once we have the ability to help those who are in need, we should not hesitate to help. Of course you'll be proud of yourself because you did it wholeheartedly without minding how much it will cost you.... that's sacrifice, and God will continue to reward you for your good deeds.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Amen. Thank you so much dear. Yes, once we have the ability to help someone we need to just do it. Time is precious and we won't know how important it is to them at that time if we don't act fast.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly.... but everyone don't understand this like this, I feel so pained when I see people who have more than enough and don't care about others , instead they find one execuse to give.. if we don't care who else will care?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The excuse that gets me angry the most is when they say no one helped them too and they struggled, so they want to watch other struggle too so they can be better 😂😂🤣. Very silly.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

like it's a very crazy mentality...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very annoying and dumb too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May God continue to safeguard and protect your beautiful heart sir.... As you continue to impact on the lives of otherrs postively, God would continue to make your affairs easier

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Amen. This means a lot. Thank you so much, dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That quote is very right because after when we are gone it is our deed that well stand for us

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's right...what we have done is what would stand the test of time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And another act of kindnesa from you. I know God will return to you all the favor and bless you more Ola!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Amen. Thank you my darling. I feel privileged to do it when I did.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

To fulfill the needs of needy people and giving to poor people are human features. We should give skills to the people instead of Charity. I am Quite happy to see you are doing your best in following your grandpa steps.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

There is hardly any skill you can give to a man in his 70s already so there is a place for charity and a place for skills. Grandpa? My dad you mean...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That kind of act is what we need to do for others. I love the kindness you showed to those old men bro. I know the Lord will bless you abundantly.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Amen. Thank you brother. Kindness can make the world go round and make things better for everyone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Giving us not giving until we have given someone who can not repay us. I can imagine how emotional the old man would have been. God bless you boss 🙏 you are a true angel

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you, brother. I knew it meant so much to him when he started crying. I was touched.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Give without expecting any return should be our thought when giving. Yes! it will make us happy when we make someone happy even in our simple act of kindness. I just also write an article related about giving.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Omg I felt like crying right now! This is absolutely and nonetheless beautiful 😍... what a mind of gold! If it weryto be some people they would have used the opportunity to behave anyhow because they were in a good position to do so. I have asked God to always give me the resources to impact people around me...give them reason to be alive and to be grateful for everything.

This is beautiful Lium! I appreciate you!

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Thank you so much darling. I am always of the opinion that there is nothing we have that we also haven't been given. It's great to be of help to people. I love living my life that way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Absolutely a beautiful thing to hear from you! I believe the spiritual aspect of giving is to pave way for us to create favour, likeness, and open doors.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with that too... I believe in the divine my dear. I don't joke with it too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's great thing!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

❣️💞😍🤗😉🥰😘❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😬😬😬😬😬 🤔🤔🤔🤔🤔 🙄😳😚🥰😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lmao!!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's right Jen. That's the way we should live. I would try and check out that post dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for checking it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No worries my friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're right Jen! Giving means a lot both in the physical and spiritual world if you understand hehe.... I will read your article asap! Let me get a grasp!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I like both worlds. Spot on, darling.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes we can give not just physically but in all aspects of life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's it. Giving isn't restricted to one thing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago