Generosity.

54 119
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

There is a wonderful man on Hive that asks us questions every week. You have to pick one out of the questions he asks and make a post about it. The question he asked this week is this:

Topic:

"Generosity is a wondrous thing and comes with great benefits for the giver and receiver. Has someone shown generosity towards you? Tell us who it came from, what form the generosity took, how it was delivered and what impact or effect it had upon you or your relationship with the giver." - Galenkp.

The moment I saw that I knew this is the question I would love to do justice to based on what I experienced on Steemit back then. I joined Steemit 2017, towards the end of November to be precise. I was still trying to make my way around the Blockchain then and I knew I have to be distinct and known for authenticity. Once you see me in the comment section of your post, just know I am making a lengthy comment based on what I read in your post. Most people taunt me about it telling me I have been known for long comments and posts.

While trying to read posts and know those I can get to know, I came across Jordan and Maddie. They are both dating and what makes their story interesting to me is, that they were both from the United States and they sold their properties so they can move to Mexico. The plan was for both to start a VLOG channel so they can show us the life in Mexico against all the things people say about Mexico being majorly on crimes and gangs. I must confess, I've never seen people as kind hearted as these two back then. They expected nothing, absolutely nothing in return as they took a keen interest in me.

I saw their post and I can't forget the last part of my lengthy comment I gave them that day which says; "It takes courage for you two to move into a new country and I admire that. You can make it anywhere because you are loved everywhere." I consistently gave my review on their videos on YouTube and also on the blog and they started noticing me. They knew I am from Nigeria and they were surprised with all they hear about Nigeria, someone can still devote 10 minutes or more to watch their YouTube videos. For those who want to check them out, the name of the channel is "Tangerine Travels."

Maddie and Jordan with Laska.

We started conversing and we moved to Discord; an app. That was where he asked me how I make my posts because they are always very long and what inspires me to write. I answered him and also told him I always make use of my phone to type and he was shocked. He asked how can someone make use of his phone to type accurately and so well with all details and quality. He said to reply to people through text message is a burden to him how much more making a post on it. I told him that most Nigerians make posts on their phones.

This is the picture of the laptop and the bag I can lay my hands on.

I noticed he went silent for some minutes and wasn't replying to me anymore. After a few minutes, he sent me a link to his blog and after I clicked it, it was a post asking people to support that post so they can give me the money to go and buy a laptop. I was speechless. I've not even known Jordan and Maddie for 4 months and Jordan already started a fundraiser to get me a laptop? I was blown away.

I noticed a lot of people started supporting the post and one man, in particular, sent me 25 SBD, I can never forget and his name is Eric Vance Walton and the memo says: "For your laptop." I was struggling to hold back the tears and that's the power of generosity. I finally got the laptop after that post paid out with the one I got from Eric Vance Walton. I was able to buy a laptop, a modem, a mouse and the bag for the laptop. I told as many people about it back then and that was how I became a bit known on the Blockchain.

The laptop and my modem.

They were not done with me yet. Jordan reached out to me and told me if I would love to be making articles for another big shot on Steemit back then; DonkeyPong. He had another account where he wanted the post to be made so he can gather enough money for the SMT project he wanted to invest in. The name of the account then was "CommunityCoin". I started sending articles to him and soon after he gave me control of the account through Jordan and he would visit my posts on my blog with huge support as compensation for the work I was doing.

Eric Vance Walton and his wife.

It's funny because since 2018 till date, I am still friends with all of them. Eric Vance Walton still visits my posts on Hive while I chat once in a while with Jordan and Maddie because they have gotten so busy. The sad part of it is that they are no longer together as a couple but Jordan kept the channel while Maddie opened a new channel called: "MaddieGold".

Why am I saying all of these? If you want to wonder why I am the way I am, willing to help and give to others, it is because I've been helped when I didn't even expect it. To whom much has been given, more is expected, not for him to keep to himself alone but to disperse so that others can be blessed by the fragrance of his goodness. If we help others just as we have been helped, the world would surely be better.

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks. I am love's chemical content in human form and that's why  I advise people to take a dose of "Olawalium" daily. 🙈

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

27
$ 4.82
$ 3.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Samantha-Smith
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
+ 21
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

What a special post :-) The wheel turns and goodness continues to be spread. You were truly blessed Olawalium and it sounds like you blessed them too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much. Indeed, being a blessing should go both ways. I deeply appreciate this. 🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm, I was moved with this article, sometimes i do ask, do people like this still exist? Sure they do, but they are rare . But I'll say that you too is generous with my little experience with you . The truth remains that a generous heart will never lack , and there's this kind of joy one will have within when they help others .

Again, you'll always remember them no matter what , just like you did now, they are part of your success story in one way or the other. Above all, your hard work speak for you.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you so much, Mary. Your kind words humbled me. God bless your heart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen sir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its good to encounter those people who's generous enough to help us even if we don't ask help from them. The two couple are so kind to generate a fundraising for you, sad to say that they don't last but they've done good deeds as a couple. For the person who helped you buy your laptop, I admire his kindness towards you, he saw some potential for you to become succesful that's why he gave help. I know you became a professional blogger now and I'm happy for it.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

I am happy too. My heart always pray for them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How could the world have been if the whole world (rich or poor) can also show kindness and help to people who are not up to their level from the little they have? Am sure you can never forget what they've done to you, this moment will always be with you forever and will inspire you also to lift and support anyone in your vicinity either online or in the other world, just as you have been doing. I admire their generosity act, and I pray they live happily forever

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much. Yes, their kindness touched me a lot and I can never forget it. It was at the time I needed it the most too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, indeed they are generouse Ola! One thing I have learned sometimes we can get the help to people we don't expect.

On the other side you deserve it! Or such a nice guy😉

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much, my friend. I feel so honoured with their help. It helped me a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a wonderful and worth to share for story, generosity gives the kind vibes to help others in any circumstances.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow.. I'm really speechless right now... This is beautiful, generosity is a beautiful thing which we must engage in to help others move forward. Thanks to everyone that made your journey is life most beautiful.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

A massive thanks to God and to them. I would forever look upon that moment and be grateful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your gratuity goes a long way as it also inspires.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely, Balikis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That kind of kindness doesn't come by everyday. What happened between them? They divorced?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, it doesn't come every day and I am glad I keep getting from different people every day too. One wanted a child and the other isn't sure she wanted. It's painful but it's understandable if they can't come to an agreement.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being generous is a making unconditional love. It's really nice to know that there are number of people who show goodness to one another. Hope that everyone is the same☺️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I really hope so too. I feel blessed with their help.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Been generous is the best in life. You have been helped greatly and indeed need to support people one way or the other. Being generous can make you be known and can make people have a second thought about you.

When you are generous, your family would reap from the seed of your generosity. Just long comments with meaningful words have you what you deserve.

Don't forget, bro .... charity begins at home... It's nice one...bro...

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Well said, brother and thank you so much. Deeply appreciated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. That is such a wonderful and inspiring story of generosity, Ola. The couples move to help you is such a sincere one that allows other people to help and reach out to you. It is just sad that the two didn't end up together forever.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, it's sad they are not together but I am glad they are still my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A big applause to those people who help unconditionally. That's the real love reveal.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely... That's what love is about.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow that’s a big generosity. Ohh you’re still in contact with couples you meant in steemit back from 2017 till date ohh no that’s a great generosity.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I am still in touch with them. I always enjoy keeping touch with my friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The generosity of that couple really is amazing. Although they didn't knew you for so long, but to be able to raise a fund for you to buy a laptop is commendable.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely commendable and I would always be grateful for that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. That's some serious next level kindness

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely. Deep one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wow, that is really inspiring, there are still a lot of people who are generous.. Sad to hear that they are not together but still I'm sure they were both happy 💚💚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's the most important thing; being happy and I am happy for the kind of people they are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, we should be grateful for the people who helped us..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely, we should.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I make use of my phone and I'm actually faster with it that using a system.

I don't have a laptop yet but it's one of my goals for the years. Congrats on yours

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, that was a long time ago and don't worry, you will get yours soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This story of yours was really inspiring, it's awesome how one could actually create bonds through a comment section, they were really generous people. This happens on rare occasions, I could also call it "grace" and yes, you're right. We should be generous to others, especially when someone was generous to us.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Absolutely, Ella. I appreciate that grace too and we have to go on to show it to others too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This reminds me of how the fish pond started two years ago and good things won't stop coming to you as long as you have the heart to bless others.

I can feel the emotions attached to purchasing that laptop, you deserve more sir.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much, brother. Deeply appreciated. More to come for us, by God's Grace.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Jordan and wife never saw you once, just because you were constantly making lengthy comments under their post via your cellphone, they decided to raise funds for you so that you could get a PC, this people were really nice, I love their kindliness and generosity!
My greatest desire in life is that God should bless me more, i really want to raise others up. I want to be well known as "a helping Hand".

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Of course, you can be that. God sees your heart and He would lift you up to be that and more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This was quite interesting to read. I can't remember having such unexpected favour especially from a stranger. That is not to say I have not been a beneficiary of people's benevolence, I have, and I am very grateful to these people

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Expect more now and help others from that too. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I begin to share my experiences on how some set of people have been generous to me this comment section will turn into a three minute read article, but is not about me, this couple really did something great for ya, with them being very busy but still made out time to make a fundraiser for you to get a laptop, that's someone that really cares about humans

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahahaha. Try and make a post about yours. I would love to read. They were really amazing and I am grateful for them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will one of this days

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's great.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The hardest part of those people who do good is that they are not doing it because they have all what they need for life. Now, imagine the situation of divorce that came up among them, yet, it doesn't change who they are. It is good that you are replicating what is good and doing good as well. Though, they are not together anymore but the good that they did for you was a collective one.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, being good is being good. They are still the same amazing and awesome people. I am happy to call them friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago