Dependable.

16 69
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Topic:

Are you a person others can depend upon or are you dependent upon others? Explain your answer and how either affects your life.

My strength was built from the things I went through. Life passed through me many times which made it easier for me to relate to what most people are going through and offer a hand. A lot of people would never offer you their hands or even speak with you because they have been used to a lot of people who took that for granted. They dragged them to filth all because they wanted a voice to listen to them. I've come to understand that most people don't need money, they just need someone to listen to them and guide them through that phase.

While growing up, I depended a lot on my dad for everything. I mean everything...even delivering love letters, cards and gifts to my neighbour; girlfriend which everyone knew at that time. I depended on her brothers too to be the bearer of those letters. Life took an unexpected turn and I lost my dad. I saw things differently, I saw things from another angle. Of course, there were more testimonies of the people he helped who couldn't accept that he was dead while we also have a few family members who heard all these testimonies and felt he should have helped them even more too if he hadn't been so much of help to "outsiders".

The testimonies weighed heavily on my mind and they made me want to be there for others. That's why my mantra has always been: "I would rather live a day and touch many lives than live for a hundred years and not be remembered by anyone."

I am someone people can depend on. I always have an opinion to give when asked, I always want to be there to answer people's questions and give them clarity...I want to show support in various ways that others need. This is how I've lived my life since 2006 and I wouldn't have it any other way.

A friend of mine sent me a message many years ago (I tried looking for the screenshot through Google photos but couldn't because I know I screenshot it that year) and said "If I was asked to call someone quickly and the person would answer me, you are my go-to guy". What she said touched me because that's how I want to be remembered...someone that can be depended on... someone you can run to...someone who can be there for you while giving you that relief.

This lifestyle changed my life a lot because it made me want to be at my best behaviour always. It positively affects my life because it makes me extra sensitive. I see what others can't see...focus on the tiny details and it pushes me to be a better person too. On the downside, it means I don't have a lot of people who I can depend on because I am most people's go-to and very few people ask me how I am doing. It hurts a little but when I think about the good and the positive influence I have on others, it makes it easier to bear.

Most people know they can always depend on me but not many people put themselves out there for me. I've been used to that life because I've seen how even extended family members acted so very little things surprise me these days. I take things in stride and focus on what I can do for others and whatever good comes along the way, I am open to it.

I had a lady friend that I was there for when she was going through a terrible break-up and helped nurse her back to health. I was even there when she found a new one and spoke at length with her. When the relationship was steady, she cut me off 😂🤣😂 and didn't even tell me about the wedding. I listened to a message around that time when I was thinking if I must have done anything wrong and the message was clear to me that doctors don't hold on to patients when they are whole...you let them go on with their lives and that was how I didn't hold anything against her anymore and we still speak once in a while.

So, yes... I am the guy that can be depended on and this helps me to always want to be at my best. That's why I am happy most of the time because I don't want to ever take out my foul mood against anyone that needs my help.

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks. I am love's chemical content in human form and that's why  I advise people to take a dose of "Olawalium" daily. 🙈

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

17
$ 1.12
$ 0.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.05 from @TheGuy
+ 9
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Comments

Short version I'm fully depended on my parents and siblings. Being The youngest, I asked them for everything.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's not a bad thing. A time will come others would depend on you too. Build your capacity to handle it as time goes on too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That correct and I agree to you . One day my time will come

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Absolutely. 🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I too have been dependable in my few years on earth but one thing has happened frequently which is people taking me for granted. I won't lie to you, it made me wall myself and mind my business and retracted my availability for some time. Thankfully, I'm back out evolved and better, ready to do my bit regardless of whether it is appreciated or not, so long as I'm sure it is the right thing and not forced

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I know that feeling. The thing about those who help is they would be taken for granted. I am used to that so I follow my mind rather than emotions. Once I follow my mind, I don't care if I was taken for granted. I've done my bit...we move.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If I'm going to answer it, maybe I can be both, for now I am dependent with my family since this is my first time raising a baby and I badly need help. Sooner or later I can be independent, just me and my husband

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Of course, when it comes to raising a baby, you need all the help and support you can get. It's a stage or process that no one should go through alone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy belated birthday to you sir. May God continue to bless you as you continue to put smiles on people's faces 🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Amen. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i wish there would have been someone, whom i can lean on well, its hard to get a person whom you can depend on

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's really hard but not impossible...until we find that person or those people, we won't stop helping others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can see that. It shows in you but it hurts when a lot of people depend on you and you don't depend on anyone or you depend on just a few people. At the same time, I'm happy about what you're known for. It's beautiful 😊. Anyway, please let me depend on you ooh. I need #1, 000 000 before next week and I depend on only you 😅. Please help me out😅

$ 0.03
1 year ago

1 Million Naira pere? Don't worry... Say no more...send your Aza 🤣🤣😂😂🤣.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can say that iam both, dependant and others are also dependant on me, like dependant financially because iam still a teenager so still studying that's why iam dependant on my dad once I will get a job then I will be independent, other people are dependant on me in a sense when they need help or when they need someone to listen to them iam available for them 24 hours but it hurt to see when I need someone there is no one lol

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I understand you... I was like that too... dependent on my dad then...and I am a good listener too... Too bad we don't get the support we give to others...we have to keep doing it regardless.

$ 0.00
1 year ago