Dear Dad.

78 151
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Dear Dad,

It has been so long since I wrote to you and I have no excuse to give regarding that. You have taught me never to give an excuse but rather take responsibility for my actions. I am sorry I haven't written to you in a long while and that doesn't mean I have forgotten about you but I must admit, I allowed life to get in the way of things for me. Don't blame me, life forced responsibilities on me at such a tender age when you left...still not an excuse...don't giggle, dad... At least I have to explain, right? Hahaha.

It's been so long since you left and a lot has changed since my last letter to you. Oh, yes, I believe I told you that your wife also passed on 3 years after you left. I guess she couldn't take being without you and her heart gave way. It doesn't mean we are less to her it only means she would rather want to be where you are because without you, her life makes no sense and that's understandable. She didn't understand life either because you were the one who made sense out of life to her. What is life without you beside her?

Your immediate younger brother passed on too and I thought I was strong but I caved in that time too. I heard the news but I didn't know how to feel. I didn't shed a single tear but when I travelled and I beheld his body in the casket, without invitation, those tears started flowing but I tried, I tried to make them stop but with every attempt, I failed.

I was alarmed at how quickly people move on when someone is dead and no, I am not blaming them because I think they have just come to terms to accept the things they can't control but it still didn't make sense to me. Minutes after everyone shared stories about his life and tears failed to stop, the next minute when people heard music, they started dancing and I was lost for words. I stood in a corner watching my cousins dance around as the poll bearers were dancing with the casket, but I didn't understand anything anymore at that instant. I was jolted back to life with a soft elbow to enquire why I was distant but I told them I am fine but why would anyone ask me why especially at that moment? I still don't understand.

My elder brother got married and I was his best man. Oh! We looked so dashing that day so much that I was confused for the groom... Apparently, because we still have that likeness with our faces but now it's more obvious that we are different because he has tripled in size but don't worry, I haven't added, not even in the stomach department but I have more muscles now and I haven't even registered for the gym yet.

It took him a while to have a child of his and I prayed to God to help him and God did. After 6 years, we finally welcomed his bundle of joy and I am a proud Uncle. I got married before his bundle of joy came and despite being happy that day, I still couldn't help but cry. Many people would have confused my tears for that of joy because I was getting married but I had two thoughts in my head that day. The first was I didn't have you and mum there to witness what you would have felt so proud to see and the second, I was thankful to God for how He led me to that point because events that happened before then, I knew it was only God that helped me.

I still love plantain and would give anything just to eat it and my brother had reduced on his love for bread. His wife is keeping him on a strict diet and I like that. He is taking more fruits now which is good. I've always been a fruit person too and I still love my smoothies.

Oh well... Nigeria is still as you left it and maybe I would say it's more terrible than your time. During your time, the government were hiding their dubious acts and wouldn't boldly come out to own up to their crimes but now, they own up to it, make us know they did it and tell us to our faces that there is nothing we can do about it.

Your former company still didn't reach out to us in the ways we were expecting. You were the second in command when you were alive and I thought that should amount to something but no, when the huge sum you laboured to receive before your passing came, your partner said they used the majority of the money then $90,000 to offset debts and the only amount left after settling every debt according to him was $540. He invited my brother and I to the meeting and told us this. We listened like the obedient children you knew and when we were leaving, he gave us $4 as transport fare.

Sadly, he also passed away and well, he couldn't go with his houses, cars and all and most of the staff members, I heard from our driver, cursed him even while they were burying him. I tried to reach out to the new director 3 years after or so when I heard he asked after me (he was the same one who worked under you and grew up through the ranks to be the new director). I was happy, hoping he would be of help when he asked me if I was still into farming since your company then was about helping farmers. No help came from him but that was when God stepped in and helped me in other ways.

I don't want my letter to you to be only about how disappointing those you trusted the most were, I just want you to know that I miss you but don't worry, I am doing fine because God took it up from where you left off. He helped you then and after you left, He continued by helping me.

Don't bother showing my letter to mum because I would be writing to her shortly. I hope to write to you about some other good news in my next letter and I will try not to allow years to pass by as it did with this one.

I love you,

Still your Olawale.

Thank you for your time.

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

29
$ 11.99
$ 11.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 21
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

What a great way to keep Dad (and Mum) in your memory. Maybe those who were dancing dealt with it differently. Maybe they were celebrating the life of your Uncle :D

Sad that Nigeria has changed but not for the better. That powers that be are blatant about what's hurting the people.

I am sure your parents are very proud of you.

DreemPort

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm this got me so emotional, like I began imagining how you were feeling while writing this 😩 it would be kinda hurtful

Your dad sure did taught you well, he's done what he could. You just have to live life to the fullest and make him proud.

I hope he gets your letter, nice one Got here through @dreemport

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much, dear. Absolutely... I was quite emotional writing it and I hope to do way better than he did.

Thank you so much for this. It means a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I cried, to be honest, reading this hit home because I lost my dad in 2018 and it was hard.

I hope you know he is watching and he is proud.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awww... I am so sorry I brought those feelings back for you. Losing a parent is always hard. Please stay strong too and yes, he is watching. Thank you so much, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It truly is hard but we would be fine.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely...we would be.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is beautiful and touching. Thank you for sharing some intimate moments between you and your father. the love and respect is palpable.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much. This means a lot to me. I deeply appreciate this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This letter is so heart touching. You have been through thick and thin sir. People can be so heartless despite all your Dad laboured for.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's the world we live in where most people are controlled by greed and they forget basic human decency.

Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have a way of touching our hearts whenever you wrote. This one is just plain emotional. I hope you find good things waiting ahead despite all things disappointing. I am sure your parents are proud at how strong and dignified you've become as a person.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much. I always appreciate your kind words. You are an amazing person and I am glad we met. 🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks for these beautiful words, Ola. 🤗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are beautiful. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg, stop! 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha. I will try but I doubt I would. It's true, you are really amazing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will accept the compliment then. Thabk you so much! You re amazing too. 🤗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yaaaay. Keep smiling...keep dazzling. Thank you, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was so emotional after reading this letter. I think your dad would be always so proud of you. It like I was in this letter, I felt it. Even my dad is still here I will not waste anytime not giving him attention. This is such a lovely piece.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much. Yes, give him all the attention he needs, please.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Apparently, because we still have that likeness with our faces but now it's more obvious that we are different because he has tripled in size but don't worry, I haven't added, not even in the stomach department but I have more muscles now and I haven't even registered for the gym yet."

Haha . I laughed here 🤣🤣 you are too bad to your brother. About his company. I guess they just conned you. Anyway, what matters is the present. Your dad must be so proud of what you have achieved. At least you have a decent life with a happy family.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahahaha I always tease him about his tummy and that's why his wife made sure he feeds more on healthy meals.

Thank you so much, Janey. Absolutely, they conned us and now even that man is dead. He left it all behind, such a shame.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What just $4? People are just so wicked and heartless. I'm sure your Dad is proud of the man you turn out to be.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, my brother. We couldn't cry that day. We left and never looked back. Thanks a lot, brother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sending hugs for you and your brother . Im sure your dad are very proud of you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hugs well received. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your welcome 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😊😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope you didn't cry Writing this KP because I felt like crying. Tears wanted to drop but I didn't allow it. So emotional Hmm, when people die, those who will forget will forget just like your company. Where is the man now? Dead and his houses and cars couldn't follow him to heaven.

No matter what we do in life, let's always remember that all are in vanity. Let's render help as much as we can now.

I am so glad and proud of you now. A father to Dara and many more to come 😁😁 Don't worry. Your days will be long by God's grace. I believe Dad would read this letter too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much, dear. I was quite emotional when I was writing this but I just wrote that of mum now and yes, I cried... I did. That's more emotional for me even.

Amen. Thank you so much dear. I sincerely appreciate you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am literally crying over this. You really missed you dad so much! I hope he is so proud of you right now, and what you became. ☺️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much Miss Jo. God bless your heart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are most welcome Ola. God bless you too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen and you too... 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I find myself whining while reading this🥺, your indeed a daddy's boy a lot of your loved once have come to passed im sorry to hear that sir!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much, my friend. God understands better and I am glad I have my family and also my two amazing brothers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Virtual hug for you brother. Your love and respect for your father melts my heart. He will be proud of you. You are a good son.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

He did a great job and I thank God for him. Thank you so much. 🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

your father will be very proud of you, what you've become right now

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much. I believe he would be too. I am honoured.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are now memories. Pls take heart...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's right. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for sharing this with us. I literally cried my eyes out. Made me reminded again to show your love to your parents while they are with us. You are a brave soul ~Manju

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much, my friend. Indeed, we need to show love to our parents while we still have them because that's all that counts and matters.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm speechless. Like you went through all this crises and turned out fine. God is wonderful. This should serve as an eyeopener to those who let their background tie their backs to the ground.

" Chaii!!!... Bros, na man you be."

I appreciate you sharing this story to the world. I'm sure your dad will be proud to have a wonderful son here. I've learned and unlearned. Gracias, muchacho.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much, brother. I guess that's life's way of forcing us to grow sometimes and what a journey it was. I am glad I am finally here...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are just where you deserve to be. And I believe you will achieve more. After all, we grow as we go. I stay blessed

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely... We grow as we go through life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some relationships in the world are unique. The father-child relationship is one of them. After reading this emotional letter of yours, I also remembered many old memories today. This is the beginning, I will say, good luck to all the fathers of the world.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much. Absolutely, good luck to all the fathers in the world... I am glad I got to know him for the length of years I did.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Am I going to cry on my wedding day? I began to think about this as I read the part where you mentioned crying on yours. Dad left when I was 14, mom left 6 years after and I've had to do things on my own and grew strong to the point of not needing anyone anymore; I became basically without emotions. Will I cry on my wedding day? I sincerely hope not.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow... It's hard to know until that day comes. I was acting all macho when I got to the hall and suddenly I looked back and it was my brother seating behind me with another elderly woman in the family. The reality just dawned and I caved.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I almost shed tears while reading this cos a lot was going through my mind. It was as if it's me and I can imagine the challenges you encountered, I am glad and happy that you are strong now. Na man u be my brother, your dad is definitely proud of you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much, brother. I am glad I can look back on them now and thank God for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I suddenly miss my father..when he was still alive he keep on asking me to get marry as he also wanted to see me getting married, but I'm single that time, so it was impossible. He waited for his grandchild from me but he didn't wait that much as he didn't see me having a baby..i miss him very much..😔

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am so sorry my friend. I am sure he is proud of all you've accomplished so far and he would be smiling. Stay strong my dear. God is for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are both happy seeing you're okay, mate. For sure they are all proud of you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much. I believe so too. 🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This got me really emotional. If you have never lost someone very close to you, you will never know what such people pass through. It still beats me why burial is celebrated like a wedding ceremony.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much. Exactly... I still cannot understand it...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I felt like crying at some point in reading this post. But we are glad you acted like the obedient children brought up by your father.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much, brother. It hurts not having him around but I can't complain.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice write up for your dad... it's been a while you've seen him,try to bring back those good memories when you were together and you would feel that fatherly love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that's all I have left, memories of him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wait both mom and dad are with Christ already 😳 Awww I don't want my mom to go soon o because I still have a lot to show her and meanwhile she haven't collect my wedding items in fact she will still pray for my shop when I finally get it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, both are gone. Amen o... God will keep her and make her enjoy her labour over you in Jesus name. Amen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the prayers bae

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I felt sad and having a tears while reading this friend.🥺 I felt what you feel. I don't know I couldn't explain my emotions with this. I know that your father is always there guiding you. I know he is really proud of you on what you are now friend.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much, my friend. Your kind words means a lot to me. 🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're always welcome my friend. God bless you friend.🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤗🤗🤗 you too, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much my friend.❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anytime.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you friend.❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It can never be easy to forget someone close that you lost, especially the one that saw you crawling, walking and standing. So sorry for the loss.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago