Bending Is Okay, Breaking Is Not.

37 138
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

I read the story of a wonderful man on Hive, Galenkp and while he was explaining the story of how he sometimes found himself in a dark place, he stated that he always manage to bring himself out of it because he got to understand that there is nothing like perfection. That's right. I gave my comment on it too and we exchanged another comment after that.

He is indeed a wise man and you would always want to learn from someone like that with every opportunity that you have. A lot of people strive for perfection and the moment they fall short, they beat themselves up for it rather than appreciate the progress they have made so far. When we focus too much on perfection, we rob ourselves of the beauty that can come out of the steps we have taken.

I have always wanted everything to be perfect and the more I strive for it the more frustrated I get because nothing can be perfect. Even the cloud has some darkness and no matter how scorching the sun might be, you will still find yourself seeing some dark patches. Life is a blend of both the good and the bad and you cannot accept the good and not sign up for the bad. It happens and that's what is called life.

Most people ask me how come I am always cheerful. Some have questioned me if I even get angry or feel down. I just laugh because you don't want to see me at my worst. I get angry, I lash out, I get moody, I feel pain and also get worried. I keep to myself sometimes and sometimes I chase people away, deliberately or not deliberately. It all depends on what I am dealing with at the moment.

I got to know that I have to be my own audience... I have to be my own cheerleader... I have to be the one that would drag myself out of whatever hole I found myself. Others may try to help me but no help would get anywhere if I didn't give my consent and work towards it. I got to know that nothing can ever be perfect and as Mr Galenkp said, I have to focus on the progress being made daily rather than the things that aren't working out.

Bending is okay but breaking is not and that's what I was able to take away from his comment. It's okay to bend but breaking is optional depending on how we approach it. Most of the time, as humans, we react to situations rather than respond to them and that sets the tone for how things pan out. I am guilty of that too as with so many others as well. A speed bump has been designed to stop you temporarily and not permanently, so it's okay to have some not so good moments because it makes us appreciate the good moments better. Maybe we meet a few bad people in life too so that when we meet the good ones we can learn to appreciate them.

He also mentioned something interesting which if everyone looked at it so well, we would understand life better and stop focusing on what's not working rather than the things we have going that is working. Light creates shadow and that same light chases that shadow away. This brings a lot into perspective because it means we have to find our own light and as we keep seeking, we can chase away the darkness.

There is light at the end of the tunnel and it's not from the on-rushing train but with the intensity, we can use to seek out the light. The truth is, we won't always be at our best and we won't always get the situation to be perfect. You won't find a perfect person either but you can choose to see an imperfect person perfectly. It is all about how we see things; our mentality and our approach to things.

We need to prepare our minds for eventualities that would come and never allow them to define us. A lot of people see me as this happy and cheerful person but you only need to sit down and listen to the things I've been through. I know others have had it worse, I understand that some are still struggling to find their own life but it's just a bend, it's not the end (See what I did there? Hahahaha).

The end of a chapter is not the end of the book. One bad chapter is okay, as long as there are other chapters you can modify to your taste to have that thing you desire. It's okay not to be okay. Nothing is perfect, so stop beating yourself up by thinking you are doing worse than others. Don't give up and keep seeking your light since this is just a bend, you don't have to break.

We always have a choice to make regarding the things that come to us. Some situations would happen without much influence from us but there are also others we can influence, let's focus on that. We need the wisdom to accept the things we cannot change and it starts with having a positive outlook on things while building ourselves up mentally. Life will always happen, things would never be perfect but we can choose to see it as a bend and not an end nor a breaking point. If you can look up, you can get up, so don't be afraid to ask for help but you also need to help yourself above all else.

Thank you for your time.

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

22
$ 6.69
$ 5.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Fexonice1
+ 18
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

Indeed, we have to be flexible and adapt to what's happening to us. Focusing on bad thoughts and disappointments with oneself can be depressing so we must also think of the good things we've done. :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you for this, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People want to be able to turn into their own success, maybe there will be many obstacles, but you have to keep trying. We need to understand the purpose of our life in a very important way, first we have to understand ourselves and then we have to understand ourselves before making any decision, then we can find the right thing even if it is too late .I really like your posts. I try to understand the posts carefully. Thank you very much. I like your structure very much.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I am glad you enjoyed it, it means a lot. You are right, we need to understand ourselves first and then we can understand our purpose which would help us to keep holding on in the face of challenges.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Focusing on our own perfection it doesn't make sense yes that's true Olasquare I agree with. Because when ever you fall short thats the time you think you biggest mistakes you've done . Your not making a progress to yourself but you strangulate your own freedom. Thanks for this wonderful content Ive realize that too much perfectionist is not good...thanks to you my friend Olasquare..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Another brilliant one...indeed we think we are not making progress forgetting we frustrated the effort with wrong focus.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, Olasquare..thus we didn't make progress if we tend to be more perfectionistz just forget it and focus onto the things that can makes you happy with any frustrating your self. Thansk alot.. Olasquare

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot once again. Spot on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lessons often come to unexpected people... when we see someone who has a higher level in the economic scheme, we certainly judge that they already have everything but in fact there is still something they are chasing to achieve it. It's just a scene outside that is often judged by people, but what about a broken heart. This is learning content that is very real and happens in life but often we are not able to describe it in words. I must give high appreciation. really great

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am really glad you enjoyed it. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This message is very timely and relevant at least to me because I feel like I have been through so much and I am on the verge of giving up but thanks for the reminder that I could be a bamboo that bends, sways and dance and never breaks.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's spot on... The Bamboo. This is perfect. Thanks a lot, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's very true. Reminds me of a tree or branch in the wind, noatter how strong the wind is, it would only succeed in swaying it here and there but never breaks it off. And when the storm is over,the pnt would still be standing tall and continue its unlimited growth.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Another brilliant example and I love that. Thanks a lot dear. Deeply appreciated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed uncle. Just focus on what we have that is working. Who knows? We might be able to make it perfect.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly Janeeyyyy. ❣️❣️❣️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree to this one. Life is not rainbows and sunshine, we also need to face our rainy and stormy days. If there is darkness there is always comes the light. We just need to go with life ride the rollercoaster where there's ups and down. We just need to deal with it and face it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Deal with it and face it. I love those phrases used. We just have to find a way to deal with it and face it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We're humans, we're all have our own flaws, we made mistakes, we are imperfect. But that doesn't hinder us to be achieve a better individual and improve ourselves in the present and in the near future. If you think you're tired of something you always love to do, it's okay to rest, but don't give it up.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Rest a little and then move on... Love that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life isn't perfect and predictable, we shouldn't let this break us but we should blend and bend along with it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Bend along with it hahaha. Love that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What doesn't kill you make you stronger. We sometimes have to break something before we can fix it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha I love this... Break before fixing... Classy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha thank you friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😊😊😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life is not perfect. It will never be perfect. I agree to you friend. Life will be at lightness but there are some darkness too. We are all aware with that things. It's life. We must go through ups and downs.

Bending is a must but never breaks it. You should go for it to be widen but don't ruin what you've started. Let's continue and always have a positive outlook in life. Have a nice day friend.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's all about the mentality and how we see it, so true. Thanks, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes my friend. You're always welcome.❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤗🤗🤗❣️👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always enjoy your article and so much to learn from it, while reading, this Chinese phrase came to my head,"yin and yan" in every good there is a little bad, and in every bad, there is a good.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I've learnt Chinese today hahaha. Thanks, brother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It just depends on how we choose to see things. We can decide to see an imperfect thing perfectly, it help us see the positive side of things. No one is even perfect.

Alot of things happen that bend us, but we have the right to choose not to let it break us but see positivity.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Things will always happen to break and bend us and how we respond to it matters a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hats off for such a splendid content. Truly enjoyable. I must say that the title is absolutely perfect. Pie on cake.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am glad you enjoyed it. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago