My experience as a fresher

11 47
Avatar for Okeh
Written by
2 years ago

Happy Sunday to everyone, I hope I met you all well and good. I really appreciate the words of encouragement that everyone put on my last post and I'm glad to say that I have resolved the issue even though it wasn't that easy. Today, I'll be taking you through my journey as a fresher in the university. A lot of people especially Nigerians would agree with me that the fresher's life is always as funny as it may seem and I'll try to make this also as interesting as it can be.

Sponsors of Okeh
empty
empty
empty

I was admitted to this great university, the university of Ibadan popularly known as the "first and the best". Well, we have a lot of arguments about this quote because of the system in the university but I guess other universities also have their flaws and I feel the work load in the university of Ibadan really makes it the first and best. As soon as I got admitted into this university, my friends and family members started telling me stories they should have told me before I got my Jamb form, I must tell you that I was terrified with the way they painted this school as a very strict and difficult school to attend, my first fear was becoming a fresher from the senior I was in my secondary school, that alone was enough to kill my morale but as soon as I resumed, I noticed that no one really cared about what level you are because we even have people in 100 level that are older in age compared to some people that are finalists, probably they are on their second degree or got admitted into the university later than they expected.

The word "fresher" almost became an offensive one to me because of the way people made it seem, I was indeed a fresher but I wasn't new in UI, my primary and secondary education was in the premises of the university and I was sure to know the in and out of this university even more than some finalists but no one cared. The fresher blood could still be spotted in me by any stallite and I wondered why. well, not until I became a stallite and I noticed this new intakes and they way they generally behave, it was kind of obvious that they were new into the system.

I had a very funny experience in my 100l, there's this thing that stallites do, I'll call it a tradition, they call it 'CTY'. It stands for Catch Them Young, it's a term used to explain how old students approach new students to guide them through the system and maybe the dos and don'ts of the system. My First day in school when I was looking for how to pay my fees, this guy approached me and asked my why I was looking lost, I explained to him how I was confused on where to pay my fees, he explained that I could pay online and he could be of help if I wanted but I was obviously not dumb enough to give him my money to pay for any reason, I rejected his offer and I could see the pain in his face as he directed me to the Cyber cafe where I made my payments, he collected my number too and explained that he was a 400l student in my faculty, I asked for his name and he gave me his full name and I noted it down immediately because I had my reasons. As expected, he messaged me on WhatsApp at night and started making his moves, the first turn off was that I can't even be with someone that's almost done with school as he claimed, not even minding the fact that he looked way older than me. I immediately remembered his name and reached for my sister's laptop to check the newly released "book of life", this is a PDF that has the CGPA of all the students of the university. I searched for his name hurriedly and the corresponding CGPA, his name was below the list of his department which either means he was asked to withdraw from the faculty or the university, I asked my sister what withdrawal meant and she said he was out of the university because his CGPA was below 1.0, I was utterly disappointed and blocked his number immediately. He gave a few phone calls and I asked him never to call me again.

I have a lot to write about my experiences, maybe I'd continue this as a series. Watch out for the next "The life of a fresher".

Thanks for reading ❀️

5
$ 0.07
$ 0.05 from @Abhay
$ 0.01 from @Tife.
$ 0.01 from @Preshdan
Avatar for Okeh
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Nice write up, That just remind me, hope your school wasn't affected by ASUU strike

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The composition is good. It portrays you as a smart guy. I like the way you treated his fuck up. Nice of you. Expect the second phase of the story. Keep it up. Thanks greatly for sharing this with us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also hated being called a fresher πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If not that you were smart too, he would have duped you. Many freshers have fallen victims.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually πŸ˜‚

I just made a post about my experience in the University of Ibadan you can check it out

https://read.cash/@Preshdan/my-first-year-in-the-university-first-semester-3c12370e

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OK..let me see

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ he doesn't know book and he is toasting a girl.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lmao πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He actually wanted to scam you with your school fees shaaa. Life of a fresher is actually interesting though, or should I say boring πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. I don't know jare. But I prefer my second year on campus πŸ’―

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is actually both... I'm happy I wasn't a mumu to fall for that trap🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago