My First year in the University : First Semester

19 99

My first year in the University of Ibadan was full of events. There were lots of ups and downs and I'd love to share my experience with you, starting with the first semester.

I school at the University of Ibadan and I study Food Technology. I was happy when I gained admission because finally, I get to go to a University but Food Technology wasn't my dream course, then later I realized I could still switch to my desired course (Computer Science), if I had a very good CGPA in my first year 😊. So I was prepared to study hard.

We were supposed to resume in 2020 but due to the COVID 19 outbreak we resumed in February 2021, we started with virtual classes via Zoom and Google Meet where I got to meet some of my course mate and I also made new friends from other faculties and departments.

We continued with the virtual classes till April when we were required to resume physically. Most of our lectures were still virtual while some where physical depending on how many students were offering the course ( they were trying to take some COVID-19 precautions).

In the same month (April), I resumed into the hostel which is within the school premises, I had a roommate who was very nice and caring ; he was studying Electrical and Electronics Engineering. There were other kinds of people in my hostel (different religion and beliefs), there were times where people would fight but at the end of the day,they resolve . I guess that's just the normal hostel life 😂

Despite having a nice roommate, I don't really spend much time with him. I spend more time with James and Steven who were both roommates and also course mates. We do almost everything together; we cook together,we take care of any one of us who is sick and we also look after one another financially. I always enjoyed their company 😊

Sponsors of Preshdan
empty
empty
empty

I engage in sporting activities especially football. There were lots of football tournaments within the school but I participated in few because there were better players than me 😂. There were also lots of social activities like hall gyrations, bonfire, fresher's welcome and so on (I attended almost everything)

I also stroll around the school in the evenings. Sometimes I visit some of my female course mates and friends at the female hostel.

Things went on and on and before I knew it, our test started and to my greatest surprise I failed most of the courses, I began to ask myself; 'I used to be really smart in high school, what's happening? ', It was then it dawned on me that the system is very different from the way it was in high school. Shortly after the test, we started exams, leaving me with little time to prepare. The results came out and it wasn't so good as well 😭😭.

I ended the first semester with a poor GPA 😓 and I concluded within me that I was carried away with too much sport and social activities but it didn't end there I was ready to fight back and do better in the second semester 😂😂. There was even more drama in the second semester 😂. Do you want to know what happened in the second semester??

Subscribe and stay tuned for the next part. Bye for now 👏.

11
$ 4.62
$ 3.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @ewyr
$ 0.10 from @Abhay
+ 8
Sponsors of Preshdan
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I can relate well on this, it's not an easy run if you ask me... It deserves time and dedication

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Honestly

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yea

Thanks for the upvote

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truly truly, alot of people don't prepare well in their 100 level days, they get carried away by School social life and activities.. that's why they end up having a very low CGPA but it's well ..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm in unilag and this is my 4th year, hope the strike won't affect you guys ? Sincerely first semester is usually though, just do your best and have friends also Nice to meet you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow......cool...omoo this strike go choke

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I must use this opportunity to say welcome to read.cash, I observed you're a new user. I look forward to more of your articles!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would really like to know what happened in the following semester, I followed you up already, so I will be waiting..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My first in high school was easier than I thought but the second year shocked me. It wasn't funny. Welcome to read.cash Preshdan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

are you still planning to shift course? maybe you should prioritize study more or manage your time effectively. God luck!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Watch out for the second part to know what later happened.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome to read.cash. Your content is fresh and fun. I look forward to reading more from the following semesters.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much. I won't disappoint

$ 0.00
2 years ago

welcome to read cash family mate. Listening to this university of yours, I remembered some things about my university life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes there are some experiences similar to most university students.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome to readcash preshdan, your writing is really funny as a new student and I can't wait for the next article

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha 😂😂..... Thanks a lot

$ 0.00
2 years ago