Umaya Japanese Restaurant

43 61
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Google Maps can be very helpful when looking for recommended places to dine in. I have been using it in the past especially during our travels but not lately since I am most of the time at home.

But on Saturday, we were out to Tagbilaran City for Matti's chickenpox vaccination. That was his first shot, he will have his second dose by December, that's three months after.

Read related article:The Needle Bothered Him Anyway

Check out these generous writers too:
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty

James, my husband asked me to check for any interesting restaurant where we could have lunch. I resorted to my old friend Google Maps for this. I thought I must look for a place which we had never been to before and somewhere interesting so I can write an article about it.

It didn't take a few minutes before I decided we eat Japanese cuisine instead. I found Umaya Japanese Restaurant and its location is just nearby where we were at that time - Liteport!

Liteport is a very familiar place as there's a favorite restaurant which we always dine in when we are in the city. I believe I have not shared it here yet but it's The Buzzz Cafe of Bee Farm Bohol. Umaya is just on the other side and can easily be found upon entry to the establishment. We found a parking space just in front of the restaurant which was a perfect spot!

Umaya Japanese Restaurant

"Umaya", according to some online resources means stable and nihongomaster.com confirmed this with additional meanings like roof, house, shop, dealer, seller.

There's a thermometer outside as well as a contact tracer form that I filled up. My husband asked if we could bring a toddler and they nodded and I could see through the mask that the staff smiled. They also greet all customers upon entry with some Japanese greeting which I didn't understand but I know they were kind of welcoming the guests. As guests also go out of the restaurant, they'd make another greeting, I was expecting a "Sayonara" but no, it was a different one.

Going inside, I already smelled the sweet aroma of the diffuser that was placed in the corner. There are bamboo plants too at the entrance. The interiors look very Japanese with the staff wearing their Yukata or Kimono, I can't distinguish though but they were wearing traditional Japanese garments. I also noticed they have hung some of these costumes too next to our table and I realized after checking their social media page that they allow guests to wear them too but of course, due to the pandemic, it isn't a good idea to wear one, it could have been a great opportunity because when we went to Tokyo last 2019, I had it in our to-do list to rent a Yukata for remembrance but because of some circumstances, we were not able to do that. But, maybe in the future, we will surely make sure we can have a family picture wearing traditional Japanese Yukata.

Japanese restaurants are always like this, small and tight, they make every small space useful, it reminded me of our Airbnb in Tokyo, the room was just enough for us but it was also equipped with spaces that were turned into storage. The shower was small too but very efficient. And when we dined at Ichiran Ramen in Shibuya, our individual space was just enough for us to move a bit and this was the case as well with Umaya. I must say, it is not very good for energetic and active toddlers.

Matti asked for milk while we were waiting for our orders and it was very hard to cradle him while sitting in their narrow chair or bench. I had to position myself at a weird angle just so I won't squeeze my baby between the table and the bench. It was a very uncomfortable experience!

Food and Pricing

I went straight to order a Shoyu Ramen, California Maki, Tori Karaage, Tonkatsu, Chicken Katsu, and Gyoza. This would be good for the five of us, we also ordered a matcha shake for James while the rest of us ordered just soda in a can.

I made a mistake with yesterday's article when I said I compared it with Tonkotsu Ramen while I ordered Shoyu instead. I apologize for that.

The pricing was understandable, although I know we could have paid for a smaller bill in another restaurant, I want my mother to also experience dining at a Japanese restaurant. In the future, I want to also bring my father along. We paid Php 1900+ for the entire meal.

They also have complimentary tea that can be served either hot or cold and we requested it cold because we have Matti and he might be pulling things from the table, we don't want to have accidents.

Overall

According to my mother, the taste is just okay, nothing exceptional. Also the ramen, she said it just look like normal noodles like that in instant packs to which I laughed. She loved the Gyoza though and I agree, it was good. None of our companions tried the California Maki, so it was just my husband and me. Matti ate some noodles too and since we brought some banana bread for him, that's what he ate for lunch together with some servings of the ramen and the rice from the maki.

Overall experience was okay and satisfactory at Umaya Japanese Restaurant. The staff were accommodating and are fast in attending to our requests. The serving time was also not that long, the ramen was served steaming hot and we were trying our best to move it away from Matti, good thing no accident happened except for my eye bag which was hit by Matti with the chopsticks.

One of the staff also asked to take photos of us to be posted on their social media page. At home on Sunday, I checked their page and we indeed have been featured.

photo from Umaya Japanese Restaurant's Facebook page video promotion

xoxo,

mommy jean of momentswithmatti

Love harder than any pain you've ever felt.

16
$ 5.64
$ 5.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @LykeLyca
+ 8
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

I haven't gone to a Japanese restaurant in years. There's only one left here in our city. heheh.. The pandemic got the few others. Anyways, ansarap tingnan sa mga photos mo. hehehe.

One thing I miss after I switched to my new Huawei phone is the Google Assistant!!! wala pang voice assistant ang Huawei. :(

$ 0.01
2 years ago

wala ba ang huawei? sayang naman...

actually, i guess this is the only japanese restau here in tagbilaran.. i will verify that!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Banned si huawei sa Google playstore. Hehehe. But I think Petal search is making progress.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uu nga pala... baka mag update din yan at gumanda

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It seems a nice place, even though, your mom said the food wasn't exceptional. I like Japanese food. And I love California Maki.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yes california maki is a favorite of mine too...it was my colleagues who introduced me to the world of Japanese cuisine..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At this rate,I can't wait to go to japan to experience this myself. Those foods in are so so attractive. I'm craving for that soup.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's good to try new places at times, either you'd be surprised, bleh or just okay hehe. That Ramen though sis! Suddenly craved for some soup, lol!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

i bet soups are always present sa inyu since cold ang temperature jan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not always sis, although it could be better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not always sis, although it could be better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It looks like a nice place to dine in with the family. If there is a chance, I would love to visit it with my immediate family. Thanks for sharing the information.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yes, i recommend it although if you have little ones, it might be too small for your whole family. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree. I need to consider that idea.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakss!! Libre mo'ko Ma'am.. Hehe.. Mukhang worth it naman yung price nang pagkain diyan. Mukhang masasarap naman din. Hayys.. Sana makakain din ako sa ganyang restaurant. Syempre with my parents and MGD. Hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

uu kurot ka sa bch mo sis..para maka date kau with the parents and bf

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha.. Pag-iipunan ko na lang din talaga yan sis.. :) :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sarap naman sis, I love ramenn! Pinipilahan ang Ichiran sa Japan sis ha, mukhang noodles kasi si hubby, kaya one time nung napunta sila doon they never missed the chance, syempre may nabili syang parang instant ramen from Ichiran un ang pasalubong nya sakin para kunwari matikman ko din, 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yes pila to the max. mahabang pila din kami noong pumunta kami dun.. sayang di kami bumili ng instant..hehe pero sobrang sarap...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga daw sis, syempre habang kumakain sya noon nkatingin lang ako via video call, galing mang inggit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako lang ba? Hindi pa nakakain sa mga restaurant restaurant. Hehehe. Puro fast food lang. Mukhang ang sarap jan mii puhon unta makatrybsad ko ana hehe hello bb matmat 😍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hehe try panagsa kanang maka earn ka ug pila ka dollars bch kurot kurot gamay date mo ni bf..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That food looks delicious even though you say it's just mediocre haha amd Matti is such a cutie

$ 0.01
2 years ago

it does look good dear...thanks..matti says hi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A very captivating article. You've just advertised the restaurant. I'm sure people would like to visit there after reading this

$ 0.01
2 years ago

oh thanks for your kind words... i will share the link to the restaurant's page

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang sarap ng foods ma'am. ❤️ Yung ramen at gyoza na missed ko tuloy. 🥰 Maganda ba sa Tokyo ma'am?😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

maganda sa tokyo sis... mahal nga lang accommodations.. pero worth it lang naman..soon ibablog ko ung experience namin and how much ung budget namin ni hubby.. pero marami pa akong pending travel blogs..heheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow cge sis.. Gusto ko din makapunta ng Tokyo.. how is wish! 🙏 parang Korean lang din siya sis?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kalami bah oi! tinood jud na, go out but always stay safe. Naay jap resto dire pero sad kay nag close na sila during pandemic, murag affected jud sila.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

daghan jd affected.. sayang kau noh.. lamian kos maki jd samot ug naay wasabi..pero pagkaon namo ddto last saturday, wala ko kakaon wasabi kay naa ako anak..hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Google map is very helpful jud sis. Same last Thursday, pagtake nako ug exam, wala man mi katuod sa venue. Aw palaban mi ni Pareng google map.hihi.

I tried Japanese restaurant. Tokomoto man guru tu ang name. The experience was good though wala ko kaila sa name sa mga food.hihi Dili pud ko kamao mugamit ug chopsticks sis, so ako nalang gihimong remembrance ang chopsticks.haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Japanese restaurant. Tokomoto man guru tu ang name. The experience was good though wala ko kaila sa name sa mga food.hihi Dili pud ko kamao mugamit ug chopsticks sis, so ako nalang gihimong remembrance ang chopsticks.haha

hahaha di sad ko kabalo before but thanks sa akong mga colleagues before nga sige ug kaon using chopsticks sa office nakat on ra jd tawn ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never tried dining into a Japanese restau but I have tried eating sushi and I do not like the taste HAHA. But this one's a good thing coz I am also curious as to how they taste like for those other cuisines. Hope you could review more and more restau too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

his one's a good thing coz I am also curious as to how they taste like for those other cuisines. Hope you could review more and more restau too.

really? i like sushi tho but its expensive so i settle with maki..hehheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have never been to this restaurant before or seen it, I hope to go here one day.Your article was so interesting that I wanted to go again and again. I was fascinated to see every picture there.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thanks a lot dear! appreciate it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was reading zehra article about the curry japanese edition today and now yours mommy jen it also japanese food hmm. I missed tasting again japanese food. Tonkotsu ramen is my favorite really as what u said, u made mistake rather than shoyu.. It really caught my attention the Tonkotsu🥰 hehehe . God bless po sa family nyo mommy jen💕✨

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thanks dear.. yes what we had in Shinjuku was tonkotsu while we had shoyu in umaya.. hope you can eat Japanese cuisine again soon!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never been on a Japanese restaurant and I hope someday I can go there Haha. Though I also want to experience going to new restaurant but this pandemic is a really huge block about it. Lol The price is quite pricy for me Haha but key narin minsan lang naman diba

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yes once in awhile lang basta make sure to follow the protocol pag anjan mga ibang tao..thanks for reading!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nauwa ako sa uniform ng mga crew hehe. Ang cute!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hehe cute nga sis.. sayang di namin natry isuot ung mga nandun.. maybe next time pag wala ng covid

$ 0.00
2 years ago