The Needle Bothered Him Anyway

13 28
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Without an alarm set, I knew that my husband and I won't be up before six. Our Saturday is scheduled for Matti's chickenpox vaccination at Tagbilaran City. Since I rested late last night, I wasn't surprised when I saw the clock's hand pointing at 6:30 AM. On my mind, I recognized the pediatrician comes at 10 AM so that's still a good time to get ready. Tagbilaran City is just two hours away from Guindulman though.

I got up, showered and then everything followed. I was even able to make banana bread for Matti's snacks. I have to bring him fruits too just in case he would be asking which he usually does like banana and orange.


Check out my generous sponsor's writeups too!
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty

By eight, we were on the road, filled in the tank, and went on our way. My mother was with us so I was saved from holding Matti the entire trip, he dislike sitting on the car seat although we had trained him to sit there since he was tiny. I know it is dangerous, don't follow us!

Papa helping out with weighing Matti

At 10 AM, we were already at ACE Hospital's elevator to the third floor where Dr. Valdez's clinic is located. It's funny because, in June, we went there too for the same vaccination only to be rejected because this should be given one month after the MMR vaccine and we visited a month before his first birthday.

Thankfully, we were the only patient at the clinic! On our first checkup, Matti was still three months old and we had a good waiting outside the clinic because there were so many patients ahead of us.

Dr. Valdez checked Matti's baby book and verified that it's a month already from the MMR vaccine. She checked Matti's breathing and also his head circumference. Matti was not comfortable with the tape measure around his head and he was about to cry.

I calmed him but when the doctor was preparing the syringe, he was staring at her. As if he understood what was it for, he just started sobbing and then began crying as the pediatrician came closer. He knew right there and then that something was up. The assistant also held his hand, the injection was fast and a cute plaster was placed there. I had to comfort him and played his favorite video on the phone, this was the first time that he watched a video play on the phone, and it's an exemption because he was perplexed.

The song video didn't get to finish because he was already fine and we headed out of the clinic after paying. It was a quick one and we were done! Vaccines are not cheap! It cost us Php 2700.

And we headed to Builderware as my husband needed to buy some materials. His top priority's a lavatory faucet for our comfortroom and for the main house. He spent a good one hour inside the store while Matti and I stayed inside the car as babies aren't allowed in stores. He promised he will be back after 30 minutes but as expected, it was more than an hour!

It was 11:30 AM and I was hungry already. My mother met up with my niece in a mall nearby who went for some errands so we had to go find a restaurant ahead. I found Umaya, a Japanese restaurant in Liteport. We are already familiar with Liteport as we used to eat here at The Buzz Cafe, they allow toddlers inside.

The restaurant looks clean, it smells great too thanks to the air purifier that was at the entrance. They have sections of tables covered with Japanese cloths for privacy although it is not huge enough to cover the table, it was enough to set a boundary and that's what we need especially in this time of the pandemic.

The food was good, I like the Maki and the serving was generous especially the Tonkotsu Ramen. I don't get to eat Japanese cuisine often but I won't forget how rich and creamy the soup was in Ichiran Ramen's Tonkotsu Ramen. We had a taste of it when we were in Shinjuku and I lavished on it, leaving nothing on the bowl, not even a single noodle!

I won't say that this one from Umaya is comparable because it didn't look the same and the taste was not similar to that as well, not even close.

But Matti ate the noodles and had a few bites of the Gyoza. My mother who won't eat with chopsticks requested for spoon and fork. The restaurant has Japanese traditional kimono available to those who want to wear them but it was not a healthy idea to try it on right now, maybe in the future instead. Our total bill was Php 1900+.

We finished eating past one in the afternoon and headed to Island City Mall. But we pulled over at Zykiela Mom and Baby store to buy some lactating coffees, however, they ran out of stocks, I instead bought Matti items like a baby wash, toothbrush, some creams for bites, and a malunggay supplement. Surprise, surprise, I paid Php 1093 for these items!

Then at the mall, I proceeded to the groceries while James looked after Matti and my mother went to buy some items at Watsons. She looked after Matti when she was done and James went in to pay for what I bought. I only bought a few items, not even filling up all two baskets but it was all worth Php 4,200+ which was shocking! Oh well!

Since the husband wants to go find a new phone, I asked him if he could get us to a snack bar nearby where Matti is allowed and he drove us there but we found out that it had closed down already so we went back to the mall's parking area and bought snacks inside instead.

I bought some milk tea for me, an oreo cheesecake for my niece, some fruit teas for my mother, and Jonalyn who was with my niece. Then we also got some fries from Potato Corner and a dozen doughnuts and 40 pieces of assorted munchkins. All in all, I spent 1200+ on all that we bought.

James called me and said he bought a new phone, I congratulated him. His old phone, a Samsung Note FE was bought years ago, we had no reason to buy a new one until Matti dropped it a lot of times causing a lot of web cracks in the sides and it had significantly affected the performance of the device thus, a new one but we hope Matti won't get a hold of the new one though.

We went on our way to drop my niece and her companion, Matti, my mother, and I all slept during the travel. We reached home by six in the evening. Boy, we spent a lot today, my husband was okay with it as it will take three months before we'd go back to Tagbilaran City. We have no reasons to go there except if it's Matti's vaccination schedule and his next one will be in three months, the second dose for the chickenpox vaccine.

Thanks for reading! How was your day?


xoxo,

mommy jean of momentswithmatti

Love harder than any pain you've ever felt.

9
$ 7.02
$ 6.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 6
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

Ehhhh, ang strong naman ng baby Matti na yan ee, cutie cutie UwU.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahal naman sis. Wala bang libreng bakuna sa brgy. nyo?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe wla po sa brgy neto sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ako maalam sa math pero prang malaki pag nitotal lahat ng gastos niyo. Well, enjoy it, ganyan naman talaga purpose ng money, para gastusin, kung oara naman sa mahahalagang bagay, why not?

I am curious what ohone your husband bought? I am planning to buy ine na din, at natingin lang ako sa internet ng magandang models. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Brave matti.. Ingat lage

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thanks sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well done pa rin, Matti :D Salamat sa video haha! Sa totoo lang wala pa akong naapreciate na Japanese resto or food dito. D pa ak nakapunta ng Japan pero sana soon para ma try talaga an authentic Japanese food. Dito sinasabi na authentic pero bakit di ko maapreciate haha! Congrats sa phone ng husband mo :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sto or food dito. D pa ak nakapunta ng Japan pero sana soon para ma try talaga an authentic Japanese food. Dito sinasabi na authentic pero bakit di ko maapreciate haha! Congrats sa phone ng husband mo :D

true sir.. ganun din ako.. masarap ang tonkotsu ramen..pero mali pala ung nasabi ko dito..shoyu pala ung naorder namin...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a day well-spent and the expenses too :D But well worth it as you said. And things nowadays seem to be costing much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How nice that you spent the whole day doing the things you needed to do, the vaccination, the new cell phone, eating and sharing with your mom and niece. In three months you will be back again for your baby's next check-up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same sila ng baby ko sis. Ayaw sa injection at tape sa ulo.hihi. The next time nga ningbalik mi sa iyang pedia, pagkakita pa lang niya sa doctor wa na arang hilak na niya. Gusto na niya mugawas sa clinic.😅 Arang mahala sa vaccine no? Same pud sa flu vaccine, libo pud kapin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mommy namiss ko na ang milk tea! 😁 Hayyst yang vaccine, ako any naiiyak pag tuturukan. Tia is smart she knows what's going on like Matti. And we had a hard time yung next appointment because she knows and remember the pain ayaw nya na sa centre. Ayaw ng pumasok.

You had a fun day Mommy. Congrats sa new phone ni hubby! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow the vaccine cost you more expensive than the food itself for all of you. I'm surprised at that. But it was a family day out too and very nice from the pictures you showed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago