Trying Out dCrops

9 45
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Someone from Hive named tpkidkai wrote about dCrops and I was all eyes into the article. I have been playing an NFT game called MyDefiPet and I had shared that with you all the past few weeks, in fact, as of this writing, I already had published quite a few articles about my experience with the game.

Read related articles:

However, I decided to try out dCrops after knowing that this is running in the Hive blockchain. I know Splinterlands is also in the Hive blockchain, I tried studying that game too but I failed as the interface looks very overwhelming for a new player like me.

Upon checking out the website for dCrops, I saw it as very easy to navigate, it was like chikhen with that farmhouse and blue skies in it which felt homey, it was like Farmville and so I checked it out.

The only cons for me though as per tpkidkai is that there's no whitepaper for this game so it is risky you know but since the investment is very minimal plus I already have some Hive tokens available on my account, I gave it a try.

What Is dCrops?

Built on the HIVE blockchain, dCrops is a cryptocollectible game where you are put in the shoes of a farmer. You have complete control of your farm where you can grow various crops.

A farming simulator game built on the Hive blockchain!

I am trying out the game while writing this article so the information here is all first-hand impressions.

Login with Hive Keychain.

Hive is an innovative and forward-looking decentralized blockchain and ecosystem, designed to scale with widespread adoption of the currency and platforms in mind. By combining the lightning-fast processing times and fee-less transactions, Hive is positioned to become one of the leading Web3 blockchains used by people around the world.

If you have no hive account yet, then you will need to sign up first. Interested right now? Signup with hive here!

I realized I have no Hive Keychain extension on my browser so I installed this first. It was quite fast and easy though. The link to the extension is provided on the login page as well.

I tried logging in directly after the installation of the keychain extension but then I got this message stating that although my extension has been installed, I

haven't set up my wallet! Facepalm! So I went and did that too!

After signing in with my username and password, all of my wallet information had displayed here in the extension. This is very smooth by the way and I like it!

I also have the options to send funds here, I never realized that there's such thing as this in Hive!

I am glad that I had ventured into this game, if not, I won't have any idea that this extension exists and I don't have to log in to peaked or hive website just to check my account balance or send my funds.

Alright, so I am done with this so I went back to logging into dCrops.

Note that I added my posting key to the extension to allow the login process.

Interface after Login:

There are only a few items on this page, there are the quests, the season timer, packs, dashboard, farm, inventory, and items. I wanted to buy some packs so I decided to add some hive into the game. According to the referrer, it is better to use leodex in this option, which has fewer fees so I did. It was smooth as I already have the key extension. I was surprised to find 89.8 Leo tokens! How did I manage to get those? I have no idea! But it's good!

Buying Farmland and Seed

I found myself navigating the game. I plan to buy some land and seeds so I can get started. I read that it is better to buy a pack but I found that it has been sold out already and that I will have to wait for the next sale, sad!

Anyway, I figured there's already a marketplace. This game was launched a few months ago, I guess 6 months ago.

I bought average farmland at a dollar and so, then I also purchased a carrot seed, a radish but I couldn't seem to locate them when I wanted to plant. I figured out after joining the discord channel that the seeds that I purchased were not in season and although the radish was right in the Winter season, I bought one which is still under a cooldown.

So I went and bought another radish seed without the cooldown logo this time. But then again, a problem:

This seed requires 7 days before harvest and the current season which is winter ends in 6 days.

As per the article, I had read:

If in case that you planted a seed that has an overlapping period with seasons you will not be able to harvest it anymore.

Planting this means I won't be able to harvest this so there's no reason to plant this.

I checked the quest list and it only shows for planting radish and onion. The marketplace shows very expensive seeds and I don't want to spend much on that. So in short, I won't be able to plant anything right now. I just bought a few more seeds which are of 1-2 hive in value and will wait for the next season which is spring.

Here is the list of seeds that I had purchased so far:

Alright, so I guess that's it, I will update you next week once I start planting and doing the quests. I am excited but I will have to wait for a few days more.

Opps... Planted Peas

I found there's a Filipino chat channel in discord so I asked them about the concern, someone helped me out and advised me to plant peas instead so this is my first seed planted for this season, it will be harvested in 4 days' time. Unfortunately, planting this won't allow me to complete a quest.

I was actually looking forward to a Farmville or mydefipet kind of environment but no, this is still very simple.

First Impressions...

So far, I like that it is very easy to understand. As for the interface, again, I was expecting that this is closer to my Farmville experience but it doesn't have that feeling right now, maybe in the future, the developers will improve the UI. As for the earning, I still don't have a clear understanding of them yet. As soon as I start planting, I will get into these details.


xoxo,

momentswithmatti

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

Noise | Hive | Steemit | YouTube IG Twitter

7
$ 2.35
$ 2.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
+ 1
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

di talaga ako mahilig sa ganitong games madam

buti masami kang time para ma explore eto

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Galing, dami mo talaga natatry na games ng hubby mo. Sipag!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also in hive but I only write. I don't play because I don't have time but to write.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The game looks calm and enjoyable I hope I can try that too hehehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar EJ
2 years ago

I'm familiar with this game ma'am. It's quite interesting ma'am. I will share it to my partner since he is really fond with the games.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looking forward to your next post that will contain more information on this nft game. I'm interested in the earning aspect of the game.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haaay the setbacks for me to try these games are the wallets, transferring funds from one to another and to another is hard.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My son likes such games very much. I also play a little when I have time. Tell me a little details about this game. I will play too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow another game. You have a lot of time mommy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago