Breastfeeding Momma Problem: Oh Hello There Painful Clogged Duct!

19 43
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Last night was painful! I mean, after almost two years of breastfeeding, I had experienced again a clogged duct!

Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty

I guess the reason was that back when we were traveling from Oslob to Cebu City, while Matti was just latching on me almost the entire trip, he had bitten my right bobbie, and don't ask if it hurts because it did.

Matti does not bite me when he is awake, it only happens when he is already deep asleep and he suddenly forgets he still has the nipple in his mouth. Usually, I try to take the nipple out but there are also many times that he just lets it go.

But the unfortunate thing happened last night as I mentioned, I never thought that clogged ducts will happen again because it's been a long time since I had experienced it. The last time was actually when Matti was still a newborn. It was the worst part of breastfeeding I guess or just one of them.

So those who can't relate and are planning to breastfeed, don't worry about it and don't be scared of breastfeeding, it is still a beautiful and sacrificial thing to do for your child.

It's just that, I just need to share this with you all. So a clogged duct happens when something blocks the passage of breastmilk from the duct to the nipple. Usually, a skin layer blocks it.

As Matti started latching last night on my right, I noticed that he has been stopping every now and then and would also hit my tummy with his hands. He is a twiddler too so he twiddles with the other one while latching.

He was able to sleep through but I noticed that my right breast is getting engorged while Matti was latching. This doesn't happen especially since I have my period and breastmilk supply normally decreases during this time of the month.

And so I tried massaging my right breast and noticed the lumps, there were many! I was a little worried that it might be a clogged duct. I just let it slip away and tried sleeping but the pain was increasing and the breast was already hard. I let Matti latch on to it again and again but the engorgement didn't go away.

By one in the morning, I couldn't anymore contain the pain, I was almost having a fever and I remember the first few days of breastfeeding. I thought Matti would be able to take the clogging out by latching but he didn't so I had to make a way or else it might get worse. The worst part of this is if it becomes mastitis and requires surgery and of course, I don't want that to happen.

I had to wake up my husband and ask if he remembers where we placed our needles in the house. Thankfully, he was able to find it. I sterilized it and while it was being sterilized, I placed my bobbie in front of the cup with hot water so its steam gets to my bobbie to make the skin easier to prick.

Before I had to use a Haakaa, it was a silicone milk catcher, and add hot water to it, hot enough that I can submerge my nipple in it. But today, steam was enough. After a minute, I can see clearly now which area was clogged as it shows some white spots.

With the sterilized needle, I prick not just one but two areas in my nipple, some blood came out but it wasn't that painful. I then started hand expressing and yes, I got a lot of milk out. I wasn't able to save it in a clean cup though but it was a great relief being able to get the milk out. I didn't empty my breast, I let Matti latch again and I can see how he was busy gulping all those milk.

Thankfully, I was able to sleep and I said goodbye to the clogged duct.

If you are a breastfeeding mother, have you experienced this? Let me know how you cleared the clogged duct.


Thanks for reading! Check out my previous article:


xoxo,

momentswithmatti

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

Noise | Hive | Steemit | YouTube IG Twitter

7
$ 7.01
$ 6.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jerrysavage00
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
+ 5
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

Sakit jud na momshie, Hala same Sila sa akong baby, mamaak ug mkahinanok na ug tulog, 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe makalimot guro na naa pay totoy sa baba nya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maingun jud momsh, pirmi gud ko Ka samad sakit kaayo.hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahhaha lage.. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di talaga ako maka relate madams. Saka ayaw ko mag anak. Feeling ko gugulong ako kakatawa kapag magpadede ako ng baby Maligawgaw ata un hahaha. Nasasagi lang nga ng shirt kapag walang bra ee, uncomfortable ako aguyy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahhaa nung nagka baby ako di ko na kilala ang bra hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happens to me the past few weeks and the other day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

never ko lage na na experience mamsh but thankfully kay naagapan dayun...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mau momsh..sakit kau uy murag kahilantanon jd ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

unsa man mogahi imo breast or naa mag tibug ol sa sulod ?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uu mogahi sya kay ang milk nagtapok wala makagawas... Naay tibugol kay ang milk

$ 0.00
2 years ago

aguy kasakit siguro ana...naka experience ko kanang mag gutok kay gigutom daw ang bata pero nag biyahe ko ato..grabe kasakit samot na siguro nang engun ana

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kasakit siguro ana...naka experience ko kanang mag gutok kay gigutom daw ang bata pero nag biyahe ko ato..grabe kasakit

uu same ra ana momsh pero kana lang na case pwede nimo ihand express daun.. pero kato akoa dili sya ma hand express unless makuha tong nagbara na skin.. kana bitaw nasamad ang totoy then naayo naay nisapaw na skin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahhh hasula pud diay ana noh?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

uu hehe kun di lang jd sakit di ra nako tagdon pero sakit jd uy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh maygaaaahd ang tagaaaal naaaa. Baka ito maging problem ko kapag iwwean ko na si lil b.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na experience mo din ba momsh? Baka nga mangyari din pag mag wean si matti

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nung newborn palang siyaaa. Hala nakakaloka kala ko kapag nawala nasya or nasanay na magpadede di na magkakaganern

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun nga din ang expectation ko momsh hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago