Story of my Childhood days : When I was a kid challenge

32 88
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

My childhood days are colorful, exciting, mixture of both good and bad experiences. The memories are still vivid in my mind. If I were to write them all, a 10 minute article would not be enough. So let me just share 10 interesting things when I was still a kid - my childhood days fell on the Batang 90's. But first let me share to you a picture of mine when I was still 5 years old.

1o Facts about Me

  • I love to play.  I played a lot of Pinoy games, “Chinese Garter”, Tumbang Preso, Bahay-bahayan, Capturing, “Pog(who can relate with Coca-cola pogs?)”, Tagu-taguan, Luksong Tinik and many more.

  • I always went to our neighbor to watch TV. That time, there only few who have a television, there are some with Black and White TV. I was always looking forward for the day that we were going to watch TV to out neighbor and watch Power Rangers with Kimberly, Trinny, Jason, Jack, Ayayay and I don't remember the other one. There were times that I am beaten by my Mama or Papa because I watched TVs when they ask me to do an errand.

  • I'm a tree climber. My mom was a fruit harvester, she climbed Marang trees, Rambutan, Lanzones and many more. So looking at her, I know I can do that too. So everytime my Mama and Papa were away, I also climb the trees around us, the Guava , Mango, Lanzones, Rambutan, Durian, Calamansi, Santol, ,Marang. If the tree has a big stem then I would use the branch instead so that I can climb that tree.

    Photo from Pixabay
  • I'm a story maker. I like to make my own stories and even talking to myself while I was walking for an errand or when I was fetching water from the well. I actually walk for almost 10 minutes for doing those because our house was really far from the stores and source of water. Our house was the only house in a 5 hectare land, that house and land is not owned by us, we were just caretakers.

  • I thought that I always put my brother's life in danger. My brother was really "makulit" when we were still young, he plays so much and he was able to experience accidents that we were together. He was bitten in the face by a dog because I told him to feed our dog, instead of me. He has a broken leg because we played together in our neighbors house and he climb in the window and our friend, closed it and one of his foot was pinched in the window. And the last one, his eyes was stoned by my classmate and it was irritated and he was brought to the hospital. In all of his accidents there was me there.

  • I started selling and working. So being a seller was my practice since I was young. I climbed Guyabano trees and sell it to the fruitstand. I and my brother also collected empty bottles and sell it. I'm used of working. I worked with my father at times, as he was doing rubber tapping, I will be the one to put the solution for the rubber latex to be harden and every weekend or two weeks, he will sell it. We were happy if the rubber price was high, we have a good income. at 7 years old, I am the one looking after my brother everytime my parents are away.

Rubber tree from Pixabay
  • I am an eater of "Pudding". I don't know exactly what the term for that kind of bread, we called it "pan de bug-at" because this bread is heavy because it is made out of old bread. I could still remember that me and my brother would really save money or when we sell something, we immediately buy "pudding" . When I see a post of Becoming A Filipino in Facebook about it, it reminds me of those days.

    Screenshot of Becoming Filipino post
  • I experienced catfights. I experienced catfights twice with my classmates. I can't remember exactly the reason of such catfights but I ended up, losing the fight. lol.

  • I learn how to swim in the river. We usually wash our clothes in the river, we walk 10-15 minutes in going to the river and then I helped my Mom wash our clothes, while she was still putting detergent and handwashing the clothes, I will have my swimming lessons (I have my friends who knows how) who were showing me how. After many practice sessions, I finally knows how to swim.

  • I am an achiever. I started grade 1 at the age of 6, I am the youngest in the class, then I manage to graduate as 1st honors in grades 6. I was very thankful to the Lord that even we don't have financial luxury, I was able to to make my parents proud.

So those are the some fun and serious facts about me. I hope you can relate with this article.

This article is part of the Getting To Know You More Challenge: When I Was A Kid of @bmjc98 . I enjoyed reading some other entries too.


LINKS

If you have a passion in writing you are very much welcome in read.cash

👉https://read.cash/r/MizLhaine

And if you want shorter messages, see you in Noise

👉https://noise.cash/u/MizLhaine

16
$ 13.27
$ 12.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.60 from @bmjc98
$ 0.10 from @LykeLyca
+ 7
Sponsors of MizLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

Comments

We call that bread here as bahog bahog. I so love that bread, especially with coffee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pan burikat tawag nyan sa amin.hehe

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ay grabe naman ang name na yan. hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

naalala ko yung pag akyat sa puno, nung nasa taas na ako hindi ako makababa...haha kung hindi ginawa ng tita ko tinawag yung father ko kinuha nya ko sa taas.... iyak na ko nun at nanginginig katawan ko pero laughtrip pag naaalala ko...haha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahahaha. buti nalang di naisipan tumalon. umulit ka pa ba sa pag akyat?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hindi na po...😂 natakot na umulit.. hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really enjoyed reading your article dear, it feels like I am young again. Most of your experience, I experienced it too. I was totally grinning when you've mentioned the "Power Rangers" I was really an avid fan of "Power Rangers" before. I knew the important characters that you forgot. They were Jason (Red), Kimberly (Pink), Trinny (Yellow), Zack (Black), Billy (Blue), and Tommy (Green). There was also Zordon in a big aquarium. I can still remember the theme song, "Go, Go, Power Rangers...." I am really inspired to share my childhood experience here. I am so excited about making an article about this topic.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow, you remember the names and the collor. I always claim to be Kimberly. hahahaha. Go go for that article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha paborito ko din yung puding noon ateee. Kaya lang jahhaa natatakot ako lumaki ulo ko kaya tumigil ako kakain niyan. sabi kasi nila nakakalaki daw ng ulo 😅😂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha, bakit naman daw nakakalaki ng ulo? bihira nlng din ako makakita ng ganyan now. Bumibili ako sa kilalang bakery din.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ewan ko sa kanila ate HAHAH. Makadako jud daw og ulo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my gosh!! You don't have to do that to yourself, the blame isn't meant for you. And your brother is just a little boy and accident happens most tomes unplanned.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks for that. I am my brother actually laugh about our experiences before and the guilt is no longer experienced now, it is part of our childhood.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tree climbing? You must be the Female Tarzan 🤣. Do you have more male friends than female while growing up? Maybe that's why you were so tough

$ 0.03
2 years ago

My mom is also a tree climber so I am imitating her. I have both male and female friends. I can still remember climbing a lanzones tree and my brother is on lookout if mama is coming. but I don't know now if I can still manage to climb a tree.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are so beautiful when you were young. So cute picture 😘 Many things we have done when we were very young. Hope you didn't get to injure yourself climbing trees? I can't imagine myself doing such 🙈🙈

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks for the appreciation. Yes, we have so many things done when we are young. Thankfully, I have no injury on climbing trees.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Look at you. You were a very cute lil girl hehe.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahahaha. ito ang pinaka gusto ko na picture nong bata ako. na scan ko talaga sya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Luoya sa imong brother napaakan og dog oy. Si Kulas! Nikaon og classic nga pan. Hehe. Lami bitaw na oy.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

ako three times ko napaakan og dog. Yeah si Kulas, naa baya na sya sa Davao Or. karon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now that you have grow, I guess you don't any regret of growing up as a kid with all you av done... aleast you had fun from them all

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, there's no regrets, because through our experiences we learned.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate sa chinese garter, ang galing ko nyan hahah! ako rin nung bata napapa away, usahay makurat nlng akong mama guba na pud akong bag kay mao mn akong gamiton pang bunal 😂😂😂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

ahahaha, hangtod high school ko gadula kog chinese garter. napa away pud diay ka. mga away bata gyud.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Childhood Era is innocent age. We always think and love positive. And being we were baby no one Criticize us. Everyone shows love to us. Yeah!you have 10 best features.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks for that. I agree, childhood is innocent, not careful, thinking things as play. I love my childhood days.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're so cute Mizlhaine....🥰🥰 I'm eating also a pudding. It tasted so good but it depends also to the one who make..

God bless you Mizlhaine...🙏❤️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks for that. We are the same, now that I am older na, I am looking for a trusted bakery before eating such. pero noon ang pudding na kinakain namin ay yong nakalagay na sa celophane na 5pesos ang halaga, yong denideliver ng motorcyle.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel bad that you are like blaming yourself for what happens with your brother. Please do not blame yourself if you are blaming yourself, I mean, your brother is a Kid back then, especially he's a super 'kulit' kid, I think it is normal for accidents to happen

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks for this. Yes, I actually realize that when we became older. Accidents really happen especially kids not mindful of what we are doing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago