Retrospection 11

5 521
Avatar for Mictorrani
2 years ago

About knowledge, thinking, mind, self-image, self-knowledge & self-improvement – and some personal statistics.

I often get comments and questions about my many articles here, the very number of them. Okay, this is article number 312.

I don't think I am he only one with 300+ articles here, and it wouldn't surprise me if there are a few who have published even 400+ posts during their membership so far. However, people who reacts for the sheer number of my articles, have often looked at my “Index”, and seeing them like that makes them look very many.

In the end, I am not seeing it as a contest about the number of articles posted; quality is more important than quantity.

Incidentally, while we are into statistics: The 3rd October 2021, I received a notification telling me that I had reached over 100000 views.

Now, let's look through the articles of this retrospection.

Self-Knowledge & The Power Within is, as stated in its end, “...a recognition of that everything begins with the self; that, whatever you want to achieve or gain, the first steps are taken by yourself in your own mind.”

Do you think new is better than old, just because it is newer; or that old is better than new, just because it is older? Are you proud of being modern? Then you may have your focus on the wrong thing; the only thing that really matters is quality. I explain that further in Old-Fashioned or Modern? Don't Care about Zeitgeist, Care about Quality.

The Strength of Being an Outsider (by choice) is about identity. Do you shape yourself or do you allow yourself to be shaped by group pressure?

Can fear be a positive force? Yes indeed. I explain how in Fear & Self-Control.

Are you so afraid of something that you deny the danger of it, even to yourself? Most people are. Read more in Compulsory Denial of Real Danger.

More about fear in Envy & Fear: Why do People Desire Power?

In Leo & Scorpio, i discuss two things: human aesthetics as a function of the impression of wealth, and how two forms of personalities relate to power.

Defeating one's own weakness is The Greatest Victory.

Don't let yourself be stuck in erroneous patterns of thinking:

Beware of Being Normal, it can Be Worse than You Think!

Causality, Reversed Causality & Coincidence: Thinking, Politics & Ageing

Classification, Multidisciplinary Thinking & Labelling

Knowledge is important, but how do we acquire knowledge? I write about two ways in Acquiring Knowledge: Experience and Reading. Then I explain how I learn languages in Learning Languages - How I do.

In Is Ignorance Better Than Knowledge?, I discuss which knowledge is dangerous and which is not, and why we should not be too confident that what we think is knowledge really is so. Perhaps, in the end, we do not know anything.

In The Power Of Graduality I describe how everything is achieved in small consecutive steps. It begins:

“There is a fundamental principle or method which most people are aware of in limited contexts, but still surprisingly unaware of in its generality. Its application in health matters is at the core of how to preserve and improve health and retard ageing, or to destroy it and die prematurely - yet I'm surprised again and again when I discover that people fail to realise this before it is explicitly explained to them. Yet everyone has applied this method on something in their lives if only as a pedagogic tool. I am talking about the power of graduality.“

Must something be permanent to have a value? Must everything be recorded and documented? Perhaps it is the other way around, that the really valuable is the momentaneous? I discuss that in The Momentaneous & The Permanent.

In The Importance of Contrast, I question whether anything exists without contrast.

Then a few articles in the periphery of today's subjects:

Read about the inner effects of walking in Benefits of Walking - Beyond Those of Walking as a Physical Exercise.

You consist of two things: what you eat and what you think. Food and thoughts are what shapes you. Read about that in The Essence of Health: Food & Thinking.

Increase Your Brain Capacity with Games of Skill. The title is self-explanatory.

In Are You Always Connected?, I discuss why always being connected to the internet is not an altogether good idea. It comes with various bad consequences.


My series “Retrospection” is primarily created for new readers of mine, as a manual into my production at this platform so far - but it can be read by anyone who wants to explore my articles topic by topic, rather than doing so in chronological order. In addition to that, my retrospections contain new comments and from time to time short personal stories connected to the relevant topic or topics.

Previously published “Retrospections” are:

Retrospection 1 (About Japanese Art & Cultural History.)

Retrospection 2 (About Egyptology & about Coffee.)

Retrospection 3 (About Quotes, Sayings and Proverbs; and about creating new words.)

Retrospection 4 (About dinosaurs, reptiles, dragons and to some extent birds.)

Retrospection 5 (About Privacy, Freedom and Politics.)

Retrospection 6 (Suggested reading. About other read.cash authors and their articles.)

Retrospection 7 (Purple, Eyes, Vision, Light and Blindness.)

Retrospection 8 (Cats, Dogs, Covid-19, The Knights Templar.)

Retrospection 9 (Teeth, Human & Animal; Dentistry & Dental Health, Gems, and Colour.)

Retrospection 10 (Brain, History, Memory, Bandwidth of Consciousness, Subjective-Objective, Words, Verse, The number of the Beast, The Music of the Spheres, Number Magic, History of Music.)

Copyright © 2021 Meleonymica/Mictorrani. All Rights Reserved.

You find all my writings on Read.Cash, sorted by topic, here.

My 5 most recent articles:

Vitamin C (part 2): How to Use & What it Does

Vitamin C (part 1): Can Science be Trusted?

Suggested Reading 6

Colours V: Colours Of Plants

The Three Sacred Treasures

6
$ 8.95
$ 8.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
+ 3
Sponsors of Mictorrani
empty
empty
Avatar for Mictorrani
2 years ago

Comments

Your amazing my friend, i hope I can also write 300 articles too..😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sure you can, if you are here long enough. I have been a member for 19 months, so I have had some time to reach that number.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow 300+ articles, that's a whole lot of articles.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a beautiful way of writing a post mentioning all the articles, this was brilliant seriously

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you like the way to get articles presented topic by topic, you might like my other retrospections as well. You find them all here: https://read.cash/@Mictorrani/index-over-my-articles-at-read-cash-5f7c1e34#retrospection

$ 0.00
2 years ago