Retrospection 9

1 542
Avatar for Mictorrani
2 years ago

About Teeth, Human & Animal, Dentistry & Dental Health, Gems & Colour.

A friend of mine once said that there are three things all people are interested in, even if they don't always want to admit it: sex, money and teeth! When he said that, I questioned whether teeth really were in parity with sex and money. Later, I have realised that they are. Most people have problems with their teeth, sooner or later, and such problems come with much pain, cosmetic trouble, and huge economic strain. Nobody can ignore the subject of teeth; everyone, absolutely everyone, would benefit from understanding teeth better, what it is and how to take good care of them.

I have written a series about teeth, and it has its own label in my Index. There you can presently find 6 articles:

Dentistry - A Modern Luxury? Why Do We Need It?

Preserve Your Teeth: Nutrients & Other Beneficial Substances

Take Care of Your Teeth: Hygiene, Prevention & Reparation of Damage

Animal Teeth, Sabre-Toothed Tigers & Dragon's Teeth

Supplement to Teeth: Etymology & Glossary

Tusks & Ivory

In my usual way, I try to cover the subject from many perspectives: health, biology, evolution, history, culture, etc. If you are only interested in human teeth, reading the three first articles will suffice.

The sixth article, Tusks & Ivory, can also be found under the label Gems, which I recently added. That topic presently includes:

Once the Most Precious Gem on Earth

Tusks & Ivory

Genuine Ultramarine, Once One of the Most Costly Pigments in the World

Amber, Organic Gem with a Long History & Many Properties, Part I

Amber, Organic Gem with a Long History & Many Properties, Part II

It should be noted that most people think of gems as “gemstones”, mineral gems, but there are organic gems as well: most notably pearls, amber and ivory. “Ultramarine”, however, is the mineral Lapis Lazuli, a gemstone.

I have been asked to continue this series with more about mineral gems. It may or may not happen, nothing has been decided about that yet.

People who follow my writings here have noticed that I have just published several articles about colour, where I try to explain what colour is, how and why we see different colours, and the purpose and effect of colours; and colour is important. In “Colours III: Function, Purpose, & Effect of Colour” I wrote:

“Sight is the dominant human sense. Of the perceptional (from our five ordinary senses of perception) information our brain receives, 80-90% is related to sight, and of that more than 80% is related to colour.“

Colours I : The Nature of Colour 1

Colours II : The Nature of Colour 2

Colours III: Function, Purpose, & Effect of Colour

This chromocentric perspective will be reflected (no pun intended) in a few soon forthcoming articles as well. Indeed, I recently created “Colour” as a new separate topic in my index . There you'll also find chromocentric articles from the past, most of which you can or could find under the label “Eyes, Light, Vision, Blindness”, which I discussed in Retrospection 7 . Those that were not there, are, beside the new articles mentioned above, some articles related to colour and art:

Aka-e – Japanese Colour Magic and Prussian Blue & Aizuri-e - Blue Pictures, both related to Japanese art – and Sepia, Grisaille & Verdaille: Monochrome Art... and how about Japan? , which has as well a Western as a Japanese perspective.

For those who wonder, chromocentric here means “colour-centred”. The word is used in genetics, mainly in the form “chromocenter”. Its exact meaning is technical and would require a long explanation, let's just say that there it has to do with chromosomes. However, I have not found it used in the general meaning as “with a focus on colour”. For this purpose I created it as a combination of “chromos”, which means “colour” in Greek, and “centric”, which needs no further explanation. About creating new words, see Retrospection 3.

Also for those who wonder... My material about Japan, and my familiarity with Japanese culture and language, have made some readers assume that I am Japanese. I am not, but I have what we can call strong family links to Japan.

My series “Retrospection” is primarily created for new readers of mine, as a manual into my production at this platform so far - but it can be read by anyone who wants to explore my articles topic by topic, rather than doing so in chronological order. In addition to that, my retrospections contain new comments and from time to time short personal stories connected to the relevant topic or topics.

Previously published “Retrospections” are:

Retrospection 1 (About Japanese Art & Cultural History.)

Retrospection 2 (About Egyptology & about Coffee.)

Retrospection 3 (About Quotes, Sayings and Proverbs; and about creating new words.)

Retrospection 4 (About dinosaurs, reptiles, dragons and to some extent birds.)

Retrospection 5 (About Privacy, Freedom and Politics.)

Retrospection 6 (Suggested reading. About other read.cash authors and their articles.)

Retrospection 7 (Purple, Eyes, Vision, Light and Blindness.)

Retrospection 8 (Cats, Dogs, Covid-19, The Knights Templar.)

Copyright © 2021 Meleonymica/Mictorrani. All Rights Reserved.

(The lead image shows piranhas by Reimund Bertrams/Pixabay, CC0/Public Domain. The image has been digitally altered.)

You find all my writings on Read.Cash, sorted by topic, here.

My 5 most recent articles:

Colours III: Function, Purpose, & Effect of Colour

Colours II : The Nature of Colour 2

Colours I : The Nature of Colour 1

Vitamin E - A Powerful Vitamin

Suggested Reading 3

10
$ 16.67
$ 16.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @Ling01
+ 4
Sponsors of Mictorrani
empty
empty
Avatar for Mictorrani
2 years ago

Comments

The importance of teeth can only describe by ones who are having teeth problem. I will make my time to read your articles about teeth,colors and retrospection. Thank you for combining all the articles in this single post to make it easy for us to locate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago