About Submitting Articles to Communities

I have received several articles to communities of which I am a moderator. Quite a number of them have been non-original material.

I say that now clearly, I will reject everything I even suspect of being a copyright violation or if I feel that the copyright status cannot be determined. Don't bother to submit it unless you have written it yourself or have the original author's explicit permission to re-publish it. In the latter case, it should be marked "Copyright © (year and original copyright holder)" followed by "Used with permission." and I reserve the right to check that information before approving your post.

You cannot, as many people do, take a text from a website, copy and paste it and finish with the link to the original. That is still a copyright violation, because the copyright holder has the right to determine WHERE his or her text (or image) is displayed. The only thing you may do, is to publish the link to the original and perhaps give quoted pieces of text. But it must be bound together by your own article; the quoted text must not be your whole post.

You also must be aware that the original author can have sold space to advertising on his site, with the explicit condition that his text appears only there. If you republish it, he will violate his agreement with the advertiser, you would harm him financially, and you would get sued for damages (which you would surely have to pay - and rightly so).

In this case, remember that translators have a certain copyright of their translations. If it is a translated text, it is not enough if the original text is in the public domain, the translation must be as well.

Then I have seen that people take articles from websites supplying free material for use, and if the conditions of the website's terms are satisfied, that is no crime. I think, however, that it is counter to the principles of read.cash and just a way to get more money from the read.cash fund; I routinely reject such material as well. I would do the same with texts from the public domain taken right off, if there is not any special reason for republishing it here (more than getting money from the fund).

The only previously published texts I would approve of are those were you have written the text yourself but published it somewhere else first. There is nothing wrong in that and I would not reject any article on that basis, provided it can be proved to me that the poster here is indeed the same as the original author and copyright holder.

Perhaps you say I am too strict. Well, I have been involved in publishing for a long time; these are sound principles based on respect for personal property - and copyright is immaterial property. You may do whatever you like with your own creations, but don't mess around with those of others.

Read.cash, as it is now, is full of copyright violations. I cannot do much about them, but I will do my best to keep my communities clean. It doesn't mean they will be, I can make mistakes, after all I cannot check and control everything, to some extent I must go on my gut feeling.

To better understand copyright, I recommend everyone here to read Understanding Copyright, by @Velalisieur. It is a bit long, but explains the elements of copyright very clearly.

I also want to address another detail, and this is just my personal view: much of the material submitted is too "thin". My feeling when I see it is that this is from someone who wants to write (perhaps to get points for the read.cash fund) but doesn't really have anything to say. Or they find an isolated fact and deliver it somehow without any personal touch, and without perspective, context and framework. That is just bad writing. I don't want that either in my communities. People who come there to read, should know that it is not wasted time, that there is a certain minimum standard of the material.

Copyright © 2020 Meleonymica/Mictorrani. All Rights Reserved.

(If you liked this, please consider leaving a tip, either here or via CoinTr.ee)

You find all my writings on Read.Cash, sorted by topic, here.

15
$ 1.18
$ 1.06 from @Telesfor
$ 0.10 from @Read.Cash
$ 0.01 from @SolarPhasing
+ 1
+ $ 0.05 in other submissions
Sponsors of Mictorrani
empty
empty
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

I truly appreciate the good job you are doing. Many people do "copy and paste" work a lot on read.cash. Asides that, many articles are being transfered to the communities they are not supposed to belong. I have rejected some. Thanks again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I also receive many articles that doesn't at all belong to that topic. I reject them, of course.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the good job. We need to make read.cash stand out among other blogging sites. Thanks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good work

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just out of curiosity...What about pictures? In my last article you told me to be careful of pictures copyrights. How do i know if i can use that picture or not? and isn't it enough to mention the photographer's name?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, it's not enough to mention the photographer's name, and it's not always easy to know the copyright status of something. But note that if you want to use something, it is YOUR responsibility to find out the copyright status. Nobody has any obligation to state it clearly. For me, I would never use a picture if I do not know its copyright status and that I can safely use it. Truth to tell, pictures are worse than text, because there is one right of a photo and it can be another for something displayed on the photo. I suggest you read this excellent article by Velalisieur, everyone posting at read.cash ought to read it. It's a bit long but it clarifies a lot of things about copyright. https://read.cash/@Velalisieur/understanding-copyright-a2b96cad

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I did. Is it ok if i ask you some related questions on telegram? if that's not a problem of course.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, of course it is okay. I'll be glad to help you sort this thing out. I can be available now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really appreciate your help. I will text you as soon as i solve the problem with my phone. Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah, so you still have that problem. Okay, any time. If I don't reply immediately, don't get panic, I will when I can.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol sure XD By now we both know how our conversations goes haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

:)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good job man!Carry on.We love this site and work here.but now i am supporting your systems.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the advice, these are suggestions so that mistakes are not made, and if you want to continue with the plagiarism of ideas, do not stop in this community, keep going, it is more, it should not be done anywhere ... Keep writing and giving alternatives to follow.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This platform provides the opportunity to write article thyself.... Everyone should be honest while Writing. Thanks for your advise.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great to hear that! To make life a bit easier - moderators will soon have access to our OC detector. It's not ideals, but perhaps it will allow you to filter out non-original articles even faster.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sounds good, indeed. I'm sure it will be helpful.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This will be a very jice idea and a very good step to make a good and original content

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hear! Hear! Well said and well written. Have just become a moderator and enjoying the many original articles here on read.cash it will be a terrible shame for this site to be flooded and ruined by a cut and paste culture. Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Supporting this system is great with sincerity and honesty... A very nice medium to work and get paid according to ones effort... This really a big bravo

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is a nice community guideline . You have shared here. Thanks for your responsibilty

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is a very good article...i liked it soo much..do subscribe me and check my articles too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will look at them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well that's great. Here we come to notice some people do copy paste and just post it. Keep doing such works.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A lot of people are doing that, unfortunately. I hope we can get rid of that abuse.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Are you able to recognize what is copied and pasted? Might be you have a better eye for it.

So far I received two comments that didn't make sense and saw about 6 posts that might have been partly plagiarism or an empty story (hard too because you need a place to start and grow too).

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You develop a sense for it, but there is much you can think of... I think I will post an article about it rather than answering in a comment. It will become too long. I promise to post one at the very latest tomorrow.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I got some comments in my post which means nothing and it was repeated comments also.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks I just read and saved it. 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would like to know how you check if a post is plagiarism or... I have no idea how to do it but do want to pay more attention to it.

Can you tell me which communities are yours? 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same answer to you again, I will post an article about this tonight or tomorrow.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope this isn't a copy and paste work though. It looks reap good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for this information, i also have a community i created few days ago and was wondering how possible it is to know an article is not original. sanity is needed in a community to make it worth visiting. However i will suggest that there should be a a system of checking content originality within read.cash without going out to other means to do same. This will same moderators time in having article approved

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will post an article about that tomorrow morning. just stay tuned.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the information. I am kind of still new to the whole author thing. So please hope you would consider us if our articles are not as standard as you expect them to be because it takes time to learn and if we get rejected all the time we might feel discouraged. As for the tips they are pretty clear... I write my articles myself so I have no issues with copyright what so ever.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I understand. I am not requiring the highest standard of writing from an inexperienced writer. I might give some suggestions to improvements though, if I see things that can obviously be improved. That is just constructive criticism, something to learn from; a way for me to share my experience of writing with those who can learn from it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Absolutely right. I always check to see if it's an original before I pay a writer for an article. A quick search in Google is sufficient for this. Only with authors who have won my trust, I do not do it. I only follow authors who write themselves. Someone who copies illegally content does not even get a cent from me. Meanwhile I don't even pay for articles that the author published on another platform before. Read.cash first. Otherwise there are no satoshis from me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, it's necessary to have strict principles when abuse is flourishing all around. Thanks for the tip.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very clear and meaningful article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Plagiarism is nothing but words theft. It should be avoided and boycott at all length. Most people aren't potential writer's but they want to make points on this platform. They've forgotten that doing this is at the detriment of the main writers. People should be creative, productive and not destructive. The community should be ready to penalized them for plagiarizing other people's work of art. In the read cash community, we have salient writers who while away their times cooking up articles, we don't expect some people drag their works into the mud by stealing it. Produce your work and the community will accept it. Steal from others and community will reject it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Couldn't agree more. The problem is to find and reject those who try to abuse the system.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We're releasing a new update right now that will now fix what you asked for. If you use "Write for the community" button or add communities in the article editor - the notification will not be sent until one of the communities approve your submission and the URL will lead to that submission. Also works for auto-approved submissions.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sounds fine. Thank you. That's one step better. But what about boosted articles, referral links, or links to the three other articles by the same author at the bottom of each article, or, by all means, the links you get to if you click an author's name? Would all this continue to lead to the dummy version?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, we'll work on these as well. Thanks!

$ 0.00
3 years ago