I made it!

Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
2 years ago

Disclaimer

This article is written to only share the experience of author and how she successfully made an extension. The writer is not expert or a proffesional electrical/electrician but she'll try to give more information as concrete as possible based from her wondrous experience outside the realm of world. And if any way she was wrong you can correct her in the comment below. Please make it constructive! Thank you!

Moreover, do not try it if you are not confident because this could be dangerous.

Materials needed for making an extension for a 15Ampere Refrigerator Plug.

  1. Plug (15Ampere)

  2. Outlet (15Ampere)

  3. Flatcord wire (300Volts)

  4. Screw driver

  5. Wire Cutter Pliers

Reason for Making an Extension.

If you are renting on a studio type apartment, you would find it hard to have as many convenience outlet as you want. Specially when appliances have also increase. I presumed even at your home?

Have I told you that I am renting with my college schoolmates and the three of us is living with one studio type apartment? And due to the pandemic, we needed more outlet for our gadgets, plus our appliances. The apartment we are renting only provide us with three convenience outlets (two gang of that matter)! What a shame! Haha.

The outlets were all fine and we had already two extension (three gang) until my friend bought her computer from work (she is one of the blessed of 'work from home' during pandemic, so we needed more outlet, specially when the need relocate some stuff and buying additional tables for her monitor and moving them too far from the outlet, plus they needed outlets for their wifi too, and we also bought a mini refrigerator. So one of our outlets were for her computer, other are for stuff like fan, electric fan and charger for our gadgets, so we needed more for the mini ref.

And being me as more of work in a labor force volunteer to make an extension to separate the refrigerator outlet, instead of buying one I make one, because, one; I could finally use my skill that I learned during my stay at work, two; the cost of the 15 Ampere extension isn't really that cheap, three; I've got free flat cord wires from the site! So Meyzee to the rescue! And didn't I tell you that, saving a lil bit of money is one of what I consider when I purchase an item, but of course also the quality.

So without further ado, let me tell you how I do the step by step process of making an extension wire. So assuming all the materials I have mentioned above are already prepared you can now proceed with the following steps;

Steps in making an Extension!

Step 1.

Cut the both ends of the flat cord skin with wire cutter pliers and make sure to expose the wire with an inch. Like the photo below.

Step 2.

Remove all the screw from the plug using the screw driver. Insert the flat cord on the plug house. Inside the plug you have to remove the screw where you will put and rotate the wires. Once all the screw inside was remove and the wires were rotate put back the screw like it was before. Make sure that positive and negative wires, won't get attached with each other or else the wires will get burned. See the photo shown below.

(Screw me for instructing so bad. Haha)

Step 3.

Ready the outlet and remove all the screw on the back of the outlet. Inside, there are more screw to be remove where you need to place the exposed wires. As you can see, there are three screws on the inside, probably that one is for the grounding. I choose the two ends to avoid wire tripping. You must remember that, the exposed wires should not touch each other. Once you have placed and rotate your wires you can already close the outlet, put all the screw back together and test it if works. (See photo below!)

And when you try to plug it on your outlet at home and it works, viola you have an extension! For me, It works and we are now using it as an extension for our cutie refrigerator. I made it!

Reminders:

  • Not all extension are the same. I choose a 15ampere extension because it is safer for our refrigerator. And our outlet on our rented apartment has a breaker of 20 ampere. You can use an extension depending on the loads of your gadgets or appliances.

  • Extension to extension is not recommended.

  • I don't recommend you to make an extension yourself. It could be dangerous.

  • This is solely created by me. And all the knowledge I've got here was based from my experience that I have acquired from my Warehouseman three years ago. And has been reminded by it by working hand on hand with my electrician these past few months. So if you will try it, make sure when you do it, you are guided by someone who already have the knowledge about making them.

T H A N K Y O U F O R R E A D I N G!!

All photos are owned and taken by me! So credits to me! Lol! And credits to my Warehouseman who I bugged to teaches me how to do it precisely and effectively.

Well I pretty much bugged everyone so I could learn! Haha! So stay away from me as possible!

So I made it! Yayyy!

Credits

Thanks for youtube for the above video clip! Listening to it while, making stuff like this, even its simple, I feel like I am on the top! Hehe! Rawr. Simple things can make me a lot happy! Yayy! Rock! I made it! Haha.

19
$ 9.31
$ 8.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @Zhyne06
$ 0.20 from @Idksamad7869
+ 13
Sponsors of Meyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Pwede na part time na electrician hehe. Good job! Salamat sa step-by-step na instruction. Mukhang madaling sundan :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ang galing! Pwedi na mag electrician, kahit Engineer haha ma save nga incase masira extension wire ko 🤣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha! Ingat lang!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just remember that we are always making extension outlet sa hardware haha yung ibang bumibili kasi ayaw nila ng hindi pa gawa tapos, ipapagawa agad agad pagka bili ng wire,plug and outlet haha. Mabili pa yung 3tap outlet 4-10 meters long😹🙉🙈 (ayoko na talaga bumalik don pero masasabi ko na madami dami din akong natutunan na basic haha)

Congrats ate meyzee, next time about circuit breakers naman😚😚😚😚

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha ayieee mahirap ata yang circuit breaker cutie hahaha 😅😅 pero soon rawr.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes naman, ansarap matuto basta hindi tinatamad 😜😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is very useful, I know I can't do it too with the help of this articles of yours.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha ops always do it with someone who knew it! Safety first!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay! Good job, you made it! I'm happy for you! Pero grabe, 2 gang lang niprovide na outlet sa apartment haha. Need talaga maring extension dahil dumami appliances. And buti nalang may Meyzee na to the rescue! Yiiee. Haha.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha! Yung isa hindi pa gumagana 🙈🙈 yayyy syempre namaaan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pagawa nga rin pooo. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha maalama yan si ate mo carichan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas matanda ako sa kanya bb. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha! Awit? Di ngaaaa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo yes haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good, I don't know much about electrical but I think you did a good work here

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you! Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! You have a gifted skills regarding this about making an extension. You amazed us Meyzee, you can help those people if they have a problem regarding this but always be careful Meyzee..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha! Not that gifted! Learned it from my warehouseman and I tell you its pretty easy! Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Malaking tulong talaga yang extension 🥰 ang galing mo naman po gumawa ng ganyan ate meyzee. Samin namn po yung sa battery ng Ebike ginagamit namin yon kapag nag brownout para may ilaw parin pero need parin talaga ng extension 😊
Mahirap din gumawa ng ganyan kapag nagkamali sabog hehe lakas pa naman ng Volt

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehee magaling nagturo. Haha ingat lang sa paggawa at baka magtrip haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hndi ka lng engineer madam.. Electrician pa 🤣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha kaya nga! Gusto ko din magkuha ng subjects nito 🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I made one too before in college, and it's fulfilling that you're able to make an extension your own. 😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes! Superb! Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome 💗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ingatz po everybody.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha yeah safety first!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naalala ko pangit na nangyari sa akin kanina haha.. I plug and charged my dead laptop then I just realized I don't plug the extension to the main sucket so, ended useless waiting hahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha awit! Minsan ganyan din ako yung magsasaing sa rice cooker pero di ko nababa yung button sa cook haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehehe..... I ain't trying this at home at all... I'll buy the extension... Lol

You did great, now, everything you learned has been put into great use

Your roomy can bring home as many appliances as they want, because you are there to rescue them with new extension here and there

Wow... Nicely done ✅

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I would recommend you to buy a whole extension not make one! Haha! Its safer like that!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahaha.... I am definitely taking this advice. 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay ang galing nyo po,siguro kung nakinig lang ako sa teacher ko noon malamang marunong din kong gumawa ng ganyan,one of our major subject before is Electricity kasi, kaso mas inuuna yung chika kaya walang napala 😅. Anyway congrats po you did a good job.💪👏

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha ako din naman may subject din ako niyan pero hindi ko din natutunan haHha 😅 sa work ko na natutunan hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good instructions, but to be honest with you I would not mess with electricity. Haha.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahhaa! Why its kind of fun! But of course you have to know how to be safe first! Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salute and congrats! Balikan ko tong instruction mo pag mag gawa na din ako ng extension ko. daming sinasaksak these days.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha! Nane? Yieee. Haha. Nasa bahay lahat ng mga tao noh kaya lahat ng gadgets nakasaksak. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

congrats

$ 0.03
2 years ago