Weekends Doesn't Feel What It Used to Be, Yet It Remains Special

26 45
Avatar for MegaKyodaiBanrai
2 years ago

Most people would be excited for the weekends after experiencing the jam-packed and busy weekdays, usually from the manic Monday up until the fun Friday nights. Obviously, most people would enjoy Saturday and Sunday because these are typically the rest days, especially for people employed and working for someone. Even if people are unemployed or self-employed, they mainly dedicate their weekends for "me" time. However, my perspective of weekends changed, especially during the times of the pandemic.

Sponsors of MegaKyodaiBanrai
empty
empty
empty

These people are amazing writers and supportive, take a time to check them out! 
Thanks to @Just1Dood for the new sponsorship!
 And I am also thankful to @fantagira and @CoquiCoin for renewing theirs!  

During the time of my school days from kindergarten up until college, there's the feeling of relief when I see the date and Friday as the current day in our board (from grade school until high school) and dread every Monday as it feels very sluggish to reach the weekends again.

While I enjoy school with my friends, teachers, and professors before, it's the tasks and academic workload that's burning us out. Every day, we wake up early at around 5 am, start the classes at 8 am and end it at around 3 pm or 4 pm. We expect that after the long hours of studying, there will be like 2-6 homework to do at home, depending on the mood of teachers lols.

Doing these after-school tasks can be quite time-consuming as some of them require buying materials like for art projects or there's a demonstration that the teacher wants for science classes. We're forced to go into the market for the materials which takes some time to get into. Not to mention the random quizzes given by any teacher from other subjects, it adds some time. Expect that we will be sleeping at around 10 pm or 12 am for the busiest of times. We only have 5-7 hours of sleep.

Then here comes Friday, where most students would spend their money in shops nearby school that are mostly computer shops, or go into a nearby mall for eating and hanging out. We have to remind ourselves that sometimes, there will be quizzes or homework to do as a "gift" from our teachers to study more. (sigh)

After I finally graduated from college this July, I am currently unemployed and using the time until the end of the year to do everything that I wanted, and take a break. Now, Saturday and Sunday feel like regular days to me due to my long vacation.

Most of the time, every Saturday, I pledge to myself that I only have to do at 50% of my usual tasks every day, and spend the remaining time for myself like playing games, watching videos, or just sleep. Don't you feel that there's no distinction between the place to be stressed and the place for relation because of the work-from-home setups from the lengthy lockdowns?

But what makes weekends special for me?

Aside from being relieved of some tasks at home, the important habit that makes our family happy is communication between us. Often, we have a large video call group, and everything that happened during our week is talked about. The best thing would be the laughter and giggles due to the crazy stuff being told to each.

The same goes with some of my friends. We have a scheduled meeting via video call at night time, when there are no obstructions, and our schedules align. These calls are probably the longest, imagine starting from 9 pm and ending around 2 am? We surely had a lot of fun.

These are my crazy friends! And there's the identity-hiding catto. Though some of you may know people I'm with :)

Do you know the people from our video call? I know some people here have already seen us in other socials too with this photo. Give some guesses from the comments below. :)

And now, its weekdays again!

Looking at my clock, it's Tuesday already at past 12 midnight! Time feels so quick that I have no idea about what day it is currently most of the time, glad that the gadgets remind me of it every day. Well, I have to prepare again for the next day, and hopefully, I'll be able to accomplish what I set to do. I wish the same with you guys, wherever you are currently. I have to go sleep right now and see you tomorrow!

*Lead image from Pixabay

9
$ 4.49
$ 3.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @CoquiCoin
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 11
Sponsors of MegaKyodaiBanrai
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MegaKyodaiBanrai
2 years ago

Comments

Indeed. Dati po nagtitipid kami from Monday to Thursday then Friday ubos na pera sa comshop ahahha but now. Wala naaa may whole day class na din kami every Saturday po.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ang hirap ng online classes no, madalas nakakatulog ako sa harap ng computer haha. Buti at natapos din haha. Ingat at goodluck sa studies!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My goodness! 5 hours videocall grabe parang di kaya ng powers ko. But indeed that's a great time to catch up!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I prefer to spend more time here in noise and read every weekend but then again it's also my time spent for myself and my friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Daming pinag usapan ay. Todo todong catch up with friends. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha hala may blind item tayo 😆 Kaya pala may mga mingming haha. Totoo yan ang saya kaya di natin napapansin ang oras. Daming ganap na nakukwento natin. Laking pagbabago nyan sa weekend natin. Laking ginhawa din matapos ng busy at pagoda versosa na weekday hehe. Congrats din at nakalaya ka na sa bundy clock ng schooling hehe. Hawak mo na ang oras ngayon at makaka explore ka habang nag uulam hehe. Sa sunday ulit kwentuhan 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nanjan ka ba sa pix? Ikaw un last? :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha ibig mo sabihin yung nasa bottom?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga kakaibang experience yubg hawak ang sariling time. Mas focus sa mga bagay na dapat magawa hehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Antagal nung vc pero ang ganda ng ganyang set up. You still have and make the time to communicate with them and that makes your bond stronger! Happy tuesdayyy po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

During ECQ we have those video calls and non stop group chats with my relatives as well. Then lockdowns were easen up so everyone got busy again. Good thing in some weekends and special occasions we get to see each other but i felt like we were closer during ECQ lol! As for the monday blues, i am thakful to be working at home. Work and house chores do mess with each other but i still love this kind of work at home set up :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Being at home makes us feel free too, we only have to manage the time well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tagal nun, Bryan ah. Wow. Ako, matagal na yung 5 mins na video call hehe. But na lang may internet na this generation :)

Happy Tuesday!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Masyado pong napapatagal ang usapan minsan hehe, daming ganap. Happy Tuesday din po!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When you don't work or follow a set schedule for an extended period of time, you do lose track of what days it is. Weekends then become like other days. But since yours is temporary, do be careful not to let that be a routine cause it will be very difficult to adjust once you start working.

Meanwhile, enjoy the free time and the bonding time! :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're right, having a daily routine for a long period of time makes it feel like the days are bland. Thanks a lot! I have to use my free time wisely to get more things done, focusing on investing to myself.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Free time is a precious commodity. I do wish you all the best in getting good returns for your time spent. Investing in yourself is the best. There are many free online courses you can take. You should check edx.org out.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome, Bryan! So cool, those calls with your friends, at least you don't lose the habit of meeting even if it's virtually. And the truth is that I don't know who is anyone in the pic, LOL. Or maybe yes, and I don't know. ;)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It was the best thing that happened in the pandemic, these are virtual friends that I met online, and now we are planning to get together as the situation gets better!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's really too cool. I hope you can meet soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabeee naman na video call yan haha. I can't imagine you having video chats and calls with your friends starting from 9 pm and ending around 2 am. That's a lot of hours filled with fun.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya nga e, nakakatuwa talaga kase di napapansin ang oras habang nagkakatuwaan haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Paeasy-easy rin ako ngayon pero mas nasstress akl sabahay kesa nung dipa pabdemic. Pano kase puro sigawan ng bata maririnig kahit natutulog, mga kaibigan konaman diko gano nakakausap kase mga walang signal sa bahay nila 🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ang hirap pag yung kapitbahay walang pakisama haha. Sayang lang dahil di kayo makapagusap ng maayos dahil dun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

During pandemic my friends and I had long video calls via whattsap... It was the only way to stay in touch and not feeling so lost and afraid! Now we just chat in groups or meet us at work or outside... Anyway for us working on duties there is no weekend 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am so glad with the technology that we have today, everything feels so borderless and connected! I wish to see you all when the time comes. 💙

$ 0.05
2 years ago